1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings - Page 2 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by I like turbo tax. however, when I was filing this year your website wouldn't take to the state taxes. I clicked on continue to state taxes and nothing but a blank screen would show February 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 Easy, but annoying. If I'm using the free federal filing, and I say once that I don't want to upgrade, then please don't ask again! It gets obnoxious. Other than that, the system is easy to use! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Definitely better then H&R Block TurboTax free federal is by far the best of the free tax filing services. I simultaneously used turbotax and h&r block and canceled one before officially filing. Turbo tax found me ~$400 more for my refund. By March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I loved how easy it was for me to enter in my information and income and turbo tax did the rest, I will use it again for my 2015 tax return. February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why haven't I been using this?! I feel like an idiot that I've been paying $100+ in fees to file my taxes MYSELF. Now I know... Forever a Turbo Tax client now. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Awesome I was impressed by the upgrades that made the website much more user friendly this year. AT the same time, I felt that it was more detailed and thorough during the filing process. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Foots Love using this system and will continue to use and tell everyone I know. I also love the double check system that's in place to catch little mistakes. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent The Absolute best Great they get you the max refund by walking you step by step. Easy to use for anyone to use. Its wonderful I been using turbo tax since 2008 and never had any problems. I would give them 10 stars if they had that option. January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by my tax return I highly recommend it to anyone who is wanting to do their taxes themselves and for FREE! Its very helpful and friendly to use. Walks you through step by step and makes you fee very safe and secure with your information and answers. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Faster than H&R block Asks all the questions and even asks if you need more info to make sure you are answering them right. Love that because I always wonder if i am answering the right questions lol January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Amazingly easy Using Turbo Tax is just like working with a person. It tells you which areas to focus on and which probably don't apply to you. Took me less than an hour to file my full year's worth of taxes and I received a great refund. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks! I was very nervous about this but it was very eas! I always see an H&R block consultant but they started charging for EZ files last year and I can't really afford to lose any more money. So thanks! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Taxes made soo Simple!! Thanks TurboTax Where have you been all my life. thankful for this service and i feel comfortable with answering the questions because it was very understandable.. Thank you so much!! I will definitely use this service from now on!!!!!!! March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Painlessly simple I can not be happier with Turbo tax! I checked out a few different tax products this year and Turbo tax won me over. I cant imagine straying from this product in the future. I can't say thank you enough for allowing my filing process to run so smoothly. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So user friendly! I've tried lots of software, this is my favorite. So easy to use and understand! Questions are answered instantly, everything is described in plain English. Highly recommend! January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Easy, Fast and Wonderful This is the 4th year I have used Turbo Tax and will continue to use. It is extremely fast and easy. January 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 decent It's hard to be critical on a free service. All in all Turbotax was pretty smooth. The push to purchase is sometimes a little over the top but seems quite fair considering that they offer better service support with the paid version. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Quick and Simple Very quick and helpful to anyone new filing their taxes...EXCEPT it claims to be free but the catch is free to file not to submit your taxes...nice try but thanks anyways! February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Rocked my refund! If you're looking for an easy to understand way of doing your taxes, this is your option. It was the first time filing my taxes solo and it's been great. The captions and pictures keep you entertained as you answer the millions of questions. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Best refund! This was my fourth year in a row using Turbo Tax and I guarantee I'll be using it again next year! Nothing like doing my taxes from the comfort of home and knowing they are done right. March 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by program works well I have used for several years March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Great!! Turbotax was an easy, breezy way to file electronically this year!! Would definitely recommend for someone who doesn't like dealing with actual tax preparers.. March 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by turbo Everything pretty good but I just cant seem to get my state refund working it keeps on getting rejected. January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by really was simple This time was even faster than last. Could'nt have been simpler. They walk you thru fast and easy. If you don't understand something, you click and a window pops up explaining it. Fast and simple! March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 Painless Entry I was hesitant to do this online without the help of an official Tax Preparatory service.... But this was about as hassle free and painless as I could have hoped for. March 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to file For a first time filer I was nervous about doing my taxes. Turbo Tax made it quick and easy for me to get it done myself, for FREE! January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service for free I have used Turbo Tax for at least 6 years, the free edition. It works well as I just file a simple EZ tax form. It's a great program. January 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 TAX EZ Give people option to skip state instead of making them fill out all the information only to delete it at the very end this is extremely aggervating. March 4, 2015
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 83 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.