1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 4 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great I am very happy with turbo tax. It was easy, though it did take a little time to get through everything but it was well worth it. Even though it was free I still feel valued and like I received most of the money I earned. January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Oh so easy to get the maximum This was so great to be able to do this in nothing flat and of course my return was given the attention it needed to correct my mistake and get back on track immediately. Whooo hooo Turbo Tax!!!!!! In this day and age of something for free, it really was. YOU guys win the prize! March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy This was great for my first time filing, really easy to follow the instructions and accurately complete my taxes. February 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice and easy this was so very simple. i can say i enjoyed filing this year. i had absolutely no problems and this is as good as it gets! January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT WAY TO DO YOUR TAXES This is my second year filing my taxes with Turbo Tax. It is so easy to do and doesn't take a lot of time. I like the way you cover every thing. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So so easy! this made my life so much easier! Thank you Turbo tax for the walk through I feel confident that I did everything right and was able to get a refund!!! February 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and easy I completed my taxes at 11pm right before bed. So easy use, simple, quick and easy. I love it!!! January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Very easy to use I've been using TurboTax for years, this is the first year using the online version. It went well, easy to use. My only suggestions... give me the option to add additional returns (my daughter's) at a savings, similar to the CD/download version. Also, would like to be able to view the official tax forms as I'm progressing (line x... to compare to previous years). March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Made a difficult situation easier! Used several different companies this year to try to complete what should have been a simple return for a relative. I finally used TurboTax to get the job done. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by service It was very easy and very fast to use. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great Turbo tax was an easy and simple way to file my taxes. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent Service I have been using TurboTax for quite a few years even after retiring using both for federal and state taxes. It has always been very easy and accurate. This is the first year I have had no earned wages and not required to do a state return, so I have used the free federal e-file. It also gave me no problems. I couldn't be any more satisfied with your product. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Personal Tax Preperation I truly wish I would taken the nerve to do my taxes with TuboTax last year, I finally just jumped in and did it and I am beyond pleased with my return. TurboTax helped each step of the way and found me the BEST and MOST refund. January 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 Cool Fairly ok. Thought it was easy but gave me the run around March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by quick and simple overall the experience was pretty good and i cannot complain we will see if it finishes the way it started January 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 Extra Extra Charges!! I knew I'd have to pay Turbo Tax for E-Filing, but was surprised to have to pay an outside entity a fee to pay what I owed on my Federal Taxes! In hind sight, I should have mailed a check to pay the federal taxes. Only reason I used Turbo was to electronically file! This is the reason I gave an overall rating on ONE star!! As many times as I've electronically filed, I've NEVER had to pay a fee to pay owed Tax!!!!!!!!!!!! March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use! Easy and, dare I say, fun to use. So much less stress than pencil and paper forms and flipping through pages trying to figure out what is and isn't correct. It was my first time using Turbo Tax, and I was apprehensive about trying it. I'm glad I did, it was terrific! March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by THANK YOU!!! i have never done my taxes before so this is my first year and I am so thankful for turbo tax i was able to file basically by myself and it didn't take as long as I thought it would... Perfect don't change a thing February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Service! 100% I was one of those people that always went and paid $200 or $300 to have my taxes filed for me.. And I never thought I could do it myself until I tried TurboTax it LITERALLY is AMAZING everything is so easy and explained so well they walk you through every step and you will never be confused.. I'm not being paid to say this.. This is my HONEST OPINION .. I Will continue to use TurboTax for many years to come and I highly.. Highly recommend this way to file.. It cost me $0 yeah that's right $0 to file.. And through the years I've spend hundreds... Probably thousands added all together from past years..paying tax places to do them.. Never again.. Turbo Tax is where it's at!! Love it.. And I forgot to mention it took me 15 minutes.. Yes 15 minutes to file my taxes.. Its that easy people!! February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 big help I filed with an incorrect tax number and had a text message to help me with it within 30 mins. of filing March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have used TurboTax for several years and have never encountered a problem March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Awesome! My experience was simple and fast. I am an inexperienced tax filer and it made it so easy for me, step by step. I brought my w-2s to an accountant after filing to compare, and she couldn't find any extra money, meaning TurboTax was able to get me the max amount. Would definitely recommend. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Awesome and super easy! Since my tax return was super easy I was really glad I was able to file my Federal tax return for free online. Since I go to school and work part-time, and my parents were able to claim me as a dependent I didn't have to input too much information. However. I was a little bummed that we would have to pay for California. Well $29.99 isn't that bad but it does take away from my tax return and I don't get much as it is. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Day Back and continue function March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome it was free and easy! I use turbo tax every year March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Freakin Easy Turbo tax is really easy to use! I felt way better about my return this year and I'm confident that turbo tax covered every detail. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick & Easy! I like that the 1040EZ is free. Thank You! I have used TurboTax many times, it is really great if you have a lot of different circumstances to enter. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by show me the money! turbotax made filing my taxes easy. they led me through the whole thing and I feel confident I am getting the most money back possible. the best part is it was free and I was able to efile too. thanks turbotax February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I wouldn't file my taxes any other way. This is simple to use and nearly dummy proof. Saves me time and money. I love their friendly approach to helping you make sure you're filing correctly. February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Great Turbotax was quick and easy to use. felt 100% comfortable and would recommend to friends February 3, 2015
  • 2015-03-31T12:12:38.084-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_8322, tr_8322
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 154 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.