1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business Online

TurboTax Self-Employed Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy! I love TurboTax. I plan to use it every single year!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever tax prep Easy to use. Very organized. Allows you to see all of the options and asks questions I may forget (such as did you purchase windows?). Feel very comfortable with Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AOK Turbo Tax I've used Turbo Tax for years. Its easy to use, but some features can confuse you, the quick tips helps most times. Sometimes I have to research items online but not all the time. I recommend TurboTax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Balance kinda expensive couldnt find my last year taxes
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User Friendly This year was by far the most complex tax year in my entire adult life. It was beyond intimidating given that I am starting my business and I recently purchased a new home. Thank for helping me find overlooked deductions. I think I am now ready for 2017 tax returns!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Expensive; No Help This program, while easy to use, didn't help me reduce the amount I owed at all. Last year, I made $107K and received $1,100 back. This year, I made $27,000-- donated $6,000-- and I have to PAY $5,000 in taxes. That's ridiculous and presents an extreme financial hardship for me. On top of the fact that I was forced to pay for this incredibly expensive program on the promise that "it would pay for itself." It didn't "pay for itself." At all.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YEAHGOTITRIGHT HAVE USED FOR THE LAST 4 YEARS ITS GREAT
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! I have used Turbotax for years and it has always been quick and easy for me. The guided process is detailed and always helps me through! I once tried a different online tax service (as advised by a friend) and it was confusing and terrible, so I scrapped it and returned immediately to Turbotax! Worth the money, especially if you are self employed :)
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not going to use turbo tax next year There once was an audit meter. Now there is none So I'll take my business elsewhere. Very upsetting.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Taxed It to the Max! I have used turbo tax for my personal and small business taxes year in and year out and I am confident when done that I have done everything right and it is ready to go. I will be back!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy peasy Lemon Squeasy Over all it was another great experience.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick & Easy I really enjoy this program. The Hardest part is getting my stuff all together. Wish hard drive and online worked together.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Saved Information The professionalism and immediate help response makes filing easier and quicker.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time is of the Essence Used for years. Confident in filing with. Fast, simple, solid!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy peasy would be nice to have printable worksheets that would take less time to compile totals
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy Overall very easy to use. Clear explanations. I prefer the previous version where you can see the running update of the refund amount as you fill out the return.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Self-Employed A Bit Challenging I found some of the options, like write in your income was muddled in with the 1099, stuff. Granted, I filed last minute on tax extension day and it really made me a bit upset that you didn't make it easier to just add income rather than burying it on with the 1099 information. Just state: Entering cash/business income here. :)
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2016 Taxes at last Easy steps follow, wish it would show last year taxes with conjunction with new entered data as guideline. I really like the audit system check. Just follow the instruction, it's just that easy.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another year with zero trouble
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't Stress The Day it's Due Keep this short and sweet. Both of us are self employed, didn't set anything aside, found deductions. Took two days.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so glad it was less then I thought! Overall, I really love the self-employment section of this walk-through. I seriously thought it was going to be a nightmare, and it really wasn't. it was systematic and through. Thank you for making a very dreaded thing less aversive.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this company! I've been using TurboTax for about a dozen years now. I come back each year because my taxes are completed in a way that I actually understand what is happening during each step along the way. They are filed before I leave my computer and followed up with until I receive my refunds. Well worth the small fees!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from so so taxes I wish it was better for self employed /contractors on the area of sharedriving. It is still confusing and needs more improvements other areas are very easy to follow and complete. my return is very simple but i didn't feel that cruzing among turbotax this year was as easy as I expected. this year version was different and more expensive then previous year , just not the same, i wanted to change and agent couldnt help, only kept saying its only $10more! U guys should credit me for my next return
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Outstanding performance Overall this has been a very helpful process. I am in a situation where I might need a tax expert's help, however, as I am going to have to amend my taxes. But your consultants were helpful and understanding; I really appreciate that.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very simple Walks you through each step. It’s awesome
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I've been using Turbo Tax since it came out. It's never let me down. Very easy to maneuver. I recommend everyone to use Turbo Tax
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Great and easy to prepare and file
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful! I learned a few things about navigating the site! One, not to jump around. I also got duplications, which made things more confusing.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peazy Love turbo tax have used it for years
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved Again: TurboTax to the Rescue I have become a regular TurboTax client for the last several years because they get you the maximum return possible with the best user friendly software.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_20, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9053, tr_14206
  • loc_, sid_500_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 12ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.