1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 262 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by SO worth it For people who are single with simple taxes like myself (i just have a 9-5 job, and I'm paying student loans and giving to charity, but that's it), Turbo Tax is amazing. It's so reliable and easy to use. I trust Turbo Tax with all of my private information. I have used Turbo Tax in the past, and they have always done a great job. The e-file and direct deposit options are great. The email updates give me peace of mind. The step-by-step walk through, including the little explanations of things, is so easy to use and helpful. THANK YOU to whoever created Turbo Tax! March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Free Tax E-File I've purchased several TurboTax products in the past, especially when my returns were trickier, and I've always been pleased with the product. This is the 1st year I've used the free, on-line, e-file option and I am just as pleased. One of my favorite characteristics of the TurboTax interface is the option to learn more about deductions and requirements, even if they do not apply to my present return. I find these descriptions helpful and informative. I feel these "tax tips" serve to educate me and may even better prepare me personally for filing in upcoming years. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Helpful! I am so grateful for TurboTax! This was my first time filing my taxes and I had absolutely no clue how to do it! I saw a commercial for TurboTax and figured I'd give it a shot because I didn't know what else to do. I could not have made a better decision! Everything was so simple to understand and it walked me through every single step. I thought doing taxes was supposed to be stressful but with TurboTax guiding me through the process I was actually excited and smiling most of the time! I cannot thank you enough, TurboTax, for making my first time filing such a breeze. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax Turbo tax has always been easy to use. I did have a few set backs this year but it was not because of Turbo Tax. I chatted with customer service rep Jennifer H who showed me how to delete the form that had the error so I could restart it and not have my return rejected. I wish it was a little more clear how to delete the form before I contacted turbo tax but she was helpful. Also I wish Turbo Tax showed everyone listed in the Health Coverage Options on the page vs only on the copy of your tax return because I did not know that's where the problem was from the beginning. February 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thanks! Regardless my con is something very small ($30 is still very cheap compared to most options for filing taxes). Easy to use, I might be a little more prepared next year seeing as this was the first time I ever filed my taxes. I haven't looked around, but I think it would be very useful if TurboTax prepared a list of documents, receipts, and any possible documents that will be needed before filing taxes. Something that TurboTax notifies us throughout the year or maybe in April/May, send a list of very useful things to keep because you can in fact get a refund from them. March 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ridiculous number of prompts to upgrade I have used Turbotax for filing my 1040EZ tax return for the past two years. This year Turbotax would not carry over my data from the past two years unless I purchased the application. I decide to re-enter my data instead of spending $30 because I have little to enter. Turbotax was relentless about the prompts to purchase upgrade, often with confusing prompts that read as if the preparation could not continue without a purchase or upgrade. Deciphering these prompts took longer than if I had completed a hard-copy tax form. I won't use this application again. Thumbs down. April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Timer This is my first time filing and I am filing jointly because I also just got married. Turbo Tax was suggested by a few different friends and family members and I am so glad we decided to use it. We had just a few issues but the representative on the support line was extremely helpful in getting our situation squared away. We will be using Turbo Tax again next year and will certainly suggest to friends. Favorite part is it gave us the option many times to use step by step help or skip right ahead. Perfect interface for new users and old users. (We used the step-by-step!) April 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Made it easy, not perfect. For the most part, the simple interface is very nice. However, it's not always clear on what is and isn't deductible per certain states. Especially the personal property section. Had to go to outside sources to determine if some of the sales tax on paid was deductible or not in my state which was slightly annoying considering I could have easily filled out my return manually by following the instructions if I knew all this information in the first place. I was already too far along to stop and finish manually so I continued with TurboTax after some minor searching online. April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always easy I have been using Turbo Tax for years, ever since I started doing my own taxes. They make it so easy and explain all of the steps as you go along. I always feel like I am getting my max refund because the program asks you every single question a CPA at an in person tax prep business would. The only way they could make this easier is if they filled everything out for you. Oh wait, if you're a returning customer they have all of your info saved already so they fill out all the painful name, address, phone # stuff for you. I mean, who could ask for much more with a free product! April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome product but getting more difficult I have used the free federal edition for several years now. I like the familiarity of the product and how easy it is to use. However, in previous years there was a (free) automatic import of W2 information (as long as your employer uses an automated system to do payroll) as well as a roll over of the previous year's information- personal data, dependent data, and employer information. Without having many changes to that info from year to year, that made filing my taxes amazingly easy. This year I had to type in every single word. It took MUCH longer than I have been used to. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked the program I began as a very suspicious filer; did not expect it to be as clear and easy as it was; was grateful for the break times, and having my info stored for next use; have to say it was rather fun, like dropping a nickel in the bandit and finding some more money! I got stuck on a couple of things, but eventually worked it out, one of them being a spelling mistake! Mine! It's late because it took me a while to work it all through, but now I know what to have ready for next year, and I hope Turbotax will be there to help me again! a very rewarding experience, if you take my meaning. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not As Good As It Once Was I have used Turbo since my first file in 2006 and this year was not as simple as it has been in the last 8 years that I have used it to file. The step by step were long and tedious and I wasn't able to put some information in without paying a fee. The reason this bothered me is I had the same info last year and was able to put in for free and this year they wanted to charge for the same information. If I wanted to pay for it to be done I would pay someone else to do it for roughly the same amount Turbo was charging. I might just pay someone to do it next year if it gets worse. March 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by $40 to Pick Up Last Years Info!? I would think return customers would mean more than $40 for ease and they would keep coming back. Next year I will probably find a true "free" site that wants me coming back. I woud have used another site because of having to start from scratch but I just needed to get my taxes done. I didn't think it would take long considering this site had all my previous info, but instead it took me all afternoon. I only have to 2 W2s and nothing complex so should never have taken so long using my "tax service" who already had all my info as soon as I logged in. Will find a site that does. March 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Review This is the last year I will be using TurboTax. I can go to other sites and get actual FREE e-filing done that includes my 401K and IRA/Roth information. $60 to do my taxes this year and it's the same information as last year. Thanks, but no thanks. I imagine you won't be offering free filing next year. I can take my taxes to your competitors and talk to a live person and ask questions for about as much as you wanted from me AND they file my state taxes for free. Ridiculous. I know you need to make money, but I think I am done here. Thanks for all the really good previous years. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay Sane This Tax Season Taxes are scary, it's a fact of life. You don't want to pay them, your neighbor's had his in for months and even a certain clown would be crazy to try to avoid them. Luckily, you don't have to be worried, overly prepared or criminally insane to appreciate TurboTax's service and file on time. Nice friendly interfaces that offer encouragement, easy to use questionnaires and a wealth of knowledge are a life saver for people like me who couldn't 1040EZ their way out of a paper bag. Some people think five stars mean you don't have a real opinion, but in this case it's well deserved. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Way To File Taxes First time filing for Taxes by myself. Let me tell you guys, please do not go anywhere else to do it. ESPECIALLY, if you are having to pay to get your taxes done. I am a college student that almost works full-time. I received a pretty good amount of money back and that was super surprising to me. Anyways, this is so easy, gives you fabulous directions and you can save and log out whenever you need to if you do not have the time to finish it then. But total time for me to file all 3 of papers was about 45 minutes, maybe less. I will always use TurboTax to file each year for sure. April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by WATCH OUT FOR TURBO TAX PLUS STEALTHILY ADDED While it's true that TurboTax is very easy to use and they guarantee their work, WATCH OUT for the program trying to add TurboTax PLUS without you wanting it! This happened to me while helping my 16-year-old do his taxes, so we ended up paying twice what we planned. Then as I helped my 19-year-old, I was watching for this slight-of-hand and TWICE the program tries to get you to pay an additional $29.99 for the PLUS option. Apparently, if you opt to have your basic payment of $29.99 deducted from your refund, you are automatically upgraded to the PLUS option. READ THE FINE PRINT!! March 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Spammy After selecting the free option, it constantly begs you to file spending more money. I don't believe for a moment that turbotax will provide any real audit protection. And having been randomly audited already, know that there is little to actually fear from the process. It makes the experience a little creepy, checking and rechecking each prompt to make sure I haven't agreed to somehow pay turbotax for a service I made quite clear I won't be paying. I had to file my state taxes. I won't be doing it again through turbotax, unfortunately 30 dollars is a little high for data entry. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't waste time & money at the tax stores! I have worked for other tax stores in the past. Basically, you're just paying someone else to click the buttons! My dad always had a friend over to do his taxes for him but this year he was unable. My dad pleaded with me to help him. So, I sat him down at his computer and walked him through the TurboTax site. After only an hour (including multiple forms and deductions), he was done and shocked! We even managed to save him a bit more than last year. "That's all there is to it?" he asked. He's never been so relieved and now is excited to tell his friend that he's got this next year. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I realize that I have to pay a fee for using TurboTax. After all, people do need to be paid. The fee was $30. I was fine paying this, despite the fact that I was under the assumption that my taxes would be completely free. Regardless, I understood. However, my real problem occurs with the payment methods. You can pay using a card, or you can pay with your refund. I selected the latter. Then I noticed that I was charged $60, not $30. Apparently, you have to UPGRADE your account in order to pay with YOUR OWN refund. Very upsetting. It's my money, and I should be able to pay with it. