1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Federal Free Edition Online

TurboTax Federal Free Edition Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Online Federal Free Edition lets you file federal taxes online - FREE. It asks simple questions to accurately prepare your income tax return. Get free IRS efile and free federal tax filing with TurboTax.

Learn more

4.8 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked my refund! Loved it!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from money in my pocket It's very easy to use turbo tax and all my information from the years prior are all ready to go.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes Doing Taxes So Easy!! Makes doing your taxes so easy and hassle free especially if you do the small upgrade option to their "PLUS" level (not necessary and "Free" version is great too-- I utilized the "Free" version last year and the "PLUS" this year, both of which I recommend!). Their "PLUS" feature/version takes the guesswork and pain out of the process and it saves everything as you go as well as copy and pastes your personal info on each new form. Just fantastic!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my 1st refund For my first time, this was my best experience to file my taxes. I will be using Turbo Tax for a long time!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from where does it say that the return will be filed on eastern time? now my return was filed late...according to this its was filed at 12:58 on Oct 17th not 11:48 CST on Oct 16th what do you suggest i do? are you going to pay any penalties?
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from feel cnfident Easy to use, but it could be easier with some graphics
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked My Refund! I've used TurboTax many times over the years and I have not had trouble once and I get my return quickly. The step-by-step process works well for me! Very grateful for the service!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hidden fees At the very end, after spending more then an hour answering all the questions I couldn't submit my information unless I payed for the maximum security "premium package" which was about $65. I was simply unable to click on the other two less costly options.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Better Felt the process was simple and easy to understand. Was able to use TurboTax to better understand the filing process. The FAQ's were helpful in this, and will help me to be more prepared for filing in the future.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of Best Refund Used TurboTax since the early days. The continued development has been fantastic for each tax season since my first use. l feel confident of the accuracy in filing my returns with TurboTax.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from rocked my refund LOVE TURBO TAX!!! I AM CRAZY ABOUT IT!!!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service This is my 3rd Year with TT, and I have to say I love it. It's great that you guys stay on top of the changes so that we don't have to. The fact that you give me a step by step saves my life. I get more return with you guys than I ever did with an accountant!! Thanks for all your help. DeeDee
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast & Easy Was able to do federal and two state returns in under an hour. Turbotax walked me through step by step and made the process very easy.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Go to tax program This is a great product which I have been using for almost 10 years now. I hate paperwork but, Turbo Tax takes you through it one simple step at a time. I don't have a really complicated tax situation but, I did work for 3 separate companies in 2016. Turbo Tax took the stress away and I was able to get my returns done in only a couple of hours. I will continue to use this great product!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Efficient and informative Very well made, smoothly operated, and almost every question able to be asked has been, and answered by a tax expert, and available for all; thus making the free version as efficient as the paid one for users savvy and otherwise.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy Love this software, Even helped to calm the experience
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User friendly I thought I wouldn't be able to file taxes on my own with Turbo Tax, but I was wrong. With a little bit of patience and research to understand the questions, I was able to file.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptionaly easy I have used another major company for years, but my sister, who used to prepare tax returns before she started her career, recommended TurboTax. I should have been using them all along. Use TurboTax; it will get you what you deserve without any stress when going through the question fields.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product very easy, self explanatory.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from did me right I feel like my financial and personal information is very secure. Very easy to use..click..continue.. I will always use Turbotax
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hit it Big! I have been doing business with Turbo Tax for years! Through the tax extensions, you were there! Through the lean times, you were there! Through the times of plenty, you were there! Always a perfect package! Always a "true and faithful friend"! You have gotten me through with flying colors and I am very appreciative!!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great customer service
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Return Overall great!
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Turbotax I have used Turbotax for over 10 years both online and downloading purchased software. I have been completely satisfied every year I've used it. I've also helped friends and family members use it to prepare their tax returns. It takes the stress out of tax preparation and I save a lot of money. I can't believe people still go to tax preparation locations and spend 3 times as much or more having their taxes done. I also recommend free file for to my friends and family who qualify. Doing a 1040EZ with turbotax is so quick and easy.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super awesome service
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW People have been telling me to use this for years and I'm mad at myself for waitin gthis long.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FREE? Please explain the charges. I did not choose expert help or premium service but could not unchoose them either. What did I misunderstand?
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not happy with extra fee I was very upset when I got to the end of my return and found out that I was supposed to pay an additional $29.99 for the PLUS option of transferring my return info from 2015. At this point, I did not want to start all over! I should have been warned before beginning that if I transferred information over, it would cost me in the end. I am a student and I don't have a lot of money.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and Easy TurboTax breaks down scary tax language and information in an easy-to-understand way. TurboTax walks you through each step of filing, ensuring you can report everything to ensure you maximize your refund.
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2017, m_11, d_24, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_43694, tr_45906
  • loc_, sid_100_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 45ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.