1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business Online

TurboTax Self-Employed Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great User-Friendly Software Turbo Tax is a great software that is very thorough and user friendly. I've used it for greater than 10 years now and each year the process is smooth and my return always is accepted with the IRS. I always recommend TurboTax. It is a great resource that makes tax preparation simple for anyone!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall a good service to use when preparing own taxes. Just very frustrated that somehow ended up with QB & TT accounts that are different tho same email address, would log into 1, get booted from other. Also significant problems w/ TT suddenly logging out, recycling same "sorry" page over & over no matter the approach I took.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Last minute filing almost painless I have had my taxes done the last couple of years, but decided to go back to Turbo Tax this year. Although I am filing at the last possible moment, it was made easier with Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Return I liked the easy of use and the self employment part of Turbotax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from All screwed up Payment is all screwed up!! Is it taking my Credit Card? Why are you telling me to send a check? It's also asking me for my wife's AGI. We filed jointly last year with you. Why don't you have that record. You are saying I have a new address, did I move? NO!!! Same address Why the confusion?
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not as good as it used to be I have sung turbo taxes' praises in the past, but this year it seemed like it went backward. Less ability to move around and examine things. It was difficult to remain silent on the healthcare question, they kept taking me back to that form after I had deleted it. Because the President directed IRS not to enforce the penalty, and the IRS said it was not a priority, I saw no reason to respond to it. As I don't receive a refund it was of no consequence to me. Hopefully that will be made an optional question in the future. Overall I am satisfied, it did get the job done in about as painless a procedure as could be hoped for.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely Poor Service and Software Telehphone service for questions was inferior for most calls. Multiple transfers had to occur which took significant amount of time. Most phone support agents couldn't provide correct answers or understood how to support. I completed all taxes at 1115, 16 Oct. It took me over 45 minutes just to complete the filing section which was overly cumbersome without explanation to the info you needed prior. After finishing everything and getting ready to file at 1156 PM, the software, without asking took me for another final review, reviewing the filing questions I just answered. Due to that unasked for review, the e-file filed at 1201AM 17 Oct. If the filing process is known to be that cumbersome, than information should be provided as to how much time to be prepared to e-file. This is by far the most cumbersome, hard to use turbotax software we have ever used.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally Done! I will continue using TurboTax. I skipped using TurboTax one year in the past - I regretted it because it was a huge headache with the other company. I learned my lesson & will never do that again. I truly enjoyed using TurboxTax for many years. Thank you TurboTax!!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Buggy! Have used TT for years and it started out to be a great tool. The last 3 years, the bugs have gotten progressively worse. Cost me many hours of frustration.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great refund every time!! Every year I use turbo tax to simply the tax process. it works and it's budget friendly.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Answered almost all my question I appreciate that this is a user friendly program and feel like the step by step allows me to do my own rental properties accurately. I can feel confident that I have completed my taxes to the best of my ability with the help of Turbo Tax!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taxes made simple! This is the 2nd year filing through TurboTax. Very ease to use and understand. Not to mention the fraction of cost had I filed through a local tax preparer.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from issues made this unnecessarily long/late/complex The issue of having to reenter all of my baseline data, existing charities, finances, etc. etc. was HUGE. I almost walked away, since I was having to "start over," anyway. The weird way in which on-line Self Employed replaced Home & Business was not confidence-inspiring (up front). Together with the import issue - not cool at all. Depending upon how things go from here will affect my final rating. To actually efile took so much longer at the end review stage, incl. both new IRS requirements and additional Intuit/TurboTax hoops, literally made me 1 second late with my efiling, although I started with plenty of time to spare?!?
