TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Had to help today because my numbers were not comp I have used Turbo Tax for many years but this is the first year that I have had trouble trying to complete my filing.Irs said that I was putting the wrong numbers in that you have put in for years.EIC..I hope finally that they have ack.that the number I gave them is correct so it will not get rejected AGAIN
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall much easier than I thought it would be.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much easier than last year I like this program and especially all the checks it does. I wish they would give you the whole page to look at when something needs corrected instead of the box; I had several things I had to check off and could not find the form. Overall though I think it is good. It has helped me find deductions to even help lower my tax obligation as well as get a refund. We all like to get refunds but when you can't get one you at least don't want to have to pay a lot. Also amended returns from last year which was very easy.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I have used Turbo Tax for close to 20 years. It has taken me through my single years, adding spouse, losing a spouse, adding kids, buying and selling real estate and selling stocks and other investments. I have never felt insecure about the software being accurate nor covering all areas of what I need, and then some. This year was no exception, HOWEVER, I was very displeased about having to start from scratch. The software usually recognizes me every year, sends my user name, info and even a reminder to begin, file, etc. But this year, I had to enter ALL of my info over again, including personal, employers, deduction addresses, and even final info to efile. (Every year I am asked to review what they have and if it is correct, but never had to add anything unless there was a change.) It was extremely time consuming to file my taxes this year compared to years past. If the software has changed, or their guidelines, it would have been nice to have a heads up as I started. I ended up having to ask for an extension in order to get all of the info together they were re-addressing that had usually uploaded on its own. The usual 5 star rating I give was reduced this year b/c of this reason.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I would have like to have tried to have filed individually, in other words generate the return for my wife and then myself, but how you have it set it is to complete only one, no way to verify if filling individually would have generated a higher return. Please allow to try alternative ways of filling.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & thorough I keep using TurboTax because it’s helpful to file online and they keep my info safe. I had a question about why my refund was so low after adding my 3rd W-2 & was able to find the reason in the explanations they provided for why my refund was what it was. I feel better now that understand it.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from while doing returns turbo tells me everyday I have not finished my taxes. I finished and I guess I made a mistake and fed did not accept...turbo sent me one follow-up..heading said nothing about rejection..didn't open and read..my fault..but why no multiple follow up emails ..why couldn't heading say rejected....yeah I assumed no problem..but follow-up emails maybe I look sooner and yes heading of email sure could have said rejected
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sales Director
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My taxes weren't filed! I thought my taxes had gotten filed, I went all the way through and paid the fees, etc. Today I was wondering why my payment hadn't been deducted so I logged in to see what was happening only to see the "Pick up where you left off button" and find out that it gave me a filing date error. I used 04/17/2018 (that was the date I thought I filed). I never received an email alerting me to finish my return or anything. I've never owed taxes before so the process was different for me this year and I thought I just didn't get a notification since I wasn't receiving a refund. Now I have to call the IRS to see what I need to do to avoid a penalty. :(
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a relief! Love Turbotax! I am in no way shape or form a numbers cruncher and doing taxes is not very easy or enjoyable for me. Thanks to Turbotax, a lot of the pain of tax prep is removed. This year I opted to pay for live help and that was terrific! James helped me in areas I was confused and gave me some great advice. He also forced me to be more detailed in my responses. Highly recommend Intuit and Turbotax.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2017 Tax return When I searched free taxes online turbotax is one that came up. When I finished it made me pay before I could finish
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy Support I've successfully filed with TurboTax for a number of years.
Date published: 2018-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yippee! I'm done!!! This was my 3rd year of using Turbo Tax for our taxes. Each year there's more to learn, but I have a feeling of accomplishment when I'm finished. This year I paid the extra fee to be able to talk with a professional for some help and it was well worth it. Definitely do that again next year.
Date published: 2018-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely Complicated for Grad Students I did an internship. I have stocks and there is no W2 from my university. This situation makes the interface very confusing. Only the CPA's understand it. It doesn't explain what it is doing and why is it doing so. I can't explain my problems to the interface. The interaction is not natural. It does simple things with huge complication. The amount of due /return changes irrationally without any explanation. If I immediately change the last action that affected the money, it doesn't revert back to the previous amount anymore. It remains changed. Last but not least, IT IS EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE.
Date published: 2018-04-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficult for Homeowners Difficult for Homeowners, i had my house as a rental property and also sold that in the 2017 tax year. It was not easy to figure out how to go about the filing
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Kingsbury to Christ Tried to call an IRS agent and all i got was recording. Question, Got married 21 July 2017. IRS application wouldn't let me change my married status. Change karin last name from Kingsbury to Christ. Thats all i was trying to change.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Late Filing Not Notified Have used TurboTax for years. Completed everything to file up to last step but apparently did not process. Wondered why hadn't received refund so signed in to see final step not initiated. Why wouldn't Turbo Tax send a reminder when they could see return had not been submitted. Very disappointing.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time Great follow along and explanation. Traveled out of country and when checked email-my return was rejected because my wife's B-day was off by one digit. My fault but will add phone # for text warning in future for Turbo tax use. Appreciated the definitions explanation during the tax process.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need improvements Difficult to get simple answers, to go back to certain information, to change things like email address. At the end, you think you've filed, but then there's more info needed and you haven't really filed as you're led to believe.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Online Turbotax is not intuitive. It lacks the ability to quickly and easily make corrections/ adjustments. Cumbersome and unwieldy.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tax Program This is my goto program for doing my taxes. Been using it for years and they seem to update and make it easier to use every year. The support people are well informed and give excellent advice. If I have a problem they are patient and stay with me till I figure out the answer. Excellent tax program Highly recommend*****
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Confusing E-File Informtaion TurboTax does not detail how to E-File your taxes on Tax Day (April 18th). When I went to E-File on April 18th, they had posted confusing information about having to put the payment date a day after April 18th. After submitting, my E-File was rejected because according to the rejection explanation I filed after the 18th. If I had known that the whole process was just going to tell me that I couldn't E-File on the 18th, and my return would be rejected, I would never have used that option in the first place and would have mailed them in instead. Why would Turbotax allow the option if it was just going to be rejected?
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good way to file taxes Overall, 99% was very well done. But, Turbotax had a problem with our brokerage account. In the end I got it resolved, but had to do through some digging. Interesting since Turbotax was actually able to access our brokerage account.
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't Transmit taxes I've used turbo tax for about 10 years. It is usually reliable and accurate BUT this year I set up e-filing to take the taxes I owed out of my checking account on 4-17 but that did not happen. I had heard on the radio that the IRS was having trouble with their software to I wasn't too worried, but today, I started to worry (Almost a week late). So I asked turbo tax to do the e-file agail. Looks like it may have worked, but it looked like it worked last time. Hope the payment doesn't get deducted from my account twice.
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 tax return
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Overall, not happy with the service. Charged me extra to import my fidelity statement, when I could've entered for free myself. After finishing my return, I paid for the service and thought I had submitted. However, 2 months later, I realized it was never submitted and not once did I receive an e-mail notifying me this.
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Easy! Turbotax is great! Organized, easy to follow and use, and saves time. We have used TurboTax for over 10 years now and plan to keep using this product.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the EA/CPA Help I have used TurboTax for a number of years. The software is simple enough to use and to provide confidence in accurately filing. Added features like EA/CPA review, Audit Defense, various payment and tax return options, and other Help features are excellent. I would recommend TurboTax to my family and friends.
Date published: 2018-04-22
  • y_2018, m_8, d_14, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7233, tr_12983
  • loc_, sid_400_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 298ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.