1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 6 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 Easy To Do So easy even I was able to do it!!! March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Repeat Turbo Tax User good, easy, user-friendly February 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Easy Peasey I thought the process was simple and easy, loved the free efile print March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple, Easy I like the large print and simple questions, makes the process go a lot faster. The only downside is the deductions, it doesn't seem as helpful as it could be. It is a very quick and fast, feels like a lot can be missed. January 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by taxes it is an easy process just have all the information you need and you wont have any problems filing your taxes through turbo tax January 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 Easy to file I just wish you didn't charge extra to transfer the information from last year's return. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Takes the weight of my shoulders It is obvious that a lot of work has been put into this software and that the focus really was great customer service. It's really easy to use. Can't go more intuitive than what I experienced here. The design is pleasant and makes the topic of taxes even seem kind of exciting. Just great - Thanks! 1 Con: When realizing that I probably would like to file the state tax on paper to avoid the fee, I didn't see a quick way to get back to the screen where to choose option to file only the federal tax. return. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Experience I have been using Turbo Tax online to file my Federal Taxes for years now. Every year it gets easier and easier and even more fun to use! I recommend Turbo Tax to ALL my friends! February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Easy and stress-free I've never filled my taxes before, and was a bit intimidated by the process. I am young adult just learning to manage my finances, and was worried this was going to be a complicated and difficult addition to my new "adult" responsibilities. I was truly shocked by how straight forward the process was with turbo tax, and impressed by how clearly everything was outlined. Knowing this kind of service exists is a huge relief to me, and gives me confidence for doing this again in years ahead. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refund Good It was a wonderful experience. January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved my refund Did an amazing job quick easy January 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Rocks!! I've used Turbo Tax for several years, now, and I just love it! I'm not into paying someone to file a simple return for me, and with the user friendly format, I can do it all by myself. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by that was easy The most efficient and accurate tax filing program I have ever used the past 3 years. The competitors offer free review to maximize refund but they have fallen short each time. February 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Taxes! Overall it was good. January 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Job I didn't like that Turbo Tax has a limit on letters for employers. Some employers have big names. It makes filing more difficult for the employee if he/she doesn't know how to abbreviate. February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fine I have used turbo tax for many years and I love it. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome good helpful dont have to leave the house and can trust that my taxes were done right January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy filing I liked the service, simplified and saves time and allows the maximum possible refund January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by BAM Go my Refund ! i hope to get my refund quick i decided to do it online because my sister said it was very easy and a fast return one lady at work told me the same thing ..... Thank You TurboTax March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 better than expected Well worth a try March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo tax is quick and easy. I like not having to find all the papers to file. Everything is right on their site and it doesn't cost anything. I would recommend it to anyone. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy It is very simple, and it guides you. I was just a little bit confused at some parts, and the help suggestions didn't really help. I wish the Chat option was still available. January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Tax review at home I cant thank you enough, Very skeptical at first, highly recommended by clse friends... March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Charged With Ease I've used 3 other online tax services in the past and I must say that Turbo Tax was by far the easiest and best. I'm really impressed with how smooth they made this process. Nice job Turbo. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long Time User I have been using Turbo Tax of and on for over 20 Years whenever I did not need a CPA for filing. I have always been comfortable that the filings were correct, and I have received the proper refunds or payment requirements. March 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 A Procrastinators sucess Maybe the top 3 questions (for Troubleshooting), in a box icon on the main of each page as I'm filing. The questions in the top right corner and when clicked on it, the main 3 answers appear on the same page that I'm already working on. Worries of leaving my taxes, even for important "tax finishing" questions as i'm in mid-file... I know I share this frustration with plenty of e-filers, (the possible "do over" a starting from scratch feel). Even if the chance is slim of losing my tax workings in progress, it's just the idea of it. It would still save a lot of us, (especially newcomers) from reluctance and anxiety. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Tax Filer It is my first time filing taxes for myself, and turbo tax made it fool proof. I have to admit that I was pretty nervous, but turbo tax made it so much easier for me. I recommend turbo tax to new and previous filers, it makes everything much easier and less stressful. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT Thank you for the quick response about the rejects. I believe that I have another reject and I will need help again. Knowing this makes my worry a little bit less. Thank you February 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Paper filing a mess Couldn't efile fed taxes and the turbotax site would not complete proces just kept going back and forth. Not sure if they ever efiled my state ytaxes what a mess. It was free but a mess February 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some things were confusing to find and after my return got rejected it will not let me fix it, just keeps re-filing the same thing. January 21, 2015
  • 2015-03-31T12:12:36.976-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_8322, tr_8322
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 154 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.