TurboTax Deluxe Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Deluxe is online tax software that helps you maximize tax deductions for a bigger refund. Try it for FREE to see how easy it makes filing taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.8 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time experience I'm grateful that the system did not time out as on a couple of instances I had to go out to my garage to pull files as well as log into another website from a different service I used last year to complete this years return. I'd also like to know how to adjust my withholding so that I don't owe next year. Perhaps you can add that to the website for future customers.
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wow it was a crazy ride It was great until I had to enter my insurance information. I'm still not sure how my return was so large but I guess we will find out soon. For a while I was in a loop until I gave up and logged back in the next day. Then all of my information was there and my return was even greater. Crazy..
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, as usual! TurboTax user since 1995. This year, I neglected to renew when I got the flyer in the mail. Unfortunately, I was unable to access any previous tax years online and had to start from scratch.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great instructions easy to follow why did i have to pay
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Been a customer for years and I still love it!!
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not Nervous with Turbotax
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed I understood that filing my federal form was free but I was charged for both my state and federal fax filing. I am very disappointed in this as the reason I use turbo tax is that it is less expensive. It is also very complete.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much easier than relearning the tax law I had not tried TT for many years because our taxes were complicated and I just wanted to "be sure" I knew the rules and knew why I answered what I did. I'd slog through the tax instructions every year, comparing my returns from the year before and crosswalking all the line items to be sure nothing got missed. This year though... that was impossible. We've NEVER extended our deadline for taxes, but Hurricane Harvey destroyed our house and my car and we lost virtually everything in our home to the flood waters. Our documents were elevated, but immediately were removed from the house and sent to long-term storage with the other surviving stuff. Which meant, we didn't have access to what we needed to file in April. We extended. Turbo tax was a blessing to us this year. Saved me so much time, headaches and heartaches. We just couldn't devote the time we usually do - and I worried about it. BUT NO MORE. This process was awesome. Seamless. Confidence building. I probably will never look at tax time the same way, going forward. THANK YOU for making one of the more difficult tasks in adult life a little easier - ESPECIALLY this year. We needed it. And we appreciated it, tremendously. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tool
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved my refund love to use this online filing it helps me in everyway it can
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's fine. I'm an ESL teacher in South Korea. I was told I could efile my foreign income easily for free with Turbo Tax. I've always used Turbo Tax for my taxes, but this was the first year I wasn't living in the states. Turns out it wasn't free, and it didn't qualify for efile. So I had to pay 60 bucks to file my taxes, and then I have to mail my return, which I hope will arrive before my extension is up, or at least arrive at all. Oh well.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2018 refund Still waiting for my 2012 refund. But just got done filing my 2018 return.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Almost but not quite there yet for an expat abroad Everything was fine, and much better to use than other tax softwares. (1) The only confusing part was on the Foreign Tax Credit section, where I spent half of the whole tax prep time because I had to go through it at least 7 times. The questions flow and logic resulted in some errors and missing info in the final tax form, therefore I had to keep going back. It seemed like this part of the TurboTax product didn't receive enough attention to the design of the questions, inputs, and outputs. (2) On a related note, it was also difficult to just access and edit the list of foreign tax credit copies/forms. Instead, I had to jump through all the questions again. It would be great if you can build a feature to have direct access to all the copies/forms in each section of the whole tax return.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bugs BUGS BUUUUUGGGGSSSS! The glitches are so bad that it negates all other positives. I am done with TurboTax after 20 years.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Freedom version unable to upgrade -- Terrible! I've used TurboTax in the past and it's always been a good product, simplifying the tax preparation process. Unfortunately this year, I somehow got stuck in the "Freedom" product, and after 2 days of entering data, it told me I wasn't eligible for that product. Ok, so let's upgrade. But there was NO WAY to upgrade and I had to COMPLETELY RE-ENTER all my data into the "Deluxe" product. The only reason I stuck with TurboTax is that I knew the menus and everything would be almost exactly the same and I was strapped for time. Otherwise, this was like a cruel joke for driving away paying customers, rather having a streamlined "single sign-in for all of Intuit" or being like any normal business and at least trying to make money off of me.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Widow's Might I was nervous about doing this return myself as a widow and filed an extension because I didn't want to deal with this. Happy to say I'm getting a refund and the process was very simple.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need human interaction It is difficult for a machine to understand all questions. I needed my email to change and the changes were not accepted. Why is it so difficult to speak to a human? Had issues with the fee amount on one page it had $39.00 and at the end it was $59.00. Why? No extra forms.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy experience Good experience. Filed an extension and did the remainder on my phone. Pretty easy and good guidance. Paid the extra for the audit help and guarantee. Not sure it's worth it but gave her peace of mind. Would use them again.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was ok. But better than paying $1000 to get it done by an accountant.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Preparing Return Have used turbotax for many years. Highly recommend it.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not so bad This was my first time filing on my own so I cannot compare to other software but I found it easy to use.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, confident and Happy!! I think this is great.... this time I upgraded and it made me feel better!
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Customer Service Pamela was really great helping me out Thank You
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't think it was going to submit, but did
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really easy, really fast I've used CPAs when I worked overseas and after I first came back stateside. The CPAs were great but unless you have a really complex financial situation, TurboTax covers all the bases and delivers a great centralized location for all your records to reside. And it has always given me the same results as the CPAs with a lot less hassle.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thankful
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tool to do your own taxes I'll do my taxes with turbotax again.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too many fees! Turbo tax has too many charges when you want to file on your own.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Service Overall Turbotax is very easy to use and I have recommended it to other family members. I like the feature that you can go back to any item to revisit it at any time.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not bad offer more coupons
Date published: 2018-10-08
  • y_2018, m_10, d_21, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_36312, tr_50426
  • loc_, sid_300_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 29ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.