TurboTax Basic Online
Customer Ratings - Page 220 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is online tax software and the easy way to file taxes. It asks simple questions for easy income tax preparation. Try TurboTax for FREE. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just.. Wow! TurboTax is just about as dumbie proof as it can get! I've just turned 20 years old and this is my first time filing my own taxes, something I assumed was a VERY complicated process.. I was pretty scared and almost caved in to paying my mother's friend to do it for $100bucks! I decided to take a chance though and after seeing a turbotax commercial, decided WHY NOT! Best choice I've made in a very long time, completed everything in about an hour while watching a movie! I spent most of my time looking for my W-2 and other paperwork! Thank you sooooo much TurboTax, I will definitely be back next year!!!! :D February 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy I'm glad I got my maximum refund. It made it so I don't have to think about anything ever, which is nice because I'm an idiot who needs animation and shiny blue buttons on my screen. Even if you're not an idiot like me (I doubt you are, you seem like a nice person with a functioning brain), you'll love TurboTax because it makes it so with some clicks here and there, you get your taxes done accurately with hardly any effort on your part: You simply insert the information and it does it all for you safely, backing up everything you'll need in the future and direct depositing your refunds into your account. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stimulating Guide I'm a senior resident and this was my first time doing my taxes online alone. I was hesitant to start, but since the beginning the messages make my feel understood and supported, very empathetic way to guide somebody into a labyrinth. It was like talking with somebody that was honestly there for you. I loved when the text said: " Don't worry we'll figure out for you later". I appreciate all the technological effort and the professional expertise that you put into this. Congratulations, you help to reduce the stress in our lives, and that's a wonderful contribution to the psychological well being of our society. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes taxes easy to do yourself! I used Turbo Tax Plus to file this year and got more money than last year!! There are so many deductions I wouldn't have known about and Turbo Tax walks me through each one and what exactly it it and what counts. Used to paying someone 100 or more to do your taxes?? Unnecessary! You can easily do it yourself using Turbo Tax and make sure it is legit so you won't be audited. I tried using an outside company and did just as good myself while saving money. I've used Turbo Tax almost every year since 2003. It has kept my records and is easy to access whenever I need them. Thank you Turbo Tax you are awesome!! January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tremendous for Lazy people! I don't like filling out forms. I don't like sitting in uncomfortable chairs in front of uncomfortable people who only know how to deliver uncomfortable temperatures in their offices. Could I get more of a refund sitting at H&R Block? Maybe. Maybe they could squeeze out an extra 50 bucks. To file AND pay out of my return, while utilizing direct deposit into my bank account at 9pm from home after work is pretty legit. Tax offices would have charged me $80 to get me $50 more. I paid $30 for the joy of direct deposit e-filing while in my underwear. AND, I didn't even have to enter my credit card number. Win! January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick & Easy I've been using TurboTax for 10 years. The site gets better and easier to use every year. The instructions are clear and easy to understand. There's no fancy, confusing jargon and I feel confident that I'm doing everything correctly. I love that my taxes from previous years auto populate and I don't have to go digging for last year's info. By far my favorite feature this year was being able to deduct my payment to TurboTax (ONLY $29.99! Couldn't believe the great price) from my federal return and have the rest direct deposited. I don't know why anyone wouldn't file their taxes on this site. It's fantastic. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple, Painless, and Fast! I have filed my taxes with TurboTax for the past four years and because of this, unlike so many others, I NEVER dread having to file my taxes. It's always simple and painless, and it seems to become more organized each year. The only thing I really dislike about the service are the charges tacked onto simple things like "remembering last year's information." But, they have to make money somehow, and I'd rather just pay the $29.99 to have that information pulled than to have to go back and reenter it all. Overall, I really enjoy using TurboTax services and I trust that they are getting me my maximum refund! February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I keep returning to get my refunds! I've been returning to TurboTax year after year because I do NOT like dealing with big corporate companies like H&R or Liberty. I love the fact that in less than the time it takes to even drive to one of the tax filing companies I can simply get on my computer and