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Straight talk, taxes made simple First time filing my taxes, so this is also my first time using the TurboTax Free edition. Appreciated the direct, straightforward vernacular TurboTax used to walk me through the submission process. I wish TurboTax dedicated more of its program to answering common questions I had (such as whether or not I could file income from previous years on which I had not previously filed within this filing), rather than promoting paid upgraded editions of its own product. Still, it was free, and it made completing my taxes a lot more accessible and enjoyable than it would have been otherwise. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Guided Process I love this tax site, I absolutely love the fact that for every question or situation there is an answer and if there isn't one someone is willing to try to find one. I'm not a tax pro by any means and I can just breeze through my return with the confidence of a pro because Turbo Tax has taken all of the guesswork and stress out of doing taxes. Every form and requirement has a simple detailed explanation and the software and advisers guide you through the process without making you feel stupid for not knowing or for having a question. I will continue to use and recommend Turbo Tax. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by faster and less confusing than e-file I tried using e-file this year for my taxes, and after an hour I gave up, it was just too confusing, and then my roommate told me to try turbotax. I love turbo tax! it was easy to use, it is well designed, from both a visual and UI standpoint, and it explained everything I needed explanations for! Only way it could have been better is if there was a turbotax employee next to me! Only thing I didn't care for was that I was asked multiple times if I wanted to upgrade. If I've said no once, then it gets confusing/annoying when I have to answer again. Will totally use turbotax again! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy! TurboTax is so easy and efficient. I have been filing with H&R Block for years and I am now a true believer in filing my own taxes. This has saved me countless hours, miles, and most importantly; dollars. This service is amazing and I will be using this for all future e-filing processes. The TurboTax website must be geared towards folks like me who see tax statement paperwork as some kind of hieroglyphics. I just filed my taxes from the comfort of my own home; I filed in my pajamas for absolutely free! I waited until the filing deadline and I just finished all before lunchtime! BOOM! April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thank you!! I am now divorced and had not done my own taxes in over ten years-my spouse always did it. Prior to that, I did my taxes with my parent's help (by using forms from the post office). Last year I used a tax prep service which cost me over $400 because I didn't know what I was doing, and afraid of my taxes not being "right"; during my time there I felt like I really didn't have a good understanding of what was happening. With Turbo Tax and the help of a friend, I was able to do my taxes in my own home and "get it right"-for free and at my own pace, and I understood everything about it. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightening Speed to Uncle Sam I have always done my taxes the old fashioned way! Go to the library to get the forms, then put it off as long as I could, and then finally get through it! Then there is finding an envelope and a stamp! Another hurdle to jump! After using Turbo Tax I feel like I have been given the VIP treatment, and no special trips to get forms. Simple instructions, with helpful suggestions and Boom...done! Simple, Easy Fast and what a relief! Going to go reward myself with a Chocolate Sundae! I think Turbo Tax deserves one too! Thank You Turbo Tax! This was So Cool! See you next year for sure! :) March 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not that happy I've used Turbotax for years. First with the free, paying to file for the state. No problem there, I understand that you guys need to make money to. Even offering the additional services for additional fees, I get it. What I find disgusting is that if I require a copy of a previously filed tax report, now I have to pay to upgrade my return to allow me to do that? I find that utter garbage and starting next year will definitely revisit my options. If you say free, then keep it free with additional options. Or else just start charging for your services. Definitely lacks transparency. March 24, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by BIG MISTAKE 1) Didn't want "deluxe" turbo. Ended up researching how to "start over" to exit "deluxe". 2) Original federal refund @ $2,000.00. After "start over", less than $800.00. 3) If your printer decides to blank-out, can't print corrected form that now has to be snail mailed because instructions inform, "...no longer eligible for e-file...". 4) Original State refund, over $200.00. After correction typo of one number in employer I.D., no refund, (even if I could have printed corrected form!) 5) I know I am due a State refund but there was no way to access forms for correction after e-filing. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Far, far superior to H&R Block I first began my tax return with H&R Block online. They were extremely unclear with what package I had chosen and what my costs were going to be. After going through the entire process of entering my information, I discover that it's going to cost about triple what I was expecting. When attempting to contact their customer service I decided to try TurboTax. I literally completed my federal AND state returns while on hold with H&R Block. H&R gave me one of the worst customer service experiences of my life, but TurboTax was there to save the day with an extremely easy return process. February 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I was happy at first… Relieved I loved the ¨dummy notes¨ and how everything was a smooth ride… However, the fees just keep adding on. I only made 30K in the year, and thankfully I am getting federal money back, but it is not nice to charge someone so much if they only make enough to live. I understand you guys offer great service - because I enjoyed the experience honestly- but I think the fees to use your service should depend on the income of the user. I would have preferred to pay 19.99 or less… But here I paid 30 bucks, and it would have been more if I accepted the other services. Be nice, guys! Thanks, -Chris March 27, 2015
  • 2015-04-27T12:02:42.350-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-262, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_14353, tr_14353
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 260 261 262 263 264 ... 271 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.