1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 254 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and Quick, First Time Fliling I loved using TurboTax. It was easy to understand, nice to pause filing and pick it up another day. I used it on my smartphone as well as my computer, and both were very user-friendly. I am an active military service member, so the only confusing part was the state taxes. It was clear as to which state I should file under, but address and rent information was slightly confusing. it only took a little extra time reading over instructions to figure it out, though. February 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax Review [2015] Overall, TurboTax is a quick, easy, and helpful site to complete an otherwise annoyingly frustrating process but for applicants like me (from Georgia) the state tax seems to often come out of left field and can be sneaky when attaching itself to the account upgrades. So I recommend maybe having a state checker earlier in the process that will make it painfully obvious if you're going to have a fee instead of having it at the very end after the entire process. :c April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filing for the first time This was my first time ever filing taxes on my own. Before this year, my parents had always filed for me. I was nervous, but my dad recommended turbo tax. It was fast, easy and simple to read and understand, I used the turbo tax app. I loved the camera feature where you just photograph your W2 and it plugs in all of the information for you. Who needs to hire someone to do your taxes when turbo tax is simple, quick and FREE?! I was very pleased with my experience. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax was a very easy and affordable. I love using TurboTax for filing my taxes. I have used TurboTax for the last three years. It is so easy and very affordable. However, I had problems filing with the daycare provider. The boxes kept prompting me to enter a code and additional names of the daycare. I didn't know those answers. I tried to search in the search box, but I did not find an answer that was helpful. I think TurboTax should have a chat session option in case a user is ever in need of help. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Effective! You are able to save and exit at any time if you forget to grab some receipts, or if you are reading through all of the possible deductions and realize you may qualify for something that you didn't even think of! i have never been asked for my book fees for school, or for my vehicle registration fees in order to deduct the costs! Using turbo tax helped me find everything I could deduct this year, and what others have missed while doing my taxes in previous years. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product for filing tax returns! I'm always happy with the process and results when using TurboTax online. I am confident I didn't miss anything and am getting my maximum refund. I always am surprised by a tax credit or two that I didn't realize I qualified for. Thanks for the great product. As always, I will continue to recommend my friends and family all use TurboTax. My girlfriend made the switch this year and couldn't have been happier with the price, ease of use, and confidence in her return. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have no fear! TurboTax is here! Every year I fear for my life and my wallet when it hits tax time. All these questions that don't make any sense, and when they do, I'm never quite sure how to answer them. With TurboTax they simplify the question. If you still aren't quite sure, there is the most handy little search box in the corner. For the first time in my tax-filing history, I am not afraid that I put the wrong answer in the wrong spot. Will definitely be using this service for years to come! March 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tax REfund One of the main issues I had with this form was the questions on residency. If I hold residency in one state and live/work in another for a year I should just be able to say that. Your questions were confusing. "New state" of residency, "before you moved," those didn't work for my situation. I also, didn't like that it was confusing to undo or remove some options. It took me a while to figure out how to remove a state tax fee. Aside from that your cite was helpful April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Service Ever, and EASY! What a dream! I was a little apprehensive to do my taxes online this year because, for the last four years, I have had them done by a tax professional at an H&R Block office. Wow...I'm so glad I tried doing them online again. Turbo Tax wasn't only easy, but they got me the biggest return I have ever had in my life! I love this place... Will certainly revert back to doing my taxes online again, through Turbo Tax each and every year. Just a great overall experience. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Efficient Refunding This was the first time that I have filed my taxes by myself. The website was well organized, helpful, and made my filing experience easy and quick. One thing that would be nice is to add a tab to quickly add a new W2 along with a prior existing one. You had to go in under federal filing to find the add tab, instead of it being under your prior W2 job listing. Other than that the experience was great and I will recommend this site to many friends and family members. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I <3 TurboTax!!! I absolutely LOVE TurboTax!! I'm someone who doesn't like to go out unless it's going to be fun (or work only because it's necessary). Being able to do my taxes with the help of a great website (thank you TurboTax) from the comfort of my own home in my JAMMIES is great for me. I've used this service for 3 years and, as always, it's stress free which is nice because filing a tax return shouldn't have to be stressful. I tell everyone to do their taxes with TurboTax!! February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service! I've been using turbotax for almost a decade now and the upgrades greatly add to the ease of use. My only complaint would be that it asks the user to upgrade a lot. All in all, it is a free service and it requires support to keep updated and working so it's understandable. A word of advise to anyone going to the H&R Blocks like businesses, they use a system just like this to complete your taxes, so you're paying extra to have someone put the information in for you. March 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy, fast, unexpected fees I selected the free version, then at the end you discover that in order to file for State Taxes, you have to pay $30. Along the way, you are asked multiple times to upgrade, and at the end, they try and ask you to pay for filing the State Taxes by deducting it from your Federal Tax Return. This service costs another $30, so just pay using your credit card and you won't have this fee. Other than that it was a positive first experience and it only took about an hour. March 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for Listening As usual, the software, website, and everything about the process worked great. Thank you for getting rid of those obnoxious happy people photos and replacing them with cute graphics. They made me smile, and I'm extra happy you listened to me when I asked you to change them in my review last year! I am now a believer in TurboTax customer satisfaction thanks to those cute graphics. (I especially liked the flying envelope.) Good job! -Much more love than before Apple April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jazzed about my refund The walk-through program makes filling out the paperwork much easier. The system asks appropriate questions leading the individual to the required response, even providing pop-up explanations where needed. These pop-up features were very helpful in providing information. The program does all the calculations for you eliminating the possibility of "human" error. I also appreciate the fact that it does several checks making sure everything is perfect prior to sending. February 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by State return too expensive Using Turbo Tax is easy and I liked it. Having the federal tax return being free is very beneficial to me. Having the state return cost half of what I was getting back is not beneficial at all! I would love to see a free version for people who didn't make enough to pay taxes, or who are only getting a certain refund etc. Once I am past the stage of using the 1040EZ form I would understand paying for it, but before then it is a waste of money to pay someone to do it. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for first-timers! This was my first time filing my taxes and I was very nervous, but TurboTax made it so simple. I love how step by step they are with everything and that it's easy for everyone to understand, even if you know nothing about filing taxes. I love that they give you options that fit you and what you need, and the many ways you can file/receive your state and federal taxes. I will be using TurboTax every year from now on to file my taxes, I recommend that everyone should! February 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ab Fab Refund! TurboTax is a quick and easy tax program to file just about any taxes. I filed a simple 1040ez form which took me less than 30 minutes to file. The helpful dialogue boxes were great for answers to simple filing questions and the process was smooth and simple, nothing confusing. When my future tax returns become more complicated, TurboTax has addition online forms that will make that process quick and easy to do. I look forward to doing my taxes in 2016 using TurboTax! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by You guys ROCK! I've detested going through the motions of filing my taxes with the actual tax preparers, it's tedious and annoying! It feels like they are after something, never had a good experience. Fortunately for me there is turbotax.com, this I can sing praises about. The site walks you through everything and maximizes your potential outcome. It stays several steps ahead of you so you can never get confuse or lost! I've used this for the past 3 years and I'm still loving it!!! March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 File I have used Turbo Tax for about five or six years now. My friend recommended it. It has been my go to for years now because it is so easy to use. Everything thing is pretty much laid out right in front of you. It provides examples in case one is not too sure about whether to say yes or no to a scenario. I think it works best on getting the most for returns. Not to mention that we do not have to wait on someone else in an office setting. Great program to use for taxes. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by super easy Free! I paid 400 easy every year to have this done! never again! easy to move though the refund, everything was mapped out for me. Help questions along the way if needed. Pictures to show exactly where the info was located on my forms so I knew I was entering corrected info. transfered all the info from W-2s...super easy and fast. I used turbotax years ago and didn't like it, used a service since then, tried it this year and loved it! I will come back again next year. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good, but student status and state taxes confusing the process worked well, but as a MA resident and full time WI student, it kept asking me for additional info... i knew I didn't owe WI or MA state taxes and had no state wittholding, but TT seemed to encourage me to upgrade and pay for 2 states for filing... seems like a few more questions could narrow the options and then TT could zero in on exactly my situation... it must be common... full time student in college out of state and working apart time job on campus... April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easier than expected I loved how Turbo Tax had a link that explain what was happening to my taxes at that moment. As a 17 year old young female adult, this was my first time to file taxes. I was a little nervous to put my personal information on the internet, especially my Social Security Number. However, this website was well organized and professional. It made me feel more secure about releasing personal information. Thank you, Turbo Tax. I will probably use your website again next year. March 19, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Refund The changing of the payment policy really rustled my jimmies. Previously, I could choose the option of having my payment deducted from my refund WITHOUT buying TurboTax Pro. I almost bought Pro on accident because I wanted to pay with my refund. Instead I had to pay with my credit card. Why the change? What advantage does TurboTax gain from this? It bothered me and I really don't like that this was put into place and I will probably look elsewhere for filing next year. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easiest way to file for first timers!! I'm a first time filer and this was super easy!! I was only slowed down at one point to figure out some things that dealt with my husband. But! the questions are so simple and they don't give you everything all at once, they only ask you a few questions at a time and walk you through every question! I love that it's all online especially since I wouldn't have any time to go in to have someone do my taxes for me. Not planning on filing with anyone else next time either! March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Great product. Allows me to churn through my tax returns at my pace and always gets me to the maximum deductions. Previously I relied on H & R Block and I would basically be sitting there answering questions to someone who didn't have a handle on my finances like I did and who was not knowledgeable of tax law or the system they are using for that matter. This software puts the system in my hands and I feel more comfortable that the information being entered is accurate. March 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by First problem in years I have been using Turbo Tax for years, and it has always been a breeze. This is the first time I ever had a problem, where it kept insisting that the SSN on my W-2 didn't match my entry. But there they were, right next to each other exactly the same. I spent a hour going through loops before I figured out I had to erase everything and re-do it all by hand rather than importing. I have loved Turbo Tax because it has ALWAYS been quick and convenient. This time it wasn't. March 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by I find it easier to do my taxes by traditional methods but prefer to file online and I can do that using this. However, this takes forever because it makes me go through all these screens in a misguided attempt to be "helpful." There needs to be an I'm-not-an-idiot option where the user can just enter all of the tax forms they have, select the correct answers (rather than questions about life events that may or may not get you to the correct option) and be done with it. February 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by No Evil Ex Help I was expecting the fact that I paid half of all the costs of my child to be seen in this return and it didn't do anything because every aspect required I be the one whom spent the most nights with her which wasn't the case this year. What I've learned is its time for a custody agreement to be put in place so I can get money back off of all that invisible money put in, its not necessarily Turbo Taxes fault but I felt I accomplished this last year in similar circumstances. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Satisfied The directions are worded in a way that is easy to follow. I like how everything goes step-by-step. However, this year I had some different life circumstances (quitting my job, going back to school full time, etc.) and I wasn't able to indicate any of that. It makes me wonder if I really received the best refund. I think talking to a real person who knows how to enter that sort of information the correct way may have been able to help me more than the step-by-step guide. April 7, 2015
  • 2015-04-26T11:54:57.950-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-254, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_14340, tr_14340
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 252 253 254 255 256 ... 270 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.