TurboTax Premier Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Premier is tax preparation software for people with investments and rental property income. Try for FREE. TurboTax is the easy way to prepare taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2017 Review First time using on-line version (not the CD) and it made me enter all my prior info by hand. No auto transfer. Had to pay an extra $40 for the State filing or it would Delete it. I usually file the State return myself by mail. Print function did not include any Worksheets with the tax return.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes taxes easy......... Howard was an enormous help! So grateful for this service.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Expert Service Experience Poor My taxes had been rejected through e-file 3 times. I decided maybe it would be important to utilize expert services. I gave them a call Friday evening. After spending a 1/2 hour with the agent, and her running me through the same steps I had already reviewed and explained to her (4255 was being rejected, which I told her what was happening each time it was rejected), we go to "file your taxes". I was told I had to pay again for the services, which I informed the agent I had already done. I spent a 1/2 hour on hold while she got approvals from the manager. The code was accepted, but it was still asking for my credit card info. The agent wasn't sure what the issue was, but said she would look into it. Next thing I know, I am on the line with a different agent, and she asks "it looks like you are having issues filing your taxes". At this point, I was extremely upset and disappointed. I let her know that I had been on the line for 60 minutes, and that I wanted to talked with a manager. The agent informed me that a manager would call between 5 and 60 minutes. It is now 48 hours later and I was never reached out to by a a manager. I inputted the info., sent my taxes off only to have them rejected for a 4th time. Today as I logged on to turbotax, they finally found a workaround to submit form 4255 (which involved deleting the form, which is what should have been done in the first place). I submitted, and am awaiting to see if my return is finally accepted through e-file. I am extremely disappointed in the expert services. They provided no value, left me on hold for over a 1/2 hour, passed me to another agent without providing any details to the other agent. Promised to allow me to speak to a manager, and I was never followed up with. I will absolutely be asking for a refund for expert services, and will never utilize that service again. I have used turbo tax for taxes for 10 years now, and I have never been so disappointed. At this point, I may need to look into another service for 2018.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from transition from CD downloaded version to online I understand we as a society are moving to online products -- It took me a while to accept this -- But the transition is tough in part because I started my online 2017 version without understanding that I should import my prior year's taxes before starting. It was important in my case because of a long list of depreciated assets as a part of a rental property. I do encourage you to add more notices for people like me.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy We have used turbotax for several years now. It is very user friendly and makes filing a breeze.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax On Time EveryTime It's phun-easy-and-inexpensive and I'm addicted.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 overall turbo tax is excellent.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall In general the software works well. However, if you move between sections the software makes you back through some steps over again. It would be nice if I didn't have to restart a section everytime I go back to it.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from staying with a winner Thank you TTax for helping me over the years. I have definitely developed a confidence level preparing two returns annually over the past 12-14 years and do not fear dealing with my tax and the IRS. When I did stumble you smoothed the way for me.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly easy In the past, you have kept all my charity info, which I could just edit. This year I had to start from scratch
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is Super ! Been using Turbo Tax for many, many years and have recommended it to many others. Always good, no complaints ! Phone support has continually improved over the years.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use TurboTax every year I have a mortgage an investment account, and a couple of interest bearing savings accounts, and my situation remains pretty consistent year-to-year. Turbo Tax can easily handle these items and makes it easy to insert the latest numbers. Once I have all my documents in front of me, completing the returns via Turbo Tax is easy and fast.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service! Mary was excellent: smart, patient, funny and efficient. If I could request her for next year I'd do it NOW! Thank you turbotax and Mary!
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax is back on track!! When I first started using turbotax many years ago it almost justified the entire reason I had a computer in my house. I raved about it to anyone that would listen. A few years ago, though, I felt the program started losing its way; screens you couldn't get to, or go back to. Complicated, and not nearly as user friendly. In short, it felt like was not the Turbotax of yesterday, and frankly even had me frustrated enough to begin thinking of turning to other software. Now, however, it appears to be returned to its former glory and then some. I love this format, it is easy to navigate, and I am again raving about how easy it is to use. Thank you!!!
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Tax Year This was a difficult filing due to Hurricane Harvey flooding and medical expenses. Great job Turbo Tax!
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Great program and easy to use.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Way to Do Taxes The question format is the most thorough and simple way to speedily do your taxes. Also highly appreciated is the ability to import from other financial products, and to download income information from businesses. I often have to do multiple states as I travel a good deal, and Turbo Tax greatly streamlines the efforts by sharing common information across multiple returns.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Taxes Made Easy Overall, really like this app, and have used it for years. It gets better every time, with one exception. I like to drill down and look at the individual forms. It's either not possible in the 2017 edition or is so buried it's impossible to find. Sometimes software publishers dumb down products too much; that seems to be the case here. Otherwise, a great product.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from real problems this year Multiple tries at fixing and e-filing -- all rejected. The system dropped and refused to document a $40,000 payment I made to IRS. I am really unhappy with turbotax this year.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gets the job done. Buggy and difficult It gets the job done. The forced wizard approach to going through is challenging and slow. Makes it hard to know where you are or where to find important areas. Also, there are lots of little bugs and data entry issues.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Guides the way. Although I have used TurboTax for several years, and I like how they guide you through the process. It's getting costly. I will probably try another company/ product next year.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Uncertain I've used Turbo Tax for the last 10+ years. It has always been easy to follow, but seems this year the changes made it hard to go back to parts of the return to check on entry or to fix errors that your 'error check' said needed to be fixed.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Had to have a callback for help getting my state return to successfully efile - Mary called within a minute of my request and was very nice and professional and helpful
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SIMPLE, EASY, THOROUGH
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mostly easy... This is awesome software. It gets a 95% score for ease of use, bringing in past year's data, explaining options, etc. Only shortcoming that I have found is in the "final review fixing". Because it asks you to confirm or change info related to specific lines on the 1040 sheets -- and unfortunately, it doesn't have the supporting documentation readily available. I end up spending a lot of time trying to figure out the source of the data or question, so that Ido not answer erroneously. Afterwards, it is anybody's guess if I got it right. But so far, no audits and no notification of errors from the Feds. So, it works for me!
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy! I was delaying my taxes this year because of the ESPP headache last year, for my surprise, it was less than 2 mins now! AMAZING!
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great help from live people all the live experts I talked to were very helpful and great to work with. you can't replace a live person with a computer. excellent customer service experience Great job thanks
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Affordable & Accurate I have used TuboTax (TT) for a long time. It has improved tremendously over the years. This year (2017) the federal tax return was so much easier. In case one got confused the help in TT together with info on IRS website made it easier to complete the return. I wish there was more help for state return though. Filing for Foreign income was not so easy. Hope you can create a separate forms (Frontend) for foreign income while your SW does it business populating various IRS forms and schedules in the background.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 I like the 1099 import feature! It helps speed up the process and eliminate data entry error. Also, having used TurboTax in the past, I liked that my information carries forward each year. Finally, filing the return is super easy with the e-file option- also helps that my PIN carried forward from last year!
Date published: 2018-10-13
  • y_2018, m_10, d_21, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7348, tr_13238
  • loc_, sid_400_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 98ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.