1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business Online

TurboTax Self-Employed Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy peasy easy to do taxes in your house. no need to go anywhere. fill in the blanks and your done.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from correct correct correct File taxes one year and because I had started a business, I took all paper work to my accountant after I had complete refund with Turbo Tax..... Was charged 540.00 for her to get the same exact refund total, I had already gotten. So I tell everyone......You can do taxes your self and save money. Both business and personal.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO REFUND & NO TAX GOT IT DONE W/O ERRORS. THANKS!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use overall, very happy and use every year. It's surprisingly easy.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great job My daughter persuaded me to us this Thanks for this awesome tool.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from going downhill It was very hard to find some of the things I needed. Even with the search bar. Every time you go back you have to go through the same questions over again. I've used this product for many years, but this year will be my last. It also kept freezing on the drop down boxes!! Such a pain!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from weight off my shoulders
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tedious I have used turbotax many times and have been very happy with their service. This year, I don’t know what happened, but the questions kept repeating. I was forced to go over the same sections over and over again. I will be considering another option next year
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy! Not sure why I used a tax service last Thanks so much last year I used a tax service and didn't get nearly the deductions I deserved. I'm never going back!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features Great program for self-employed people to calculate their refund. Makes a dreaded process much simpler.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Thorough This made doing my taxes very easy. It also helped me think of things I might have left off on my own.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Transmission Glitch Made me Late TurboTax gets better every year in ease of preparation, but sometimes there is a hangup at the file & transmit stage. The captcha test at the end did not appear, and I had to start the efile transmit process over several times before it would take. By this time, it made my return 12 minutes late. That is sure to cost me money.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from much easier then last year
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super! I am very thankful to Turbotax, and I get a free year of Quickbooks Self Employed!! Awesome!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Underwhelmed I hate the way Turbo Tax has changed from last year! I had to search forever to figure out how to put employee wages in. I had tons of trouble finding all the business deduction categories and I never found where to enter my rental property information. Guess I'll be filing an amended return if I ever figure it out. So disappointed.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy with Step by Step Awesome and thorough
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is Best Choice for Self Employed Turbo Tax is the best way to get the most for your money in Tax Prep costs. It walks you through every scenario and you can feel assured you are not missing any deductions or needed info. Self employed this is the best way to go - Been using it for over 10 years and still think it's GREAT!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great... but a rough in spots Had the self-employed turbotax. Found the business information gathering difficult. There were not places for paying contract services, nor enough line items for all the categories. In addition, home office tax deduction did not work as it should, so we had to delete the information and re-enter it elsewhere.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied I've filed every year with Turbo Tax for over 10 years. I do personal and business, which allows me to utilize all deductions. Unfortunately, I will have to amend a filing because I was not able to talk to anyone regarding losing family property that the County was holding me responsible for as the heir. I was unaware I was the legal contact or never would have lost the property. Now, I have to find out how to write-off $30K
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good till you try to Verify This is pretty smooth if you do not have overly complicated Taxes
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful and encouraging! Fun format!! Loved stepping out of my comfort zone and learning this new, needed thing...tax prep! Great graphics, endless encouragement and fab format... All business but good! Do have plenty of time to prepare and file, you will need it. An overall excellent experience!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wrong submission date I was racing the clock to submit it on 10/16/2017. I made it on time for Utah time which is where I am. Turbo tax recorded it as Eastern time as if I had submitted it on the 17th after 12:00. I really submitted it at 10:55 pm on the 16th!!!!! I better not get a late fee just because I lived in Ohio in 2016 part of that year. I live in Utah now and submitted it from Mountain Standard time! Come on!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy Mine was pretty straightforward and was relatively quick and cheap!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT HELP! I like using Turbo Tax year after year because of the ability to compare years. It is easy to use and answers many questions to my satisfaction.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from feel like a pro
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love Accounting Yes, somewhat time consuming, but I feel like it was very thorough! I will totally plan on doing my next tax year with Turbo Tax also.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast, easy, and convenient I've been using TurboTax for years. Wouldn't consider changing.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy and efficient I love this program because it is truly easy to use if you have all of your info. You are prompted and then you plug in the numbers. People pay high fees for other agencies and i rather do it myself and for much cheaper than a professional.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_20, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9053, tr_14206
  • loc_, sid_500_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.