1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 260 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by America Runs on Turbo Turbo tax made filing my taxes pretty easy for Federal even with 3 different W-2s. It wasn't daunting and as troublesome as many people claim! The lay out of it all, going through the steps was easy and it always saved after so that was not frustrating. The only frustrating part was kind of working in 3 different states, but somehow had to file for four. It was too confusing that I just went somewhere to file for my state cause it was giving me a headache. But if my case wasn't so different and strange-- I would've done turbo tax. April 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My first time with Turbo Tax This was my first time filing my taxes with Turbo Tax, and it will not be my last. The layout of the site is easy to understand. Turbo Tax figuratively holds your hand through the entire process. It was stress free, and detailed. The amount of time it took me to start and complete my taxes took around an hour. While that is not fast, it is good to double check your filing to make sure you did not make any mistakes. I had a pleasant time filing my taxes this year with Turbo Tax. I am sure I will have the same experience next year. April 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Like It Used To Be I have used Turbo Tax since the dial-up days. It used to be professional and no-nonsense. Now the nonsense starts with asking me how I feel about doing my taxes and does not let me move on until I answer. Taxes are something I have to do. I don't feel good or bad about it, I just want it done asap. Taxes are a pain, answering unnecessary questions and reading cute encouragements wastes time. Lets be professional and stick to the necessary fields. No non-sense no up sell. I pay a lot in taxes and pay Turbo Tax every year. Not next year. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great but... I've been privileged to use TurboTax Freedom for a number of years, and have always been very grateful to the company for making it available to low income people. However, this year, especially, I found it very disturbing to be continually told that the program would not handle the 1040 and that I would have to upgrade to a very expensive program in order to proceed. Luckily, I ignored the worrisome harping, and did manage to e-file, finally. This left me disappointed after so many years of your graciously helping out people like me. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun to use! This was great! 1. It was quick - doing my taxes only took me about 30 minutes. 2. Fun to use! I work at a software company and we are always striving to make our software more fun to use…and TurboTax has mastered just that! The simple, app-like graphics, encouraging feedback, and even the get-to-know TurboTax quick facts on the first screens are effective and fun. Not really any cons. If I had to give constructive feedback, I'd say the auto registration deduction was confusing, and so was the state tax district field. Great product! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Easy Easy I have used TurboTax Free Edition to file my taxes for several years now and have always had a really positive experience. I no longer dread sitting down to file each year; it's just another item on my to-do list thanks to the easy to use format and helpful information. The tax jargon is simplified and applied to examples in your life, making it very simple to know what you need to fill out and what you don't. So, grateful for this! I have tried others and even paid to have my taxes done and nothing compares to the TurboTax experience! April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use Equals Likely Use My wife began using TurboTax for our filings a few years ago with an eye to me being able to do this on my own if it were ever necessary. She still does the majority of the work, but after watching her for all these years, I have no doubt I could do this if it were ever to be necessary. I'm sure this is the case in many families where one person does the majority of the financial work, and TurboTax is the software I would recommend to any of them. Also good for first-time filers in college or just post-college in their first "real" job. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turtle vs Time Time was going and I had been procrastinating on filing my taxes. With days left to spare, I received a few reminders to my inbox from TurboTax that time was running out, which gave this turtle the fire I needed to get it done before the deadline. In thinking it was going to be a long drawn out project especially not being a tax expert, I reluctantly pressed on; only to realize in no time I was done. TurboTax is easy to understand, it explains everything and because of it's simplicity I was finsihed in a flash! This turtle won the race! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time ever filing electronically! Turbo Tax's online filing system is very easy to use. They explain every step in detail and double check 99% all of your work for you. Everything is very easy to understand, but then I have a fairly simple tax return with just three W-2 forms and joint filing with my wife. I would highly recommend this method to any couple who wants to get their taxes done in about an hour and then get on with their life. I don't know for sure how good it is for other family situations or business owners, but I suspect it's just as simple and intuitive. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Simple and easy to use (first timer) I'm new to starting my taxes the steps were simple and easy to follow. Although I felt at one point in the process (due to the fact I'm a dependent) in the 1098-T section I had already been claimed and had that document put in under parents. I had to find via search bar in turbotax whether or not I needed to put it in myself as well or not. I eventually found the answer there but it was not thoroughly explained that since I'm a dependent to say I did not receive a 1098-T even if I did. Overall that was a great way to do my first taxes. