1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 262 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by I've e-filed my mentally impaired daughter's taxes for over 5 years. I've used several different programs. I like the simplicity of TurboTax, but I was very frustrated because it took nearly 4 hours to complete. There were two reasons that it took me so long: (1# intuit would crash frequently which took several minutes each time to return to the page I was working on and #2) the question space in the upper right hand corner was either slow or unresponsive. I would like free filing for the state return. Some programs have it. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Not Taxing to use Turbo Tax! This is the second year I used turbo Tax. I thought I would check out a couple of other on-line tax companies to shop around. Turbo Tax won hands down. Turbo tax seemed more personable like I had a real person on the other end, so, I didn't feel so taxed as to go into panic mode. They managed me well, got me through it, and I didn't get the blues. Turbo Tax moved me through section by section with ease and the info pop-ups (?) were great and easy to understand. I know you'll be around a long time. Keep feeding those hamsters! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've used TurboTax Home & Business for the last 4 years. It is very simple to use and got me my max refund. It didn't miss a thing! This year I used a simple FREE online version of TurboTax because I did not have business information to submit. It was also very simple. The only con to the free version is that I'll have to redo my state taxes. You are given the option to pay to file state or delete state tax information. I chose to delete and do them later on my own. **Save $hundreds$ by not using a tax service. It's so easy!** February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't know what to do without Turbo Tax each year! Been filing with Turbo Tax for 7 years now and ohnestly I don't know how or what to do every year without their help, guidance and very easy process on how to file my tax refund. I'm a single mom who doesn't have much to pay someone to file my income tax. I have a peace of mind every year knowing that Turbo Tax is there to take care of my Tax Refund in an easy, fast and in a very safe way. Thank you to all the responsible people @ Turbo Tax for making it possible for someone like me who is not computer savvy to file with ease. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic!! Saved me $$$ Last year, my family and I all had an CPA/attorney file our taxes for us. I thought having a "real person" do the work would get me the best deal. So wrong! He was crazy expensive, and missed breaks even I knew I should get. TurboTax was fast and easy, and found extra breaks I didn't even know I could qualify for. Love this service! Saved me an extra $400 bucks! And, saved me the hours and headache of doing them all myself. And as a bonus, their warranty (and awesome track record) gives me peace of mind that it was done right. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by unsure Gave pieces of information and have to trust that they put everything in the right places because we did not see the actual return. You can see errors when you have the return in front of you. Now the return is filed and we have no clue if they or us made any errors or misunderstood any questions. I am not certain I will get a copy of the return after we submit all your required demands. Feel totally uncomfortable with your procedures. I sincerely hope a copy of the return will be available for our review so we can breathe easy. February 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quick, Easy and Painless I really had a positive experience using TurboTax, this is my second time using it and it was very easy and managable. The only downside to not having face to face meeting with an accountant is that you are unsure if you are getting the maximum return available to you. If my taxes were more complex this would be more difficult to use, unless you have a lot of knowledge in this field. Accounts seem to be a better resource for ensuring your are getting maximum refunds as they know the way arounds and different types of write offs. March 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I expected. I thought that using turbo tax was very easy, straightforward, and explained things well in the learn more links about each deduction/exemption/etc. however, I was very unhappy with the 30 dollar fee to file state taxes. When I used turbo tax, I was under the impression it would be free. It was not, but for sake of ease, I just paid the 30 dollar charge. I will not be using this again if this fee still exists. It should not advertise free tax filing, if they charge you at the very end when everything is filled out and done with. April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's excellent! Turbo tax is an excellent tax service and I even introduced this helpful tool to my sister. It's so easy to follow and its super accurate. It's even better when it saves all your data before you exit out of your account! Doing return through turbo tax guarantees a fast refund and I cannot be more satisfied. I've done my very first return with turbo tax last year and I probably will keep doing my returns with turbo in the next coming years! It's awesome! Instructions were pretty clear except some were a little hard to figure out. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easyfiling First time using the FREE file as I usually bought the Deluxe version to do Schedule A. Did not have enough deductions this year and didn't want to pay to file something so simple. Was leery it was really FREE but I didn't pay a dime. They do charge for State filing but I chose to mail mine in. I have used a walk-in preparer once but they charged me $200 for nothing!!! I had my paperwork already done and he argued he saved me money when actually, he forgot some deductions. I went back to Turbo Tax and have stuck with them since!! February 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quite Simple For repeat clients, you already have most of the same information that gets filled in every year, why not make it available even if this is the Free Edition. What I particularly like is the program does all the calculating for you, and knows which numbers go where. If a change needs to be made, it'll update everything, and you know the changes better than anyone. Have used TurboTax for several years (even when I had to pay for it), and find the annual tweaks of value. Have recommended it to my family and friends for several years. