1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 260 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14485 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Free Edition ! Free Edition is awesome and I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't have to file state taxes. However, I think the paid state option should include the ability to pay the fee for filing state taxes out of the federal refund. Until I receive this refund, I don't have enough money in my bank account or on a credit card to pay for BOTH the state return AND the "Turbo Tax PLUS" edition. However, I would have happily used my federal return to pay for filing state taxes if that had been an option. March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy and straightforward. It is really very easy though time consuming to complete but that is because it is so through. It leads you through every possible scenario and situation trying to get all of the needed facts and information to correctly fill out the forms and try to find all possible deductions and credits so as to limit your tax liability and get you the largest tax refund allowed. I have used paid tax preparers in the past but have been using TurboTax for the past 10+ years with great satisfaction and trust. March 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refund This is my first time as an adult that my parents didn't get to file it all. I mean this is the first year I've had a job and could file. It was easy going, some questions I had to ask my mom, but for the most part; simple. I get all the way through to the part where it asks me how I'd like to pay for my state stuff. YOU CAN PAY THROUGH YOUR REFUND!!! Cool! Except it's $30 and they don't really say that. Until you get to the end. No no. Would've been 5 stars if they didn't try to sneak that in. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by and you get a refund! - Everybody get's REFUNDS! This was my first time ever filing taxes, and Turbotax really took the tax out of taxation - both mentally and financially. My friend recommended it to me after she received her refund of $3k. I thought I would end up owing but through Turbotax I got a refund of over $2k. Pretty sweet! It felt like the Oprah of tax returns - EVERYBODY GETS REFUNDS! (Ideally). It was super easy with a guided tutorial every step of the way. I would highly recommend it to anyone who needs help doing their taxes. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for College Students I'm a college student that is filing for the first time by myself. I heard about Turbo Tax from an advertisement from my bank, and decided to try it! I had no idea what to expect, I knew the absolute bare minimum about taxes. Turbo tax not only helped me file with complete ease, but when I was confused about what they were asking me for, the little pop ups were so clear and I learned a lot. I really believe they got me the most money I could get back. I will absolutely use them again next year! March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing!!! I've never liked the fact of filing on-line. With this new health insurance requirement, it made understanding the EZ form so much worse. An ex co-worker suggested Turbo Tax, but I still didn't want to file this way. OMG!!! This was so easy. I recommend this way of filing to anyone who asks (and those who don't). It's like using a "Filing Taxes for Dummies" manual. Step by step instructions made this so easy and less worrisome. Great Job to everyone at Turbo Tax who made this program possible. April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Rocks! I think turbo tax is great and easy and very helpful, the yes or no questions make it just so simple! although I got confused when it came to the health insurance part, I had my form but didn't know what were the right questions to answer to get to be able to apply it, it would be nice if there was a section to put in your form number (ex 1099-HC) to help even more, turbo tax knew I was missing something with the health insurance so they figured it out anyway! you guys are awesome! happy 22 years! February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by LOVE Turbo Tax BUT.... Great program and I'm impressed BUT....all the sales and trying to get us to pay 29.99 for a SIMPLE RETURN is not cool. I am not that savvy with filing taxes so all the extra mumbo jumbo causes me to rethink what I'm doing. IF I needed the extra version to file my taxes, I would definitely pay it because it is worth it in the long run but, since I am only filing a simple return, PLEASE don't cause more confusion with all the sales tactics. Otherwise....you would Rock My Return. THANKS MUCH, Kim March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Where have You Been All My Life?!? Every year I have dreaded doing my taxes - and that's even with using our CPA! Granted, my lifestyle is much simpler now so filing my taxes is easier, but, still, the black cloud was there. I put it off and put it off, and then finally took the advice of friends and tried Turbo Tax. I love the way it 'talks' to me in such a calming way - with no condescension. Doing the taxes was almost fun! I felt confident and not for one second stressed. Fantastic! i will recommend Turbo Tax to everyone I know! March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Only good thing is it's free My state refund was rejected even though I filled it out correctly, and everything else they transferred over from my federal. Then when I went back to fix it the only stuff they told me had to be fixed I know was not wrong in the first place. And then I had to try to find the places to fill the info back in because it doesn't take you straight to it when you click the 'fix it' button or whatever. The only good thing is that it was free and initially filling out my taxes was very easy to understand. February 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by these guys here!! I have used TurboTax my last 2 tines I filed. The website is VERY easy to understand an user friendly. Turbo tax will also help you when you filing by highlighting and pointing out a.y questionable areas on your return. Also, they SAVE your information as you go so if you have to stop and come back later you can pick up right where you left off. Great! Honestly,I am sitting in a very well known Tax Prep office now... but due to the line I just did my own on TURBI TAX while sitting in the waiting area!! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Guided Help for a First Timer! This is the first year I decided to step up and file taxes. Although I am still in school and my parents claim me as a dependent themselves, I figured it wouldn't hurt to educate myself in tax filing. My friend recommended TurboTax because of how detailed the process is and I couldn't agree more! TurboTax really held my hand through what seemed like a daunting process - explained every feature and boxes on W2 forms that I always just ignored. This was EXTREMELY helpful and I'd recommend this to anyone! February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Knocks it Out of the Park Doing my taxes was a daunting task until I started using TurboTax last year. It's easy to navigate interface, simple instructions, and helpful explanations of anything that I was confused on made doing my taxes and quick and easy process. Entering in the information for my W-2's is a breeze, and it gives specific information about the deductions I can get for paying for my tuition and textbooks. Now I can spend my time looking forward to my refund rather than dreading doing my taxes in the first place. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing!!! I am a student and first time filer and I thought that was going to take me hours. I wasn't sure what to expect so I though that the worst was coming for sure. But this was like using an app on my phone. Everything was easy to fill out, the guides worked very simplistically. I had a lot of the files that I needed on hand so that might be why it felt so easy. But from start to finish this was a fantastic and simple way to do my taxes. I would recommend that anyone that is afraid to do this alone, try it! March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for Understanding at any Educational level Turbo tax has saved me tremendous time through the organization of their site. In addition, I have filed my taxes three times with them and have gotten excellent results and feedback on all instances. Even with the instance of having a foreign job, Turbo Tax still delivers! I am not versed in income taxes nor do I have any background in finances. The detailed explanations provided by this site from being a college student and transitioning into the work world, was easy with the assistance of Turbo Tax. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This program works great. Its extremely user friendly. However navigation is often difficult. I don't have my own computer but i do have a cell. I think its ridiculous that you cannot file taxes on your phone or access many of the sites features Via phone. they ought to fix that for next year. I paid federal then decided against state. I changed my mind, but navigating to a menu that allowed you to pay state (after already submitting federal) was like finding hay in a needle stack. Painful and annoying. February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Continues to Get Better Every Year After doing my taxes by hand or spending time with a tax consultant for so many years, it's awesome having TurboTax around today. Although they ask the same questions multiple times and try to add a level of personality to their process, I understand they are just attempting to create an environment where stress is eased and mistakes are minimized. What impresses me most is the fact that TurboTax gets easier each and every year without any significant price increases. See you next year around this time! March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Filer - Fast, Easy! I was really impressed with the simplicity of filing, especially appreciated the explanations by each question or category. Made filing for me easier than expected. I felt much more comfortable after reading the first explanation and used these each time they were available. I feel I understood the process so much better. After reading the agreement for depositing my refund, I was distressed that I could not discover the fees that the bank will charge (the one used as a depository for Turbotax refunds). February 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by mostly easy most of the prompts were straight forward and simple and easy. it was very helpful that it saves for you as you go. but you have to find where you can elect to donate to the presidential election fund (it is not a simple check marked box in the regular taxes prompt, it is in a separate portion). the only issue I had was the way they worded the prompt for when I was including business purchases and car mileage etc. it was a bit of a head ache and totally confusing even though it was written in easy terms. March 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frustrated Very frustrated, I have a Deluxe 2013 version but it didn't give me option to upgrade. so after son went through whole process including paid extra 48.00 to file a DC return which wasn't able to be electronically filed he abandoned it and went to another site redid the entire process with Turbo tax paid an additional 29.00 to get the tax filed and it didn't even include the required DC tax return Form only instructions how to file so now Im out 77.00 and still no State DC form to file. Absolutely absurd. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Takes the weight of my shoulders It is obvious that a lot of work has been put into this software and that the focus really was great customer service. It's really easy to use. Can't go more intuitive than what I experienced here. The design is pleasant and makes the topic of taxes even seem kind of exciting. Just great - Thanks! 