TurboTax Basic Online
Customer Ratings - Page 222 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is online tax software and the easy way to file taxes. It asks simple questions for easy income tax preparation. Try TurboTax for FREE. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by the Turbo makes it so Easy I love Turbo Tax... When I moved from one of the few states that still does not have a state income tax, to one where I had to now fill out a whole new set of tax forms, Turbo Tax saved my sanity and made it easy. I know when I move to another state in the next year or so, that Turbo Tax will sort out the forms for me. Best part, is that they retain the basic information for me, and most of the forms are filled out for me to review as I start the next tax year. So easy to do quick comparisons from one year to the next, to help you keep on track. Updating is easy. I must give thanks to Turbo Tax for making the inquiry questions easier to get through this year, even more user friendly than last year. February 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Done Deal Given the complexity and unwieldy nature of US tax code (several thousand pages longer than the next highest in the world) it is inconceivable than any person, or program, can grasp the full complexity of the matter and simplify it to the point a layman can easily comprehend and complete, unassisted, their own taxes. TurboTax, and by extension, Intuit, have accomplished exactly that. I wholeheartedly endorse their entire suite of products, as i have had no issues with ANY of them. I've personally used Quicken, Quickbooks, TurboTax, and I've interacted with several iterations and variations of each. Unparalled ease, and understanding, precise accounting of tangibles and intangibles, thorough documentation, and several measures for out-of-norm issues so they can be handled quickly and easily. I've used Turbotax for two or three years now, and will never use anything else. March 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredibly helpful and easy to use. I had to file something I'd never seen before, and of course you don't want to mess up when filing your taxes. The search bar helped answer my questions and when I needed to file it, it had a drop down menu that said "jump to". HOW EASY!? I loved that I could buy audit protection as well, just in case I didn't fill something out right. Lets face it I DON"T understand taxes. Thankfully Turbo Tax walks you through everything and double checks it for you. Now I don't have to have a feel unsure or have an anxiety about whether I'm going to have a knock at my door with some suit asking questions that sound like a foreign language to me. It's technological advances like Turbo Tax that makes this era so great. February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rick's TurboTax experience TurboTax, simply stated, is easy to use. It's simple with it's step by step approach, the ability to import information instead of having to type in every item, using information from the previous year which saves time, and it double checks everything just to make sure you didn't forget anything. Then it gives you plenty of time to review everything to make sure nothing was entered incorrectly. The cost is very competitive with H&R Block and other tax services and probably more accurate because you take away the possibility of human error. I am very happy with Turbotax and have used it for several years and will most likely continue to use it into the foreseeable future. Thank you for this great product! March 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Upset! i choose to have the free federal edition multiple times while filing my returns for 2014, i expected to only pay 27.99 which was established multiple times throughout the process, after i consented and accepted making payment with federal return it turned out my TurboTax account automatically upgraded to turboplus and ended up spending over fifty dollars when i only expected to spend less than 30, i am very disappointed and upset with the overall outcome as this is my trusted and used tax software, love the service but i am extreamly upset and let down by a service ive come to enjoy, appreciate and recommend. please help me fix this and i will, like always, be 100 percent happy with final resultsof service. February 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Added fees I went to turbo tax from my state portal for free filing. Wound up paying nearly $60 in additional fees I could find no way to opt out of. First, despite the info at the state portal, I had to pay $28 in fees to file state taxes. Then somehow, despite my checking no each time, I got opted into turbo tax plus for an additional $29.99 which I didn't want. I could find no place during the tax preparation to opt out of turbo tax plus. Turbo tax says review fees to opt out - where is this present during the tax preparation!?!? And really, clear my return and start over?!? Fix your software. Thanks turbo tax. I have one W-2, am single, have no dependents and you just charged me $60 for free filing. Not next year. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by MORE THAN I EXPECTED!!! I had never filed my taxes before so this was a daunting task for me. My dad has always paid someone to do our taxes and, up until this year, would claim me because I was a student. So doing this for the first time made me nervous. I also thought I would not get very much back because I had very little taxes taken out for part of the year. But Turbo Tax was extremely easy to use and got me a great refund. I finished everything much quicker then I expected and got a refund that was over twice as much as I expected. I also had to call for help during part of the process and the woman I spoke to was very polite and more than helpful. Overall I had an excellent experience and will definitely use Turbo Tax in the future. January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by File with ease I have always used TurboTax to file my taxes since my first W2 at the age of 16. The process has definitely improved in the last couple years. The user interface is extremely friendly on the eyes and the simple step-by-step instructions to guide you through the laborious process of filing taxes makes