TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings - Page 130 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleased as Always Overall, I was very pleased with TurboTax as I am every year. Makes filing taxes quick and easy from my living room. My only complaint this year was related to my capital loss carryforward. It's actually not really a complaint as the end result was favorable. I thought it was not yet included in my return so I had to dig through all the walkthroughs to find where it was. When I found it, it was actually already calculated and carried forward. I was glad to see that I didn't have to do anything further, but was a little disappointed that the program didn't notify me it automatically calculated. It does this with other items. Maybe say "Hey, we've noticed you have a carryforward from last year. We went ahead and included it here." February 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Have used tubotax for years and this year was the most challenging. I could not print my form so I could compare and review them before I sent them off.. Had to pay for them before you could even do that and then they didn't tell you you could find a print center under your account. it seems like it was very hard to navigate... Spent over an hour on the phone with a wonderful tax lady. she didnt loose her patience with me once!! but I lost it myself! so fustrating trying to navigate when you werent even given any clues where to look! Good luck in finding forms...if you type in a form number all it gives you is what that form does...and questions about it...it does not find your form or information.. not very user friendly this year February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding I've used TurboTax for several years. Always been satisfied. It's quick, user-friendly and affordable. Only one glitch - As a nonresident of GA earning teaching income in the state, I've had difficulties following a couple of the panels in the state return to assure I'm inputting the correct data. Today, for instance, I input two separate amounts in the Ga. Adjustment Income area and both times was told it was OK. Can't be! I finally figured it out. The Ask TurboTax section wasn't very helpful - link didn't work. Also, I teach online for a distant university and use a home office. Have run into problems translating this situation via panels provided. Still, I highly recommend the service and have had family members try it satisfactorily. January 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tax filing system This is the 4th year in a row for using Tubor Tax. This system is secure and enables easy updates of my finances and changes from one tax year to the next. I prefer Turbo Tax's proven ability to help me with my itemized deductions and to walk me through my income, investments, and business expenses, rather than disclose my financial information to a tax specialist. I plan on using it again next year, even as my tax filing continue to become more complicated, as I am confident with that Turbo Tax knows the current tax laws and will effectively guide me through options to ensure that I pay what I owe or earn a refund as appropriate. I enjoy how Turbo Tax keeps me involved with all decisions in the taxing process, and not make me an observer. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rapid Return Complete I love using Turbo tax every year. I have used it for roughly 10 years now. All my info rolls over from 1 year to the next. All I need to do is input the numbers. It reminds you of everything you had last year from income, dividends and deductions. I itemize every year and it takes me less than 1 hour to complete my taxes when I have all the paperwork that I need. Very affordable also. E-file to get my refund faster also. I will continue to use Turbo Tax every year. I highly recommend it to friends every year and many of them tell me how easy it is to use and it is a lot less painful than taking all their paperwork to their tax guy and hoping they had it all and then waiting on the tax guy to get it done for them and they like that it is cheaper too. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2nd time is the charm I usually get a refund so I look somewhat forward to tax time. This year especially since I started having a rental last year. and did spent a lot on repairs and large problems. I spent hours just getting that input last year. But now, ta da it is all in memory and TT just starts at year 2 for depreciation. Same with my wages, dividends, interest and 1099 for miscellaneous contractor work my wife did. Makes it all almost easy. Only weird drawback only impacts those filling for dead relatives. My mother died in 2013 but had some income for her account in 2014 so I had to file. TT would not allow me to put date of death in December of 2013 so I had to cheat and make it 1/1/14. It also asked if she had health insurance, but that question seemed a bit mute! February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Easy to Use! I have used the Online version for personal taxes and the desktop version for my S corp taxes for the last couple of years. While my business may be easier than most, I would much rather pay a couple hundred dollars and file everything myself than pay an accountant a fortune to do it for me. Turbotax makes that possible by asking all the right question and making sure everything is correct. The error checking at the end in both versions catches the little mistakes that can delay your return or even change the numbers at the end. Since I use Quickbooks as my accounting software, the business side is even easier since Turbotax imports all my information from Quickbooks making the process that much easier. I will continue to use Turbotax. They make it too easy. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax TurboTax is very easy to use and has a comfortable way to get the info needed from you to create a compliant tax return. The interface is pleasing to the eye and simple to interpret. When you see the actual forms in the background during the reviews at the end (you see the forms only if the system finds things that stand out) you can tell TurboTax is making things very simple for you. There are many "Explain This" links that will immediately pop up a simple explanation and often provide examples, making it easy to figure out if something applies to you. There is also a little surprise at the end if you have a federal tax refund coming your way that was nice: Amazon bonus cash. Pretty cool. The only criticism I have is there were a couple instances where a question was incorrect, contradictory or incomplete in it's description. I was able to understand these through help or asking the TurboTax community and answers came fast. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy and straightforward We are always pleased with TurboTax's straightforward, step by step guide through the whole return. And each year they get better at clearly spelling out what's next, and offer many pop up windows with additional helpful information. I used those many times and was amazed at how some of my special circumstances were included in the help menus. It also handled my exemption from the new health care insurance law with no problems. On the other hand, my only minor gripe is that when I review my rental property entries, I have to recheck boxes in the Q&A part that I checked the first time I made the entries. So I can't just breeze thru the review to the numbers, I have to look at every question again to make sure a box is checked. I would think they could make all of those checked boxes not clear out every time I look back into those questions. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy! Loved TurboTax and have used it for 4 years and counting! The user interface is easy to navigate, friendly, and confidence-boosting (all important things when doing your taxes, am I right?!). The questions literally hold your hand through the entire process offering up extra explanations or live chat along the way if you get stuck. The ability to stat and stop and save your information along the way makes it really convenient to do your taxes on your time schedule, when you have the papers and information you need handy. I would definitely recommend this software for anyone regardless of their tax situation. It's painless and easy. Plus, you have the option of adding on audit-protection at the end, if you're feeling nervous. It covers all the bases! Go For It! February 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the best! this is my 3rd year doing my taxes in Turbo tax and I have to say I'm extremely happy with the system. pretty much anyone can do this, trust me. in the past year My tax situation was somewhat easy to do but this year it was way more complex, sold house, a bunch of different 1099, debt forgiveness, short sale, you name it I had it. and Turbo tax made it so easy! I couldn't believe how much I stressed last year thinking that an accountant was going to charge me so much for this in 2015 but I gave it a try and sure enough the system walked me thru everything with no problems. I am extremely happy with this and I am recommending everyone from my family and friends to do it online. Exceptional service top of the line system and up to date with all the tax laws and IRS updates. February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Painless Paying! I cannot imagine using any other tax service! I used to pay hundreds of dollars to an accountant to do my taxes. I have no accounting experience (well, except a few classes in college 35 years ago...) and using TurboTax is so simple to use, I feel anyone can use it!! It walks you through your return in layman (or woman..haha) terms and reminds you of items you need to report. It is such a great time saver because TurboTax saves your prior years filings so you don't have to re-enter your name, address, social security number, and much more, each year. Also, you only pay for the services you need. Oh, and if you owe taxes you have the painless option to pay the IRS via credit card right from TurboTax! I have been using this service for ten years will be back for my 2015 taxes! February 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Previous years were better... Its simple to follow for the most part. The state part got confusing with the sale of real estate property as it used descriptions not previously used and wouldn't allow editing. I had a problem with Alabama state return stating the description for a box that was blank was too long. The only fix for this was to delete and start again. Previously I always used the deluxe version and was able to enter stock sales, this year it required me to upgrade and pay an additional $35. Last year I traded 1 stock for a profit of $135 so I wasn't happy about the required upgrade. Local tax services competed with turbotax when I was paying $75 to do them myself. Now that turbotax is charging more money and no longer competitive I may use a local tax professional next year and save my time. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very thorough I'm active duty military and I bought a home at my last duty station. I've rented my home out now that I'm stationed in another state. I changed my state of legal residence after I bought the house, but not before one month of my last state of legal residence got a month of wages reported (and taxes withheld). TurboTax was so easy to use. It went over every topic to handle my rental property, my two states of residence, all the stuff for my kids, my student loan interest, everything. I've previously used H&R Block software and H&R Block offices, but after this year I don't think I'll ever use anything else. This software is so easy and intuitive, and I love that you do it online. It's not dependent on 1 computer that you have it loaded on. It's all online and it's great. 5 out of 5. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Program! I've been using turbo tax for 4 years now and I love doing my own taxes. This program is no different than what the so called professionals are using to file your taxes for you at a lot greater cost. Not only is it easy to file your own taxes, but it's fun knowing that you've looked at every possible credit or deduction there is before giving up and saying ok I've gotten as much as I can get. You get to decide! Also, it gives you a better understanding of how your income versus taxes is set up. This shows you how and why you have to change your life status to not have to pay out more taxes than necessary. That way you get to use most of your own money your own way. Turbo tax is the program that can do that for you. They literally glide you all the way through. Try it, and you won't go back to anything else. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 tax preparation This is my 4th year using Turbotax and I love it. I feel very secure with Turbotax and I feel they ask all the questions to get me the most of my refund. I like the fact that I don't have to go to an office and sit there with kids running around and everyone over hearing all my business. I used to use H&R Block but they got so expensive that I couldn't afford them anymore so my son told me about Turbotax and I have been using you for 4 years now and love it. I hope you don't go up much more on your fees...you are getting up there too compared to 2 years ago when it was only $26.99. I'm 70 years old and as you can see from my return, my income is much less than it was 4 years ago. So please don't raise your fees so high that I can't afford you too. Keep up the good work. I love Turbotax. February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Alls well that ends well I have used other online programs but once I used Turbo Tax I never went back. I have used Turbo Tax for at least the past 7 years and highly recommend it to everyone. Normally the program is very easy to follow and user friendly. However, this year I had a small problem entering a 1099-MISC which was something new to my tax portfolio. It regarded the leasing of mineral rights to property that I don't own. I only own the mineral rights to the property. I went round and round for six hours before I gave up for the day. The next day I called Turbo Taxes agent and she walked me through it. Within 30 minutes my taxes were E-filed. The agent was extremely pleasant and helpful and told me not to wait until I get totally frustrated before I call. Thanks Turbo Tax and Noel for the great service. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by An extraordinarily useful service! Turbotax provides an extraordinary service by offering an incredibly user-friendly tax preparation service...even if you feel mathematically-challenged or completely clueless about tax laws. Turbotax helps customers maximize tax refunds (or minimize taxes due). Furthermore, Turbotax saves tax return information from past years and brings it forward to assist in the current year's tax preparation. I cannot emphasize enough how wonderful it is to have Turbotax systematically go through every aspect of the tax process with you--using plain, everyday English--and then perform the complicated mathematics and applications of tax law on your behalf. All you have do do is answer straightforward questions and they do the rest. The IRS is happy, the customer is happy, everyone is happy. Thank you!!! February 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Financial Fun Finally Done TurboTax once again showed that filing tax returns can be fun, time-consuming, and requiring patience, but it surely beats going up against the IRS 1040 Instructions on your own. I had to upgrade to TT Premier for 2014 because Intuit lowered the capability of TT Deluxe, eliminating capital gain calculations. They did this long after I had received the downloadable Deluxe. Why??? After being a loyal customer for over 10 years, I was not happy. Intuit, however, provided a free upgrade to TT Premier, online version. After some initial difficulty with startup, TurboTax Support got me started. The online version had some drawbacks like no switching to Forms view, and no reference to my past years' returns, but it did provide the necessary and high quality processing of my federal and state returns. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally satisfying experience. The interview is very good and easy to follow. Comments: 1.Last year we won a prize and declared its value as ordinary income. This year, the same prized reappeared and we just entered $0.00. This gave us the proper monetary amount but did not clear the description. Since the value was correct, did not notice the description had not been removed until after the final review and printing. 2. Could not ever really understand why I would pay self-employment tax on remuneration received for work on the City Planning Commission (non-employee income). The $ amount was not enough to make me thoroughly research the question. Ended up just paying. 3. When finishing up, I did a final review and printed the return but somehow, after printing, I got off the trail and thought I had finished when I closed the program. I was uncomfortable and went back into Turbo Tax the following morning to ensure that I had really filed. I had not! This time, I stayed on track and don't know how I got diverted the first time. In any case, I like your interview questions and how they guide a taxpayer through the process. I have done many, many returns by hand and Turbo Tax was much better for me, especially for brokerage forms which I have never done many of. Thanks! I'll be back again next year. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost makes taxes fun I have been using Turbo Tax for more than 10 years. I am impressed with its improvements from year to year. The program seems to be getting smarter about focusing in on the information that I need and not taking me through a bunch of irrelevant screens. I clearly remember the pain and suffering of the bad old days of doing taxes with ink and paper. I do worry about security breaches. So far, so good (as far as I know). I also like Turbo Tax's promise to keep all information private. They seem to honor their promise. I have not received targeted marketing based on my tax filing (as far as I know). I decline nice features such as direct deposit because I do worry about one firm knowing so much about me. Other than those concerns, I have been a loyal customer and plan to return to Turbo Tax next year. January 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need to Improve Navigation for ESPP Stock Shares I've used Turbo Tax for the past 3 years and the first two years I had very simple returns to file. The software was excellent for the simple returns. This year I had ESPP shares that needed to be included on my return. There were 4 groups purchased at different times but sold on the same day. I wasn't sure where to note the different groups. I did not and will not get a 1099 Form, only Form 3922. Thankfully it was very clear how to enter the 3922 data. What ultimately disturbed me was when Turbo Tax was doing the audit check, there was missing data. My opinion, all the necessary information should have been covered during the entry process. I had no idea what information was missing, so I guessed the best I could. Not exactly what I should be doing for a service I paid for and the IRS being what it is. February 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loving Turbo Tax in Louisiana! The last CPA I used (before I switched to Turbo Tax in 2014) charged me $425, procrastinated so I had to file an extension and be penalized for it, then when he finally filed my taxes, he mailed them to the IRS on the date the extension was due but without my signature, so the IRS returned it and penalized me further as if it were never filed until I signed and mailed it back to them. It was a nightmare. The worst part is that I had done my return with Turbo Tax but didn't file it and instead used that CPA, because I thought he could get me more deductions or help; but after all was said and done, the