1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.8 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trouble turned paradise I've used Turbo Tax for YEARS. I have never had an issue like I had tonight...of course I never filed an extension before this year either. I evidently had two accounts, one using a no longer valid email address...which though it wasn't valid, I had evidently found a way to change my contact email and used it anyway. Obviously I didn't remember that when I filed my extension in April, nor did I remember it when I completed my return tonight. All was good until I needed my AGI - and went into a never-ending loop on instructions to upgrade last year, without an option to do so...enter the expert from Turbo Tax. And Thank God for her! Between us, we finally got to the bottom of it, I got my AGI, was able to file my taxes before the deadline and all is well in Casa De Sam...So thank you guys so much for your hard work and making taxes easier even when I inadvertently created a problem that made it difficult. I will continue using you guys for many years to come!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Loved it very safe and easy to use I highly recommend this service to everyone
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and easy I love using Turbo Tax because I can do my income at any time. Here I am few minutes from dead line and I just finished submitting my income tax. Beat the dead line. Yey!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than expected!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great service
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Service! I love TurboTax. It was more accurate than my accountant! The site and app are both easy, quick, and if you have problems, the customer service is friendly and helpful. I highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO SIMPLE! I have used Turbo Tax for years. I have never had a problem and it so easy that I promise that you won't be sorry when you purchase Turbo Tax. I have used other tax software and it is complicated and cumbersome.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I appreciate how easy it is to use Turbo tax and how I get walked through the entire process. You took the stress out of filing. I procrastinated because I was insecure but you really made it easy for me. Thanks, Turbo Tax
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Peasy I honestly don't have any complaints. I swapped from another company several years ago, and haven't looked back. TurboTax gets easier and easier each year that I file! The "help" areas for each section are fantastic. Keep doing what you're doing.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy I have used turbo a long time and it gets more informative.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I've been using TurboTax for years now, and I have complete faith in it as a thorough and accurate tax figuring product. I plan to continue using TurboTax for the foreseeable future.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy This website is fantastic. It made applying for my taxes easy and understandable. I will definitely use this site again.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty quick and simple Overall this was the fastest I have ever done my taxes, and I think I will continue to use Turbotax come next year. It was simple, accurate, and honest when they said free. It makes me want to try the paid tutorials. Great job guys
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked my refund! Turbo Tax made everything easy including setting up an installment payment plan with the IRS!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy I was really worried but it was very easy to fill out and file
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Helper!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fees The screens are easy to read and focus on one thing at a time so you may take time to think of one thing instead of everything and panic. EVerything saves instantly! I love the back button without losing the information you already filled. I didn't like that the $35 extra fee to be paid through federal return was not explained on the fee page. There should be a review of fees on the pay by credit card page. I didn't know the full amount paid till after paying with my credit card.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy! This was super easy! My first time filing and it was easy!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not Bad At All I recommend doing this because it was simple and didn't take all day long. If I had remembered where last years taxes were a little bit faster, I would have been done in under an hour.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from super service have used for years, always walks me thru everything!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from QUICK & SIMPLE SO EASY EVERY YEAR, ALL MY PREVIOUS INFORMATION STORED NEATLY, ACTUALLY FUN TO DO !
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Price I LOVE TURBOTAX, WILL USE IT EVERY YEAR!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Non-taxing Process Very satisfied with the service. Eased my concerns, finished much quicker than anticipated.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy!!! So helpful and goes into detail when you do not understand something.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from tt It's loosing ease of use.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tax Refund I waited until the last minute to do my taxes, thank goodness Turbo Tax is available!!!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unclear product needed Filing was easy, but it should have been for a 1040EZ, still it was easy... Unclear whether I needed to upgrade to a Plus product in order to obtain a copy of my returns and so am a bit annoyed I may have paid for something I didn't need...
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and EZ Doing turbo tax was fast and easy, no issues at all and the information was great!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE TURBOTAX!! TurboTax rocks! It so easy and convenient to do my taxes! I love TurboTax! TRY IT!!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard to use Did not feel comfortable that everything was explained well enough to feel confident info was correctly entered and accounted for.
Date published: 2017-10-16
  • y_2017, m_11, d_21, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_43694, tr_45906
  • loc_, sid_100_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.