1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 261 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest. Filing. Ever I love using Turbo Tax. I use it every year when I file my taxes because their set-up makes it incredibly super easy to fill out the appropriate information, and if you don't know what you're looking for, they have little help blurbs along the way to tell you what you should be putting in and where. I always feel confident that I'm doing things right, and I love seeing the refund I'll be getting. And the best part (aside from being able to sit in my pajamas at home and file my taxes) is that it's absolutely free! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy Really quick and relatively painless process for filing your taxes. Really the only negative is that they try to sell you unnecessary products during the review portion of the tax submission. I really don't count this as a negative because it's easy to skip and might be useful for some individuals, just not me (plus the free Federal filing is great and any company would want to push their other products in the same way). For filing your taxes in an easy-to-understand, coherent manner, I highly recommend Turbo Tax. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy I have only been filing my taxes for 3 years now, 2 years with Turbo Tax and 1 year with a Tax Preparer company, and I can say without a shadow of a doubt, Turbo Tax is the way to go. For one it is FREE and most importantly, it's comprehensive so even if it was your first time filing, Turbo Tax makes it easy for you to use and understand what exactly you need to do to e-file. I would recommend Turbo Tax to anyone trying to avoid preparer fees and wants the peace of mind that they know how to handle their own taxes! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy for the most part. I've used TurboTax before. It's great for people with straightforward tax returns. The only problem I ran into this time around was when I stared looking into a certain tax credit on the state return which I shortly thereafter realized didn't apply to me, and I abandoned it. When I tried to file, it told me I had to fill out an extra worksheet for this credit. I tried deleting the worksheet to no avail. The only workaround was to start over on the state return. Not a huge problem -- If you encounter a bug start over. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Forget 5 Stars...This Gets 10 Stars OK, I'll admit I don't have the most complicated return. My income, for example, can be discussed in terms of federal poverty levels, so I took advantage of the free filing option. Nonetheless, I felt that Turbo Tax bent over backwards for me, looking under every stone for any possible deductions. And they never once made me feel inferior because of the money I don't make. Exceeding my expectations, they made me feel completely comfortable with the information I'm sending to the IRS. You can't ask for more than that. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product TurboTax is very user friendly and easy to use. The step-by-step process from one section to the next is well laid out. The only shortcoming was that I was never prompted to enter my IRS assigned Identity Protection Personal Identification Number. Having previously reported to the IRS that I was a victim of identity theft, they assigned a unique PIN Number to be used when filing my 2014 return. I only hope that this will not delay my refund. Other than that one issue, I would recommend TurboTax to anyone and everyone. February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improvements appreceiated After several years of using these products for multiple household member tax filings, I just must say that the process is more agreeable and less taxing (just the fact) on my nerves. The skill of improving the interface program, so that you can't exactly pinpoint what makes it easier to attack an unpleasant task such as tax return preparation, but you know it is so, is just genius and truly appreciated. The sing song chit chat about how long Intuit has been doing this work and how you guys feel about things is great. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stress Free Return I liked the friendly interaction of the site, as well as the step by step process the site guided me through in completing the return. This is a much faster way to file the return and much less stress than reading the instruction book and doing the mathematical calculations. I will definitely use this service to e file next year, rather than mailing in a paper return on my own, as in the past. One pleasant surprise was that I didn't have to pay the penalty for not having medical insurance. Thank you for a great service! February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and free filing! I started my tax returns in February... Just finished them April 13th, I like that Turbo Tax asks all the right questions, allows you to save your return and look up the information you need, to return and continue where you left off. It is very user friendly, uses language that is easy to understand and instructions easy to follow. It also it let me know how much I owed ahead of time, so that I could be prepared to pay today. I will never use another tax preparation service and I will recommend them to everyone I know. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Timer! I've always had someone else file my tax returns. I decided this year I was taking the reigns. Turbo Tax provided simple, straightforward questions that directed me every step of the way. My confusion happened when I had more paperwork than I needed so I tried to document that extra paperwork even though it was not needed. Other than that I loved the motivational notes throughout the process and I found it super easy to complete my first tax return I attempted myself. I feel very happy with my return and proud of myself. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Painless This is my 4th year to use Turbo Tax online and this was the first time I had to share data without paying for Dlx version, which keeps going up in price. In the previous free versions there was a $10 efile fee. The last couple years my return required the Dlx version because they were more complex. TTax state that they will not share sensitive or personal information and I believe that is true. After all if that happened the class action suite would put them out of business. Still I would rather pay a small fee to file. April 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by not as good as it was I was used to Turbo Tax being the best around, but I was surely disappointed this year. We used to be able to access our returns online, but , apparently, no more, unless you pay extra money. I was used to paying for the Louisiana, but of course, that has almost doubled in price from when I first started using Turbo Tax, over 10 years ago. The million disclosures were confusing, as were the choices of which version to use. I may have to check someone else out next year, since you won't even access the prior year anymore. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Free Federal Return 04/15/2015 The software was very consumer friendly with interactive Step-By-Step detailed instructions and explanations. At any time when I had a little doubt, there was always a link to a pop-up with an explanation that nearly always answered the question and resolved my doubt. The exception to this was when figuring a deduction for Military Retirement Pay that I am still a little confused if it is considered a 401k or whatever for tax purposes. The Free Federal Return package from TurboTax has been my choice for three years now! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Easy Tax Filing This was an easy to use tax filing service for me needs. I am a single person with a straightforward income, so I just needed a simple and convenient way to file my taxes. The system explained each step along the way in plain English, which reduced any chance for error due to misunderstanding complicated tax terminology. Also, the system added a few personal touches which made the interaction pleasant. While I am not familiar with the more advanced options available, the free service I chose to use met my needs perfectly. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Job I have been a Turbo Tax user for many years. I normally use the CD format for my personal and business taxes due to their complexity. I used this online version for the first time for my granddaughter's taxes. It was easy to use, allowed me to complete and e-file her taxes in an hour so and the best part was it was completely FREE as promised. Although the program offered some for-fee options that would be very worthwhile to some people, it was not made a requirement for using the program. Thanks Turbo Tax!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! February 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Frustrating, but Quality When I was filling out my education information in the deductions section, it asked about the Hope and American opportunity credits. I had to go through several years of my parents tax returns to find this information and it was a huge hassle since I live over 6 hours away from my parents. On returning to the form after finally rounding up the requested information, I could not return to the section where it had originally asked for it. After 3 weeks and several hours of headache obtaining the information, it was useless. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE the app! As someone who is new to the tax filing process I have traditionally hated it. When I saw that TurboTax had an app I about fell out of my rocker with excitement. Overall the TurboTax application is awesome. It was really easy to open, run, and complete my taxes. The only advice I recommend is to make sure you always check your information when using the picture/ camera feature. It will get a bit confused at times so make sure you review that everything is in the right place. Other than that the process was easy and simple! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Welp, dat was easy. Great service, incredibly easy, quick and simple. Love the interface, the atmosphere of the website, everything. If I had to nit pick, I was a little annoyed that they ask you to fill out the State Return, and then turn around and ask you to bundle them together for a price. I mean, if I had remembered that they charge to combine the two, I wouldn't have gone through all the trouble of filling out the state return. Oye. THAT BEING SAID -- I love these guys. Great site, great service. 10/10, will file with them next year. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent program I've used this site for the past 5 years and have always enjoyed it. The program makes filing taxes very easy and is great at finding the most deductions applicable to the customer and providing the largest refund.My only complaint is that the site tends to auto-select some options during the progress which is helpful but can be annoying when it selects more expensive packages or more features without asking. Removing them is not difficult but can involve backtracking. Overall a good program and plan to use again next year. March 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Opinion I may have missed it, but I had a hard time entering my wife's (Copper B Dulin's) 1099-R once I had completed entering my SSA-1099. When your user has selected "married, filing jointly," shouldn't the user's spouse page come up automatically, once the first user's income has been completed? Again, I may have missed this, since turbotax is so good about asking all of the right questions. Thanks for making this available for free. Please consider NOT charging $29.95 for those users who are retired and on fixed income(s).... February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Third Year in a Row!!!! I had the easiest time doing my taxes this year and I got deductions that I didn't even realize I was eligible for. I am a full time student with a full