TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I keep using it!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast n Easy Got caught in a loop about a certain 1099 with no info and it was imported or saved from a previous year and lacked context. Otherwise, amazing service. Clean UI/UX easy to follow. painless and great. Would recommend 10/10.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT A USER FRIENDLY SECTION. I FINALLY DELETED THE 1099-Rs so no tax should occur this year anyway. "Conversion" is the values going from a traditional IRA to a ROTH, "Recharacterization" are values going from a Roth Account back to a traditional IRA. Your statment is backwards in that section. I do like your improvements since around 2003 concerning the imports from financial institutions.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Couldn't enter simple gas royalty entries without upgrading to Premier.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from got me in b4 the deadline If you are afraid to take the plunge , turbotax is your lifeguard. Take control of your taxes, partner with turbotax!!!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2017 TT +/- I like the addition of the CPA/Assistant this year, although I didn't use it. Having add on options that are in the 2018/2017(return) application is a great option for folks. I found this year's edition VERY difficult to get to where I needed to add pertinent information (particularly schedule D and Bailey SEttlement on federal 1099-R section) VERY difficult...not what I recall in all the previous years using TT.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy Once Again I’ve used Turbo tax for years and always have a positive experience. Filed my whole return on my phone in less than an hour. Super easy and no stress!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No refund but ....... whew Would have liked to see the items line by line in the actual forms as I was filling it in.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turning a complex process into a manageable proces Excellent...clear...precise...forgiving
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Much improved, but... I had stopped using Turbo Tax years ago, because it insisted on asking every financial detail of my life, even when it became obvious that itemizing would lose me money. It's much more sensible now, asking for easy estimates of deductions before telling me that I should go with the standard deduction. Saved me hours of hunting through records, compared to years ago. But when it asked me whether I'd contributed to a retirement fund, I thought it meant my IRA contribution, so I entered that. A few pages later, when the IRA subject came up, I realized I'd made a mistake earlier. Nothing I could do would back out that mistake. I'd return to where it asked if I'd made the contribution and answer "no," but the amount would remain in the form. I'd go back and answer "yes," and change the amount from the several thousand I'd first reported to zero, but my return still didn't change. I submitted a question to the user forum, but received no reply in 24 hours. Finally submitted the erroneous return. I'll have to follow it with an amendment.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE TURBO TAX !! I have been using TurboTax for many years and it NEVER fails me and my family!! I have the utmost confidence in the software and all the tools available for my use. We have NEVER been audited or found to have errors in our many returns over the years. Even when I have had the complicated process of filing for ESPP sales in years past, filing for deceased family members and itemizing deductions and ItsDeductible for charitable donations, it makes it so easy to complete with confidence and expertise. I would NEVER use another program ever than TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent!!! Numbers and I don't get along...ever! Turbo Tax made it easy. I file with confidence!!!!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy!!!! ive been using turbo tax for years and its so easy... i completed my taxes in less than 2 hours and made it right before the deadline!!!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY AND HELPFUL I've used TurboTAX in a couple different iterations now. I like that it is available on line which makes it a snap with a good internet connection. Couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what it used to be. I've used this software for years. My return has gone from ~ 2900 to 1500. The software used to guide you. Now unless you pay big bucks it makes you guess where to go. I expect intuit doesn't own it any more. Dissapointed.. Guess I have to go somewhere else. Thankfully I saved my data so I can take it somewhere else.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Deceptive upgrade options Been using Turbo Tax for a few years, but this year there were too many deceptive upgrade options. Also payment options that have a fee associated, but are not disclosed at the time of the selection. Please stop using these deceptive options or I will simply use a CPA for a little more and maintain my privacy.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and easy
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Most confusing year ever I will probably get audited due to them not understanding that my employer put HSA money in, not me. Then when it comes to selecting SELF / FAMILY ...neither of those options apply. I also feel like they didn't find the same deductions they did on previous years.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very User Friendly! The software program is very user-friendly and instructions are clear. It would be greatly beneficial if multiple windows can be opened so one can validate State filing data against the federal return.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & Timely I am very pleased with my use of TurboTax. It was easy to get my external data included from investments to my mortgage information. I had no issue with getting the application on Tax Day. It was well thought as it related to the information required. The flow of moving the application was intuitive and fluid. It was an overall great experience.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pricey...but easy I had used the wrong credit card and needed to switch but the payment process doesnt have enough of a confirmation procedure or flexibility for updates
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy with my refund I have been using TurboTax for over 15 years. Wasted $562 on HR Block one year cause I doubted myself--it didn't save me any money. This year, I sold a house, bought a new house, got a new job and moved to new state. TurboTax is king! It walked me through all those events and got me a refund. Why go anywhere else?
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax 2018 I have used this for several years and overall I like it. Pros: You can save your taxes or refer to them later. Most of my wage/income details is imported. I like that I can jump back to modify or review at any time. Con: The one thing I don't care for is that it seems to be adding more add-ons costs to select so that the final cost may have been more than if I used my accountant to file.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Software just works and is easy to use. I would prefer to pre-pay, just so I can see what data is going into the 1040 and all associated worksheets. Software takes you through item by item, but makes it hard to keep the big picture/holistic view of your return.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as it used to be Worked OK, luckily I kind of know what I'm doing. Help feature not specific enough for my questions. No ability to drill down to line item level as in previous editions and could not find where to address exceptions such as some local taxes Really poor job on explaining how to fill out AMT information. I probably paid in more than I should have and will go to a professional to redo so am very dissatisfied with the product,
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good work and through information the software was very through and easy to follow but for me it was not cost effective and I will be looking for other options next year, thank you
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth, easy Easy way to file taxes, takes all of the mystery and tedium out of the process.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I never will like doing my taxes, but... The turbotax software is easier to use this year than last. It costs a lot less that a tax professional, and gave at least equal results. But it didn't explain the changes to the tax laws as clearly as I wanted, especially when I saw my tax bill had increase so much from last year. I wanted to know why.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Survived my taxes! It is amazing to me the number of forms turbotax completes on my behalf...can't imagine how I would do for rental properties without this great tool!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Premium Charged Every year turbo tax becomes easier and easier and I appreciate that! They also increase the fees and find ways for their customers to pay more.
Date published: 2018-04-18
  • y_2018, m_4, d_25, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7178, tr_12891
  • loc_, sid_400_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 169ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.