file with ease! Also love the fact that I can take the small fees out of my returns. I rather pay the $28 on Turbo than the $150+ at a tax place! And the best part is, TurboTax looks in all the nooks and crannies for credits and extra money that most companies won't even bother with! I'll be back again next year and many years to follow! Thank You! March 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by My refund wasn't free by any means The whole way through doing my Federal return was great until the end when TurboTax decides to throw a bunch of fees at you before you finish filing. Then on top of everything, after accepting the $85 fee getting taken out of my return for doing my taxes on TurboTax I get a notification through my phone "I set it to text notification after filing" saying that my EIN number was not correct!? The authenticity check should have caught this and informed me before the taxes were filed in my opinion. Overall the experience was not a good one and I will definitely look further into smarter ways to do taxes next year. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is easier and less costly than ever! I've been using TurboTax since it was MacInTax and you filled out the forms on the computer. Every year it becomes easier to use. Now with online filing (free) and unlimited access to your return (for a $29.99 charge), it's better than ever. I see no reason to buy the boxed version for anyone who has a simple return to file; in fact, even if your tax return is complex, you can still do it online I highly recommend paying the extra $29.99 for unlimited access to your return for those who have students in coillege since you may need access to it for FAFSA filing. Overall, nothing beats TurboTax for filing taxes! February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much improved!!! I used Turbo Tax since its inception until last year. I was frustrated with certain aspects. Mainly, not being able to file my NYS taxes for free without a song & dance followed by mega red tape!! So i used a different online filing software. Well, I decided to give it another try this year and was over excited when logging on to see the free state tax filing. Also, the guidance and q & a have much improved. It was so simple and painless. I had just one problem regarding 'disability' payments for 2014 for my husband regarding SSDI on my NYS form but I muddled through and all seems to be accepted and on its way! February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest Refund Ever!!! I never really write reviews but I had to for TurboTax. I am a complete math flunky so I have doing my taxes. I did them on Turbo Tax last year and they remembered all of my information. Even that annoying state pin number I have to look up every single year. Even though I had moved and had to edit some information, it was super easy. I am confident that all the information is correct. What I really appreciated is that it had simple explanations and definitions of all of the options you were 100% of what applied to you and what didn't. Will of course recommend to friends and family and will use again next year. February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Simple, less than 20 mins I've always used TurboTax E-File, the plus version but this year was incredibly easy. Everything is simplified, the user interface is impressively responsive, everything corrects itself. You start entering information and it adds any of the punctuation marks necessary, real attention too the small things which make a huge difference. I love that they really try to get the most out of your return, scanning for deductions you wouldn't even believe you qualify for. I know this totally sounds like marketing garble, but honestly it's the easiest tax return I've ever filed, even with deductions and a semi complex w2. January 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by overall I like using turbo tax, however this year I used the upgraded version for 29.99 and things seemed to be more complex than the previous years. There were new areas that confused me a little bit but in the end I was able to figure it out. I ended up having a friend help me out to make sure I was doing it correctly. Honestly, there were things from the previous year that I did not remember (such as which school credit I received) so it would be nice in the future if that was somehow included in the 29.99 package. I will continue to use turbo tax because it is always fairly easy and I have never had an issue. February 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbotax plus review I paid extra for the turbo tax plus and it was supposed to import my w2's and it did not. Taxes take to long, I wanted to import this info and when it did not import I tried to go back and change to the free option and it would not let me. This not very customer service friendly. My wife used to do our taxes and last year I started doing them with Turbo Tax, last year I used the free version, and this year I chose to pay and had to imput the w2 info. Next year I will review other tax filling options! If it couldn't import the info there should be no charge. All that other stuff is not anything I was interested in, March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprised this Year I've used Turbo Tax for years and have never had a problem with it. So