1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.8 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from General
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from solid Had to file an extension because of the new IRS rule...TurboTax should have provided me with last year's AGI because I did my taxes with them. They did not
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from When Every Dime Counts! I did not make much $$$ in 2016, and I appreciate that TurboTax offers a fast, simple, and convenient way to file for free for low earners. While I am a student, every dime of my refund counts. I will remember TurboTax giving a helping hand to me now once I finally get my MD and have a healthier income.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always a Pleasure My mom turned me on the TurboTax. I thought it was silly to pay to do taxes when I could file them for free...but now I do not. This is my second year using TurboTax to file and I love how I know I am not missing any details or making any errors in math and won't have an issue finding my previous year's tax return information. I am turned on to this and won't do my taxes any other way.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sucked. To change one simple thing, it makes me click a thousand times stuff like, "Okay, let's go!" and "Next." I changed my address twice, and it still says the original address I put on my return. Frustrating. It reviews your return, tells you there's one thing to fix. You fix it, send it, and it rejects - while telling you there's one more thing to fix. Annoying when that thing wasn't initially considered a mistake or in need of adjustment. The home page is unhelpful for navigation, and navigation in general is a pain in the ars3. Better than nothing, but it's probably about time I learn how to do my own taxes because this is more stressful than simply educating myself.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy They ask you questions and you answer them. Simple as that. It's free and you'll have your taxes done in no time.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy I love using Turbo tax. It guides you through every process and answers your questions before you ask them. I filled out my simple form in less than 20 minutes. They are very thorough and will try to get every addition or subtraction for you. The only thing that was annoying were the constant ads to upgrade to a higher paying program. Other than that its a complete program to file your taxes. I highly recommend this program.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Experience Great experience easy to understand and navigate website.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Snap Turbo tax is very quick, convenient and the the mobile site works just as efficient as the full site.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Experience Very easy to use and helped me out quite a bit. I'm glad to have Turbo Tax on my side!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Easy This has been the easiest filing of my taxes this far. I will definitely file my next year taxes with turbo tax.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A breeze! Fast and easy. Turbo tax helps with every step.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and flexible Overall I love the service that Turbotax provides and have been using them for year. My biggest complaint is the default importing of the state return and the need to go back and remove it. It is free to file returns in my state so I choose not to pay to do so with Turbotax. They should offer a reduced/free price for state returns to align with existing laws/benefits.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I use them every year! So easy, free, and no stress. Thanks TurboTax!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable and easy! Amazing! Turbo tax took me by the hand and guided me through the whole process. They explain every detail and leave you feeling comfortable and confident in your filing!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy platform Is a very helpful program for many types of tax situations and needed forms for home or business or even investment brokerage info. Thank you for your time in making the program fun to use ! The questions and corresponding threw out doing forms helps make it easier to understand. your experience and guarantee makes me feel completed and satisfied.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Refund! I almost completely missed filing my taxes, but these guys helped save me. Was able to complete everything and finish filing at the last minute. Couldn't have done it without them
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy So easy a caveman could do it, no lines, no appointments, i did it in my underwear after the gym!!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Job Turbo Tax NEVER FILED TAXES BEFORE BUT THIS SOFTWARE IS GREAT FOR PROS AND FIRS TIME USERES.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EASY AS 123!! I love using Turbo. If I made a mistake it was easy for me to go and fix it.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is finished!! Overall i like how detailed it can be, although it makes me a bit anxious and all i can think of when am i going to be done? It was difficult that i had to figure out what i noted on a 1098-t from previous year. although i filed with turbo tax previous year, i was hoping that that information would be available not in a pdf file but rather just how it is when you are filing current year. Meaning that you can go back into each subsection and edit and review. Perhaps if that was available, not neccesarily to edit but rather to review and be able to obtain information I would have finished faster
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great service i filed for an extension back in april. turbo tax sent me reminders to complete my taxes and finally when i was able to sit down it was much easier than i thought. plenty of help along the way with the clicky menus and info clicks. if i'd realized how easy this was going to be, i would not have put it off until the literal last day to e-file. i will definitely be using this service over and over again and more likely than not investing in the upgraded version in the future.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect design the active loading screens kept my attention throughout which is hard to do with taxes. The only problem I have is that there were a couple areas where there were a ton of options that were listed in separate categories, but presented in a long list in one page.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I don't make much money and I filed these taxes under the free filing selection but am being charged almost $65.!!! I could've taken them to a tax service to get done for less!! Very disappointed!! Won't use this service again! Karyn T. Eslin
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hidden Fees Ended up paying way more than I had thought. I wish it had explain it to me before hand.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the right amount of help Using turbo tax this year saved me time and frustration. It was easy to use and had a friendly touch. I would recommend it to friends and family for sure!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Simple I used to do all my returns myself...and I had rental property besides my regular income. Using Turbo Tax is like a vacation compared to that! Admittedly, my returns aren't as complex anymore, but just enough that it's nice to have the help. I can feel confident that the return is correct, which is a great feeling!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and fast Turbo Tax is easy to use, fast, and very friendly. I was afraid of doing my taxes, nobody ever showed me how as a kid, and then I suddenly had to do them on my own? Turbo Tax was super helpful in guiding me through everything, and getting way more in refunds than i thought. Will be using it again next year.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easiest return in years It was easier than expected to add information regarding the purchase of our first home as well as our second child.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not up front/hidden fees I don't mind paying for the filing fee but be up front about it.
Date published: 2017-10-16
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_43694, tr_45906
  • loc_, sid_100_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.