TurboTax Basic Online
Customer Ratings - Page 213 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is online tax software and the easy way to file taxes. It asks simple questions for easy income tax preparation. Try TurboTax for FREE. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Camper TurboTax was really a great way to file my own taxes. It asked all of the questions for me, and led me step-by-step in a fashion that was simple and to-the-point. Every step was explained, and the website is incredibly easy to navigate. This is the first time that I've filed my own taxes, and I was really surprised at how easy TurboTax made it. I received a great return, as well. It's fun to watch your returns go up as you enter data. Would definitely recommend to a friend - or a stranger! February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Done in less than 30 minutes I've been using Turbo Tax for 15 years to file my personal taxes. I keep coming back because it's easy to use, extremely user friendly. I wasn't thrilled about having to pay extra to make my past refunds available to me online (it was provided for free the first couple of years) but the times change and inflation catches up to everyone. I recommend Turbo Tax to anyone that is filing a basic return that doesn't want to waste hours on paperwork, or pay a third party person to do it for them. January 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easier than IRS I like using this software because I can see the step whereas tax prepares are somewhat stoic after dealing with so many numbers and people all day. Also this allows me to get more of my money back. This year I was only suppose to pay $29.99 for the Turbo plus which covers filing cost although it says no state or federal fees for preparation. My state refund said I was to receive $1028, but without explanation it went down to $959 and I did not order anything else. I was very disappointed. January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hassle Free! At first, I could not log in to my account, and tried several other sites. But each site made it so complicated (especially when you get to proof of insurance) that I would just try another site. Eventually, it dawned on me to try a different browser. Finally I was able to go to Turbo Tax and the way this site was designed made it so easy to navigate and understand all the aspects of filing a return. I would recommend Turbo Tax to everyone and I will be back next year! Thank you, Turbo Tax!! February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast. Easy. Great This program is great, easy to use. The simple style it has makes it easy to use for anyone, and looks good. The only problem I have is the care provider. It doesn't have an out of state option. My little brothers and sisters live in another country, and i send them money through a friend, i feel if they had and out of state option i could have gotten a lot more money back, but there is no other way i could have filed them. All in all its still a great program, and i will continue to use it. March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great! While filing my return was quite simple and easy, it wracked up charges relatively quickly; I thought I had opted for the free version of TurboTax, but by the time I had filed, I had wracked up a little under 60 dollars in fees. It's not too big of a deal as it came out of my return and I have the luxury to lose the money, but it would have been nice if the system had detailed doing what incurred which cost; I'm sure I'll be glad I "spent" the money, I just wish I knew when it had been spent. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by What an Experience! This is my first time filing my taxes and it was an amazing and easy experience. I had a lot of questions and I was slightly lost but, all the helpful links that were around the options made it simple and a breeze to get it done. The TurboTax PLUS seems worth the money so, I went for it as well as the IRS protection especially since I'm a first time filler. To know that if the IRS has questions that TurboTax will handle everything for me makes my life a lot easier. Thanks TurboTax! *Wink Face February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it I been using TurboTax for the last ten years and I love it, it makes my taxes so easy. I tried H&R Block the other year because I had an issue I thought an actual accountant could fix, but they couldn't help me. Searching TurboTax's help section for a few days got me the information I needed and not only did I get back $3000 I would have missed on, I didn't need to pay H&R Block's fee for an amended tax return. I wont hesitate in recommending TurboTax to anyone, they are well worth the money. January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by super easy This was my first time using turbotax, I'm always nervous about using the internet to do personal business but a few people from work told me turbotax is fast and easy and I went to liberty last year and they were so unprofessional and rude that I hope I'll never have to file with them again. If everything goes smooth with turbotax and my return, I'll be using it every year and recommending it to everyone, it truly was easy and the step by step breakdown was thorough but still fast. thank you! February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Simple Excellent I have been using TurboTax for years and the process has always been easy to follow, but this year it seems to have been the most simple process I have gone through. The simple explanations and clear directions takes the panic or stress of filing taxes to a simple task completed in about 30 minutes. If all online forms were as easy to complete as this process, efficiency would be a welcomed normalcy. Thank you for this service and I am looking forward to submitting my taxes with you next