1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 55 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182905 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182894 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by did not pull up last yr. tax said I had e-filed ck 5 days later said I have not yet filed April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax seems like a really great company but I would ditch the add-ons for buying things like Amazon Gift Cards. In my opinion, it makes the process seem a little unprofessional. Otherwise all is well. Thanks again, Ben April 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst thing ever. I will NEVER be using this again. They gave me the wrong federal tax amount that I was supposed to get back. They told me I was getting $1000 more back than what the government gave me. Also, to this day, they can't get my state taxes correct. Worst program known to man. I will never be using turbotax again and neither will anyone I know. Thanks a lot turbo tax. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Repeat customers I really like that I can do part of it and then log in later to do more and even later to complete it! April 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Confusing treatment of option exercises The gain on my option exercise was reported in my W-2. Turbo Tax separately calculated the gain effectively double counting the gain. I researched this problem through Turbo Tax help, which was no help at all. I tried several times to correct the double count manually but each time I tried to correct the double count, Turbo tax over-rode the correction ad re-calculated the gain a 2nd time. I'm still not sure I've submitted the correct information. The inability to correctly handle option exercises is a serious flaw in the software. Separately, I was as unhappy as everyone else over the initial deletion of Schedule D from the DELUXE package. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly Useful to a Procrastinator I was planning to hire a professional to do my taxes due to a lot of extra factors in 2014, but procrastinated too long. I went ahead and purchased TurboTax Premier and was able to deal with everything very easily myself in just 2 evenings. April 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thank you Got me a refund and helped with errors April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks TurboTax The process is easy thanks to the step by step guidance..... April 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Deb's Review I have used turbo tax for at least 10 years. It is a wonderful software that allows anyone to file their taxes even if they do not know how. The only issue I have with turbo tax is the not knowing what the entire fee is for filing electronically. I knew I was going to be charge a amount for the federal tax and an amount for the state tax. However, I did not know about an addtional charge for requesting a direct deposit. I could have gone to a tax preparer and paid less. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Alwaysthebest! Thank you for your magnificent product! I have used it in 2 countries, and many reasons for taxes, and it is always easy and helpful with turbotax! Maybe you can have a way to access DMV records for deductions of cars, as you do for Income papers? Just my laziness talking. Turbotax will always be my first and only choice! April 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by almost perfect I've used TT before. It's pretty easy to use. In 2013, had a tax preparer ask more questions and take the time to explain why. The "?" buttons help, but aren't the best at explaining. Big reason I don't recommend this is that you cannot change the billing options. I just wanted to file Federal using TT, but was forced to file State taxes with the software. Would be great if I could opt out of a "suggested" software option. Next year I will plan earlier so I can see if other software can produce the same or better results. Maybe I'll buy the CD instead of online program so I know exactly what I'm getting and paying for. April 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by ok this time I guess you just have to know what TT can and can't do. If you live in Va. and work in Md. you have to tell TT that you do not work in a different state from the one you live in. Reciprocal states do not require you to pay taxes to both states. April 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Late anyways! I am upset because I am never late with my Taxes and this year I was. I thought I went through all the steps to make sure I completed it correctly. Went on vacation, when I returned and checked my mail, it was warning me that I has so many days left, but I ended up being late. Now I feel that I will be charged or penalized. April 18, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by fixed return no eic This didn't allow me to go back to change the eic. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by More than I thought used Turbo Tax for many years. keeps getting better. Keep up the good work. April 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nightmare! Really!! Right after e-filing, the Turbo Tax program crashed and wouldn't give me access to my account so I had no way of knowing whether my taxes actually were filed. I also was unable to access my Intuit account to even get into the program to ask questions. I requested a reset of my password, but that was also frozen and would give me an error message. So, my hands were tied with no way of getting back to my account or taxes. Today, April 18, I was able to access my Intuit account and able to check if the taxes were transmitted, and no, they were not. I transmitted them today but now I will owe a penalty. This was such a nightmare to experience. So frustrating!! April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Found Exemptions I didnt Even THINK about I absolutely loved it! This was my first time filing taxes. And the way this past year went, I was confused as to whether or not id claim my brother as a dependent. Turbo tax made it so easy as far as asking