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tax Return I'm too happy right now write anything negative about my experience! Thank you Turbo Tax for providing an amazing experience. The software and live chat personnel have been amazing and a life saver!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DONE - TKS TT The TT software is fairly straight forward. There were a few times when I had to dig into back up information and questions to understand what was being asked. But this was no different than dealing with an accountant at a higher rate. All in all, I'm happy.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Took The Fear Out Of Self Filling Taxes Overall excellent experience. For the past 22 years I have always hired a CPA to file my taxes because we have personal and business taxes. I was always afraid I didn't know what I was doing or would miss deductions only the pros know about. Turns out TurboTax coaches you through all aspects of it and I was able to capture some deductions I wasn't necessarily aware of when handing my information over to a CPA. Net result was less taxes owed this year. Overall very happy with how easy it was to use.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Makes me feel pretty smart and accomplished! Can turbo tax at least allow paying for return filing products with both state and federal refunds? So people who are not getting federal but are getting state back can not panic. And if the IRS can allow payments in installments, not sure why turbotax can't allow professionals to pay for the products in installments. Like seriously.... Late filing because not only did I make a very small amount this year but I don't have the 200 bucks to file with self employment turbotax stuff
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Filing Is A Breeze! This year was the first time that I used TurboTax Self-Employed. Easy to walk through all the steps of the process. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fairly Easy to Use, Good Help and Explanations Fairly easy to use. Good Help features built in contextually relevant to what you are working on. Easy to navigate back and forth. I appreciate being able to retrieve and automatically get numbers from previous year returns. I didn't like that I was told to pay an extra $50 for access to my previous years tax return. Fortunately I saved a copy of the .pdf in my email. Some areas can be a little tricky but there is fairly decent online help built into the webapp. The particular area for me that was confusing was to do with recharacterization of IRA contributions and vehicle deductions and gain or loss at sale or end of use. That was a bit confusion and left me with some doubts.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy User! Very easy to use, handles Schedule C, education, personal, everything. Really a great aid for taxes, have used it for years and it keeps getting better!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attorney Great stress reliever. It is so handy to have comparisons with last year's input.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AFTER YEARS FINALLY IN GROOVE AFTER 15 YEARS, HAVE SETTLED FOR LAST 5 ON TT. DONE LOOKING AROUND.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taxes completed, Great! Very clear and concise way of preparing my taxes!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Major gaps in the software this year So this year because I signed up for some protection feature, TurboTax prevented me from printing out last year's return. This prevented me from getting information necessary to file my return. After nearly an hour with tech support, we were able to get the information from another location. Also, features from previous years, such as audit check, were missing. Perhaps that functionality was lost when I signed up for this feature as well. All in all this was a very stressful experience. The first tech support person I spoke with was going to leave me hanging with no solution, until I asked if "anyone there knows what's going on." Previous years I've been pretty happy with the service, and it's because of that past experience that I will probably use the service again next year. I'd be more reluctant to recommend TurboTax to others at this point.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simplifies the Complicated I am self-employed and my returns have gotten complicated over the years. Turbo Tax has kept up. I used to use a CPA. However, I still had to do the organization work and he plugged my info into Turbo Tax. I can do that myself.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finished just in time! I'm so thankful to be done with my personal and business taxes.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from sucked wouldn't let me enter even small schedule c expenses without upgrading to self employed. no audit stats anymore. had to reenter all my information even though the level I paid for said it would carryover from last year!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great!! I waited until the very last minute to file our taxes and was dreading every bit of it. Now that I've finished, I don't know why I waited so long. It was as easy as ordering a pizza online!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Knocked it out of the Park I have been using TurboTax for the past 15 years. I dread doing my taxes but TurboTax makes it so easy. I own my own business so it is not easy to get everything together but it is very thorough in the questions that are asked. I enjoy the built in answers to questions as you go through each section. I learned a lot from those answers.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Helpful Customer Service Tavia was so incredibly helpful. She walked me through the problem I was having with payment. Created a work around and then remained on the phone with me until my taxes were actually e-filed. She was spectacular!
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_18, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9053, tr_14206
  • loc_, sid_500_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 53ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.