easy to use, however, this year, after going through the process, once I got to the end and got ready to send, I found that my basic edition which I had started with had turned into the Plus edition, and charged me an extra $30.00. I checked to see if I could go back and change it, bu the only way to do that is to wipe your work clean and start over. Too much involved to do that, so I paid the $59.99. It would have been cheaper to take my information to H & R Block and have them do it all for me! The one disappointment in years of using Turbo Tax. March 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by "The Best of All the Rest!" I just want to thank you Turbo Tax for always making me understand whats going on with my Taxes, step-by-step! I mean i closed out due to a form but you download the form and walked me through it and i made thinkg harder for myself by no letting you "Fix-It." I tried to fix myself and wasted money by downing loading the fomr and sending it Certified, came back to my Turbo website and sure enough you had the form available for me all the time! Turbo Tax never fails you and what they state is true they walk you through each step and the make you understand. Just make sure to read! Blessings Turbo Tax for being #1!!!! February 9, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Charged for TurboTax Plus 29.99 I didn't select TurboTax Plus as an option along the way and somehow when I got done I was charged $29.99 for it. So in addition to the $27.99 to file my State tax return (which I don't dispute) I was also charged for some upgrade I didn't intentionally pick or need. I made it through the whole process avoiding the pop-ups prompting upgrades from the free federal basic one I was using. I am not happy that I just spent and additional $30 dollars and didn't even see any benefit and feel like they slipped that in once it was too late! Grrrrr TurboTax, you used to be better than that!! No wonder people hate tax season. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Tax Experience of my Adult Life I was hesitant to try online filing. I've always purchased a copy of your competitor's software in the past. But 2012 and 2013 had errors in my returns and so many updates and error codes I couldn't keep them straight! My girlfriend has used TurboTax online the passed several years and swears by it, so I took her advice this year and..........It Was Amazing! So fast, in plain English, and I didn't end up with a headache after I was finished. By far and away the best tax prep experience I've had since I started my first job, and had to file my first return, at age 16. I will recommend this product to everyone I know! January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Amazing I've used TurboTax for three years now, and I can't imagine filing my taxes any other way. Not only do they make it quick and easy, but somehow TurboTax makes it FUN. They're also sure to include definitions of words and terms that you may not understand throughout the filing process. If you have little or no experience filling your taxes then TurboTax is your solution. Never in a million years did I think I'd be able to get my tax refunds on my own at first, and yet I've been able to do it three times now! Thank you TurboTax for your amazing service; I look forward to filling my taxes again with your help next year! January 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ehhhh! They worked hard on the gamification this year. Making it look way more user friendly and a lot more intuitive. However on Question 12, 17 and 18 it prompted me to double enter the numbers which almost made my state return -$2,844 when I was due back $450 I knew this was a mistake because I claimed 0 as always and I should be getting a return. This happened shortly after 9pm which is apparently after their business hours so I had no luck getting the help desk. Which in previous years was 24 hours. So I was on my own to figure out the problem. This could have been a very expensive problem that I hope others do not make. January 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Helpful There's really nothing bad I can say about Turbo Tax. I almost wanted to complain about the price, but really, for what you're getting, I'd say it's worth it. The layout of the system is really easy to navigate, lots of links for explanation of terms, a handy faq just a click away. Really just the easiest time I've had filing my taxes, even when my situation is a little more complicated than usual. And, when I was active duty, they showed awesome support for the troops by doing E1-E5 for free, which is very impressive, and very much appreciated. Definitely five star service, and I will certainly be returning next year. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A program that understands the ACA With the exception of all the blurbs trying to get you to upgrade and the difficulty finding the Free program to begin with, this is without a doubt the best program on the market. I tried 4 other "top" programs and they all had glitches with their Affordable Care Act. My kids were covered all year but I was covered only part of the year and the other programs were all messed up. They kept asking about the kids and not me. Then said I would owe a penalty even though I met the exemptions. Turbo Tax nailed it and explained it and had a very basic calendar to figure it out. They even figured which exemption I qualified for. January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greatest tax system ever!!! I loved this product it was super fast, easy and the best part I was able to do it from the comfort of my home. They take you step by step through every possible thing so you get all the money you are suppose to. They offer a free federal tax filing option and charge a small amount for your state but you can always upgrade for more benefits and options! After an easy and pleasant filing experience they went above and beyond by letting me pay straight out of my refund! Plus they let you choose how you get your refund back. You can get it on a card or even direct deposit. TurboTax is the tax service I'll use from now on!!! February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple, fast, and totally painless This year was one of my more detailed tax returns that I've had to file. I changed jobs three times and took a retirement distribution so I was a little nervous that I was going to have some difficulty in filing this year by myself. To my surprise, this year was just as easy as any other year. All the additional information that I had to fill out was very easy to find, easy to complete, and TurboTax made sure that all of the information I was inputting was accurate to ensure my maximum refund was reached. Overall, I couldn't have been more satisfied with the process and the results of my experience with TurboTax this year. March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very good Experience Overall I found the Turbo Tax system and experience to be very helpful and efficient at filing my simple tax return. I appreciate that everything can be done electronically. I found myself fumbling though to look for my 2013 tax return when asked for it, only to realize that I had accidentally said yes to a question instead of no. I was especially confused because I thought that TurboTax had electronically stored my previous state return with the fee I paid last year. On a positive note, I was excited to see that my current return also has information from the past two returns on it as part of a 5-year snapshot. Very cool. January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Rocked my Refund I love it because it is so easy to do. In the past, I've used Tax Preparation Service, I've also used Professional CPA ... etc. The last three years, I've been using TurboTax for FREE and it's been the easiest thing to do. I didn't even have to leave my house to visit the accountant, i don't have to go back to pick up the Return, and I don't have to PAY, it's FREE !!! This year, I used the TurboTax Plus. For an extra $29.99, it has never been easier and I got my tax return done, it rocked my refund, e-filed, printed my copy and received a confirmation email of submitting all in less than one hour. I just love, love, love it. February 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Denied the TurboTax plus yet was charged for it. Easy to use and walked me through the process, which was helpful, but I never agreed to use the turbo plus until I was being charged for it. Several pop ups tried to lure me into upgrading to the advanced service, but each time I denied it. Then at the very end, I was blind sided with the advanced service fee(that I never used) AND a state filing fee (never mentioned). Definitely will tell my friends that they should expect over $50 sneaky fees before they use Turbotax. Really frustrating when I am a single mom, student and don't have 2 pennies to rub together right now only to have $50 be taken before I even see a cent. UGH. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it Despite the fact I never get a refund because my company's accounting is just too good, the friendly UI of TurboTax lessens the burden of this yearly chore and is somewhat enjoyable when I have the right tunes on in the background. I can always count on the UI's attention to detail, easy to follow guidance, and ability to prevent me from entering invalid data. The one nit I have about doing taxes this year is that I wish I could have just opted for the standard deduction up front and skipped the deduction interviews altogether. If there was an option to do that, it wasn't obvious enough to me. But great job as always. Cheers! February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service! I have used Turbo Tax since my first job in 2006. I look forward to easily preparing my taxes every year without the hassle of going to a store, waiting in line amongst a hundred other people hungry for their money. Knowing that I can access it while at home and take a break and come back to my saved information is definitely a plus. I had an issue this year with my Kansas state return which I have never had to file due to living in Texas and I tried looking for answers through the website, but didn't get the right answer. I ultimately deleted my state return and started over and it all worked out. And it's done. Thanks TurboTax! March 10, 2015
  • 2015-03-31T12:17:40.606-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-220, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_11402, tr_11402
  • loc_en_US, sid_200_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 218 219 220 221 222 ... 224 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.