1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 273 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to Use but watch out for any extra fees I absolutely hate filing taxes. Turbo Tax takes a lot of stress out of the equation. The questions are fairly thorough, which makes the process much easier. It was clear from the beginning that the Federal Return would be free. Since I chose to do my State Taxes as well, I knew that I would be charged $29.99 and I had a choice to pay for it up front with a credit card or from my Federal refund. Since I moved from MD to VA, I needed to file 2 state forms. I didn't realize that at the beginning, so I got charged $59.98. Also, I'm glad I read most of the "small print". I was originally going to get charged an additional $29.99 for TurboTax Pro... then finally, when I went to finalize my e-filing, you need to sign a waiver for TurboTax to get their fees first (since I had originally chosen to pay from my Federal Refund). From what it looked like, they had added the additional $29.99 from the TurboTax Pro back again which I had JUST removed from my cart, and then, the fine print states that the refund goes to their bank FIRST then your refund gets deposited... which made me think it would take longer for me to get my refund if TurboTax is getting my full refund first, then they are the ones giving me the leftover. Needless to say, I had to go back and review the fees once again, remove the extra $29.99 and finally pay with my credit card. I don't need the extra running around. This already took enough of my time. Overall - Use is fairly easy, but very time consuming. March 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Filing taxes taxes me to no end. Filing taxes is frustrating, no matter what method is used; especially if you have hardly any money/income to begin with. I feel like "why am I doing this at all?" Turbo Tax made it a little better than doing it with pen and paper, but it was still confusing, ie: "how much this, how much that?" Some of the terminology was still "you call it one thing, but I know it as another". I feel that a lot of things were not clear, even the FAQ was wishy-washy at times. OK, let's blame that on the IRS and/or the Tax Code if we must. What really is upsetting is that Turbo Tax at every opportunity pushed upgrading into another product. If you sneezed, it said you have massive health issues so buy this upgrade ! If you bought a pack of gum, it was upgrade to this because you must have huge holdings of assets!. Hey, I'm a poor little old lady hanging on with only SS; tell me I don't even have enough income to be required to file fat tax returns. I don't know that I don't have to give the tax man my first-born adult child. Help me to keep my head above water, not add to my burden. On a positive note: after the perusing the FAQ and not really getting the answers I needed, I called Turbo Tax and got a return call from a Turbo Tax Agent, who was really helpful, kind and clear. His name was "Gordon M." If I can cite his name on the confirming e-mail he sent after our telephone conversation. He is probably the reason I have managed to file my taxes instead of still sitting here on the border of confusion and tears. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feeling Like A Grown Up Last years taxes were done by a nice woman at my local H&R Block. I didn't have an issue with them, but really only went to them because my mother had recommended them to me. This year, I pretty much forgot about filing taxes, even after tossing my W-2 into a paperwork box, and only remembered when I flipped my calender to April. Earlier this week I was outwardly reminding myself that I needed to go to H&R block sometime soon, and a co-worker scoffed at me and told me to use TurboTax instead. I had seen some of the TurboTax commercials, particularly liking the wedding one, and I figured I would check it out. Little did I know that I would be able to completely finish and file my tax return in less than 15 minutes with nothing more than some fast fingers and my W-2 at hand. I must say that I won't ever dread doing my taxes, like I grew up thinking I would, all because of TurboTax. I especially liked the "getting to know you" part of registering, where TurboTax threw in some little fun-facty quips about themselves. I now know you guys (and gals) are in San Diego. Anywho, I'd like to compliment the web-developers for creating a crisp and responsive amalgamation of animations and text boxes, which heeded no problems at all whilst I inputted my boring information. There's nothing worse than a web-page that tries to hard an ends up ruining something as simple as typing numbers into fields. Thanks to all the great minds who created this service/website, you've truly revolutionized the necessary evil which is doing my taxes. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phewww! TurboTax is really easy and while it does take about an hour or more to complete, it still keeps you from having to go to a tax preparer and waiting in line. The only thing I didn't like is at the end with the payment options and that if you dedct the fee from your refund, it doesn't tell you right away that there is another $29.99 fee. It didn't deter me from using TurboTax, but I don't like feeling misled. I may have written a lot to read here, but its best to know this at the beginning! There is a choice between paying with a credit card or having the fee deducted from your refund. If you choose to have it deducted from your refund, it automatically upgrades you to the TurboPlus, which is an extra 29.99, which isn't shown right away. If you have already chosen the TurboTax Plus, this is fine but if you stick to the basic free edition for the federal, and pay the 29.99 to file your state taxes, you will have to pay with a credit card to keep from being charged $59.99. If you don't have the funds to pay now and go ahead and decide to upgrade and have the fee deducted from your refund, make sure you know there aren't any agencies waiting to grab your refund because if your refund ends up not being enough to cover your TurboTax Plus fees, it will be deducted from your bank account (so make sure you have an extra 60 bucks laying in your checking account just in case!) Aside from this I would recommend it for the ease of use alone. I wanted to have it deducted from my account, but the small size of my refund didn't really justify the 60 bucks it would cost. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not informed of prior year issues I am a CPA but use TurboTax Free Edition to file my brother's very simple returns each year, because why pay for better software when all you have is a W2? E-filed in 2012 and printed PDF stating "return was transmitted" on such and such date. Did the same in 2013. Felt certain I had filed, but the returns were rejected by IRS for whatever reason shortly thereafter. Now, to be fair, TurboTax e-mails were sent to inform my brother of rejections, but being an irresponsible person, he ignored them. As such, I spent past two years assuming he filed his returns when he did not. While preparing this year's return, merrily going through all the steps, I had no idea of prior year rejections. Nor did I have any idea of 2012 rejection when I was preparing 2013 return last year. When I was finally made aware of this issue by a lender who had requested his returns from the IRS, I had to go into his TurboTax history to finally see that the returns had been rejected. Now, it seems to me like having two years of rejected returns should result in a big red flag of some sort in the TurboTax interface. It shouldn't be buried in the taxpayer's history in small black font. Had I logged in last year to file 2013 and seen that 2012 had been rejected, I at least could have caught the issue after one year instead of two. I am grateful for the free easy-to-use software, but the interface should be improved to help catch problems like this sooner. It shouldn't just focus on the current year when you have been using the software for 5 years and have outstanding tax issues from prior years. February 24, 2015
  • 2015-07-03T11:53:52.809-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-273, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14467, tr_14467
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 269 270 271 272 273

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.