1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business Online

TurboTax Self-Employed Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I used TurboTax as usual this year, normally they are very good and import information from prior year. This year, after 5 years of using TT, they completely forgot me. I couldn't access my prior years and after and hour and a half with support that I thought got it resolved, TT still didn't cross check my return from last year. Didn't catch a typo in my husband's birthday and completely removed our dependent children. I thought our taxes seemed high but trusted TurboTax. Big mistake! Luckily, the IRS caught the birthday typo and rejected the returns. While fixing that, I finally got asked about dependents and my tax bill dropped by $3000. I've already overpaid now but hoping it won't take too much time on hold with the IRS and the Department of Revenue to get my refund. I'm still very nervous about my taxes though. They are complicated and need to follow prior years. I'm not sure an automated system was a smart idea. Really hope this doesn't trigger an audit. Thanks for making me a nervous wreck Turbo Tax. I will probably end up paying someone to look over my taxes to double check their work. Wasted money paying for the "upgrade" with Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax Makes It Easy! TurboTax made filing easy in previous years. This year I was very pleasantly surprised to find it easier than ever. It seems they must be constantly working on how to improve what is already great, which makes TurboTax the epitome of best practices in tax prep.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Don’t get married I am now late since the irs rejected filing due to using married name of 14 years ago, because it does not match social security card
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Has My Back I like the Self Emploment platform. Very easy to understand and flows perfectly to the end. Fastest return completed to date. I am thankful to have a choice and select audit defense. Thanks for making this product better year after year. Michael
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won't Use Again I have used Turbo Tax for years and this will be my last! You held my previous returns hostage and didn't import all the information. Your note said if I simply pay for my 2016 taxes, which I needed the 2015 information to complete before I could pay for 2016!!! I trusted you with my tax documents for years but no more. Also made it impossible to accurately select I had Lived in Kansas for most of the year but had a second office in another state. What is worse is I had to use my previous address as my mailing address in order to get my 2016 business address correct even though I have since moved!!! I paid as much as a friend who went to an accountant so I neither saved time or money. Just got frustrated.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Concise Deductibles Tips! TurboTax solves the problem of "what does this mean?" (IRS-speak). For example there are multiple places where healthcare expense info was asked for (using Self Employment Tax version) and I never had to wonder if Obamacare, or some other health expenses were being referenced; well-explained and properly concise. The list of allowable expenses or items that apply to a particular entry were helpful and gave me confidence that I was listing the correct kinds of expenses. Also gave me ideas for some things I may have not considered. All in all, well worth the money in 'aggravation removed' and deductions maximized. Head and shoulders above H & R Block and two people's height above Jackson Hewitt.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All The Details I have used TurboTax for several years. It is thorough and takes you through the process in a logical way. I only wish they gave you a worksheet so that you can gather all your materials together before you start.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worksheet review slows down filing My filing could have been before the deadline if it wasn't for some of the ads and worksheet review that was already answer long before the review. This isn't the first year where I've had to deal with reviewing worksheets when I've already filled out all the necessary info earlier...
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Thorough!!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a little more user friendly would be great since i am an independent contractor my taxes are a little more taxing than the run of the mill 9 to 5er. It would help to have a box to skip mileage entry if done by expenses previously, a lot. also, being able to enter w-2s before 1099s and expenses would also be more helpful. its easy to get discouraged when bombarded with a million things you have to figure out than a form you have accessible that you just have to plug in numbers from.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bang for your 11th Hour Buck TurboTax is a great product. What do you do when your accountant ends up in the ER the week of your filings? Grab your 1099's and get to work! A real stress reliever, knowing I've overpaid and proactively handled it. And I can have him double-check the final numbers for any discrepancies later. Bonus!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally finished! Overall a great experience. TurboTax tracks the amount you owe or that is due to you as you go. It also helps suggest tax breaks that might be available to you.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from not as painless but I was told today was the last day to file taxes and turbo tax took a lot of the stress away.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always a Joy Never had a single bad experience with TT. Every year the system is even better than the year before. People say "I have a guy, he's a wizard, I bring him my stuff and he gets me money." Yeah, I've got a wizard, too. Last name Tax, first name Turbo.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Turbo Tax I love this product. I love how easy it is to use. I also like all of the links to click on that explain in detail when I don't understand something.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Accurate by time consuming
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love Turbo Tax! I use it every year. I only trust Turbotax with my tax preparation and no one else. Thanks TurboTax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly very good Sometimes it would be easier to just enter information rather than going through a slew of inane questions
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from "Improvements" not felt by the Consumer This is the first year I was nearly as frustrated as using the old paper forms. TurboTax has chopped up the interview process into too many drop downs that 'hide' once you click through them. I believe the old interface and flow was better, and would again like the ability to readily see tax forms and progress in the process. It felt like I was being forced to use a MOBILE platform with my desktop. I would GREATLY APPRECIATE the option to display the interview in the old style, and to "see forms" at any part of the process. Please LOSE the 'mobile' interface styling, it is slow and unwieldy for keyboard and mouse users.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yeah! I hate taxes!!!! But you made it simple enough and easy so I could do it myself and get it done! Thank you Turbo Tax! You have an amazing tax service and it keeps getting better!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I think it's expensive for what the program is and I will look into other programs next year. I also didn't like that every time I tried to check out and added a 39.99 fee for audit defense which I did not want and it kept removing. However it kept adding it back on. I also don't like that I can't see my return while I'm working on it.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A life saver Last minute filings are all too common, and wouldn't be possible without TurboTax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing service Great quality option. I was very impressed.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not So Fun this year. Can't justify paying 100$ for the product. I wont be returning next year.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks for the Help Thanks for helping remove some of the fear from the process.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a relief! It's done!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It gets easier every year. Turbo Tax is perfect for self employed people like myself with multiple small businesses. I have been using this for the past 5 years and every year it becomes easier to use. I prefer the online version because I don't need to worry about OS requirements and software updates. This is really easy to use. The software will walk you through a series of questions which is easy to understand. If you get bogged down with a question, help links really helps. If someone like me who is bad with computers is able to use this then anyone can. :-)
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NO last years data pre-populated Every year I do my taxes with you and it was always easy because all my data from the previous year was already loaded into the current year. I just needed to edit a few things and I was finished. I never saved anything because I never needed to. This year there was NO saved info from the prior years data. I had to input everything from scratch. I doubt I will use Turbo Tax again next year because of this!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loyal user My taxes keep getting more and more complicated as I get older, but TurboTax always manages to guide me through with a minimum of pain. :-)
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never a disappointment I have used turbo tax for the past 10 years and I have never been disappointed. I only regret that next year I am going to have to use an actual accountant because of how complicated my work like has gotten. I refer you to everyone. You are the best!!!! This should be could...Trust us..we've got you.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9053, tr_14206
  • loc_, sid_500_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.