TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NICE Great something you can easily do yourself!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax handled my more complex taxes this year! TurboTax is awesome! My taxes this year were more complicated with capital gains investments that were sold, IRA rollovers, and Roth IRA distributions. I thought I was going to have to spend a lot more money getting an outside accountant to do it all for me.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from E-Filing was horrible E-file wouldn't let me submit and pay for taxes on same date. Never had this problem in year's prior. Submission was rejected by the IRS, delays, etc. Horrible experience.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thorough I think turbo tax is simple and easy to use, but it's a little pricey and I don't like how they slip in the state filing fee at the end. You see the cost of the federal upfront, but then they sneak in the state later. No one likes sneaky fees. I would give 5 stars if they were upfront about the state fee.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed It kept crashing when it tried to load the 1099 forms from Charles Schwab (INT, DIV, -B) for final review. I guess the forms were too large for TurboTax to handle. It also repeatedly asked for corrections on the forms that didn’t make sense, and/or didn’t match what they stated needed to be changed (eg, Long Term Investment pop-down representing a Holding entry). The forms also ghosted on any buttons and drop-downs, splitting the whole form image into two, one movable (with the drop-downs and buttons) over the other — try to correct anything or discern anything with that, heh. It took me a couple of hours to slowly try to work through, and I’m not very confident of the changes TurboTax _demanded_ I make — otherwise, I was going to have to send the returns in via mail, per TurboTax. Keep in mind, these are forms that were auto-loaded directly from Charles Schwab...
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as user friendly as past years I really liked the previous years. It was turbo tax for dummies. This year I had to look for things that use to pop up automatically. Unfortunately I had unexpected medical expenses to deduct and I had a hard time finding it. Maybe because previous years I didn't qualify. I finally found this small blue print the said more deductions.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Filed Tax Return with Help from intuit turbotax(R) I appreciate the intuit turbotax(R) tax preparation service and have been utilizing it for years. The software helps one to consider if certain situations like a sale, purchase, investment, or one's hobby can effect how much tax you pay or if you can expect a refund. This year I did pay for extra help from the CPA and I ended up having to make a last minute call. The CPA was patient and walked me thru to find and resolve the software's request for more information which I had activated by entering a zero (0) in the 'Alternative Minimum Tax' (AMT) review. The software was also following up on incomplete entries. After the AMT issue was resolved, I had a few more questions for the CPA, and was able to file my return. I'll definitely return next year. In the meantime, I'm hoping a few more upfront tips can be made available.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome service I used live adviser feature this year and it worked great - fast and convenient at good price point.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets better every year!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Product When you need some help getting your income taxes done, turbotax to the rescue. Makes it simple and goes step by step with you. Easy to understand and you feel confident by the end of the process. Thank you Turbotax.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dedicated to TurboTax I've used TurboTax for over 10 years. This product gets better every year. Thank you for making filing my taxes as painless as possible.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unfriendly and expensive 1. getting error msgs that the instructions doesn't explain how to fix. had to go thru every screen to solve it and still not sure if it is correct. 2. expensive. 3. instructions lingo is not user friendly, it needs to just point out what the error is or what field it is having a problem with instead of the entire form. annoying...
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Some seemed repetitive Please make sure the time is corrected to 11:21 PST on 4/17, not 2:21 EST on 4/18, that makes me late when I was just under the wire. Thank you.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unable to import ESSP info from Fidelity
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it for years! Always a good experience using Turbo Tax. This year, it was even better importing my 1099-B from my investment broker. Very user friendly and easy to use. I have tried to switch to HR Block or TaxAct in the past but always came back to Turbotax. This is my 19th year using it.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SUPERSONIC SAVER! I was initially terrified of doing my taxes on my own, but after hours at my local tax branch sifting thru paperwork and spending thousands of dollars on people to do my return only to wait weeks on end for a response I decided to give TURBOTAX a shot. Thus far the best decision I've ever made in my life. Thank you TURBOTAX for saving me thousands but most importantly saving me valuable time. As a hard working mom of two, time is most precious. You can give time but you cant get it back.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Got a large refund! Helped me navigate a new area I had not used before and I was able to complete the transactions and get a large amount back on my taxes.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Complicated Return My return this year was more complicated than usual, and I did owe several thousand dollars. However, I was able to prepare the return in a straightforward way and file it with no problems.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally took care of my taxes.... I really enjoyed doing my taxes this year. Yeah, its a lot of paperwork but TurboTax makes is easy.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great user friendly I will use again and again
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taxes Made Easy I am able to go through my taxes step by step. Any questions you may have are easily answered on the topic you are currently on. If your question isn't answered there, you may call the toll free number and speak with a representative.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy as $123 I like to be in control of my financial well-being. TT puts me in the drivers seat.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refund The process was easy to follow. Most of the return I liked, I only had a problem when I wanted to add a form, had to upgrade to move forward, it wouldn't let me even look at the form to see if I really needed it or not. Thanks.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I luv turbotax Been a loyal user for many years and while my taxes became more complex, the process became easier! How? Turbotax's user interface is so easy to use.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A little too tight and confined Works good for the common categories but less so for items that are not as frequent. For example, I made an estimated tax pymt on 1/15...I had to try all sorts of things to try to get that info entered correctly. Technically never did. Closest thing I could get (as a field to enter it in) was additional fed w/h taxes.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!!!! WOW, it does get easier every year. The updates and questions are more specific and makes it a breeze!! Thank you Turbo Tax!!!!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I keep using it!
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast n Easy Got caught in a loop about a certain 1099 with no info and it was imported or saved from a previous year and lacked context. Otherwise, amazing service. Clean UI/UX easy to follow. painless and great. Would recommend 10/10.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT A USER FRIENDLY SECTION. I FINALLY DELETED THE 1099-Rs so no tax should occur this year anyway. "Conversion" is the values going from a traditional IRA to a ROTH, "Recharacterization" are values going from a Roth Account back to a traditional IRA. Your statment is backwards in that section. I do like your improvements since around 2003 concerning the imports from financial institutions.
Date published: 2018-04-18
  • y_2018, m_4, d_24, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7175, tr_12888
  • loc_, sid_400_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 77ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.