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it I loved turbo tax! I filed with an agency last year, and this was the first time I completed my taxes by myself. Turbo tax was so thorough and simple. I truly feel like I achieved my maximum refund. I liked the questions in the beginning so they knew where I could possibly have additional refunds; for example I'm a part time student. I really appreciate that information is saved automatically and it was clear when you finished a section or if you needed to go back and add more information. I will definitely use it again next year! March 25, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Holding pattern I used TaxAct in the past but decided to try TurboTax for my son's taxes this year. While friendly to use, I was unable to finish the taxes on my home computer. No reason was given and I was unable to contact TurboTax other than by e-mail. TaxAct provides instant messaging which helps in a pinch. If TurboTax provides instant messaging, I couldn't find easily on the website or while doing the taxes. I also think the cost if prohibitive. Tax Act would have been less $30. I will use TaxAct next year given the frustration and the cost April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by America Runs on Turbo Turbo tax made filing my taxes pretty easy for Federal even with 3 different W-2s. It wasn't daunting and as troublesome as many people claim! The lay out of it all, going through the steps was easy and it always saved after so that was not frustrating. The only frustrating part was kind of working in 3 different states, but somehow had to file for four. It was too confusing that I just went somewhere to file for my state cause it was giving me a headache. But if my case wasn't so different and strange-- I would've done turbo tax. April 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My first time with Turbo Tax This was my first time filing my taxes with Turbo Tax, and it will not be my last. The layout of the site is easy to understand. Turbo Tax figuratively holds your hand through the entire process. It was stress free, and detailed. The amount of time it took me to start and complete my taxes took around an hour. While that is not fast, it is good to double check your filing to make sure you did not make any mistakes. I had a pleasant time filing my taxes this year with Turbo Tax. I am sure I will have the same experience next year. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great but... I've been privileged to use TurboTax Freedom for a number of years, and have always been very grateful to the company for making it available to low income people. However, this year, especially, I found it very disturbing to be continually told that the program would not handle the 1040 and that I would have to upgrade to a very expensive program in order to proceed. Luckily, I ignored the worrisome harping, and did manage to e-file, finally. This left me disappointed after so many years of your graciously helping out people like me. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Easy Easy I have used TurboTax Free Edition to file my taxes for several years now and have always had a really positive experience. I no longer dread sitting down to file each year; it's just another item on my to-do list thanks to the easy to use format and helpful information. The tax jargon is simplified and applied to examples in your life, making it very simple to know what you need to fill out and what you don't. So, grateful for this! I have tried others and even paid to have my taxes done and nothing compares to the TurboTax experience! April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun to use! This was great! 1. It was quick - doing my taxes only took me about 30 minutes. 2. Fun to use! I work at a software company and we are always striving to make our software more fun to use…and TurboTax has mastered just that! The simple, app-like graphics, encouraging feedback, and even the get-to-know TurboTax quick facts on the first screens are effective and fun. Not really any cons. If I had to give constructive feedback, I'd say the auto registration deduction was confusing, and so was the state tax district field. Great product! February 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Like It Used To Be I have used Turbo Tax since the dial-up days. It used to be professional and no-nonsense. Now the nonsense starts with asking me how I feel about doing my taxes and does not let me move on until I answer. Taxes are something I have to do. I don't feel good or bad about it, I just want it done asap. Taxes are a pain, answering unnecessary questions and reading cute encouragements wastes time. Lets be professional and stick to the necessary fields. No non-sense no up sell. I pay a lot in taxes and pay Turbo Tax every year. Not next year. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turtle vs Time Time was going and I had been procrastinating on filing my taxes. With days left to spare, I received a few reminders to my inbox from TurboTax that time was running out, which gave this turtle the fire I needed to get it done before the deadline. In thinking it was going to be a long drawn out project especially not being a tax expert, I reluctantly pressed on; only to realize in no time I was done. TurboTax is easy to understand, it explains everything and because of it's simplicity I was finsihed in a flash! This turtle won the race! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time ever filing electronically! Turbo Tax's online filing system is very easy to use. They explain every step in detail and double check 99% all of your work for you. Everything is very easy to understand, but then I have a fairly simple tax return with just three W-2 forms and joint filing with my wife. I would highly recommend this method to any couple who wants to get their taxes done in about an hour and then get on with their life. I don't know for sure how good it is for other family situations or business owners, but I suspect it's just as simple and intuitive. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use Equals Likely Use My wife began using TurboTax for our filings a few years ago with an eye to me being able to do this on my own if it were ever necessary. She still does the majority of the work, but after watching her for all these years, I have no doubt I could do this if it were ever to be necessary. I'm sure this is the case in many families where one person does the majority of the financial work, and TurboTax is the software I would recommend to any of them. Also good for first-time filers in college or just post-college in their first "real" job. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Simple and easy to use (first timer) I'm new to starting my taxes the steps were simple and easy to follow. Although I felt at one point in the process (due to the fact I'm a dependent) in the 1098-T section I had already been claimed and had that document put in under parents. I had to find via search bar in turbotax whether or not I needed to put it in myself as well or not. I eventually found the answer there but it was not thoroughly explained that since I'm a dependent to say I did not receive a 1098-T even if I did. Overall that was a great way to do my first taxes. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is Amazing!! This was the first time I have ever used Turbo Tax! This program is so user friendly and easy to use! They make sure you understand what your doing! With online support right there to answer any questions. I felt so at ease using this program! I have always had someone else preparing my taxes. I was always worried I was going to mess things up, and you don't want to have ANY errors when dealing with the IRS!! I will use Turbo Tax every year from here on out!! It's nice to have a program to help prepare your taxes every step of the way!!!! February 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbotax Fee I have been with Turbotax the passed 2 years. They claim it is free, but it is not. It may be free for you depending on your case but for most people, they end up having to pay for Turbotax. Even if you carefully read everything and make a conscious effort to decline anything that will make you pay, you will end up paying. The only thing I can say is, it is probably a LOT better than going to someone in person to do it because they charge an arm, a leg, n an internal organ. With the pros and cons, I do believe Turbotax is your best bet. February 25, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by E-file Rejected I have used Turbo Tax to do my families taxes for multiple years and have never had a problem. All of my previous returns allowed me to use the free addition; however for 2014 I was not able to use the free version for State so I had to pay $29.95. Well this was also the first time my taxes have been rejected when e-filing. Of course the issue has to do with the TIN error so you cannot e-file; you have to file by paper. Part of me feels like even though I paid to be able to efile my State that somehow the rejection was caused by Turbo Tax. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refund I really liked all the animations and the fluid movements of the pages. Also, it explained everything really well and I like the "explain this" on all the pages so I could go to that If I didnt understand. I liked that you could go back to anything and it was segmented up so i could find what I needed in each section. The adds to upgrade were a tad annoying, maybe only once at the beginning and one at the end? We wont change our mind mid-taxes to upgrade. But, I love this site. So easy for someone who doesnt know what shes doing tax-wise :) March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely Helps Reduce Stress I really don't know what to say. They took a really confusing, cramped, and long form and simplified it - or at least layed it out so it is easy to read and follow. The organization of each step is near perfect, and it is easy to figure out what is being asked and what information needs to be entered. There are also links to more advanced changes for those who get paranoid or have second guesses before continuing the process. I like being told what will be done with my information, and they were good with being honest and truthful about it. March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is my Faithful Friend at Tax Time TurboTax is a wonderful tool to use to prepare your taxes. I have used this application for complex tax returns and simple tax returns, and is has always been an enjoyable experience to perform a task that most of us dread. As a business and technical operations professional with software product management and development experience, I honor, recognize and applaud all the teams who have worked so hard to make this product better and better each year. Please accept my heartfelt thanks for a job well done! Warm regards and blessings, Amy April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple I dread filing taxes every year because of the triple check work that is required. I love that filing with Turbo is so simple; everything is broken down in sections and the illustrations (cartoon-ish and light colors) used throughout makes me feel like this process is no biggy; it really tones down the seriousness of filing taxes with the IRS! My mood changed from "not looking forward to it" to "good". Thanks for rocking this tax return process and providing this for FREE!!! In the economy we live in, hardly any companies are that generous!! March 21, 2015
  • 2015-07-03T11:53:52.955-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-262, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14467, tr_14467
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 260 261 262 263 264 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.