this my "go-to" software choice. I have never had to contact customer support as I have a fairly easy filing status but it is offered to you at any time and it's nice to know it's there if I need it. I appreciate the constant e-mail reminders on the status of my return and even if I need to save and come back at a later time I don't have to start all over it's saved for me. I recommend it to all my friends and family!!!! February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo tax is quick, easy to use and affordable. TurboTax.com is a very affordable and user friendly way to file your tax return. It walks you through everything step by step and is basic enough that you get through it quickly but at the same time Turbotax is working behind the scenes to ensure you will get the maximum refund possible and that everything is correct and in order. They offer great prices and helpful tips to get your refund done and to you as soon as possible. I have nothing bad to say about this website. I have been using it for years and it is hands down the best option out there for filing. No hassle and no dealing with 50 million problems when trying to do it yourself or paying a lot for a professional. Just go with TurboTax.com. You won't regret it. January 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by One Surprise Fee I had a fine time doing my taxes here, It's easy and essentially cheaper, but when I'm doing my taxes I don't want to answer the same questions twice, IT seems like they want to ask you a few questions to get them out of the way, but then you have to go through several pages of questions that 90% were already answered in a previous screen. Why bother with the first screen then. Also when it was time to review my fees, I had a PLUS charge that I don't know when it got added, I didn't want to go find where I got it, or how the upgrade was used during filing, but I should know when things are being added to my account. No other problems, and if I'm going to pay for plus, I guess I get to use all the perks, which are useful February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filing has never been so pretty When logging into Turbo-Tax this year I assume I would use Deluxe, just like last year. Luckily I logged in twice. The free option now includes free state filing. You can still import your previous year return for the same fee as Deluxe, but unlike deluxe you don't need to pay for state filing. I'm glad I didn't have to pay state filing, but the automatic assumption that I would be using Deluxe ercks me. I have no idea how to tax the way deluxe would have me tax. Free was just fine, and I will continue to use it with the added bonus of free State filing. Easy, very attractive, and fast. Thank you for making taxes a little less frightening, just be very clear with your pricing. Not many actually need deluxe in my opinion. February 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Easy but Sneaky This was my first year filing for taxes on my own. I liked how easy the product was to navigate, however I was really upset about the hidden fees they charge you with. I was continually asked to upgrade to plus, which I don't need since I have a simply return to file. After continually selecting "no", I was still forced to pay for Plus at the end when I never agreed to it. Upon researching how to remove the Plus fee, I was told that once it was applied you aren't able to remove it from your account. I'm extremely disappointed with the service and while $30 isn't that big of a fee, the way it was tacked on at the end was sneaky. I will not be using this service again as paying $60 for a simple tax refund is way overpriced. March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Never any worries!! I have been using Turbo Tax for three years now, I have never had an issue and always received my refund within a week! It goes through step by step and reviews with me, then before sending goes through and rechecks itself to make sure there was nothing missed. Its well worth the upgrade from free to the Turbo Tax Plus (talk about a time saver, it takes so much of the hassle of filing taxes out of the equation, takes me about 15 min. top to file state, federal, and recheck all my info.) I cannot stress enough how well worth the money it is!! I recommend Turbo Tax to everybody I know, several of my friends have switched from H&R Block and couldn't be happier, not to mention saved money from filing fees even with the upgrade. February 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by i expect free, free Federal AND state are free this year... free, unless you autofill your information from last year... wham! 29.99, and you can't go back once you've started. I tried the back button, signing out and trying to check out without signing in, and waited a week and it stillllll didn't give the option to start over.... But, it's easy, I did it in my pajamas, and since I had to pay 29.99 for plus for filling out my 2013 info for me, I don't have to pay today, I can have it deducted from my federal return. I don't have to dig through the file cabinet or fight my cat or dog for the papers I'd have to dig through. And again, state was free this year, so it's costing me the same as last year, on accident. No big deal, just super annoying. February 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Throughout the entire filing process I kept making sure to use the free service, as I do not have a lot of income. Then once I went to file and pay for my service (filing the STATE refund) I was then ALSO charged for filing the Federal refund (which your website claimed to be a free service). There was no other option for me to go back and choose from; therefore I went ahead with the order and let the $29.99 get taken from my refund. I fell mislead and very angered that I had to pay for a service that was noted to be free on the website, and had no way of NOT paying for the service (other than not file my refund with you). I used a different tax refund service (on-line) last year, and may switch back to them after this incident. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much better than Block I went with TurboTax after a bad experience with another online tax prep service. To make a long story short, I had completed both my federal and state returns with the other guys, when suddenly they erased all of the data I'd entered and kicked me back to the home screen. Needless to say, I was not amused. My boyfriend told me that he really liked Turbo Tax when he used it last year, so I figured it was worth a try. I was so impressed! I really have to commend you guys for a great service and a well-designed interface. I also really appreciate the fact that those little "Learn More" links actually take you to valuable information. I feel so much better about my taxes, and I actually upgraded to a Plus account. Thanks so much! February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wouldn't trust anyone else I've made the mistake of buying into the TV advertisements of big tax preparation chains, but never again. I ended up paying way more to file, and ended up with less of my refund as a result. For me, the easiest, cheapest and fastest way to my refund is through TurboTax. I recommend it to everyone I know. - TurboTax walks you through every step of the process, answering any questions you have along the way and making it virtually impossible to get confused. - Love that I'm able to roll forward my info from previous tax returns and save time. - The whole process for me usually takes about an hour. That's it. I'm done, and soon after I'm getting a refund through direct deposit. The real question is - why WOULDN'T you use TurboTax? March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Times and Always Improving TurboTax is a truly wonderful product that I've been using for years now. Back when I was working in the mall and living in my dad's basement I could file on paper, but as soon as I started college and a retirement account it became too difficult to manage on my own. TurboTax guides me through the process every year, even with complicated things like filing a correction because I forgot a form. The section on having a Net Operating Loss is a bit lacking, though it still works (it could just be improved some). TurboTax has gotten me thousands of dollars back that I certainly would have missed on my own, and that I didn't need to visit an office somewhere to get. Convenient, informative, and profitable, I couldn't ask for much more. January 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use, but higher price than advertised. I'v used Turbotax for the last 4 years because it is super easy to navigate when your taxes are a little complicated but not super complicated. I have things like property tax and child support and little odds and ends that I need to enter and look up and enter and I like turbotax as opposed to some other sites because it takes you through step by step, lets you pause and look for something without kicking you out and making you figure out where you left off. The downside is they are never really clear about how much this is going to cost you in the end. I end up paying more than I expected because they add on state or PLUS fees. I always pay the extra because it is worth the $20 to not have to do it all over again with someone else. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything Checks Out Overall, I prefer using TurboTax to complete and file my returns over filling out paper forms. I've used it for several years without any major complaints. The only issue I had this year involves product upgrades. I somehow managed to accidentally upgrade to Free Federal PLUS and complete the transaction without being able to remove the upgrade, resulting in an extra $29.99 charge on my credit card. I spoke with a customer service who was able to help arrange a refund that will take effect in about a week. She was extremely helpful and I am grateful. My recommendation is to add a screen prompt before final payment authorization that shows what is being billed for. There was one that showed the final amount, but without a detailed breakdown. February 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use I found the website to be very user-friendly, with lots of accessible and useful information without bombarding the user with excessive information. The new set-up is aesthetically pleasing as well and really simulates a conversation with a helpful tax preparer. My only issue with the site is that they ask you over and over again if you want to upgrade, even once you have already clicked "no" several times. I even inadvertently signed up for an expensive extra protection right before filing, and nearly missed that it included an extra charge. I wish it were more up front about the cost, emphasizing that it DOES cost money, but for (they believe) good reason, rather than trying to trick you into clicking something because you think you have to. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by User Friendly and AWESOME LOVE TURBO TAX. ESPECIALLY THEIR MINIMUM FEE'S!! I don't ever have to pay someone $300 plus just to answer simple questions I can do at home on my own time! Love how user friendly the site is and how EASY it is to file taxes. I was so scared to file my own taxes, but I tried it for the first time three years ago and it was sooooooo smooth!! The prompts ask you simple questions and there's always a link for thorough answers if you are stuck. The search feature looks up questions WHILE filing your taxes so you don't have to quit what you're doing just to look up an answer!!!! OMGGGGG I love Turbo Tax!! I've kept the MOST money in my account because of you!!! I don't have to pay anyone and I get my money quick!! Love love LOVE Turbo Tax!! Thanks!! February 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Misleading I've used TurboTax for the past several years and have been mostly pleased with their services. This year, however, I was disappointed to see that their product which had always been free (and was still marketed as being free) actually cost $19.99. Of course, they didn't disclose this until AFTER everything was completed and ready to be transmitted, which felt purposefully misleading and left me feeling disappointed as a consumer. If this information was clearly disclosed prior to entering in all of my information, I would have had no issues, but it seems underhanded to prompt for payment at the end of the process when the product is marketed as 'free'. Despite previous years of satisfaction, I