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is Amazing!! This was the first time I have ever used Turbo Tax! This program is so user friendly and easy to use! They make sure you understand what your doing! With online support right there to answer any questions. I felt so at ease using this program! I have always had someone else preparing my taxes. I was always worried I was going to mess things up, and you don't want to have ANY errors when dealing with the IRS!! I will use Turbo Tax every year from here on out!! It's nice to have a program to help prepare your taxes every step of the way!!!! February 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbotax Fee I have been with Turbotax the passed 2 years. They claim it is free, but it is not. It may be free for you depending on your case but for most people, they end up having to pay for Turbotax. Even if you carefully read everything and make a conscious effort to decline anything that will make you pay, you will end up paying. The only thing I can say is, it is probably a LOT better than going to someone in person to do it because they charge an arm, a leg, n an internal organ. With the pros and cons, I do believe Turbotax is your best bet. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Using Turbotax happily since 2008 I have been using TurboTax since 2008 and will continue to use this system as long as I can. I have found and proven the same results or even better results than the big chains/corporates can provide. This costs me only about 1/4th of the cost and asks all the questions that are necessary to get me the largest refund every year. Most importantly, it asks all the pertinent questions in an extremely simple format so there's practically no way to be confused and answer incorrect. Very satisfied with TurboTax and have recommended it to many friends. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely Helps Reduce Stress I really don't know what to say. They took a really confusing, cramped, and long form and simplified it - or at least layed it out so it is easy to read and follow. The organization of each step is near perfect, and it is easy to figure out what is being asked and what information needs to be entered. There are also links to more advanced changes for those who get paranoid or have second guesses before continuing the process. I like being told what will be done with my information, and they were good with being honest and truthful about it. March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is my Faithful Friend at Tax Time TurboTax is a wonderful tool to use to prepare your taxes. I have used this application for complex tax returns and simple tax returns, and is has always been an enjoyable experience to perform a task that most of us dread. As a business and technical operations professional with software product management and development experience, I honor, recognize and applaud all the teams who have worked so hard to make this product better and better each year. Please accept my heartfelt thanks for a job well done! Warm regards and blessings, Amy April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refund I really liked all the animations and the fluid movements of the pages. Also, it explained everything really well and I like the "explain this" on all the pages so I could go to that If I didnt understand. I liked that you could go back to anything and it was segmented up so i could find what I needed in each section. The adds to upgrade were a tad annoying, maybe only once at the beginning and one at the end? We wont change our mind mid-taxes to upgrade. But, I love this site. So easy for someone who doesnt know what shes doing tax-wise :) March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple I dread filing taxes every year because of the triple check work that is required. I love that filing with Turbo is so simple; everything is broken down in sections and the illustrations (cartoon-ish and light colors) used throughout makes me feel like this process is no biggy; it really tones down the seriousness of filing taxes with the IRS! My mood changed from "not looking forward to it" to "good". Thanks for rocking this tax return process and providing this for FREE!!! In the economy we live in, hardly any companies are that generous!! March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes made easy with scark and grace. I used Taxslayer last year and I filed my taxes alright I guess, it wasn't very enjoyable as taxes go, and it's "free" service pretty much dumped me into a sea of confusing monetary jargon. But this year I listened to my silly mom and went with Turbotax and I'm pretty grateful. The snarky banter throughout the process made the whole experience less than painful. It quickly and calmly buzzed me through all the necessary questions, I didn't feel like I was being assaulted by details. Honestly I'm impressed, you definitely acquired a return customer. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm a student with VERY minimal income, and TurboTax's free option worked very well for me. The whole process went smoothly and took maybe 20 minutes for me to complete. It felt familiar and looked good. The only downside was not having a human around to bounce questions off of, but there were lots of question-answering services on the website that cleared things up for me. I also loved that they linked me with assistance services based on my income at the end of my tax return! That was above and beyond anything I've seen from a tax service. March 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by FINALLY Over all, Turbo Tax makes me not hate doing taxes as much. One thing that was confusing however was that I had a Theft/ vandalism of my vehicle. The convertible soft top was sliced open. Turbo Tax asked the FMV (fair market value) of this and I did not understand that entire section. The FMV vs. what you got back made no sense to me, I hope I didn't enter it incorrectly! Turbo Tax always does a great job of explaining EVERYTHING, EXCEPT for that section! Some elaboration on FMV and that whole section next year would be nice!! Thanks you guys! April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocked My Refunds This is my first time filling taxes and I was amazed at how easy it was. My friends were constantly telling me "do Turbo Tax! Do Turbo Tax!" I finally gave in and did it. I