detailed questions, and providing helpful descriptions. As a student, and part time worker, trying to help support my family at the same time, Turbo tax helped me recieve the most out of my tax return. April 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gay Couple - Filing in LA It was pretty good. As gay marriage couple in LA, had to prepare multiple forms in order to file. "Fake" Single Fed to use for our LA State filing. Then, Married filing separately and married filing jointly to compare. Would have been much nicer if TurboTax would have figure out a way to make it automatic. And pull from two previously separate accounts into a new single account. I was just prevented from submitting review because the review and title had the term Same-Yex (note I had to change the S to a Y for it to take it). Seriously? April 18, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tough to correct Turbo tax was very friendly all the way to the point where I e filed it. It said everything had been reviewed and was good to go. Unfortunately, my return was almost immediately rejected because I did not have form 8962, the Premium Tax Credit form. It appears that turbo tax, did in fact, do the calculations for the form, but it was not e-filed with the rest of the forms. I could see the individual form that showed numbers that i had previously input as answers to turbo tax questions, but this seemed to not exist when viewing the tax return as a whole- either in the e-format or in the hard copy I printed for my records. Quite frustrating trying to figure out exactly what I needed to do in order to correctly amend my return. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by lifesaver best thing since sliced bread thanks turbo tax! April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EASY!!! Turbo tax makes it easy to do taxes yourself! April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The easy way Turbo Tax is very easy is just like being interviewed by a person and answering the questions. My laptop crashed so I just grabbed my smartphone and completed my taxes didn't lose any information. April 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Marvelous except for one big and one small problem My problems are these: 1. In doing my son's taxes, Turbo Tax insisted on entering $500 as the amount of federal taxes withheld even though the amount entered on the W-2 was $670. It did not accept the override, so I could not file electronically. 2. This happens each year. We pay our son to take care of us (we're 91 and 92) and file Schedule H. Even though I handle this and I am the contact person, Sch. H does not let me put my name at the top; it uses my husband's name since he is the taxpayer--and I am the spouse. I think it should allow the person officially listed to be entered--although the IRS has not protested so far. April 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissatisfied with privacy code I keep getting my filed taxes kicked back due to a PIN number issue. The IRS provided me with a 6 digit number but turbo tax only allows me to input 5 numbers. Then, I went online and got another PIN number and input that. I got kicked out for that also. I tried to put in my 6 digit pin again and it would only take 5 numbers, What the heck is going on?????????? April 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo tax Doing my taxes by myself was really fast and easy. The only thing i didnt like was i didnt want to pay an extra 29.99$ for my taxes. I hit the FREE turbo tax and they charged me 60.00$. Why say its free if its really not? Overall i will never go back to having my taxes prepared for me. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, Fast, and Easy It is a fantastic service. Fast and easy and trustworthy. Explanations are clear and understandable. Opportunities to double, triple, check your work. It's so easy, you kind of go in automatic mode and that could be a problem, if you click too quickly and don't think about what you're doing. You might lose a deduction. April 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by most popular tax program I will use turbotax probably til the day I die or my taxes get complicated enough for a CPA. That said, this 2014 tax year both state tax returns i filed had glitches requiring amended returns. Couldn't correct them & had to start a new return to get corrected data. Will not spend the money to e-file state taxes again. Years past state tax returns had minimum questions. What happened? Yes i will still use the state tax option, but double check the data before mailing. I do NOT like IntuitUpdateService running on my computer in the background even after adjusting Preferences to Not look for updates. This was a serious security vulnerability & I have removed the files. April 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by absolutely terrible Today is the 18th and the program is stipp going in a circle and will NOT let me filemy return. Will not use again and will advise others not to use it . Refer to service files 411271660 and 411381694. The people were excellent. I work during your hours of operation and cannot try to get this done during that time. I finally mailed both federal and state forms,; after paying TurboTax. the program is so good that my name is rejected "can only be letters or numbers" April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turn-key Solution - Thoroughly Comprehensive Turbotax is a reliable and trusted solution for completion of my family's income taxes. I depend upon the "guide me" sections and appreciate the comparison snapshot from year to year as well as the indications of audit risk and support. April 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by REFUN WAS EASY TO FOLLOW THE "GUIDE" ME FUNCTION, COVERED ALL MY NEEDS THE CHANCE OF AUDIT METER MADE ME FEEL VERY COMFORTABLE April 18, 2015
  • 2015-09-04T11:52:49.459-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-55, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182894, tr_182894
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 53 54 55 56 57 ... 3820 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.