1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 4 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181588 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent software and service for Tax filing Using Turbo Tax since 2007 for Personal and Business. Very satisfied with the software than other tax provider. May 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by State Tax & Support I kept trying to download my state.... but I gave up. I'll file directly with the state to avoid the insanity of your website. When I looked for a phone number to call....I kept getting a reference to M-F 8-5 Pacific time. Really....do you think you could at least list the number so I could call between those hours? I'm very, very disappointed after years and years of doing my taxes with Turbo Tax. May 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Missing some key features Turbotax (premier, download version) did not prompt me to enter 1099-R information. It did not tie a 1099-C with form 982, nor did it provide any guidance on whteher or not the 1099-C should be included if I used the form 982. I first tried Turbotax premier online and was informed that the form 982 need required the download/CD version. Most of this info was found in the forums and not in the program itself. Next year I plan to try TaxSlayer. May 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Help my taxes prep I was disappointed with the guidance provided me while filling the state tax for CA. Software did not coach me or provided detailed information when I was filling the tax. Very vague and let me have to "guess" the correct answers. May 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tax Professionals only Even though the steps are detailed, this product is not for the average user. One still needs to be a tax professional to use it. I still needed the services of a CPA in filing for my business. May 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy! Filing my tax returns was extremely easy this way and very self explanatory. I would recommend this to anyone, especially people who are new to filing taxes. May 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by um, thanks I guess It's great how you move through the filing process quickly and easily, explaining everything. great that you try to get the biggest refund possible. but it's incredibly frustrating to be told upfront that I can file for free and then end up with a $60 fee. one of which i can't get out of for state (i'd still file if you were upfront with that fee- now I want to find someone else) and the other you just blanket tell me I'm required to pay without explanation. incredibly frustrating and builds no trust with customers. May 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax My dad suggested to me to use this software. He showed me how easy to use and how worry free this software is. May 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Slow I've used Turbo Tax for 3 years and never had a problem. This year the program ran extremely slow. I lost my place several times and had to reenter information. May 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Change Didn't like the change in capabilities and mid year correction to adjust capabilities. If you need a price increase do it and let us make a choice. Don't downscale capabilities forcing an upgrade. At least you made it right in the end. The program is good and helps find all items needed. May 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Confused & Disappointed This is not a smiling review, I thought I had completed the return over 2 weeks ago and have been waiting for my refund, usually it shows in my bank acct within 2 weeks of filing, going on 3 weeks, I checked back through my emails and finding no confirmation from turbotax that my return had been filed. I returned to the website and found it was apparently not completed and filed? and I had to repeat the finalization process... I hope I didnt file twice? If I did will it cause my first one to fail? & how come I didnt receive a confirmation email that it was filed & sent the first time? IDK? what to do at this point? just wait? May 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Product Terrific; Add on Fees Annoying I've been using TurboTax since the product came out and each year it has become easier and more helpful to use. As a past user, there are a few spots that don't carry into the following years' return, but most due; a real time saver. Because I have to file two state returns, the cost of the extra state return is prohibitively high compared to the cost of the initial fed and state program. Additionally, having to pay an additional $25 to file the second state return electronically is almost to make one file by paper. Add in the $45 cost for the Tax Defender program and one has to ask if using a tax preparer might be just as cost effective, especially when the time to complete the process is considered. May 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by My Taxes Were Filed Late Because of a TECH ERROR I filled out the paper work to efile in March. In May, I was wondering why I hadn't seen my return yet. I had done everything and even printed off a copy of my paperwork for myself. After looking back at my account, I realized that for some reason my paperwork never got filed. Now, I have to pay a penalty because the system had an error. NEVER USING AGAIN. May 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Awesome I love this program. I've tried others but nothing beats TurboTax. You even learn stuff about taxes as you go through it and read help topics. No other program makes it this easy. May 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall, TurboTax is my favorite way to file. I love the e-file. May 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by overall the app Rocks..I didn't like the new Overall the app Rocks..I didn't like the new look of the app....specifically not being able to see my refund amount as I enter information and being to see the numbers go up and down. Also I