year! January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank for being there =) I have used TurboTax for years and continue to be pleased. I trust you guys. I've compared your numbers and H&R Block and you are always within $10 of the final outcome. You are fun, easy to understand and you give me the freedom to be a dunce in my own home and still get the job done. Additionally, I have moved from my little town and I don't know who to trust anymore. With this, I don't have to worry because I already know You. Thank you, once again, for great service! You Are my Tax People! February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a turbo boost with Turbo Tax I paid someone $275 in a previous tax year to prepare my taxes. Turbo Tax is free for the average taxpayer. There is a small fee of $29.00 for using Turbo Tax Plus. The great news is .... Turbo Tax allowed me to have the fee deducted from refund. So easy to use and their program catches those little mistakes one might overlook. This tax software is great. It is so simple to use, I think anyone with an education level above grade school could use this program. Thanks, Turbo tax, you made my day. March 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Was going great... So everything was going great up until it came to the part where it showed my balance. I was OK pay the 27 or so dollars that it takes, but then it charged me for something I did not even use witch was another 25 something dollars and see how my return was already low this really made me upset. I thought this was the best way to do taxes but if this company is going to take away more of my tax return then I get for myself id rather deal with someone in person instead of the employees at TurboTax. March 19, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Easy to Use - More Expensive than Tax Slayer I have always used Turbo Tax. Ever since I started filing my taxes. I have always found the site easy to use and comprehensive. My step-daughter asked me to help her with her tax returns this year and she wanted to use Tax Slayer because there is no additional fee to pay to file your state income tax using money from your refund. Since I used Turbo Tax; I paid more than $30 than I would have had to pay using Tax Slayer. If Turbo Tax does not change this policy; I will not be using them again. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazingly Helpful I LOVE TurboTax. Whenever I have a friend trying to decide where to file, I tell them about TurboTax. I hate filing taxes, and I know little to nothing about the entire process. TurboTax baby's me through the entire process, which is great! It helps me to make triple and quadruple sure that I didn't make any mistakes. The only downside, is it tends to feel like it takes FOREVER to do. But that is only because they are trying to exhaust every possible chance to get you more money. Love these guys. February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleased with my refund I've used turbo tax since 2005 now, and have always been satisfiied with the results. And I think Turbo Tax is cheaper than many refund companies out there. Before I started using Turbo Tax I went to both Jachson Hewitt and H&R Block and they both charged much more. I think the only real difference is with Turbo Tax you type in the information instead of somebody being paid by a company. I'll spend a couple hours of my time to save $40-$60 dollars to file my returns. I highly recommend Turbo Tax. February 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Piece of Cake The pros and cons say it all. TurboTax is quick and painless and so user friendly. It makes me feel relaxed when filing my taxes. Unfortunately I knocked a star off because although I understand it's a site looking for a profit, I was put off by the "upgrade" services and that you have to pay to have your state taxes file with federal. It was worth the convenience and ease however, and as a young college student I don't really know what other services cost anyway. This may just be the best option around. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Convenient I like TurboTax because it is easy to file your Federal and State tax returns. Their process guides you through every step and finds deductions and other things that maybe even a human tax preparer would not look for. It's convenient, since you do it on your own time. It's affordable, since you probably won't be paying for extra service fees that human tax preparers charge (e.g. for using their office, printing your returns, etc.). I definitely recommend using TurboTax, even for complicated returns! February 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly! I used TurboTax for the first time last year and found it relatively easy to use. It walks you through step-by-step and makes sure everything is accurate. It has mini FAQ buttons next to every option so that you can be sure what they mean. It is definitely user friendly and gave me the option of paying for the services via my refund. I recommend TurboTax to all of my friends who are in college that are intimidated by filing their taxes without the supervision of their parents or other tax preparers! January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by sigh The site is pleasant to look at, with large icons and letters. Each page was set up in the same basic format so I did not "get lost." The software anticipates what you might need to ask. Constant review to assure accuracy. immediate, and understandable answers to my questions. The "guidance" feature made sure I was always moving forward; no need to search back and forth for information or clues. I feel completely confident my returns are correct, but if there were a problem I know I will be covered. January 18, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Thorough but SLOW It seems like this product covers all situations and has little explanations where needed. I really like that it stores your old returns for retrieval at any time, that it brings last years info onto a new return, and compares last year values to the new return. It does seem to "lock up" frequently while moving from one screen to the next. I closed the browser several times and when I logged in again, it would go through better for a while. 