1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 4 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 2871 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 JUST AMAZING SINCE I DID IT MY TAXES LAST YEAR ON TURBO TAX I DON'T EVER WANT TO GO ANYWHERE ELSE TO HAVE THEM PREPARED.SO EASY AND A LEARNING ABILITY FOR ME February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by federal/state taxes, Got a refund! Not sure why, all the information was entered for the federal taxes, but when finalizing the state taxes, it asked for the same information for employers.And had to enter a former address, too. Didn't quite understand that. Other than that, no problems. February 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Even though I entered my w2's by code the whole amount added up right but the federal withdrawal was $700 additional dollars off so now I will have to do a admend. February 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Getting money back I'm getting frustrated not being able to finish my state refund! I don't know why it's being like this but I'm hoping after I finish this review it will be done!!! January 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by The site will not let me complete my state taxes, it brings me through and says "click here to complete" but ten requires me to review the site before I can proceed. We'll see if it allows me to even proceed after this. Quite frustrating! January 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by slammed my refund This was the very first time i ever did my taxes.Thanks to tt they made this a very pleasant experience an i will be doing my own taxes with tt from here on out. January 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by FRIGGEN AMAZING turbo tax really made it easy to file taxes! I literally had no idea what i was doing. And that was okay because they did everything for me- :) February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply amazing You have simplified the tax process so much. I believe if everyone gave it a shot, this would be there filing option every year. Keep up the great work TURBO TAX! January 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by first time filing by myself It was my first time filing my taxes on my own. Using TurboTax was super easy! It only took me about an hour to get all my information in so filing was cake! February 6, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by My refund got rejected 30 min after filing. I selected the fix it now option and it will not walk me through my mistakes or tell me what I need to do to refile. February 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Done Early I wish I would have something telling what is missing on my State refund. I did everything that was asked and then it made it seem like everything was complete. January 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Every Year! I have a pretty straightforward return - not married, no kids, no home loan, one W2. I'm always done in 30 minutes or less. So easy and now state is even free!! January 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Helped Me! I am a first ti.e filer and TurboTax got me the best credits and biggest refund for free! I highly recommend this for anyo e wantign to file their taxes easily! January 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Tax Return First time doing my taxes and it was super easy and fast. Its laid out real simple and setup to help you suceed it was self explanatory and made me feel smart. January 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocked my refund! My review will have to be 5 stars. Very simple website and straight to the point. The only thing I didn't like it how it asked you to upgrade 20 times. If someone chooses a lower price that's because that's what they want nothing will change. January 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as 123 Overall TurboTax is a great program. The only issue I had was it wasn't clear when to print the returns. It appears to instruct you to review taxes first and when give you the option to print after the review. However once review is submitted the option to print is not provided. You are required to go back into the form to select to print. February 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hooked on the turbo tax way Love using this turbo tax way of doing my taxes. I will always use this way. It's so easy and fast and makes me feel great to save money and do it myself. January 19, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Maxed my refund I have always used Turbo Tax without any problems, but this time, the electronic filings of both the Federal and State were rejected and I don't know why. January 29, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by i did my return on turbo tax and it immediately was rejected and everytime I click the link to fix it I get redirected to this place to rate my experience February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding I was sceptical at first but then I was amazed how sufficient this was. I am now a faithful user of TurboTax. I tell all my friends and family to use it. January 17, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by No thanks It rejected my return, then sends an e-mail to fix the return. Open it and it doesn't take you anywhere to fix the issue. Just shows your return. No help! January 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast n Free and that's for Me!!! This is my second year using Turbo Tax and I really like how fast, free and efficient it is to use this site. I hope they keep this up for future filings. January 27, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nightmare email I got stuck for 4 hours in personal history to start program said my e mail and address was invalid and could not reset my password - Horrible February 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Much Easier!! I usually use H&R Block to file my taxes but TurboTax was sooooo much easier! I loved how simple it was to use and that if the w2 was available, the site would import it and I wouldn't have to spend all that time manually entering the information! February 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great fast way to file taxes I have used before and they were great. I skipped one year and the program I used was not good. I won't say names but it starts with h& r thanks Turbo Tax January 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Work I think it is a very simple tool to use, especially for students. There are not many strategic planning needed for students because we don't have many investments and various debts. Thus, you could file your tax return with Turbo tax with no cost~ January 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and easy The website was very easy to navigate and everything was so simple and easy to understand! Made it a piece of cake to file blth federal and state taxes! January 14, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty easy as a first timer! I really liked my expirience this is my first time filing and i was scared it would be hard but with help it was easy to navagate and understand. February 6, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by rejected refund My return was rejected because of a pin number.. i called the number and the IRS said I didn't need a number to just enter 0.. but it was still rejected January 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocked My Refund! I love turbo tax. I have used turbo to do my taxes the last 3 years and wouldn't use anything else . its simple, self explanatory, safe, and accurate. January 27, 2016
  • 2016-02-13 T06:11:30.267-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2871, tr_2871
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2015, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 26 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.