prefer the old way when the screen moved on after I answer a question or enter information. Note I have to Swype to the next page risking skipping a page whereas before before after you answer a question the app would automatically take u where u needed to go. Also if I pay to have my taxes done on this app I think they should be accessible for as long as u continue to use your account. May 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Gets the job done...eventually Federal very complete with very good error check and convenient importing. Context-sensitive help hasn't kept up with the ever increasing complexities--typically too vague to be of much help. Still no straightforward way to handle publicly traded partnership K-1's that you sell during the tax year. Workarounds still needed. Program should have input for the sales info provided by the partnership in their K-1 package and a built-in mechanism to prevent duplication of the sale with the 1099-B data from the broker. Expense of e-filing the state return is unjustified after paying so much for the Premier program needed to handle investments. State return for Oregon has a bug in the info sheet where Federal Pension income is adjusted for Oregon. Data carries here from prior year--in duplicate--and there's no way to get rid of the duplicate without overriding. User should be able to delete the duplicate payer if needed without overriding. Oregon return context sensitive help is woefully inadequate. You need to consult Oregon's Pub 17 1/2 to get the arcane addition and subtraction codes presented in a usable fashion; there should be direct links to that pub in the TT Oregon software. May 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by per your request I'm satisfied with the 2014 results. Keep up the good work. May 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and fast Turbo tax was able to get me more money than I expected! I had no Idea I could get the deductions they found for me! What a great experience! May 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not as bad as it seems I get a headache every time I even think about taxes but that is because I never have all my forms handy and have to go into several websites or dig through old mail. The questions at the top right are very helpful when you know what you want answered. Overall I really like that it is simple and easy, for the most part. May 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like Night and Day! We started doing pour taxes with another provider from the IRS site. Thankfully, whenever I hit the "Submit" button it would kick me back to the homepage. Otherwise, I never would've move to T. Tax. Oh yeah....after several attempts to fix this myself, my only other choice was......ready for this? I would have to FAX a copy of my driver's license or Social Security card (yeah, right!) to their support center that was, of course, closed for the weekend. Since we don't have a FAX machine at home, we would've had to stop the filing and waited until Monday to go to FEDEX and pay to have it faxed. That was the last straw, etc. May 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by almost everything went smoothly BUT! Everything went well except, when I attempted to submit, turbo tax didn't recognize my submission. Being a first time user I did not understand that it wasn't submitted to the IRS. This was 4/06/15. Its now 5/03/15. When I went to see where my refund was, I found it was never submitted! I hope this doesn't affect anything May 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes life easier Have used this software for many years. Was a bit disturbed when they changed the name of the software I needed to file (Personal and Business). I ended up with business only, assuming it included my personal tax return, but it didn't. I had to return and call to get a new order. Don't change the name of the software after all these years Intuit. Otherwise, the best tax filing system and I check them out every few years. May 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by done right again with my complicated life and their expertise accepted 1st try I'll pay the extra to have a positive result May 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Late, but not forgotten.. This is my second year of self-filing, online, tax experience. TURBO TAX is the best!! When you get lost.. just hit the back button or ask a question and you will be saved.. All in, about four hours.. and I spent maybe $120.00.. The idea that you can just sign off, relax, and then come back to the most dreadful, yearly chore is amazing.. The biggest bonus is that it is easy.. and not $400.00 an hour!! Just try it once, you will be connected.. R May 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible I was charged an extra $29.99 for Turbo Tax PLUS and I didn't ask or upgrade to that and wonder how am I going to get my refund back? May 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks a MILLION I am not sure I have every situation covered, might be some possible deductions BUT so TURBO TAX uses simple and reassuring language. I have a masters degree but when it comes to taxes I AM DUMB. Thank you TT May 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a win Been using Turbo Tax who whole adult life wouldn't trade it for a tax "expert" ever. They make it simply enough that anyone can do it at their own pace and feel confident that they did it well. May 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by paid to much I think the only way to make doing your taxes easier than using turbo tax is to have someone else do them for you May 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The easiest file of my life Compared to H&R Block, this site is like a stroll on the beach. Plus I know I got the most of my refund. I know how I will be filing from now on! May 2, 2015
  • 2015-05-06T13:41:33.014-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_181542, tr_181542
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 3792 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.