1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 241 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and Fun! I loved all the little extras Turbotax wrote when answering certain questions, for example when I put in my birthdate, there was a lil sidenote that said, "Hey we're 22 years old," or something like this, and I thought it was cute. Anyway, the program was super easy, it walked you through every question holding your hand every step of the way. I will most likely use Turbotax again next year. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by way to go ! I thought it was going to be hard to do by myself,but it was easy.There was step by step instructions so you don't feel lost.I don't type very well,but it didn't time me out.I had trouble trying to get my AGI number and had to wait untill the next day when the IRS office was open.I came back to the site after I got my number and was able to log in and pick up where I left off the day before. March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy and fast easy! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much better this year Last year was the first time that I paid for my info to be imported and it was the first time that when I got to the very end of my filing that I was told that I could not e-file. I would have to mail my income tax without any explanation. Not this year. I did the free filing from scratch and had no problem what so ever with e-filing. I am grateful. I did pay to have my state tax done though. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy quick and free! The process was nice and easy. Although I had no issues with mine. My fiancé did his the next day and he had a few issues like it made him pay to file his state taxes and then charged him more money to use the money from his federal return. Just not the same experience Even though it was only one day later also it tried to get him to sign up for Amazon thing and then wouldn't let him skip it. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does it get any better than FREE? I've been using TurboTax for the last 10 years or so and it just keeps getting better. My returns these days are pretty simple and the online application makes it a breeze to file. All of the upselling is a little annoying, especially if you have declined it once, it shouldn't keep presenting the offers. But the fact that both my Fed and State were free makes it totally worth using this tool. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic A One February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by YAY! for E-Z E-Z ! February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Like Magic! By us March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mission Complete! I resisted using Turbo Tax for years because I was worried that my dyslexia with computers would make an error. What was I thinking? Turbo Tax is awesome! They consistently run accuracy checks throughout the entire program and prompt you if something is missed. Therefore, you're super confident that it is accurate long before you transmit it electronically. Bonus: You get refunds way faster!! March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy and accurate refund I Love TURBO TAX this is my second year using them im 26 yrs old I can say I file my own taxes :) its so simple ,fun, and I don't have to wait to setup an appointment I file when I want to on my time very cool.TURBO TAX really did help me get the most money back from my return I couldn't be more satisfied ,Its so awesome I got my whole family filing there taxes through TURBO TAX we love it!!! April 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by You can't help it I owe Great April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wrecked Nerves? TurboTax is the cure. Honestly, I was terrified to file my taxes for the first time. My sister told me to use TurboTax. As soon as I started my nerves just disappeared. The guided steps created a sense of ease to such a complex process. I was terrified that I was going to mess something up if I did my taxes on my own. However, I now feel that I can rest easy knowing my taxes are done and I didn't mess anything up. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TURBO AWESOMENESS TurboTax is so simple. The step by step instructions are so easy to follow and understand. I've researched several online tax filing programs and TurboTax stood above the rest with a five star rating & State filing fee's being the most affordable. I will definitely use TurboTax every year and recommend it to anyone filing their own taxes. Thanks TurboTax Team for making my filing stress free. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently Superior! I have been filing with TurboTax since it first came out. Last year I switched to H&R Block. This year, I was unhappy with the results of the competitor, and redid the return with TurboTax. The return was also complicated by having a total of six W-2 forms as well! There was a difference of nearly $500 in my return! Clearly TurboTax is a superior product. Never going back to the "other guys." April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review Great Good March 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too confusing and dead ends without paying HATE February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Painless I have used TaxAct the last 3 years and found this online software was even better. The explanations of tax liability were very helpful. The user interface and the graphics were very well done. TurboTax made doing my taxes easy and enjoyable. Best of all it was free, since I live in Florida and only had to file a federal return! I will definitely use this service again and highly recommend it! February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Thank you TurboTax TurboTax was so easy to use it's like I had a tax professional doing the work for me. I've been doing my tax returns the hard way, (paper forms), for 20+ years and it's always been a pain in the neck. It's all incomprehensible gibberish to me, but TurboTax translated it into plain English every step of the way! I used the free service, but I hope you folks make tons of money, you deserve it... March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I Needed in One Spot! TurboTax / Free edition was everything I needed for my simple (1040A) tax return. This year I could choose whether I wanted to be prompted through ALL income, deductions, and exemptions - or select them individually (from a list). I made my own selections in one section, but used the prompts in another. I'm a repeat customer. Much easier than dealing w/paper and postage - and I'm saving money. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I wish EVERYTHING was like this! A+++ April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy I started using another tax internet filing company because I heard about problems with Turbo Tax. Shortly After beginning I realized that there was information mission for additional refunds, I attempted to reach a representative to held and it said I needed to upgrade to get help. I decided to try turbo tax again and had everything filed and done in 30 min. Was fast and most importantly EASY! April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Thorough I loved how the program takes you through each step if you need it. I liked how it asked for things related to the new health insurance legislation, which I knew nothing about. I liked how the program didn't try to stop me mid-task if I wanted to go back and double-check if all of my sources of income were there. Basically the most efficient and least frustrating product possible! Thanks, guys! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sooo Happy! I tried another "free" site but was difficult and took 2 hrs to figure out what they were talking about even though I have always efiled. At end wanted $$$$ for a free file. Decided to try turbo tax. Right from beginning it was so easy. Everything was explained in detail. I have always efiled but this was the best. Thank you!!! Highly recommend this site even for people not computer literate. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience I have never filed taxes before this year and turbo tax made it so easy! Not to mention enjoyable, I felt like I was being helped by a friend. TurboTax guided me along every step, gave me all the information that I needed, and answered all of my questions. And the friendly commentary made me feel so at ease, it was downright pleasant. I highly recommend using TurboTax every year, I know I will! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Service :) March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest way to do taxes! na April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy and fast Filing was fast and easy. I knew I didn't have a lot of deductions and I didn't make a lot of money for the year so filing was very fast. I would recommend Turbo Tax to anyone who wants an easy tax filing experience. all you have to pay for is the state tax return. just make sure you aren't excepting the "plus" upgrade. They make it kind of difficult to stay on the free federal tax return option. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbotax has made tax returns quite easy. I have family members who still rely on paperwork, itemizing, and grouchy tax experts. The stress level they encounter is staggering, and the amount of time spent worrying is just as staggering. Whereas I have had no problem and conclude my sessions feeling good about my productivity and ease of Turbotax's use. Thank you again and I will return next year! February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The software itself was easy to use and thorough. I put in my employer's ID number and the name defaulted which did match the name on my W-2, at the end it said the IRS wouldn't accept the name because it was to long and I had to remove a lot of the name. I foresee problems now with the IRS because of this. I don't know what software Turbo Tax uses for this but feel they may want to look into it. February 25, 2015
  • 2015-05-28T12:20:20.045-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-241, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14451, tr_14451
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 239 240 241 242 243 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.