1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 4 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filed my return!!!!! I really liked Turbo Tax. Everything was very easy to understand and helpful. I actually received more on my refund than I would have if I had filed them with someone else. They are really GREAT!!!! March 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by First timer - I succeeded - Hooray I ended up deleting some of the things I entered, because I had chosen the wrong things and the questions it asked didn't match what I was trying to do. Once I deleted that item, it worked out okay. March 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome refund So the last part was very confusing, and I entered all my info for direct deposit into bank account, but then printed it out, stil trying to figure out if I mail or they have already been submitted. February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent process I wanted an easy-to-use program, and that is what Turbo Tax offers. The process was easy on my frustration level with easy to understand instructions--quick and to the point, and 2014 taxes done! Thanks April 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Meh Confusing and persistent up-selling menu makes it likely you'll accidentally click on an add-on feature you didn't need. Also, it's irritating to change order. Had to restart my entire session over. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but expensive TurboTax makes doing you taxes VERY easy. Unfortunately, I have to file TWO state returns which makes it pretty expensive. How about a better deal for people who need to file more than one state return? March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Taxes Turbo tax is pretty self explanatory and easy to use. The only think that I didn't like was that the rates went up to file for State taxes. I actually paid more to file than what I was getting back! March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great and easy way to file my taxesS Overall great experience, I don't have too much to file so I figured this year I didn't need to go to tax service! It was way easier and free to do it from the comfort of my own home with Turbo Tax! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relatively Simple Overall the process was very easy. I had all of the pertinent information, and it was just a matter of patience versus fear that I would somehow be paying taxes due to an abundance of scholarships. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Way To Do Your Taxes! This was literally the easiest and fastest and most care-free way to do my taxes and I strongly recommend this website to any person who is doing their taxes online. Do it! TurboTax is the bomb.com April 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Complete The site kept freezing up which was annoying because I had to click out of it and restart it. Thankfully it did go back to where I left off. I did not like that it continuously asked me to upgrade. April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Easy Loved the service satisfied with the amount only problem i had was getting the efile pin which has nothing to do with turbo tax and they made it much easier for me. will use this service every year February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just awesome This was just done very well. I seriously enjoyed the whole experience. The presentation of the questions, and the process was pleasant and made me feel confident that Turbo-tax knows what they're doing. March 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as Pie! This was recommended to me and one of the best ways I can think of to file a return. They guide you along in very easy instructions to complete your return as quickly as possible! Everyone should use it! February 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple, easy, efficient it was great, i took me 15 minutes to file my taxes and the system walked me through with ease. i just wish i could ask a question in a live chat or something similar, i was unsure of a few things. March 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Tax site for 1st year's The filing process is extremely straight forward, and its very simple to navigate through all the menus. The best website to use if you just got a part time job and is your first year filing taxes. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbotax - the way to file taxes! I am not sure what people complain about when they have to file taxes, but this was not rocket science. First time doing taxes ever, and Turbotax made it so easy guiding me step-by-step! Thank you! February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Time Saver Turbo Tax is simple to use and beats paying excessive fees to file your return. Just make sure you gather your information in advance and it will take no time to complete. I highly recommend the program. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by STUPID! I was told I had to upgrade to Deluxe but why would I pay $25 for a $60 refund? I then had to restart in order to downgrade and ended up spending three hours just trying to file taxes for the first time. February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quick & Easy I had not used Turbo Tax for several years, but it seemed a lot simpler and user friendly. It is unfortunate it can not do State Taxes for Puerto Rico, nor does it recognize Puerto Rico as a State. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Product I do like Turbo tax because it goes through every aspect of your tax needs and explains if you don't quite understand something. The fact that it's free for we senior citizens makes me go back each year. March 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Idiot proof, but spendy I loved how easy this was, but it seems a little ridiculous to me that I was charged $30 on my $37 state return. I could see $10 to e-file both the federal AND the state, but $30 is a little steep to me. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great refund I love turbo tax. It makes me feel like a tax expert. 20 minutes and my refund is on the way. The software is great, does not let you miss any deductions that you would never have thought of on your own. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thankful First Time Taxer Its my first year filing taxes and TurboTax made it SO easy and a really pleasant experience, I will definitely be using them in the future! Thank you TurboTax! You have made me one happy American. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by SO EASY I started out on HR Block and it made it SO difficult to opt out of paying for upgrades I didn't need. I gave TurboTax a try and I'm so glad I did. I needed something to be easy today...and it was. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by rrrmmmmm i dont like the changes cause you guy ere4ased my whole tax filing history. i went to grab last years taxes and found out that it says i didnt file when i file with you every year. i ws not amused, February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No Pin # needed Didn't have an updated pin # and didn't want to wait and get one from IRS. Had to change filing methods, from online to mail. After notification, and with 2 days to file, changing methods was easy. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by File like a pro! I am an international student and this year I become a resident alien (by passing the substantial presence test). I had no idea on how to file the tax return. TurboTax is a great help! Many thanks! March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great I was assigned a IRS IP PIN and I was not asked for this information, I assume it will be rejected and at that point I will be able to enter the IP PIN. I am hoping.. but the process was simple and quick March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you Turbo Tax! who doesn't hate taxes? oh yeah, the IRS! they get the money! but turbo tax has helped me make a stressful tax form into a ahhhhhhhh moment. thank you turbo tax and thank you St. Mary's Credit Union too. March 24, 2015
  • 2015-11-30 T09:08:03.482-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.