TurboTax Deluxe Online
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Deluxe is online tax software that helps you maximize tax deductions for a bigger refund. Try it for FREE to see how easy it makes filing taxes online. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible experience this year Generally, you can fill out year to year and it slaves your previous years, into the new year. Despite using the same email, inputting social and DOB it could not find my previous returns. So I filled it out and did not file. Called(again) a short time after the April deadline, and miraculously they found my past information. However, they are unable to merge them. My only option was to attempt to refile and hopefully get back into the previous account. After MULTIPLE attempts to do so, unsuccessfully, I opted to file the 'rogue' one from this year. To complete this, I needed info from 2016 returns. Since according to them 'I have never used their program prior to 2017', I had to redo ALOT of info and the site kept crashing or not responding. Such a hassle. If someone's name, social security # and DOB match an account that is already on file it should have been a big flag to the system. Extremely dissatisfied with the service/program this time.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked my Taxes Very detailed. Took me through each situation. Will use again in the near future (2019)
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor I do not believe the outcome but was up against a deadline so had to file. I am confident I will have to file a paper amendment.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely easy to follow instructions and tutorial I love Turbo Tax!! It has saved me a lot of time, and money, even in past years when our returns have been much more complicated than this year's. You don't need it, but I would love to help market this great product that turns the screw around! LOL
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terribly misleading misled to use Freedom product which this system defaulted to, even though I've never used the low income family product for TurboTax. I was led to believe I was using the correct "free" product which I always upgrade, spent hours inputting my tax info into this Freedom product, then only to spend hours on the TurboTax customer support phone line
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very poor customer service! I have used TurboTax for years. The first time....I was SOLD! I remember easy and helpful customer service. Unfortunately, each year after, I have been disgusted with the changes. The format changes drastically year after year. It’s inconsistent. Please keep it the same or nearly the same. That we we can use prior notes and become familiar with the program. As far as customer service...in 2016, I could NOT log on...it was relentless and had me jump through so many hoops that I passed the deadline and spent months stressing over it. So now I got penalized by being asked to mail in forms that I have lost due to theft. I KNOW I will get audited and I do not have supporting documents due to my loosing EVERYTHING. Just had a rep who could not help me cost me two hours and I figured answer out on my own
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always so easy I have used Turbo Tax for years and it just make filing taxes and extensions so easy. Love the step by step process it couldn't be any more simple for me. Thank you Turbo Tax!!!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from back to Turbo Tax after a 2 year hiatus! Turbo Tax is the one I have loved for 25 years. it asks the right questions, gives clear advice... I was sorry I didn't use the tax advisor I had the last two years, but he was on vacation. My need for advice was because of home sale and purchase, large charitable gift which has to be deducted over several years, consolidating my various 401 (a), 403 (b), and 457 accounts, and refinancing my home loan to a lower interest rate loan. I had a good set of 2016 files from my tax preparer last year so I was able to do it pretty easily. But i really missed the roll-over that Turbo Tax has offered me, which significantly reduces the chances of error inputing stuff and just feels great. Im actually looking forward to doing the 2018 taxes, because much of the info I need will be rolled over!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from End of my Texas Taxes Nightmare Turbo tax is to the point and make it happens for you!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY PEASY I HAVE BEEN USING TURBO TAX FOR YEARS AND LOVE IT! MAKES FILING MY TAXES A BIT LESS PAINFUL!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty easy Needed some help. Got a live agent and resolved in less than 15 minutes Highly recommend
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long time user We have been using TurboTax Online for almost 20 years now and simply LOVE IT!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been using Turbo Tax for years We've been using Turbo Tax through for years. This year, I was worried about my taxes since becoming a new business owner. Turbo Tax guided me through the questions with ease, just like all the previous years. I am confident with the online guidance without paying for the live cpa. But that live cpa feature is an added bonus.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Software Very easy to use this software. I have been using it for 20+ years.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made Things Easy Thanks Turbo Tax you made filing my taxes a lot easier!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Mixed Review I have marveled at the ease of using Turbotax in the past. This time, unfortunately, I had great problem inputting my Backdoor Roth IRA. The instructions given were horrible and it took 4 hours with the phone rep (a wonderful and competent person) to get them in correctly. Very unintuitive software. Also was disappointed that I was not informed that online version will not have Audit Meter.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got me some money
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tool Wonderful, fast tool for filing federal income taxes. If you have a copy of your state guidelines, it would be easier to understand some of the state jargon/rules. If you're filing multiple states as I did this year after a move, it may not be your best option, particularly if you're not familiar with your new states tax system.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax eased my pain I have used TT since 1996.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful So much happened at first part of year, it's great to have this available this late in year.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax Review
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seemed easier this year... --- it's nice you can pay for the service out of your refund, thereby allowing you to file your taxes on time even if you don't have the $50 or $60 bucks to prepare them. Also nice that there's no paperwork - the environment appreciates it, I'm sure.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was esay turbotax is always easy to use and files my taxes quickly for me. even when i am late
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful peace of mind! I've been using Turbo Tax for as long as I can remember. Before that, I always did taxes using paper form (oh how I wish life was that "simple" once more) and a couple years went to a professional tax preparation service which I will avoid doing again. I can depend on Turbo Tax to steer me away from audits with IRS and to achieve the maximum refund every time.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks for The Help Easiest way to file returns and help sort out any info I may have missed. Finding extra deductions that I may have forgotten, this software enables even the most business un-savvy person to become their own financial analyst!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from You'll feel tricked, scammed. Worse every year. Every year the cost goes up and up and the service gets no better. This year they charged $40 just to let me pay them with my return. It wasn't clear that would be the fee when I first agreed to pay that way, and then it was impossible to go back and change the payment option and just use my card to do it today. This company leaves you feeling like you probably got tricked and ripped off big time.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nate's Refund Was unable to select Out of Country and had to use NY for APO Europe
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long time Turbo Tax filer As the filing process changes and becomes more confusing TT keeps up to date. I filed on paper for years so I knew what was going on but now it's just crazy!! I trust TT to get me the greatest refund (or lowest payment) and they've come through every time. I would be in a world of hurt without them!!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my day. Love TurboTax! Turbotax is the best online software system. Very clear instructions and questions. I recommend it to everyone.
Date published: 2018-10-15
  • y_2018, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_36313, tr_50426
  • loc_, sid_300_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 251ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.