1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 261 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14485 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service!! Second time filing taxes on my own. The first time I file was with H&R Block, There system was complicated, hard to understand and time consuming. I was hesitant to try out TurboTax. To my surprise it was nothing like the first experience. I was able to navigate the system easily. If i did not understand a question I would click on the help button. It would explain in detail what it was asking for. I felt confident. It let me go back and review and edit information. I would recommend this software to anyone. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, fun, and beautiful! I decided to use TurboTax after my sister suggested it to me. I have never done my taxes before, and I hated the idea of waiting in a crowded line to get someone else to do it for free. The site was incredible. I loved the design and how user friendly it was. It is clear they have a very talented front end and back end web design team. I was incredibly impressed and am very happy with my returns! I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is uneasy about filing their taxes. TurboTax makes it fun and easy! February 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by List Standard Deduction First I liked the provision of all the various options. But some of them seemed a bit repetitive. After one run through the possible deductions, I didn't really see the need to look at them all again. But my main suggestion is that the dollar amount of the Federal Standard Deduction should really be mentioned at the beginning of the deduction calculation process. My itemized deductions came to only about half the Standard Deduction. If I knew that to begin with, I would have simply skipped all the itemized options. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by wow, that was easier than i had expected This is a really nice way to file taxes. I have never understood filling out the confusing documentation, but turbo tax stream lines it by making it easy to understand direct questions and then auto fills everything out for you. You never even see confusing documentation. This is the first time doing my own taxes, and i thought i was going to dread the experience, but in one simple hour, a great weight has been lifted. The Site has a very smooth transition and is very direct on the information that it needs. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Breezy Tax Time I was apprehensive about doing my taxes online, especially since I had no clue where to start or what I was doing. Turbo Tax walked me through every single step, with the nice addition of letting me know WHY certain questions were being asked. I liked how thorough the process was, as well as the amount of options that were available to help me find as many deductions as possible. I am much more confident in my ability to file on my own next year, and will not use another tax service - Turbo Tax has me hooked. February 18, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I was under the impression that TurboTax was completely free to use. It cost me $29.99 to file for state taxes. I was unable to review my state section to make it easier to e-file myself to save the money. In addition, I decided to just have the $29.99 taken out of my federal return because I was running short on time and needed to file soon. It then charged me ANOTHER $29.99. Luckily I was able to remove that and pay with a credit card, but overall, I am very disappointed and will be filing myself next year. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by made form 8962 (premium tax credit) EASY the new form 8962 IRS instructions are horrible. turbotax e-file made filing this new form for the health insurance premium tax credit so easy. highly recommend! tried a competitor (taxslayer) first and had to quit because it wouldn't let me continue past the W-2 form even though i'd checked the box saying i was retired and had no wages. not only did i not have to tear my hair out trying to figure out this new form, with e-file i didn't have to run to the post office at 10 p.m. to mail it. thank you, turbotax! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and user friendly TurboTax asked me really direct questions and made everything super easy. I didn't even know I qualified for one of the refund credits they helped me to find. I'm really grateful that I was able to get that, as I need all I can get as a working student. I look forward to having this to help me along when I get a more complicated job that has more stuff to file for. I don't really understand all this tax stuff, but they made it so easy that I really just had to understand one part at a time. Truly a life saver. March 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Concise & Short On earlier filings I have always chosen to pay for the most basic service with the advantage of having all the information retained online. However, this year I chose to use the "Free" version to save money. The filing went just as smoothly - the only hassle was manually entering my personal information again. TurboTax has always been my choice for tax filing because it's so concise and it prompts you through the whole process to consider other income & deductions that could affect the outcome of your filing. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes paying taxes less painful Love the informal "support" given throughout the process. Encouraging . Love that it breaks down the data entry into pieces so it doesn't seem so overwhelming. Love the double check to ensure all the entry is done along with any exemptions that can happen. Also, love that it gives you instant info on selections that need to be made with little links. Very informative and you don't have to wait for someone on line to respond. Each year Tubo seems to improve on itself. Great way to keep me coming back. Thank-you! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by SO MUCH BETTER THAN H&R BLOCK I am SO impressed with how easy it was to file my taxes with TurboTax. Just prior to filing my taxes with this website, I had went through all the hassles of trying to file with H&R Block (as I did last year) just for it to tell me this year they were trying to charge me $20! I'm a college kid and am not willing to spend that for a federal refund. I was so aggravated having to enter all of my information again, but TurboTax made it so quick and easy! I definitely will continue to file my taxes with this company! February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Innovative Filing taxes is difficult sometimes and there are many areas to be addressed. Turbo Tax makes everything easy from the first step to the last. Turbo Tax asks the right questions and enables you to complete your taxes better than any other Tax program out there. Turbo Tax is clever and quirky with their process which makes it fun and simple. I have used Turbo Tax since I was 17 years old and now I am 26. Its consistent and a must have program for people filing their taxes at home. Thanks Turbo Tax! Regards, Will February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Saved Rookie First let me start off by saying i have had others do my taxes in the past..the great volunteers for AARP.This year i was not able to hook up with these folks due to my work. Then i thought "why cant I do what these folks do?" After seeing ads from my credit union about Turbotax I thought I would give it a try. Boy am i glad I did! They made it so easy for me as they walked me through the whole process. They covered everything that i needed to do to file. I will not hesitate next year to use this great program . March 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by What's the price today??? I have used TurboTax online for several years. This year is the most frustrating at all. First states are free - then they aren't. Last year I could transfer my personal data for free - this year there is a charge. All the extra "CLICKS" to get through a page - do you really care how I'm feeling? TurboTax is very good at "hiding" the "no thanks" buttons and pushing you to accidentally click a button that will result in an up-charge. Why should I be asked if I want to upgrade when I am filing a 1040EZ? Ridiculous. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and easy I am currently under a tight budget after having moved to a new state and building a new life over the last year. I wasn't sure how much filing my taxes would cost, and was a little hesitant and nervous to find out. Luckily Turbotax was FREE! Something I appreciate considering how simple my return was. The process took less than an hour and was very easy to complete. I don't know why I was procrastinating so much, thinking it would be a problem, when in reality it was quick and painless to take care of. Thanks! April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by great program until they try to double charge you very great program, i don't appreciate that at the end when reading the agreement i had to sign i kept noticing they were charging me double what it should have been. after calling the "customer service" number located directly above what i was reading i was told that wasn't the right number #very convenient right?# I kept going back through, finally realizing that by deducting my fee for the state filing, they were charging me double, but not being really clear about it. not as clear as everything else they did. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Upset about the 29.99 misrespresentation I was very upset that I was misled to thinking it would only be 29.99 to send my state returns. I tried for 40mins to get out of the screen so that I wasn't paying for the turbo program too. it would now allow me to no matter what way I tried. I feel that is misrepresentation and misleading to customers. I finally paid with my credit card and only had to pay the 29.99 program. this is unfair to people who are trying to get the money out of their check. They can not get their check unless they pay the extra 29.99. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax has come a long way! I usually dread preparing my own tax returns, mostly because I'm paranoid about the accuracy of the calculations or because I'm afraid I'm missing something. This year I decided to give TurboTax another try and I feel accomplished. The GUI has come a long way and I'm satisfied my return is complete and accurate. It saved me the hassle of going to a tax preparing service office and saved me some $$$ too. Overall, I had a good experience and I'd recommend the software. I'll most likely use it for next year's return. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest. Filing. Ever I love using Turbo Tax. I use it every year when I file my taxes because their set-up makes it incredibly super easy to fill out the appropriate information, and if you don't know what you're looking for, they have little help blurbs along the way to tell you what you should be putting in and where. I always feel confident that I'm doing things right, and I love seeing the refund I'll be getting. And the best part (aside from being able to sit in my pajamas at home and file my taxes) is that it's absolutely free! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy I have only been filing my taxes for 3 years now, 2 years with Turbo Tax and 1 year with a Tax Preparer company, and I can say without a shadow of a doubt, Turbo Tax is the way to go. For one it is FREE and most importantly, it's comprehensive so even if it was your first time filing, Turbo Tax makes it easy for you to use and understand what exactly you need to do to e-file. I would recommend Turbo Tax to anyone trying to avoid preparer fees and wants the peace of mind that they know how to handle their own taxes! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy Really quick and relatively painless process for filing your taxes. Really the only negative is that they try to sell you unnecessary products during the review portion of the tax submission. I really don't count this as a negative because it's easy to skip and might be useful for some individuals, just not me (plus the free Federal filing is great and any company would want to push their other products in the same way). For filing your taxes in an easy-to-understand, coherent manner, I highly recommend Turbo Tax. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Forget 5 Stars...This Gets 10 Stars OK, I'll admit I don't have the most complicated return. My income, for example, can be discussed in terms of federal poverty levels, so I took advantage of the free filing option. Nonetheless, I felt that Turbo Tax bent over backwards for me, looking under every stone for any possible deductions. And they never once made me feel inferior because of the money I don't make. Exceeding my expectations, they made me feel completely comfortable with the information I'm sending to the IRS. You can't ask for more than that. March 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy for the most part. I've used TurboTax before. It's great for people with straightforward tax returns. The only problem I ran into this time around was when I stared looking into a certain tax credit on the state return which I shortly thereafter realized didn't apply to me, and I abandoned it. When I tried to file, it told me I had to fill out an extra worksheet for this credit. I tried deleting the worksheet to no avail. The only workaround was to start over on the state return. Not a huge problem -- If you encounter a bug start over. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product TurboTax is very user friendly and easy to use. The step-by-step process from one section to the next is well laid out. The only shortcoming was that I was never prompted to enter my IRS assigned Identity Protection Personal Identification Number. Having previously reported to the IRS that I was a victim of identity theft, they assigned a unique PIN Number to be used when filing my 2014 return. I only hope that this will not delay my refund. Other than that one issue, I would recommend TurboTax to anyone and everyone. February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improvements appreceiated After several years of using these products for multiple household member tax filings, I just must say that the process is more agreeable and less taxing (just the fact) on my nerves. The skill of improving the interface program, so that you can't exactly pinpoint what makes it easier to attack an unpleasant task such as tax return preparation, but you know it is so, is just genius and truly appreciated. The sing song chit chat about how long Intuit has been doing this work and how you guys feel about things is great. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stress Free Return I liked the friendly interaction of the site, as well as the step by step process the site guided me through in completing the return. This is a much faster way to file the return and much less stress than reading the instruction book and doing the mathematical calculations. I will definitely use this service to e file next year, rather than mailing in a paper return on my own, as in the past. One pleasant surprise was that I didn't have to pay the penalty for not having medical insurance. Thank you for a great service! February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and free filing! I started my tax returns in February... Just finished them April 13th, I like that Turbo Tax asks all the right questions, allows you to save your return and look up the information you need, to return and continue where you left off. It is very user friendly, uses language that is easy to understand and instructions easy to follow. It also it let me know how much I owed ahead of time, so that I could be prepared to pay today. I will never use another tax preparation service and I will recommend them to everyone I know. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by not as good as it was I was used to Turbo Tax being the best around, but I was surely disappointed this year. We used to be able to access our returns online, but , apparently, no more, unless you pay extra money. I was used to paying for the Louisiana, but of course, that has almost doubled in price from when I first started using Turbo Tax, over 10 years ago. The million disclosures were confusing, as were the choices of which version to use. I may have to check someone else out next year, since you won't even access the prior year anymore. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Free Federal Return 04/15/2015 The software was very consumer friendly with interactive Step-By-Step detailed instructions and explanations. At any time when I had a little doubt, there was always a link to a pop-up with an explanation that nearly always answered the question and resolved my doubt. The exception to this was when figuring a deduction for Military Retirement Pay that I am still a little confused if it is considered a 401k or whatever for tax purposes. The Free Federal Return package from TurboTax has been my choice for three years now! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Timer! I've always had someone else file my tax returns. I decided this year I was taking the reigns. Turbo Tax provided simple, straightforward questions that directed me every step of the way. My confusion happened when I had more paperwork than I needed so I tried to document that extra paperwork even though it was not needed. Other than that I loved the motivational notes throughout the process and I found it super easy to complete my first tax return I attempted myself. I feel very happy with my return and proud of myself. February 19, 2015
  • 2015-09-03T12:02:55.835-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-261, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14485, tr_14485
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 259 260 261 262 263 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.