1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 6 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 Better than H&R Block ended up costing me $27 vs. hr block at $58, loved the simplicity and ease of use, made filing state a breeze, will use in the future and will recommend to everyone. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Easy So easy. I was guided step by step. questions were answered. Hardly took any time at all. feel very confident that my tax return was done correctly and filed immediately. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Easy Refund! My first time using Turbo Tax and I have to say I'm impressed. Very fast and easy process and was completely free. I'll definitely come back next year for my 2015 refund! February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always easy! I don't dread filing taxes since I started using Turbo Tax. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 I needed to use simplified method to figure out how much of my pension (from my late husband) was taxable as it was not indicated on 1099R. The questions you asked made it difficult to find the form to fill out. February 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Timer For my first time filing online the site was easy to use, there are a lot of questions, but it was very through. Would recommend for first time single filing. February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Quick & Easy Did my EZ form in half an hour - no cost - Awesome March 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 Refund Happy! Some people don't make enough in thier state return to be charged over twenty dollars. There should be a lower fee or fee range for filing state tax, then maybe i'd consider filing my state taxes with Turbo Tax. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Easy and Free I've been using Turbo Tax to file electronically for the past few years because it lets me file with and Earned Income Credit. I've gone thru the process with other online tax options and get to the end and there is an additional charge to file. Keep up the good work Turbo Tax! March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greatest way to do Taxes! It is the easiest way to do your taxes. Short, simple and oh so sweet. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am not sure I did this correctly. I always use turbo tax. But state rejected and not sure why. January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Streamlined! I have used Turbo tax for many years and I really like knowing that all my tax info is in one place and easily accessible. However this year, it seems that isn't true. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Easiest Way to File This is the first time I e-filed my taxes. I used their online service and I was hesitant at the beggining but then once I started my taxes my trust was gained because I knew what I was doing. My federal taxes came out free and everything was so easy to do. Happy I chose this service this year instead of paying high fees and waiting for an appointment. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Easy and Clear Thank you for helping us with our taxes AT NO COST. Before retiring, I used TurboTax and am a quicken and former QuickBooks user. I feel I have gotten an extra benefit, for which I am grateful. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy...and painless! This was a quick and easy way to file my taxes - thank you! February 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by REJECTED THREE TIMES!!!!! I can not get out of this rejected approved cycle... Who do I call? What do I do? How can I get it out of this mess!!! February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super EASY! Overall great product, Super confident in my return! February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Go for it! Doing my taxes was a breeze - just follow the step-by-step directions. It gave me confidence that I would have my taxes done correctly without auditing worries. Lots of good "bonus" options available also. Good product! February 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by free state? Turbo tax advertised free state file, not true for me. When finished i was prompted to still print and mail in forms. Why would i be e-filing just to mail in forms? February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 great great tool for taxes - makes everything simple and quick. Better then H&R block. Wish my girlfriend with an HSA account could have use edit but you charge for that. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME!! Just one word, AWESOME! January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super easy for 1st timer My first job and first W-2, this program made it super easy. January 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 refund you were very helpful and easy to use March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome fast easy couldn't ask for anything better February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Easy as as can be I hope it goes through. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fluid As a first-time user, I am impressed by the utter lack of anxiety or stress at any level. Along with the details I pointed out above, the audit-avoiding redundancy is gratifyingly fast and automated. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tenth Year This program is a great walkthrough of tax returns. Although I am a CPA, I still use turbo tax because of the ease of use. I think it is a great program and I have never had an issue with my returns. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy and fast First time filling by myself. It was so simple, easy and fast , that i will do it myself every year. Tells you everything you need and just answer a few questions. Its great!! January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Rewarding! TurboTax has been my goto for filing my taxes, as it's simple to use and very thorough with it's process. January 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 Easy with few holdups Overall it was ok. I didn't appreciate that i couldn't pay for the state taxes without upgrading, and the only reason i found that out was because of improper wording and by reading through the fine print to see that the upgrading charges were being added even though i declined them multiple times. Otherwise, i enjoyed working through the program, it was very helpful. March 1, 2015
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 70 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax Online pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.