1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I won't use turbo tax again... I used turbo tax before & it was simple & easy. I however will not be using this system/program to file again. Submitted my return on the 4th of Feb & I'm still waiting, the status hasn't changed & it's still pending.
Date published: 2016-02-26T18:20:20.000Z
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome great and easy to use
Date published: 2016-08-26T19:26:12.000Z
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Turbo tax was very easy to use and it help me a lot. Also, they help you identify what tax breaks you qualify for which is really helpful! I learned a lot just by doing my own taxes with Turbo Tax.
Date published: 2016-02-11T07:04:23.000Z
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Still haven't got my refund Hello, I placed my tax refund info on February 9th and I still have not received anything yet, but my friends have received their tax refunds and they did theirs a couple of days after mine. If someone could please get back to me that would be great
Date published: 2016-02-29T15:03:05.000Z
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Experience! I used TurboTax for my first time filing, and it was a wonderful experience! It only took a few minutes. The instructions were clear, and their website provided more information if I had questions. I will use them again next year.
Date published: 2016-02-16T01:00:49.000Z
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made me feel like a refund agent It was easy to file my taxes with Turbo tax. Everything was easy to understand and the process was simple in each of the steps. I would highly recommend Turbo tax to anyone who wants to file themselves!
Date published: 2016-02-15T17:33:41.000Z
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Very easy to use and ask simple questions.
Date published: 2016-02-17T06:56:22.000Z
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Projuct I love Turbotax! This is the first year I used it without help and it was so easy, I don't know why I avoided using it. I don't make much, so its nice to have options.
Date published: 2016-08-25T15:47:17.000Z
  • 2016-08-27T09:45CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11206, tr_10757
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2015, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 201ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Filing Deadline: IRS filing deadline for tax year 2015 is April 18, 2016 (except for residents of Massachusetts or Maine, where the IRS filing deadline for tax year 2015 is April 19, 2016).
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except the TurboTax Home & Business/QuickBooks Self-Employed bundle offers.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.