1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 2 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14506 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Taxes! Turbo Tax is extremely easy, and the website is very easy and actually somewhat fun to go through! It saves your work automatically and gives you step by step instructions. Would definitely recommend! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy! I came to the site, just wanting to see what our situation looked like before I paid someone to do our taxes for us. I was shocked at how clear-cut everything was! Just wish we would've filed sooner! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy Turbo Tax made my first time experience filing a tax return pleasant and pain free. I was given simple to follow step my step instructions with pictures so there was no confusion or guessing involved. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Straightforward and Helpful Taxes--not so fun. However, I did enjoy how quickly and straightforward it was to file them. I've used TaxACT before and, even though I liked that at the time, TurboTax was much better. Great service! March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by satisfied so far this site is very user friendly versus taxact. I liked it. it took longer than H&R Block but only costed 30 dollars opposed to the 200+ last year because I am a construction worker with multiple w-2's March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy for the E-Z Easy, fast and free. Federal eFile is free. State eFile costs $29.99, not bad if you don"t want the hassle otherwise just download your state form from IRS website. fill out and mail. Thanks TurboTax! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Interactive...Loved it!! Just wanted to say thank you. I had a bad experience with another tax site this year and your site made it so easy and actually kinda fun with the interactiveness. Thanks for relieving a big headache! March 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is simply awesome! This has got to be easiest text return I have ever filed! Having my last years return on hand I was able to file my return within my 15 minute break at work can't beat that! I'll be back next year!!! February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I hate numbers...but I love Turbo Tax I hate numbers, math and forms make me crazy, but with a cup of tea, my good luck cup and some Bach... tax are done in a jiffy! Turbo Tax is easy to use and guides you through the process step by step. March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick, Easy, No troubles Very easy to use. User friendly with helpful hints and very clear explanations/pop-ups to define terms in clear, direct language. An excellent product and service. Worth every penny saved and refunded. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Makes taxes easy. Used H&R block last year and that will never happen again. Why spend hundreds of dollars having someone prepare you taxes when you can do it yourself with step by step instructions. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Tax Refund Rocked! Turbo Tax makes filing your taxes so simplified, that an 8th grader could do it! Why spend a ton of fees through H & R Block, when Turbo Tax walks you through filing your taxes as simple as 1, 2. 3.? April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! This is my first year as a grown-up filing taxes. I was really intimidated, but TurboTax made it so much easier than I was expecting. I'm really glad this program is out there for first-timers like me! March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very EZ I loved your website. As a single person with no dependents this is the ideal way. Your website was very easy, very user friendly, and great to use. Thank you for making filing taxes this year so easy. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy Great software that made filing quick and painless. They had every option for me to file available a click away. They explained the forms and what information to use in a very clear and concise manner. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by REFUND Love it walked me step by step. As a young person sometimes its frightening to do your tax return cause you don't know what to expect but with turbo tax it helps you out a lot:) recommend it to anybody March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No suprises The software was very user friendly. And most of all there were NO hidden fees. I tried HR-Block to start my taxes because that was what I used last year, but there were hidden fees all over the place. March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXTREMELY PLEASED!!!!!!!! I've heard many people talk about turbo tax and I decided to give it a try today. And I'm so glad I did. I am very pleased with turbo tax, its so easy to use. I would recommend turbo tax to everyone! February 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Yay for Returns I liked the easy to follow guide and the links to help if you don't understand what something is. The system on the other hand is extremely slow, kicked me out about 10 times, was fairly frustrating. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The information input, tax determination and filing were broken down into simple logical steps, with additional explanation windows available if needed. The process was exhaustive without wasting time. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplistic I used turbo tax last year, and again this year. It definitely will not be my last. They make it so easy for me. I just slam all the information into the computer and out pops my refund. Gotta love it! April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fluid As a first-time user, I am impressed by the utter lack of anxiety or stress at any level. Along with the details I pointed out above, the audit-avoiding redundancy is gratifyingly fast and automated. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Taxes for Dummy I have been dreading doing my taxes since January 1st. I'm so glad to be finally done and the ease of the website information made it so much better than I expected. Thank You, Thank You & Thank You. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made my life easy As an international students, I was so frustrated when I had to file my taxes for the first time. You made that complicated process very easy with simple steps, explaining everything clearly. Thanks. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic first time experience This was the first time ever for me to file tax's on my own it was so easy that a child could do it. I will be recommending this to all my family and friends. So So Helpful Thank You So Much Mrs. Lucas April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tenth Year This program is a great walkthrough of tax returns. Although I am a CPA, I still use turbo tax because of the ease of use. I think it is a great program and I have never had an issue with my returns. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Painless The interface has improved immensely since the last time I used it two years ago. Makes it much easier to file a return. My return is basic, but nevertheless it felt painlessly easy for a tax return. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy I've been paying for someone to do my taxes this whole time. Whyyyyyyyyyyy just Whyyyyyyyy!!!! I feel like I've been getting ripped off the past years. this was to easy. I highly recommend turbo Tax. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes out of the way FAST! This is my second year in a row using turbo tax. I am once again shocked at how quick and easy it is to use, and by how much money Turbo Tax has gotten back to me. Thank you! I shall see you next year! March 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super easy for first time filer Turbo Tax made it super easy to file my returns! I was able to upload my W2 and not have to fill in everything manually. It walked me through the process and had popups explaining what I didn't know. February 22, 2015
  • 2015-11-28 T14:07:12.841-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14506, tr_14506
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.