1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 6 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable I have been doing my taxes with turbo-tax for a few years now and I am very satisfied with the service. For example, easy access, internet friendly, self sufficient, easy to log back in to re-cap. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Peasy!!! Turbo Tax made doing my taxes quick and easy. If I ran into a question I did not understand an easy explanation was readily available. I would recommend Turbo Tax to my friends and family in a heart beat. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by whew! excellent, easy, fast...what more can I say. oh, and I love how you get the feeling you are filing with an actual person rather than online...turbo tax 'talks' to you and has a fun sense of humor. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful. Walk through step by step. Help you get the maximum refund(if you qualify. Saves time and alot less stressful than doing them on my own...Will more than likely use Turbo Tax again... April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by was good, until the offers, then completely erased It was OK...entering....it's clear and even entertaining. Then all the upgrade offers come and it says you will get a chance to back out, but you don't, or I didn't. I had to clear and start from scratch. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbotax was TERRIFIC!! Turbo tax was fast easy and reliable. I can't wait to tell all my friends about how awesome doing my taxes has been. I never thought I'd say this but I can't wait to do my taxes next year with TurboTax!!! February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easier than i thought!! First time ever filing on my own, was nervous because i thought i had to do the calculations. Very surprised I actually did it, so now I'm going to refer my friends and family to use it as well.Thank you. February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax should take over the world. You guys helped so much!! You're so right, nobody likes doing taxes. However you guys reminded me how easy it is and I'm more likely to come back next year worry-free. Thank you so much Turbo Tax! May 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent 3rd year in a row I filed under TurboTax. Tried other places before but none were quite like this one. Excellent, easy to understand instructions. E-file is an added bonus. Very nice to work with. February 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Job I was thoroughly pleased with this year's return help provided by Turbo Tax. I even chuckled a few times at the pop-ups and their humorous messages. Keep up the good work and thanks for keeping it simple. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good service This is a great service. The questions were well thought out to guide the taxpayer through the process. The links were helpful and the process was easy to understand and accurate. I will be back. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EASY PEASY IT WAS REALLY REWARDING TO DO MY OWN TAXES AND NOT FEEL LIKE I LEFT SOMETHING ON THE TABLE I ALSO WAS ABLE TO UNDERSTAND WHERE MY NUMBERS WERE COMING FROM AS I KEPT FILLING OUT MY RETURN THANK YOU April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dump your paid preparer Finished my taxes in a reasonably short time (had all my receipts, bank statements and taxes paid info ready to go before I started) Don't need to understand the in's and out's of taxes to do them right. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprised Me! Was so scared to do taxes for first time. Mom told me to use Turbo Tax -- she was right (once again - lol). It was easy and fast and I know next year I won't be nervous at all. Thanks Turbo Tax (and Mom)! April 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by dear gods stop asking me to upgrade Please stop asking me to upgrade to your service. Allow me to file my federal return without having to fill in my state return. Continually asking me if I want to upgrade only makes me want to do so less. March 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made my brain stop hurting. Thank You!! ^_^ It was so easy to use TurboTax. So thank you for all the help and making my brain stop hurting. I was going to pay my cousin $200 from my Tax Refund for filing my taxes, but y'all did it for free. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax found all my deductions and got me the biggest refund they could. The instructions are very simple and easy to follow, it takes only minutes to enter your info and e-file your tax return! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Start Great for a college student and its their first time doing taxes on their own. It was fast, easy, and free. Which is great because I a constantly studying and on the go with meetings and such. I loved it. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy!! Very simple and easy instructions. Worked great for me and I used the free version, I have very simple taxes to file. With no state taxes, very quick. Best ever and I have used TurboTax for several years. April 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I've never experienced a problem when I filed manually. You may say it not your fault, but I've never had my federal returned rejected. I probably won't use again and i'll revert back to doing it manually. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick & Painless I always dread filing taxes, and usually wait until the last minute. This year was no different, but I was pleased to find no issues with site traffic, and the process was intuitive and efficent. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really easy and quick!!! It was quick and easy for what I needed. Don't know if it could have been done any quicker, and because they did a great job last year, I'm going to assume that they couldn't. Love the program!!! February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Yay Turbo Tax makes filing your own returns so simple. I hate paying people to do something that I am capable of doing myself, but it would not be possible without Turbo Tax! I highly recommend it :) April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as Pie! I'll simply say that TurboTax is the most convenient, worry free, well guided and quickest experience I have EVER had in handling my taxes. In short, a perfected service and way to do your taxes. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Filer This was a very simple website to use and it was very helpful. I just wish I would have known at first that there was an option to use direct deposit. Overall, a very good first experience filing my taxes. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not Scary at All I was a little hesitant to get started with TurboTax online. I had nothing to be afraid of. The directions were clear, explanations were available, and the process was completely painless. Thanks TurboTax! March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Guidance Sherpa Ever. Was able to do my best refund work to date yet. Simple easy to follow steps, with calm guidance. Sherpa level skill and confidence. Even able to come back at later date to do State filing with no problems. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE TURBO HI, This was my first time filing a tax return in the states, and I thought it was very straight forward. I really found the prompts helpful and an unstressful task of completing my tax return. Thank you April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great service! I was nervous filing on my own, but your service took all of the fear out of this overwhelming system. Thanks for being awesome. I will definitely share my experience with TurboTax with friends and family. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy! TurboTax made my my taxes this year a breeze! I filed last minute, but the website guided me through a lot of different options, so I didn't feel like I rushed through and missed anything. A great service! April 14, 2015
  • 2016-02-08 T07:15:07.905-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.