1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 2 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 14485 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Easy, Fast and Wonderful This is the 4th year I have used Turbo Tax and will continue to use. It is extremely fast and easy. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Faster than H&R block Asks all the questions and even asks if you need more info to make sure you are answering them right. Love that because I always wonder if i am answering the right questions lol January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Quick and Simple Very quick and helpful to anyone new filing their taxes...EXCEPT it claims to be free but the catch is free to file not to submit your taxes...nice try but thanks anyways! February 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by turbo Everything pretty good but I just cant seem to get my state refund working it keeps on getting rejected. January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to file For a first time filer I was nervous about doing my taxes. Turbo Tax made it quick and easy for me to get it done myself, for FREE! January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service for free I have used Turbo Tax for at least 6 years, the free edition. It works well as I just file a simple EZ tax form. It's a great program. January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! TurboTax is very user-friendly. I appreciate the hard work to make this program, but best of all, it's free!!! Way to go, TurboTax, on making a great program!! And thanks! January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! I had no idea why I went to H&R block...for them to just take half of my refund just to help me file. I will use Turbo Tax from now on. January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as Pie! This was recommended to me and one of the best ways I can think of to file a return. They guide you along in very easy instructions to complete your return as quickly as possible! Everyone should use it! February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it they always get me more money and its free easy and fast love love love turbo tax! January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! I have never done my own taxes and this made it very easy! January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice!! This was an easy process and your site was very easy to navigate. Will for sure use this program next year January 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Waste of time for me Went through an hour of questions, and could not print out the file in the end. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy! Really easy to use. I filed with the free edition I was very happy it had to many options to choose from! I file with TurboTax every year. January 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good State tax form kept repeating that I had not filled out information when I had January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time user of Turbo Tax Turbo Tax is from now on my go to place for taxes every single year. This year was my very first time using it and I was a bit worried because of the big words tax preparing involves but Turbo tax does all the work for you. No big words or things you don't understand, Turbo tax is just amazing. The section where you can ask questions basically allows you to ask anything and something very closely related pops up with the answer. No headaches whatsoever and from the comfort of my own home. February 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! I was really stressed out about filing my taxes for the firts time, but Turbotax made it very painless! February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Simple and easy to use. Guides you through each step and is sure to correct you if you make a boo boo. January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time filing taxes, and it was so easy! The step by step process, "yes or no" questions, and links to clarify the questions made it extremely easy to follow. The graphics and personal questions made filing my taxes for the first time not-so-scary :) April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Job! Turbo tax is now the only way I will file my taxes. I never have to spend any money if i don't want to. Its easy and self explanatory. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Must Try! I was so comfortable with Turbo Tax. Even though it was computer generated, the system checked and double checked my info and made sure I got the maximum amount I was due and made sure all information provided was correct. January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So user friendly! I've tried lots of software, this is my favorite. So easy to use and understand! Questions are answered instantly, everything is described in plain English. Highly recommend! January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple, Easy I like the large print and simple questions, makes the process go a lot faster. The only downside is the deductions, it doesn't seem as helpful as it could be. It is a very quick and fast, feels like a lot can be missed. January 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My tax return I appreciate the free service. February 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great I am very happy with turbo tax. It was easy, though it did take a little time to get through everything but it was well worth it. Even though it was free I still feel valued and like I received most of the money I earned. January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy This was great for my first time filing, really easy to follow the instructions and accurately complete my taxes. February 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice and easy this was so very simple. i can say i enjoyed filing this year. i had absolutely no problems and this is as good as it gets! January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So so easy! this made my life so much easier! Thank you Turbo tax for the walk through I feel confident that I did everything right and was able to get a refund!!! February 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and easy I completed my taxes at 11pm right before bed. So easy use, simple, quick and easy. I love it!!! January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by service It was very easy and very fast to use. February 2, 2015
  • 2015-09-01T10:50:26.113-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14485, tr_14485
  • loc_en_US, sid_100_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 273 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.