1 Con: When realizing that I probably would like to file the state tax on paper to avoid the fee, I didn't see a quick way to get back to the screen where to choose option to file only the federal tax. return. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Filer This was my first year filing my taxes,so I was super nervous. All the stories I heard about the IRS terrified me. But when I got onto Turbo Tax the site did a good job relieving my anxiety and getting me through the process quickly and efficiently. Which was a must, considering I filed them April 14th!! If I knew it was going to be this easy I would of done it months ago. Plus I know what I would like to personally do better for next years taxes. Thanks Turbo Tax! Can't wait to use your site next year (: April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfactory handling of my taxes The whole process was satisfactory and simple. It got my accurate tax refund and made my tax return super easy. The problem was that I had a problem connecting to my account at it took longer for my computer to log in to my account than doing the actual process of my tax returns. I don't know whether if it's my internet connection or if it's the turbo tax website. Still I'm finally done with it and I'm glad that turbo tax made it very easy for me and let me know right away when my tax refunds was rejected. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Answers and Help 101 This is my second year using TurboTax. They helped me with two issues that I faced. The first happened when completing and filing a return for my dependent enrolled in college. I prepared his return incorrectly and it was not accepted, I called and received the help I needed with his return. The second issue was I filed my own return and realized I forgot some information. I completed an amended return to submit. TurboTax walked me through the changes I needed to making it a quick and easy process. Thanks. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy! Turbo Tax is so simple and quick! I love that I can save and come back to it when I don't have enough time to file in one sitting and everything is laid out in front of you. My only Cons with this would be related to finding the biggest refund possible. For individuals who do not know enough about taxes or filing, it can be limiting that way, whereas going to a tax accountant, they can find loopholes in order to get you the biggest refund. If I did that, I probably wouldn't have paid $3 this year on taxes. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by How did turbo tax plus get on there? I loved using this! It was totally worth my time and I will be recommending this to everyone next year! The only thing that got me was when I got to the end and noticed a $60 fee being taken out on my refund when I thought it was supposed to only be $30 for the state. After closer inspection I noticed that an extra $30 charge was added when I chose to have my state processing fee deducted from my refund instead of paying for the state fee upfront... Watch out for that! But otherwise, very well put together. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disingenuus and Misleading Deliberately Misleading! If you have picked Turbo Tax for the free filing and expect it to include the State return don't bother. After completing the federal return, it continues to lead right into the state and only after you have completed both does Turbo Tax inform that there is a charge of $29 dollars or your state return will be deleted. it repeats this several times before it allows you to file the 'Federal Return' and wastes your time having done the State Return without knowing the charge up front. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Could not efile due to filing status but no option Unclear instructions: At end of filing, was prompted with the following: "Cannot efile because 'You have claimed your spouse's exemption on a return with a married filing separate status.' " The autofill form must have entered that I was CLAIMING my husband, but I did not claim him. The form must have automatically given the exemption for him. FURTHER, tried to efile State but required a credit card. I used my mother's credit card, THEN was prompted that I could NOT efile State, AFTER CHARGES WENT THROUGH!! April 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Took this lying down! This was super easy and so wonderful! There were a few more come-ons this year, but for free, it's easy enough to tap them away. I'm very unhappy about the record of my filing time as eastern/standard, when I am in the central time zone, and by my clock, I am in under the wire before midnight on the deadline. Really need that to be changed and fixed. I do not want to be penalized. So there should've been an alert that advised extending if it was unable to record MY time, not wherever the company website is! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm a Big Kid Now I am SSOO extremly glad my friend recomended TurboTax! First of all it is actually free, there were no hidden fees that I was waiting to hear about once I was finished. Secondly I loved how when I did have a question it was easly answered by the box in te right corner! This was the first time I filed my taxes alone and it was AMAZING I do not think I will ever file my taxes any other way again! It was Quick, Easy, and it walks you through step by step! Love it and will definatly be reconmending to EVERYONE! February 24, 2015
  • 2015-08-28T11:10:56.377-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-260, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14485, tr_14485
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 258 259 260 261 262 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.