4 hours for a 1040EZ and would not let me do a state return. March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy as Pie!!! I love how easy it is to file my return and how turbo tax has my benefits in mind they take it slow with one question at a time making it easy to do and not wasting tons of money on other tax refund spots. I would recommend this to all my family because it works with you step by step and protects your return and checks to make sure you are getting the most back.... ever since I started using TurboTax I would never do it any other way and have convinced all my family and friends to start using it too. February 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Fees Very easy and self explanatory! However, I Did not like the hidden fees that I had to pay Turbo Tax & Turbo Tax Plus. The site led me to believe that I was making a 1 time payment of $27.99 for filing my State Taxes. By the time the taxes were ready to file, I owed turbo tax over $50.00. I have used turbo tax in the past few years and I have been able to file online by myself.. In fact, the site is so easy to use that I had to double check and make sure I didn't make any mistakes. Very User friendly! March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would recommend Overall turbo tax is a great product. I do wish the help tabs (the hyperlinks for "what does this mean") were viewable in mobile. Some I could read because they were short. If they required any scrolling, I could only scroll the main screen (behind the linked help paragraph) but not the actual help descriptions. Start to finish it took me less than an hour, assisted by importing last years info from previously filing with turbo tax. It was a pretty low stress means of filing. So glad to have it done! January 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extra charge I am very upset that every time I would say I don't want the TurboTax Plus, you would charge me for it anyway. All I wanted to do was file my taxes. I don't need to be able to keep tabs on everything online and I did NOT want it. But you guys decided to charge me anyways. I even cleared everything and started completely over just to make sure I didn't accidentally click the wrong button, yet I still got charged for the Plus. I am not happy with this and I don't think I will be choosing you guys again. February 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by With Ezzzz Over all experience with Turbo Tax was awesome. I realized I have been paying accountants 300 plus dollars to complete my taxes at service centers for many years. The protection of my information was outstanding. And how my documents were able to be retrieved from my employer was SUPER! I am very happy I allowed my other half and Turbo tax to talk me into keeping whats mine since I worked so hard all year to get it. Thank you alot Turbo Tax Team!!! Looking forward to recieveing my return hassel free! January 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Bad. All in all Turbo Tax is a very useful and efficient tool. However, the pretend blue bars that "guarantee" the "maximum refund" are completely useless. A loading screen does not make me feel more comfortable that I'm receiving the most accurate refund. Especially when my income and tax withholds have increased dramatically since last year, yet my refund was less. Show me facts; not "analyzing" bars. In conclusion: It's cheap, easy, and fast. Do I trust the "100% Accuracy Guarantee"? Not by a long shot. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was too easy This was my first time using turbo tax and I expected that I would need help but that was not the case. It almost felt like a video game. Where each step you take, feels like your leveling up and gaining new experience. And by the end of it, I realized how much experience I had actually gained working an entire year. Getting money back was like beating the final boss and grabbing the loot. All in all, I had a really great time and would definitely recommend this to anyone who hasn't done taxes before. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by so happy! I have used H&R for years. A Family member suggested i try Turbo Tax last year. i was leary. i started and stopped about 3 times before i filed. it was simple.. and questions were easily answered with the search engine. even when i typed a lengthy question.. the answers were right there. I had some changes in my filing situations this year... but it was so easy. Everything was saved from last year and imported.. added the new changes.. and it was done. it is quick and simple, and i trust this process! January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Simple! This was my first time doing my taxes by myself! With 4 W2 forms and 2 other forms, I was worried. Luckily my mother had helped me out with turbo tax last year. It saved all of my information from last year and asked a lot of great details.It was so simple that anyone could do this by themselves. Only con was that at one point I went in a circle, but I believe TurboTax was simply making sure everything was correct. I feel confident that I got my maximum return! Super happy and will use again and again February 19, 2015
  • 2015-03-30T12:09:39.905-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-213, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_11302, tr_11302
  • loc_en_US, sid_200_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 211 212 213 214 215 ... 222 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.