time job and this was so quick and so easy that it fit right into my schedule and made it completely stress free. It is easy to use and breaks down everything if you need it in a way that's easy to understand. I loved all the new updates to it this year. I've used it to file my taxes for the last 3 years and this year was the smoothest yet! AWESOME!!! I HIGHLY recommend it! March 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple and easy, but still trying to hide fees TurboTax is awesome. The look of the site makes everything super simple and great, but this is the first year I had to also file a state return. Everything was perfect until the last possible second, and it tells me I somehow owe 30 bucks to file. I understand that state taxes take more work for you guys, just at least tell me I'm gonna be charged before I put in all the work and then say "Give us 30 bucks or we're deleting all your state taxes." Other than that, the whole process was beautiful. Just be a little more clear. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mo Money Your service is wonderful and easy to use. The part I didn't understand was being charged an additional $29.99 for being forced to upgrade to the Plus edition only for the service of paying my initial fee to file state taxes with my federal refund. So I simply paid my fee of $29.99 with my credit card in order to file my state taxes. Seems counterintuitive to not be able to pay Turbo Tax with my Federal Refund. And it wasn't initially clear that this was why I was being charged more than just the $29.99 to file state taxes. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience! Unlike the experiences I've had with other electronic tax services, TurboTax made everything painless! I encountered absolutely no hassle from start to finish with every step clearly and concisely explained. TurboTax even explained why certain information was needed for filing, rather than just demanding info and leaving relevance to the filer's imagination. Moreover, TurboTax did an excellent job finding hidden tax credits that increased my refund. Without a doubt, I will be returning next year to file with TurboTax again! April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I've e-filed my mentally impaired daughter's taxes for over 5 years. I've used several different programs. I like the simplicity of TurboTax, but I was very frustrated because it took nearly 4 hours to complete. There were two reasons that it took me so long: (1# intuit would crash frequently which took several minutes each time to return to the page I was working on and #2) the question space in the upper right hand corner was either slow or unresponsive. I would like free filing for the state return. Some programs have it. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Not Taxing to use Turbo Tax! This is the second year I used turbo Tax. I thought I would check out a couple of other on-line tax companies to shop around. Turbo Tax won hands down. Turbo tax seemed more personable like I had a real person on the other end, so, I didn't feel so taxed as to go into panic mode. They managed me well, got me through it, and I didn't get the blues. Turbo Tax moved me through section by section with ease and the info pop-ups (?) were great and easy to understand. I know you'll be around a long time. Keep feeding those hamsters! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've used TurboTax Home & Business for the last 4 years. It is very simple to use and got me my max refund. It didn't miss a thing! This year I used a simple FREE online version of TurboTax because I did not have business information to submit. It was also very simple. The only con to the free version is that I'll have to redo my state taxes. You are given the option to pay to file state or delete state tax information. I chose to delete and do them later on my own. **Save $hundreds$ by not using a tax service. It's so easy!** February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't know what to do without Turbo Tax each year! Been filing with Turbo Tax for 7 years now and ohnestly I don't know how or what to do every year without their help, guidance and very easy process on how to file my tax refund. I'm a single mom who doesn't have much to pay someone to file my income tax. I have a peace of mind every year knowing that Turbo Tax is there to take care of my Tax Refund in an easy, fast and in a very safe way. Thank you to all the responsible people @ Turbo Tax for making it possible for someone like me who is not computer savvy to file with ease. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic!! Saved me $$$ Last year, my family and I all had an CPA/attorney file our taxes for us. I thought having a "real person" do the work would get me the best deal. So wrong! He was crazy expensive, and missed breaks even I knew I should get. TurboTax was fast and easy, and found extra breaks I didn't even know I could qualify for. Love this service! Saved me an extra $400 bucks! And, saved me the hours and headache of doing them all myself. And as a bonus, their warranty (and awesome track record) gives me peace of mind that it was done right. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by unsure Gave pieces of information and have to trust that they put everything in the right places because we did not see the actual return. You can see errors when you have the return in front of you. Now the return is filed and we have no clue if they or us made any errors or misunderstood any questions. I am not certain I will get a copy of the return after we submit all your required demands. Feel totally uncomfortable with your procedures. I sincerely hope a copy of the return will be available for our review so we can breathe easy. February 21, 2015
  • 2015-05-26T12:11:03.401-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-261, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14450, tr_14450
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 259 260 261 262 263 ... 272 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.