was nervous about doing my taxes for the first time and I didn't know what I was doing half the time. When I used this site, it reassured me that I was on the right track and showed me picture examples on what I was supposed to type in and corrected me if I had to go back. I absolutely love this sight and will be using it for this year again when I file my second tax forms! February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall completely awesome TurboTax is the absolute best!! It's so easy, convenient and helpful! I love the help tips and how they outline exactly what I need to know so I can decide if it's something I can use or not. If I'm not sure, TurboTax will do it for me and let me know if I can report it. It's amazingly effective and efficient and I don't know why anyone would go elsewhere if they didn't have to. I'm completely confident with the outcome from beginning to end because I know my returns are monitored and checked before I even send them. I absolutely love TurboTax! February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! I would recommend Turbo Tax to anyone whether they need to do an EZ return or one with many deductions (I have used Turbo Tax for both). It takes you through each area step by step and if you are unsure about a question there is a link that explains the question in more detail. If that doesn't work there is also a Help link for even more information. It is so simple I have never had to use the Help Link. It's just silly to pay a CPA a large amount as long as you can ADD up the totals of your deductions in advance. Turbo Tax is the ONLY way to go! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Survived Tax Season This was the first year I have ever owed taxes. At first I was worried that I had somehow filed them incorrectly, but after reviewing my answers I was put at ease. Turns out I simply had less taxes withheld initially because it was the first full year I have been married. I file with Turbo Tax every year, and every year it has been fairly anxiety free. I actually went in to get my taxes done this year and the guy told me that I shouldn't waste my money with all their fees, that I should just file through Turbo Tax since I only had a W2 and M1PR. April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax ROCKS!! Turbo Tax ROCKS! Totally takes the stress out of filing my taxes! My anxiety level goes up every time I think of taxes, but Turbo Tax brings that right down! They are actually friendly, and warm via computer - not sure how but they are... they even told me sorry for my loss when the realized I am a widow.. SWEET! YOU GUYS AT TURBO TAX made my day... I LOVE how easy it is, I LOVE that you answer my questions as we go, I LOVE that it's DONE / simple / direct / and GUARANTEED! I'm recommending you to all my friends on FACEBOOK! Thank you TURBO TAX!! April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by No knowledge needed I have been doing my own taxes for 55 years and volunteered as a tax counselor for the AARP Tax Aide Program for 10 years. TurboTax works well for novice preparer . Just keep answering all the questions. If the form was visible and you were able to jump to the next form after completing that form, I think I could finish my return much faster. This is the first time I used TurboTax in many years. I don't feel in control of what I am doing which makes me wonder about the correctness of a return. I would recommend TurboTax to most people to their taxes. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So easy to use, Cavemen could do this! Oh wait... I, like many people, struggle during tax season for one simple reason: filing. Do I pay unnecessary money to have a professional do them, or do I get no help or support whatsoever trying to file them on the confusing IRS site? A friend told me about this, and I'll never file them differently again. Turbotax pretty much does all the hard work for you, are professional and help you understand the things you normally wouldn't, and quick to get you the best refund possible. If I had four mutant arms grafted to my body, I'd give this site six thumbs up. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got It Done! Hey - it was pretty easy. I really wanted to see my form all filled out a little earlier than that very last step. And I had actually done it by hand a week or two ago to see where I was at - and had made a mistake! So very glad I went with Turbo Tax. I'd have been expecting $200 more back from the IRS than what is actually coming if you guys hadn't shown me my error ahead of time. Thanks for helping me through. Next year I won't wait till the last minute just cuz I'm afraid of getting it done by myself - BECAUSE I WON'T BE - I'LL HAVE YOU GUYS!!! April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% Easy Money! I am 22 years old filing my taxes on my own for the first time. I was terrified and expected to be calling my mom every 5 minutes asking for help. Not once did I need to make that call! TurboTax was 100% easy to understand and easy to file. I feel like I got 100% of my refund back (even more than I was expecting!). The price to file is lower than any other site Iv seen and so much easier. It guided me throughout the whole process and any questions I did have were answered through the site. I will definitely be using TurboTax for the years to come! February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as Pie I have been using TurboTax for 5+ years for me and my kids returns. It is easy and it's free which is one of the reasons I keep coming back. Our returns are not that hard. However, EVERY year I have problems printing my return. This year when I tried to print my return (and review it) I was kicked out of turbo tax after trying to get it to load. You also have a message on there that says you can print later. Well, there is no "later" opportunity to print. Once you send, that's it! It is the one thing that may send me to other web sites to try out. April 4, 2015
  • 2015-04-25T11:41:55.112-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-260, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_14335, tr_14335
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 258 259 260 261 262 ... 270 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.