TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.8 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Foreign residence / income I've used Turbotax for years and will probably continue to do so to maintain continuity. I live, work, and invest outside of the U.S. There are a lot of uncertainties in proper reporting. The interview isn't much help. I would pay extra for a Turbotax CPA if I knew that my questions (even 50% of them)could be answered. The bug in single individual filing of form 2555 (joint return with both people living outside of U.S.) took quite a bit of time to figure out. Instructions weren't explicit enough.
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy
Date published: 2018-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax is awesome I've used TurboTax for years and I absolutely love it. I rave about how easy it is to use and how it provides answers to question while filing your tax return. I've recommended it to many family members and friends and most have switched to TurboTax and agree that it's great. Thank you TurboTax for being so helpful and making filing taxes very easy to do.
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from really got me all they could the person that did my final return did an outstanding job I had 2 back to back hurricains in 2016 and 2017 and she found losts of disaster relief dollars to help me with my repairs!
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from average Program does not explain everything well enough; only some items are thoroughly explained. The display format did not work on either computer I used so not all options were easily accessible. Misleading advertisement - they advertise cheap prices but gradually increase your cost as you go for any and every little thing. I figured for extra help or 'guarantees' you would need to upgrade, but you literally cannot do anything other than an 1040EZ without upgrading. Advertise "free" for military, but most members will be forced to upgrade in order to complete their taxes with this program.
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Foreign filing Loved being able to file as a tax payer abroad in only a few hours vs a couple of days doing it manually. However, if you don't understand how foreign tax credits and the reduction thereof is calculated it's far from intuitive using this program. Everything else was a breeze.
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In Love with Turbo Tax Personally based on my experience, I deeply trust Turbo Tax. They have the best guidelines for any taxpayer to be able to file his/her tax return.
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax helped me tremendously. I needed this help to sit back in my own surroundings and maximize my tax refund.
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Little disappointed Just checked status of state refund and was surprised to find it was waiting on me to deselect a direct deposit check box. Would have been nice to have received a proactive notice or email as I did my taxes month ago and appeared everything was good.
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Get's it done
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always helpful Been using Turbotax for years, love this product.
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Major Assistance I was in a different situation this year, as I had to file a Non-Resident state tax return. I was able to do so fairly easily utilizing the Q&A section and reading the instructions. I also recognize that I am an Accountant by trade. Having said that, there are a couple of screens that could probably be a bit more intuitive to the more novice user.
Date published: 2018-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is ridiculous! I've used TurboTax for years, so I know how to use it. I have a print out that my return was filed. But when I signed in over a month later to check on why I had not received anything and the IRS had not taken the money out of my bank account that I owed I found that it showed my return wasn't filed!!
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not so scarry.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expat filing overseas, done in 2 hrs! Great experience, filing from overseas. 11th year in a row filing with turbotax, even better every year!
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from T.Tax is awesome! Been using T.tax for years. Have not been audited yet. )))
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from President of Redstone Aviation Group I have been using TT for 12 years. It has only gotten better. I highly recommend this product. Another high-point, if you are buying anything large (house) it is easy to go back in and review docs.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but... Overall Turbotax is good but it got messed up with my Indiana State K1. I have lots of blank lines in that K1 and the software did not like that; was going to make me file by mail and kept saying there were errors. As a final desperate measure, and figuring it wouldn't help, I completely deleted the state K1 and started over. Still lots of blanks, but on the second try it was happy, let me finish the return and let my do e-file.
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Turbotax See above
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from You sent the Tax "rejection" notice to my spam !! I better NOT receive a fine because of this transmission error on Turbotax's fault! You charged me $119.00 to e-file! I will NEVER use your on-line e-filing if I am punished for this over-charged service that Turbotax has become. :o(
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Follow-through The notification that my returns were not accepted showed up in my inbox only 24 hrs ago. The deadline to fix a rejected return was 4/22. Now I am likely going to be charged interest and fines!
Date published: 2018-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What Happened to My Info I've been using TurboTax for 20 years. The on-line version for at least 6 and this year I had to re-enter all of my data. I could download last years tax forms but had to enter a lot of data manually that in the past has transferred over on its own. Not sure why I had to do that this year.
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from CANT DO A SIMPLE 1040 its May 8th and I still cannot get my efiled tax return to go through on what I could have done manually on a 1040 ez and mailed it in
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Had to help today because my numbers were not comp I have used Turbo Tax for many years but this is the first year that I have had trouble trying to complete my filing.Irs said that I was putting the wrong numbers in that you have put in for years.EIC..I hope finally that they have ack.that the number I gave them is correct so it will not get rejected AGAIN
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall much easier than I thought it would be.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much easier than last year I like this program and especially all the checks it does. I wish they would give you the whole page to look at when something needs corrected instead of the box; I had several things I had to check off and could not find the form. Overall though I think it is good. It has helped me find deductions to even help lower my tax obligation as well as get a refund. We all like to get refunds but when you can't get one you at least don't want to have to pay a lot. Also amended returns from last year which was very easy.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I have used Turbo Tax for close to 20 years. It has taken me through my single years, adding spouse, losing a spouse, adding kids, buying and selling real estate and selling stocks and other investments. I have never felt insecure about the software being accurate nor covering all areas of what I need, and then some. This year was no exception, HOWEVER, I was very displeased about having to start from scratch. The software usually recognizes me every year, sends my user name, info and even a reminder to begin, file, etc. But this year, I had to enter ALL of my info over again, including personal, employers, deduction addresses, and even final info to efile. (Every year I am asked to review what they have and if it is correct, but never had to add anything unless there was a change.) It was extremely time consuming to file my taxes this year compared to years past. If the software has changed, or their guidelines, it would have been nice to have a heads up as I started. I ended up having to ask for an extension in order to get all of the info together they were re-addressing that had usually uploaded on its own. The usual 5 star rating I give was reduced this year b/c of this reason.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I would have like to have tried to have filed individually, in other words generate the return for my wife and then myself, but how you have it set it is to complete only one, no way to verify if filling individually would have generated a higher return. Please allow to try alternative ways of filling.
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy & thorough I keep using TurboTax because it’s helpful to file online and they keep my info safe. I had a question about why my refund was so low after adding my 3rd W-2 & was able to find the reason in the explanations they provided for why my refund was what it was. I feel better now that understand it.
Date published: 2018-05-06
  • y_2018, m_7, d_20, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7223, tr_12977
  • loc_, sid_400_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 104ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.