don't believe I will be using TurboTax in the future. February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for First Timers For my first time doing my taxed, TurboTax really helped me out a lot. They answered every question and if you were not sure of a question, they let you walk through the section or question either way. However, as a first timer doing taxes, the legal language was a little bit too enforced for me to understand some of the things that I was being asked. I was once told that if you can explain something to a 4 year old and they understand what you have just told them, then you can explain it to anyone and have the same results. Sometimes, being treated like a child isn't really so bad if you have no idea what the real adults are doing. Other than that, TurboTax made my filing easy and fast. I will definitely keep using TurboTax for the rest of my life. January 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Read the Fine Print! The turbotax software service is good, and I would use again. HOWEVER, they don't make it easy to change the package you want, or to take advantage of the free service. Also, I think it's very tricky that the add a "BANK" processing fee in all the legal fine print when you're almost at the end. #The "I Agree" section that most people blow past.# This fee is not your bank's fee, not the IRS's fee, but TurboTax's affiliated bank fee charged when you elect to have TurboTax deduct its service fees from your tax refund. I think this fee disclosed in bigger print and in a more prominent location. Seems like it's hidden at the end when people are just trying to sign/save/ and send. Yes, consumers need to read the fine print - and here's a great example of why. January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awsome!!! Much easier this year, hassle free!! OMG believe me, I have always done my returns with my mom's help but this year I didn't need her to check over my return before it was submitted because Turbo Tax takes you through EVERY step with helpful key tips and definitions to elaborate on the options that were given or the question to help you understand if you didn't know what a certain question or option!! I actually did my taxes on my own and for a good price! It actually feels like you have a live person guide you through the whole process. There has been some updates since last year but its for the better! Loved it and I'm totally satisfied and excited that I did it all by myself instead of paying someone tons of money. Thank you Turbo tax!!! I feel so independent right now and accomplished. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2nd time user TurboTax has been incredibly helpful to me both times I have used it for my tax returns! At first I was a little overwhelmed and thought the whole process was going to be tedious and take a long time. In fact it was the exact opposite! The process took me all about twenty minutes and I was confident when I finished. I was a little confused on the cost however. I originally thought the fee would cost me $27.99 but at the end it took off an additional 29.99, which I'm still not too sure as to why this is. With that being said I most certainly don't mind paying that much for TurboTax, but it would have been nice to know that money would have been taken out for using their services before the last screen. All in all there's no other website I would use than this one! February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is my new best friend! My ex-husband always did our taxes. I became very unfamiliar with doing taxes because i hate paper work. 2013 was the first year I used Turbo Tax. I couldn't believe how easy it was! Turbo Tax wants to help everybody get the money back they deserve. They cover things I never knew could be included for a tax deduction! I have taken full advantage of everything I can possibly use for my deductions. Not sure if it's right? Everything you don't understand is followed by more info to totally clarify what you didn't understand the first time! This is so easy! I now know what papers and receipts I need to keep for the following years taxes. AND I don't have to fear doing my taxes any more. I highly recommend Turbo Tax to get the most bang for your buck Turbo Tax is awesome! January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Refund The thing I didn't like was that the Turbo Tax Calculator said that I would get back $1300 and in all reality I only got $757 minus the fees, so less than that. According to the Turbo Tax Calculator I was thrilled to think I was going to get $1300 back and it was way off and that made me sad and very disappointed. Also on my W2 in Box 12a there was $914.16 that wasn't explained what it was actually for. It would have been nice to understand what this box was for. I would suggest that the Turbo Tax Calculator be more precise or not up at all. I paid for my grandson's daycare for the past 2 years but I cannot claim any of that money and that doesn't seem fair. Other than that I enjoy using Turbo Tax. This is my 4th or 5th year of using it and I like it. Thanks. K. Yahnke January 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very user friendly I'm active duty in the USAF and stationed over seas, because of this turbo tax wouldn't accept any of my "day time" phone numbers, and I had to give the number of a friend instead, which is kind of inconvenient for me and the friend. Due to this same reason I don't pay state taxes for AZ #my state of former residence#. Turbo tax still asked me a lot questions about my state taxes, some of which forced me to give some kind of answer even though I wasn't sure the particulars applied to me. All n' all everything worked fine with turbo tax last year, so I see no reason it won't this year. They usually keep you very informed about what your answering #especially with your federal return# so it helps to give some piece of mind, and it's kept me pretty happy with their products overall. March 3, 2015
  • 2015-03-31T12:17:42.117-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-222, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_11402, tr_11402
  • loc_en_US, sid_200_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 220 221 222 223 224 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.