CPA didn't get me any different deductions than Turbo Tax had. Instead, he cost me 4x more money and a loss of peace of mind. This is my second year using Turbo Tax and my wallet and I couldn't be happier! February 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Years of Reliability using TurboTax The convenience of having all important numbers imported year after year with the knowledge that my information is secure and accessible to me online has simplified tax time for me and my family. By importing directly from my broker or employer it has reduced the chance of typographical errors. I can review past tax years should I want to without having to go look for the physical copy. The step-by-step instruction while filling out reduces the chance of my missing some new change to taxes each year and I love the simplicity of e-filing after TurboTax has reviewed and recommended options. I appreciate the ability to select audit protection and other options dependent on what changes there have been in my year for taxes. I recommend this product every year to new people because it has served me so very well. January 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hidden Cost I want to love Turbo Tax, but every time I use this service I am shocked when I get to the checkout page. I authorized an upgrade in order to take care of some special circumstances in my taxes this year, but then there was an additional fee for filing my state return WITH my federal return. The options are framed as if I would choose the alternative of deleting my state return and only file my federal return as if that's a favorable option. Additionally, there was yet another fee in order to direct deposit my return. Granted I probably made out ahead in the end as far as gaining a greater return by using TurboTax, but I just wish the final cost was more apparent throughout the process instead of the horrible sticker shock that comes at checkout when my refund is smaller than anticipated throughout the process. February 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lacking clarity I use turbo tax because its recommended by my bank with a discount for active duty military. Unfortunately, I could not get the discount to take. I went through every section to make sure that I had entered everything correctly- especially during the state return... and I realized it does not pull everything over. During the reviews it showed me a little box that I had missed and asks what should go in there by referencing a line that I cannot see. I couldn't see the referenced box, but once I put a number in, I realized it was wrong and could not get back to change it so I had to delete the state return and begin again. I don't think it is very helpful for military members who have lived in more than one state in one year, but have permanent residency in another. I will probably take my taxes to be prepared next year. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Tax, But Be More Specific on Discounts I've used TurboTax for *years* now...literally as soon as it became available online, my filing became tons easier. It helped me navigate the complexities of filing my investments and rental properties especially, and it's improved annually since. Things I would love to see updated is some parts of completing my taxes were still puzzling. For instance, there should be a constant side by side picture of rental property details to ensure that the details are correct. Another thing is I attempted to apply for a $20 discount, and I only got a $5 discount. I finally read on a 3rd party page's tiniest small print that the $20 discount was for using the home disk. Do computers even have disk access anymore? Mine doesn't. Other than that, I would recommend TurboTax...I honestly don't understand why people use any other company. January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two years in a row Easy Tax Filing This is the 2nd year I'm using it for both FED and CA State filings. I was very impressed the first year I came back for the 2nd year. I've used other services in the past but TurboTax is, in my opinion, the best online "self help" tax software out there today. They imported last years return which made research a cinch and the input screen are very easy to see and understand. It took all of less than one half-hour of research to get everything I needed. The Help icons were simple and easy for a non-accountant to understand. I found this to be one of the best features. My only problem is the cost of both Fed and State returns is $99! I could run into a tax "professional" and have them do the work for not much more. So, I highly recommend it for everyone and I will use this again next year. It's worth the higher cost! February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2015 Return I have used Turbo Tax for my entire working life. My tax situation for the last couple of years got slightly more complex, and as a whole I value the way your software highlights everything for me. Two concerns I have is over the cost increase from last year to this year; to the best of my knowledge, no additional forms were required this year vs. last year, but yet I paid like 20% more. The big cost step-up is to report brokerage account income, though mine is relatively insignificant. Additionally, I would like to be able to turn off the wizard prompts for the first three sections. I prefer to get to the screen where I can view the full overview of different options, and self-direct from there. Perhaps you could allow users to change their landing page when they login or resume? Feel free to contact me to clarify. Thanks! February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made my return easy! I thought this years taxes would be especially difficult, I was an active military member part of the year before retiring, I had nontaxable and traditional income, four W-2s and lived in two states. I had tuition expenses, investment returns, large purchases. you name it. Fortunately I used Turbo Tax for the second year in a row, and they made it a breeze. It took me less than an hour to do, and whenever I was wondering if a field or deduction applied to me their links broke it down for me in easy to understand terms and applicable examples. Whether you are looking for your first tax program or looking to change from another, I highly recommend giving Turbo Tax a shot. If you start filing and decide you don't like it, you don't have to pay a fee until you actually file the return through them, that's how confident they are in their service. February 2, 2015
<<prev 128 129 130 131 132 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax Online pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.