TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost FUN Given the step by step, you will get it right and not miss any important information. Also like the helpful guide to costing items under contributions
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love and hate relationship I usually really love TurboTax, however, I sold and purchased a new house during the last tax cycle and the questions when checking my review were not clear. The "form speak" may have been great for an accountant, however I use TurboTax so that I don't have to have an accountant...and I'll be using an accountant going forward due to the unclear guidance that was provided during this years filing.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EVEN COMPLICATED TAXES are EASY Filling is not only easy but educational.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Return Help The best program out there. Thanks for the help.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made the Complex Simple Turbo Tax is very efficient at taking complex tax topics and guiding the user through each one that is relevant. Supporting information is well linked to each topic. The question and answer format is simple to implement and every year I'm surprised at what new rules and information I learn while completing my returns. Can't imagine doing my tax returns without TT!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good, Not Perfect TurboTax is wonderful for a person that isn't a CPA, who doesn't keep up on current tax law changes etc. My one problem, and I don't think this has ever happened before, TurboTax had an obvious error in my state tax, for example, total tax owed was 2500 (rounded), I had paid 1000 estimated tax with my extension, all was entered. TT came up with zero owed to state or me. It took the 2500, used that number for estimated tax and came up with zero. I tried several ways to fix it and was unable to do so. it went in wrong, and I'm sure that the state will let me know that I owe them money with penalties, somewhere around 1500 plus. I tried to fix it, how do you end up at zero owed or owing?
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still amazing how simple it is. Quite simply the easiest and fastest way to do your taxes. I have several "special" situations and TT handles them all seamlessly. It's quite fast and I feel that their site is very secure. Everything was calculated correctly with one exception, and I was able to make it work with a little advice when calling TT. Support is also very good - I've only used it twice and both times have been very impressed with the person that answered the phone.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 is done!!! 4th year of using TurboTax and I would highly recommend it to anyone. The efile process is great.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth it I need to delete and start over, as Several items have NO way of editing once 'DONE with'. Turbotax costs double compared to taxactonline. Some javascript errors left me clueless. No live chat support.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked again, as usual... The usual dependable, drama-free performance, year after year. I'm a loyal customer.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy Turbo tax makes filing taxes so easy
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Regardless of information entered, deleted or verified, errors remained; impression left me feeling that my input - perhaps because it was at the final day of filing for extensions granted were essentially ignored. I attempted to correct errors reported - perhaps your 'explanations' were inadequate??? FIX your 'restrictions' for 'nicknames'!! How about an email address ... PERIOD!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to use! I've been using TurboTax for a few years now and will continue using it in the future. Love how it pulls information in from past years and guides you through the whole process. I'm definitely not a tax expert, but TurboTax makes it fairly simple.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from SW issue for multi states filing e-filing kept failing for multiple states with no option to override the apparent issue or bug. SW kept going back to Fix state... I had to select alternative option. I am not sure that states filing went thru. Info not clear. It's too late to print docs and file by mail. Message after filing is ambiguous! Did system file states with federal? Or just federal?
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from In General, I Recommend TurboTax is good. I’ve been using it since 2007 (for my 2006 income taxes) and have never experienced a problem (knock wood!). Sometimes I would like a bit more information, or clarification, but the opportunities to speak with a live person are limited. I usually get through it by myself, but it takes a lot more time that way. But in general a great package, and I like that it forces me to review closely at least once per year!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Refund I have been a customer for years.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax - Multistate Review For the most part, federal form went well. Forms that could be imported were (with minor frustrations, such as when I had to search for source funds for the $1 in foreign taxes I paid). I was surprised how easily health insurance (ACA and other) and health deductions entered. State returns were difficult, trying to distribute earnings between states (Utah asking for how much taxes paid to other state when other state form not completed yet and no clear path to move to other state return). I'd also swear Turbotax charges me in the fall, then requires full payment when I finally file, I will review that). Overall, I got the returns done in a reasonable amount of time, and I found ways to enter all forms received. Although I just realized it never asked me if I sold my house this year (which I did). No expected tax on sale amount, still, it should have been asked and processed.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from General Comments An overall good experience, if filing tax forms can be considered good. Had a lengthy time filling in amounts, dates, and other specific for sale and purchase of stocks. However, that is an IRS requirement and cannot legitimately be regarded as a fault of TurboTax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great help always thankful for Turbo Tax
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax held my hand! TurboTax covered a lot of ground, and helped me find deductions and credits. Its advice is backed by research and at any point guides you to come to a decision or make an informed choice.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User friendly and educational I have never done this before and found it to be very user friendly and helpful in terms of understanding what to and not to deduct
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Will Do In A Pinch...
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and Easy Tax Returns for Married Gay Couple I used to pay my accountant more than $1000 to file our returns. I had to drive to another County to drop off papers to him and it all created stress as I tended to wait until the last minute which also caused him to charge me more. I always felt like I was asking a favor of him to do our taxes. With Turbo tax I was able to complete our taxes in 3-4 hours and e-filing was easy. I would definitely recommend this to other busy married couples - or singles who like the feeling of being self sufficient while getting the highest possible refund. Great product! Great price! $119 for everything.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Missing human contact It is one of the most aggravating things I do. If you do not understand the question you're up the creek without a paddle. It is said that you can have telephone contact with an expert, but how? The community based answers are so general and do not help at all unless you have a very simple problem. I like to learn even though I am a senior. I am often ready to tear my hair out.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saving Grace! I was so stressed out about getting my taxes filed as I sold my home and Turbotax saved my day . . . and now a few nights as . . . as I know I will sleep restfully tonight. Thank you,
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Refund Everything was great until I was forced to buy the Premier version for some simple investment entries. Never had to do that in the past when I had much more complicated items to enter. Might not buy again next year. Too expensive.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from been using turbo tax for years - NEVER had any issues
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from rental property was tricky Instructions for inputting rental property info for short stay rental that is part of my primary residence and was only available to rent part of the year were not clear or thorough. Turbo Tax Customer Service spent an hour with me on the phone, thanks Vinny, we think we got it but she agreed it was confusing and hard to see what was happening in the background (online version did not allow us to follow forms). Issues with what was being reduced based on property data, what does "Turbo Tax will allocate your personal portion of qualified interest over to the deduction section for you" do, confusion about how to handle mortgage interest and property tax...
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Military Returns Great help for a complicated return of two Military members who recentlyed PCS'd, owned a rental porperty in a seperate state, and have a VRBO/AirBnB vacation rental.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_21, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9138, tr_15744
  • loc_, sid_400_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 55ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.