1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 254 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Federal Free vs. Freedom Editions It is completely asinine that you can't switch to the Freedom edition from the Federal Free (or, rather, you can, but it is extremely difficult and you have to start completely over with a totally new username and everything.) Turbotax has an excellent interface, far above everyone else, but the nickel-and-diming they pull for filing state returns for people for whom it should be free is ridiculous. Would be one star but the interface is good. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EASY & ACCESSIBLE!!! Love, love, LOVE my TurboTax! So simple, and easy to file my returns. They go through every little detail in your returns and find EVERY deductible, and EVERY way to get you some money back on your taxes! I'm a non-tech savvy person, so for me to file through TurboTax is pretty awesome. This is my third year filing with these guys...if you're contemplating on filing with TurboTax, go ahead and take the leap! It's so easy a caveman could do it! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Online e-file is the way to go! The CD/Download version gave me a ton of trouble and I ended up having to call customer support for refunds after trying several times with no result. The online version through the website was so easy though, it was my saving grace 2 days before taxes were due. Simple return was very cheap too, about $30 compared to the $150 my boyfriend was charged going to a stand-alone office nearby. TurboTax online will definitely be my go-to from now on! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! You guys are fantastic! I've used you for at least 2 years now, and I've never had a complaint. The only thing I'm confused about is this: I have an inheritance from my late grandmother that I received when I was 15 and it is under my fathers control. I didn't know where to put that in my tax filing, so I hope at some point, someone will inform me. I have no clue if I'm supposed to report or how. Other than that, thanks for making this so easy! April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is the first time I actually paid for the state portion of filing my income taxes. Always used the free version from the ftb for my state taxes. To my horror, I found a hidden charge for an upgrade I did not want when I tried to purchase program using Federal Refund. The only way to opt out of the added $30.00 charge was to use a credit card. Next year, I'll most likely go back to the free version offered thru ftb for my state tax portion. March 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Features Disappearing Didn't appreciate having to manually fill in last year's information on the "free" edition. Turbotax should at least offer that as a perk. Also don't appreciate being told numerous times that I needed to upgrade to something I didn't need. The "suggestions" were written as statements, and if I was unfamiliar with taxes, I would have followed the lure and paid $49.99 for deluxe, when all I needed was a simple means of filling out an easy return. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is the way to go!!! I have paid hundreds, probably thousands, of dollars in tax preparation fees over the past 20+ years at places like H&R Block and Jackson Hewitt just so I could get my refund quick and easily each year. I just used Turbo Tax online for the first time and not only was it the easiest thing ever to do, I did it in my pajamas in the comfort of my home and I'm getting a nice refund in a comparable amount of time FOR FREE!!!! Thank you, Turbo Tax!!!! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Way to File Taxes For the first couple years that I tried TurboTax out, I also went to big name tax professionals as well, and I ended up with the same exact numbers for the amount of my return. Now, I've been using TurboTax for a few years and I just enjoy doing my taxes. They have everything set up so that it's easy to go through and get your taxes filed. With federal AND state filing both being free this year, there's no way I would need to go anywhere else. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and easy I have used TurboTax for years, and I have found it to be relatively quick ,easy to use, thorough, and very reasonably priced. I have tried other tax companies/preparers and paid ridiculous prices for very little service. This service is very easy to use. The program helps you find all the possible deductions available, is up to date, and helps the user decide whether to itemize or use standard deductions through some very easy to follow steps. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy! I had most of my documents ready to go and my return complete - start to finish - in less than 2 hours. Saved a lot of time, and it was great knowing for sure whether to itemize or claim the standard deduction. For the questions I had along the way, the pop-up information was quick, easy to understand and got straight to the point. Very helpful! In all, it was a great experience and assuming all goes well, this is how I will file from now on. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy & Stress Free Thanks for simplifying the tax process! I am recently divorced - my ex always took care of all the tax filing in our household, and I was nervous about filing by myself for the first time... No worrying was needed! TurboTax made the process easy and walked me though every step. This is a great tool for the single filer (and I assume for every other kind of filer too)! Very detailed questions made sure I didn't miss a refund! Thanks TurboTax! March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! I was totally pleased with filing my federal return through TurboTax but initially balked at paying the fee to file my state return. However, after a half hour on my state's website, I simply couldn't figure out how to get the refund amount TurboTax estimated. So I went back to TurboTax, filed my state return in about a minute, and received more money than I could manage to figure out on my own, even minus the fee. I mean, this was actually fun! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved me from myself My parents have always used Turbo Tax for their taxes so when I began filing returns I did as well... even for a 1040EZ. This year when my return was rejected because I typed in the wrong Employer number, I was worried I have to start over. But NO! Even with the free version, Turbo Tax walked me through the corrections and I refilled electronically in minutes. Turbo Tax provides awesome service. I know in the future, Turbo Tax will be my choice! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It works I have been using Turbo Tax for the last 4-5 years. I used to use the Download version, and this is the first time doing everything online, and the transition was seamless. I'm sure there are other things out there that work at a comparable price. I even heard of things that are absolutely free (TurboTax still charges something for filing state taxes). But their software has worked consistently and, so-far-knock-on-wood, I haven't had a problem. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's exemplary! I've used this method for completing my taxes for several years. It has never failed me and is so much faster, easier and less expensive than any other method I've ever used. The information boxes are invaluable. I just clicked on the links to get info on things like "What is this" or "What do I have to have to qualify for this" or "Where can I find this". TurboTax has been and will continue to be my choice for filing my taxes. SO user-friendly!! April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loved it except for the end! Everything was seamless and wonderfully easy, until the payment section! I spent 20 minutes going back and forth in my tax returns trying to uncheck the turbo tax PLUS purchase, and every time I did, it would still appear in the end agreement. Finally I had to select paying for the state return by a credit card - it would not let me deduct the payment from my tax returns unless I bought TurboTax PLUS. It was annoying. Other than that, I loved it. February 24, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overview I had a hard time finding out my PIN from last year, so when I did, I got everything finalized and submitted it. I recieved an e-mail that it was rejected. So I went back in to re-submit it, and was rejected yet again. Tried a third time and recieved a text messgae on my cell that it was accepted. So now I go back on the site to see if I can submit my state taxes and it now says my federal was rejected yet again.Doubt if I use this site ever again April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very cool I really liked that it was easy to understand. I have used another company to file my taxes for free and although it was easy to use it was not as user friendly and personable. Theirs explained the process in a more complicated way. I liked how fast this was and it guided me to where I needed to go. Very good. Very happy with this product. In the future I will probably choose to pay for the full product when I have more people and things to claim. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Convenient and Easy to Use I really enjoyed using TurboTax. Admittedly, my returns are pretty simple, but this program made it really easy to file. The questions are very simple and straight-forward, and there are lots of ways to get the answers to questions as you go through. The interface is visually appealing, easy to use, and has a sense of humor. And I know that their detailed questions got me some extra money that I wasn't expecting. It was a very pleasant experience! April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by big suprise on my refund I usually used other tax software and I am easily amazed and surprised knowing that using turbo tax software was very easy and not complicated. It only took me less than 30 minutes to file my income tax return and so happy to finished it early and so excited to print my refund. I will recommend this to my family, relatives and friends. Their software will guide you step by step and even if you have any question there have definitely answers to it. March 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I WILL USE TURBOTAX NEXT YEAR ! ! ! I was able to complete my taxes so fast!!! TurboTax checks and rechecks all your information. When I hit the comlplete button to file my 2014 taxes, I felt VERY comfortable and my mind was at ease. I used two other online tax companies to compare with TurboTax. They got me a much higher refund than the others by $95.00. The others wanted to charge me $19.99 and $59.99. Turbo Tax was 100% FREE ! ! ! Thank you so much TurboTax!!! See you next year!!! April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent but missing something.... I haven't filed my taxes in a few years due to no income and I thought I needed to file paperwork. It would have been nice to have seen a screen indicating something to this effect, such as: No need to send anything when you e-file or Keep a copy of the following documents for your record or send this document to this address. I was confused about what I needed to keep and what I could toss. Overall, I can't complain because it was free. Thank you! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Job Liked that the program took me step by step with easy to understand questions making the process quick and easy. Loved that it did the state return for free also this year. Had a problem with the SD100 form as the circle to check for permanent resident was within the writing above not by the word resident this called for changing it and I couldn't figure out how to do it. Finally read where another person had the problem and how to fix it was there. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy! This site takes you step by step and has an explanation for everything. I was always afraid taxes would be so complicated and scary. My friend introduced me to this site and I was relieved! This is my second year using it, and I will continue to use it. The only downside I've found was today when I tried to amend my return. But I'm not sure if that's a thing specific to them or you can't amend online in general. I highly recommend this site, though. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy! Have as much of your tax stuff with you as you can remember where you put it. Just click through, fill in the blanks and read the suggestions. It was the first time I have used TurboTax. It was really easy except finding that last anoying thing I forgot where I had it filed. It signed me out, but its for safety and started where i left off when I came back from my document hunt. I finished it up and have a happy surprise that I'm looking forward too. February 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always used TurboTax & had great experiences Turbotax has always been my go-to for filing my taxes. It's very useful for filing basic tax returns as I do. I am not sure about the paid services as I am not so sure they'd make a difference in my filing. However, I am curious to just see if there'd be a difference in my return if I did use one of the paid services. MAYBE TT could offer that option just to compare your tax return with their free service versus their paid services? Just a thought... April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy!! I finished everything completely including federal and state tax with the understanding it would all be for free (which was pretty hard to believe anyway). When finally I got to the end of the process and it said I would have to pay (ALOT) for two different state taxes i filed. That was an unpleasant surprise. I didn't remember ever seeing I would have to pay money for those. I decided to do the state taxes manually and use Turbo tax for the federal. April 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 TurboTax Online I didn't care much for the "dumbing-down" you did with the changes you made from last year. No specifics - just in general. I felt like I had less control over what was going on, compared to previous years' versions of TurboTax Online. If your customers are too "uninformed" to figure out the way you've had it set up for the past several years, maybe they need to be going to a local tax preparer who will be handling things from A to Z. Just sayin'..... March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax Filing Newbie! This was the first time I filed my taxes on my own. I had some anxiety about the process but TurboTax had great ease of use and it was simple to file. Every possible option was made available to me and if I did not know what a particular term was or if it applied to me, there was always an icon nearby for me to select for a definition. And customer service was able to answer all my questions that I was not able to get answers for on the site. Awesome! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AH-mazing!! Hate doing my taxes, wasn't something I learned in school. I had to be taught since I've been working since I was fourteen. I also hate doing math so crunching numbers isn't my best quality, but Turbo Tax saved the day and with their step by step instructions I was able to file. I will definitely be filing with Turbo Tax in the future. I've enjoyed this experience and I think I liked being able to file so easily. It is time consuming but well worth it. April 15, 2015
  • 2015-11-25 T07:41:36.111-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-254, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 252 253 254 255 256 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.