1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by My First taxes and the Easiest! I have to say that Turbo Tax is the bomb! They made this process so easy its unbelievable. Everything is clear and they go straight to the point getting my refund and no unnecessary involved. Thank You Turbo Tax! July 19, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by It said I was done with my taxes after I selected to not file state taxes however when I failed to receive my return I went back on and discovered that my taxes were not actually filed causing me to be late on my taxes. July 18, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I was unable to return to the page to undo a Premium Benefit charge which i did not want. I may not use Turbo Tax next year because of this. Basically I was being charged for something I did not want. April 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loved This Site! This worked really well and was easy for me to understand. Maybe because I filed so late, it seemed kind of expensive and all my options weren't open to me. Other than that, it was a great experience. April 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made me feel like a rock star Wow the accountant at my company said this is how she did her taxes..so I thought I have nothing to loose and it was unbelievably easy..I am so impressed I an going to recommend turbo tax to EVERY ONE April 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Walked me thought it! Turbotax made filing out taxes very easy this year! We were nervous filing because we got married and had a baby last year..but turbotax walked us through it all and made it much easier than expected! April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pay off debt From start to finish was smooth, easy to follow. I was impressed with the simply step by step instructions and the ability to "go back" and "review" without loosing information. Thank you so much! April 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Fast! Turbo Tax is the best way to file your taxes. It knows what to ask for deductions, income, etc. It's almost like going to a real accountant. I recommend it to anyone especially if you file the 1040EZ. April 15, 2016
  • 2016-07-22 T11:39:02.069-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_21864, tr_21864
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2015, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 ... 358 next>>
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 93ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Filing Deadline: IRS filing deadline for tax year 2015 is April 18, 2016 (except for residents of Massachusetts or Maine, where the IRS filing deadline for tax year 2015 is April 19, 2016).
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except the TurboTax Home & Business/QuickBooks Self-Employed bundle offers.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.