TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome support and convenience! I was having issues with understanding some of the numbers on my returns and talking to an advisor really helped me out and get things done! The advisors are very knowledgeable and it took me less than 5 mins to get in touch with one! You can't beat the convenience!
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why Did I Wait Don't be afraid to do your taxes - even if it is complicated. TurboTax makes it very easy.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from extensions When I had tried to submit my extension, it would not give me a verification that it was actually e-filed. This was extremely aggravating. I would appreciate if it gave some sort of verification that the payment was submitted and accepted. Also, although I had the premium paid for, it kept asking me to pay in order to obtain tax advice. In addition, it would not let me file my state extension.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from taxes why didn't Turbo Tax pickup the amount of tax paid when I filed my extension???
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome way to file at the comfort of home This isn't the first time I've used TurboTax, and it won't be the last. It is extremely easy to navigate through each section - federal and state. If you find yourself not sure on how to answer TurboTax has the best explanation guides that are extremely helpful and make complete sense. The best, you can complete your returns from the comfort of your own home with comfy cloths and a cup of tea. Thank you TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like using Turbo Tax, however, it would be easier if it walked you through the entire form so you aren't thinking that you are missing something. For example; I had to search a couple times for things like vehicle registrations or charitable contributions. I understand that it was due to not having over the standard deduction, but I still like to be asked these questions so I feel I'm getting all tax breaks possible. Other than that, it was very simple and easy to use. Will use it again next year.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked Turbo Tax is great. There was one complicated issue on my return but a customer rep walked me through it and took the time to get it right.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!! I filed an extension to prepare my taxes for 2017. I had to get it done by Oct 15th. I planed to go to H&R Block but I procrastinated and it's now Oct 9th. I decided to give TurboTax a try. I am more than satisfied, pleased, grateful, thankful, etc. No more tax services for me. From now on, I will use TurboTax. It was an amazing experience!
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Every Year
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not great The above ratings say all I care to mention.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kept it Private It shows a record of the prior year's input
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Your programming needs work !!! You need to make a way to easily jump to areas flagged in the review process. You need to make sure that corrections post to the return. I had to delete cookies on my computer and delete forms and start over when your program refused to pick up my changes.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frustrated When I called for help, the gentleman simply read exactly what the screen was telling me. It said I had a form filled out that I did not and it did not match. He told me to print it off and try to file. Big help, NOT!!! First time I have had an issue using this service in past five years, but this has been a big one.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Your Calculations: NOT 100% accurate. Rejected For the very first time in the 10 years or so that I'm e-filing via TurboTax, my Federal 1040 return was rejected - & consequently, both my state returns also were rejected. The "fix" that you proposed was either not detailed enough, or simply didn't work. I feel that when there is an error, your software should "take me there" , one-by-one, to all the fields that require correction.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Yet I finished my 2017 in record time. It was almost a copy of last year's and I m getting getter and getter using it. I file extensions because I hate the paperwork drill (last year's 1040 was 151 pages) and if I had to do it manually, I'd been committed. Can't believe there is a better platform than Turbo! Thanks Turbo Tax!!
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not gotten e-flied yet I have been using TT for over 10 years, it always used to fill in all my details from previous years. In 2017 it did not, which caused me a few hours of re-entering data. Lastly I hit e-file and have to choose a self selected PIN, and the TT instructions clearly state ANY number, and does not mention it needs to match last years number. I am now on my 4 attempt at e-filing and have finally gotten my PIN correct, but still not my wife's. The e-file keeps getting rejected due to incorrect PIN. I will probably try TT again next year, but if my details don't transfer I will try a different tax filing software.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Major hassle for somone living abroad Turvotax is meant to be the ultimate tax software. That means it should provide support for reasonable if not trivial situations like living abroad. It doesn't. Non north american numbering system phone #s can't be entered. Foreign addresses with no state or province lead to errors.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1st Time User Everything was intuitive but second guessed filing state because military with spouse status. Overall it went well.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but some confusion Generally, this worked very well. However, it took some additional time to go through different possible ways to claim self-employment expenses. That could use more clarification.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thanks for the help! For some reason when eFiling my birthdate and then my spouses birthdate were off my one. Hopefully 3rd time is a charm.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from CEO This was the most frustrating filing and I will NEVER use Turbotax again. My return was locked up and treated as filed when I tried filing the extension back in April. I had to trick the system by opening up a state to file the corrected Fed return. There's no simple way to review a PDF copy without it treating it as filed. HORRIBLE experience.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from taxes made easy easy peasey would never been able to do info on stock sales and 401K withdrawals without this amazing software previous years I spent 300-400 dollars on average love the audit meter didn't see it this year.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smoothe filing I think that Turbo Tax continues to get better every year that I use it to file my taxes.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tax Software I have been using TurboTax since it first came out. I have found it to be a great value for the price. I started using the Premier program when my financial situation became more sophisticated. I have never felt the need to have a professional tax preparer do my federal taxes, although I might try one just to compare!
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy My tax situation was a little different than previous years due to a business partnership. I was worried if TurboTax would still be my go-to tax solution, and it was. It asked me all the questions to get me what I needed!
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Way to file taxes Great experience. could not be happier with program.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy... I have been using Turbo Tax for a few years now and it just gets better and easier every year... This is an excellent product and I highly recommend it. I plan on using this every year but will try to file on time next year!
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund yay!!! TurboTax has always been the software I use to file my taxes. It is easy, quick and reliable. This year I had to report capital losses and that part was confusing. It isn't quite as easy to use as the other parts of Turbo Tax. The search window and help screen did help me some, but I did have to reach out to my friend that is an accountant to help me with this portion because it wasn't clear how to fill everything out
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent assistance from Keith The call and prior reminders were awesome...I had many details to list about dividends etc. We went through everything that I had questions about. Several different sources for income were confusing for me but Keith was well versed in the information and made my return much easier than I expected. We had a little trouble pulling up the code number in the beginning but when I changed our firewall software the code was evident. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-10-08
  • y_2018, m_12, d_10, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7348, tr_13238
  • loc_, sid_400_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 301ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return by 4/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.