1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 262 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience! Unlike the experiences I've had with other electronic tax services, TurboTax made everything painless! I encountered absolutely no hassle from start to finish with every step clearly and concisely explained. TurboTax even explained why certain information was needed for filing, rather than just demanding info and leaving relevance to the filer's imagination. Moreover, TurboTax did an excellent job finding hidden tax credits that increased my refund. Without a doubt, I will be returning next year to file with TurboTax again! April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Opinion I may have missed it, but I had a hard time entering my wife's (Copper B Dulin's) 1099-R once I had completed entering my SSA-1099. When your user has selected "married, filing jointly," shouldn't the user's spouse page come up automatically, once the first user's income has been completed? Again, I may have missed this, since turbotax is so good about asking all of the right questions. Thanks for making this available for free. Please consider NOT charging $29.95 for those users who are retired and on fixed income(s).... February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Welp, dat was easy. Great service, incredibly easy, quick and simple. Love the interface, the atmosphere of the website, everything. If I had to nit pick, I was a little annoyed that they ask you to fill out the State Return, and then turn around and ask you to bundle them together for a price. I mean, if I had remembered that they charge to combine the two, I wouldn't have gone through all the trouble of filling out the state return. Oye. THAT BEING SAID -- I love these guys. Great site, great service. 10/10, will file with them next year. February 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I've e-filed my mentally impaired daughter's taxes for over 5 years. I've used several different programs. I like the simplicity of TurboTax, but I was very frustrated because it took nearly 4 hours to complete. There were two reasons that it took me so long: (1# intuit would crash frequently which took several minutes each time to return to the page I was working on and #2) the question space in the upper right hand corner was either slow or unresponsive. I would like free filing for the state return. Some programs have it. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent program I've used this site for the past 5 years and have always enjoyed it. The program makes filing taxes very easy and is great at finding the most deductions applicable to the customer and providing the largest refund.My only complaint is that the site tends to auto-select some options during the progress which is helpful but can be annoying when it selects more expensive packages or more features without asking. Removing them is not difficult but can involve backtracking. Overall a good program and plan to use again next year. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Not Taxing to use Turbo Tax! This is the second year I used turbo Tax. I thought I would check out a couple of other on-line tax companies to shop around. Turbo Tax won hands down. Turbo tax seemed more personable like I had a real person on the other end, so, I didn't feel so taxed as to go into panic mode. They managed me well, got me through it, and I didn't get the blues. Turbo Tax moved me through section by section with ease and the info pop-ups (?) were great and easy to understand. I know you'll be around a long time. Keep feeding those hamsters! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't know what to do without Turbo Tax each year! Been filing with Turbo Tax for 7 years now and ohnestly I don't know how or what to do every year without their help, guidance and very easy process on how to file my tax refund. I'm a single mom who doesn't have much to pay someone to file my income tax. I have a peace of mind every year knowing that Turbo Tax is there to take care of my Tax Refund in an easy, fast and in a very safe way. Thank you to all the responsible people @ Turbo Tax for making it possible for someone like me who is not computer savvy to file with ease. March 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Idk why but I wud get thru the whole process and get to the last page where it wud say transfer e file the green button, and after I wud click on it the next page wud be blank or say retry to submit or ur going to have to print it out and mail a copy into the irs. I've never had this problem befor until this year and it was very frustrating! I was to the point where Monday I was going to mail it out but I decided to try one more time to resubmit the last page, and for some reason it went thru this time tonight. Thank goodness! February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've used TurboTax Home & Business for the last 4 years. It is very simple to use and got me my max refund. It didn't miss a thing! This year I used a simple FREE online version of TurboTax because I did not have business information to submit. It was also very simple. The only con to the free version is that I'll have to redo my state taxes. You are given the option to pay to file state or delete state tax information. I chose to delete and do them later on my own. **Save $hundreds$ by not using a tax service. It's so easy!** February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic!! Saved me $$$ Last year, my family and I all had an CPA/attorney file our taxes for us. I thought having a "real person" do the work would get me the best deal. So wrong! He was crazy expensive, and missed breaks even I knew I should get. TurboTax was fast and easy, and found extra breaks I didn't even know I could qualify for. Love this service! Saved me an extra $400 bucks! And, saved me the hours and headache of doing them all myself. And as a bonus, their warranty (and awesome track record) gives me peace of mind that it was done right. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's excellent! Turbo tax is an excellent tax service and I even introduced this helpful tool to my sister. It's so easy to follow and its super accurate. It's even better when it saves all your data before you exit out of your account! Doing return through turbo tax guarantees a fast refund and I cannot be more satisfied. I've done my very first return with turbo tax last year and I probably will keep doing my returns with turbo in the next coming years! It's awesome! Instructions were pretty clear except some were a little hard to figure out. February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by unsure Gave pieces of information and have to trust that they put everything in the right places because we did not see the actual return. You can see errors when you have the return in front of you. Now the return is filed and we have no clue if they or us made any errors or misunderstood any questions. I am not certain I will get a copy of the return after we submit all your required demands. Feel totally uncomfortable with your procedures. I sincerely hope a copy of the return will be available for our review so we can breathe easy. February 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quick, Easy and Painless I really had a positive experience using TurboTax, this is my second time using it and it was very easy and managable. The only downside to not having face to face meeting with an accountant is that you are unsure if you are getting the maximum return available to you. If my taxes were more complex this would be more difficult to use, unless you have a lot of knowledge in this field. Accounts seem to be a better resource for ensuring your are getting maximum refunds as they know the way arounds and different types of write offs. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it I loved turbo tax! I filed with an agency last year, and this was the first time I completed my taxes by myself. Turbo tax was so thorough and simple. I truly feel like I achieved my maximum refund. I liked the questions in the beginning so they knew where I could possibly have additional refunds; for example I'm a part time student. I really appreciate that information is saved automatically and it was clear when you finished a section or if you needed to go back and add more information. I will definitely use it again next year! March 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quite Simple For repeat clients, you already have most of the same information that gets filled in every year, why not make it available even if this is the Free Edition. What I particularly like is the program does all the calculating for you, and knows which numbers go where. If a change needs to be made, it'll update everything, and you know the changes better than anyone. Have used TurboTax for several years (even when I had to pay for it), and find the annual tweaks of value. Have recommended it to my family and friends for several years. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I expected. I thought that using turbo tax was very easy, straightforward, and explained things well in the learn more links about each deduction/exemption/etc. however, I was very unhappy with the 30 dollar fee to file state taxes. When I used turbo tax, I was under the impression it would be free. It was not, but for sake of ease, I just paid the 30 dollar charge. I will not be using this again if this fee still exists. It should not advertise free tax filing, if they charge you at the very end when everything is filled out and done with. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easyfiling First time using the FREE file as I usually bought the Deluxe version to do Schedule A. Did not have enough deductions this year and didn't want to pay to file something so simple. Was leery it was really FREE but I didn't pay a dime. They do charge for State filing but I chose to mail mine in. I have used a walk-in preparer once but they charged me $200 for nothing!!! I had my paperwork already done and he argued he saved me money when actually, he forgot some deductions. I went back to Turbo Tax and have stuck with them since!! February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by America Runs on Turbo Turbo tax made filing my taxes pretty easy for Federal even with 3 different W-2s. It wasn't daunting and as troublesome as many people claim! The lay out of it all, going through the steps was easy and it always saved after so that was not frustrating. The only frustrating part was kind of working in 3 different states, but somehow had to file for four. It was too confusing that I just went somewhere to file for my state cause it was giving me a headache. But if my case wasn't so different and strange-- I would've done turbo tax. April 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Holding pattern I used TaxAct in the past but decided to try TurboTax for my son's taxes this year. While friendly to use, I was unable to finish the taxes on my home computer. No reason was given and I was unable to contact TurboTax other than by e-mail. TaxAct provides instant messaging which helps in a pinch. If TurboTax provides instant messaging, I couldn't find easily on the website or while doing the taxes. I also think the cost if prohibitive. Tax Act would have been less $30. I will use TaxAct next year given the frustration and the cost April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My first time with Turbo Tax This was my first time filing my taxes with Turbo Tax, and it will not be my last. The layout of the site is easy to understand. Turbo Tax figuratively holds your hand through the entire process. It was stress free, and detailed. The amount of time it took me to start and complete my taxes took around an hour. While that is not fast, it is good to double check your filing to make sure you did not make any mistakes. I had a pleasant time filing my taxes this year with Turbo Tax. I am sure I will have the same experience next year. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great but... I've been privileged to use TurboTax Freedom for a number of years, and have always been very grateful to the company for making it available to low income people. However, this year, especially, I found it very disturbing to be continually told that the program would not handle the 1040 and that I would have to upgrade to a very expensive program in order to proceed. Luckily, I ignored the worrisome harping, and did manage to e-file, finally. This left me disappointed after so many years of your graciously helping out people like me. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Easy Easy I have used TurboTax Free Edition to file my taxes for several years now and have always had a really positive experience. I no longer dread sitting down to file each year; it's just another item on my to-do list thanks to the easy to use format and helpful information. The tax jargon is simplified and applied to examples in your life, making it very simple to know what you need to fill out and what you don't. So, grateful for this! I have tried others and even paid to have my taxes done and nothing compares to the TurboTax experience! April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun to use! This was great! 1. It was quick - doing my taxes only took me about 30 minutes. 2. Fun to use! I work at a software company and we are always striving to make our software more fun to use…and TurboTax has mastered just that! The simple, app-like graphics, encouraging feedback, and even the get-to-know TurboTax quick facts on the first screens are effective and fun. Not really any cons. If I had to give constructive feedback, I'd say the auto registration deduction was confusing, and so was the state tax district field. Great product! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turtle vs Time Time was going and I had been procrastinating on filing my taxes. With days left to spare, I received a few reminders to my inbox from TurboTax that time was running out, which gave this turtle the fire I needed to get it done before the deadline. In thinking it was going to be a long drawn out project especially not being a tax expert, I reluctantly pressed on; only to realize in no time I was done. TurboTax is easy to understand, it explains everything and because of it's simplicity I was finsihed in a flash! This turtle won the race! April 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Like It Used To Be I have used Turbo Tax since the dial-up days. It used to be professional and no-nonsense. Now the nonsense starts with asking me how I feel about doing my taxes and does not let me move on until I answer. Taxes are something I have to do. I don't feel good or bad about it, I just want it done asap. Taxes are a pain, answering unnecessary questions and reading cute encouragements wastes time. Lets be professional and stick to the necessary fields. No non-sense no up sell. I pay a lot in taxes and pay Turbo Tax every year. Not next year. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Simple and easy to use (first timer) I'm new to starting my taxes the steps were simple and easy to follow. Although I felt at one point in the process (due to the fact I'm a dependent) in the 1098-T section I had already been claimed and had that document put in under parents. I had to find via search bar in turbotax whether or not I needed to put it in myself as well or not. I eventually found the answer there but it was not thoroughly explained that since I'm a dependent to say I did not receive a 1098-T even if I did. Overall that was a great way to do my first taxes. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is Amazing!! This was the first time I have ever used Turbo Tax! This program is so user friendly and easy to use! They make sure you understand what your doing! With online support right there to answer any questions. I felt so at ease using this program! I have always had someone else preparing my taxes. I was always worried I was going to mess things up, and you don't want to have ANY errors when dealing with the IRS!! I will use Turbo Tax every year from here on out!! It's nice to have a program to help prepare your taxes every step of the way!!!! February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use Equals Likely Use My wife began using TurboTax for our filings a few years ago with an eye to me being able to do this on my own if it were ever necessary. She still does the majority of the work, but after watching her for all these years, I have no doubt I could do this if it were ever to be necessary. I'm sure this is the case in many families where one person does the majority of the financial work, and TurboTax is the software I would recommend to any of them. Also good for first-time filers in college or just post-college in their first "real" job. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time ever filing electronically! Turbo Tax's online filing system is very easy to use. They explain every step in detail and double check 99% all of your work for you. Everything is very easy to understand, but then I have a fairly simple tax return with just three W-2 forms and joint filing with my wife. I would highly recommend this method to any couple who wants to get their taxes done in about an hour and then get on with their life. I don't know for sure how good it is for other family situations or business owners, but I suspect it's just as simple and intuitive. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbotax Fee I have been with Turbotax the passed 2 years. They claim it is free, but it is not. It may be free for you depending on your case but for most people, they end up having to pay for Turbotax. Even if you carefully read everything and make a conscious effort to decline anything that will make you pay, you will end up paying. The only thing I can say is, it is probably a LOT better than going to someone in person to do it because they charge an arm, a leg, n an internal organ. With the pros and cons, I do believe Turbotax is your best bet. February 25, 2015
  • 2015-12-01 T09:59:26.533-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-262, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 260 261 262 263 264 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.