1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 4 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182852 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182850 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent It went smoothly, only took me 40 minutes. I spent more time worrying about having to do taxes than doing them! August 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Too Busy to Fool Around Overall, the 2014 Turbo Tax program was more comprehensive and easier to use, as I found it convenient to go from the narrated step-by-step method of data entry, to the quicker filling in of data worksheet forms. All other background operation processes were very smooth and ran without a hitch. August 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Frustrating First I had to buy and install new operating system just to make it work. Then I couldn't download last year's information. Then I had to upgrade from TurboTax Deluxe to Premier for $30.00 for the same things I did last year. And it made no difference in my taxes. Also you're supposed to be able to take up where you left off. Every time I did that it seemed to repeat several steps. Start early to deal with problems/delays! August 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by loss i have used turbo tax for several years now; each year is an improvement, but i wish i did not have to reanswer all the questions when i go back and correct something i.e. on 1099R, it always asks about IRA when entering a employers: retirement plan. August 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Seniors Very helpful with schedule C and In Home Business Office. August 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than an accountant Used Turbo tax for last 10 years and will continue going forward. Great program with good updating to be 100% on top of existing IRS "do's and don'ts's" The program allows a layman (non-accountant) to be well versed in tax law and allowable deductions. August 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I was double billed by turbo tax in 2014. Profile info did not auto populate as I would expect, using this year after year. August 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by MLPs: Even though the tax support packages provide data on the basis and how much is considered Ordinary Income, is this sufficient for IRS? What if one has an unusual event with regard to Foreign Tax Credits (i.e., having to pay a foreign government on assets in U.S.), is there any where to go to get answers? August 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use with access to several levels of help Hard to imagine who could want more detail or help as an individual (not filing for own company). Constant updates, videos, examples, etc. August 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Business section For the most part this is the easiest tax software to use. However, navigation needs improvement. If you need to go back and check an entry it is nearly impossible to find where it was located. Bookmarking it is not really helpful for some reason. If you tell it to walk you through the entire section again, you will have to answer many of the questions all over again. That is a huge pain in the neck! If i have already answered yes or no to a question, it should save that answer! It does in some places and not in others. (i.e. did you document your mileage) Deprecation needs more guidance!!! (i.e AMT value) August 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lots of Returns to File I have used Turbotax for close to 20 years and have been very satisfied. My kids now live in three different states, and they charged my $43 for the state and then another $25 to file it. $68 is too much to file a state tax return! August 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I always like it I could not stop use it or change to different softwares since I started to use TurboTax over 12 years ago. I like it and so easier to use, convenient and quick. August 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by not a happy camper YOU CAN NEVER GET ANY HELP WHEN THE SOFTWARE GLITCHES August 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Program I've been using Turbotax for years and it just keeps getting easier and better. August 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lacking I was unable to find any way of writing a combination of (1) the program and (2) the data to a DVD. August 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First preparation of partnership return was easy! First time preparation of Form 1065 with Turbo Tax Business was a breeze! August 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just short of perfection I do not need state returns from states other than my home state because I was part of a consolidated return filed by my employer for those states. These should be an opt out button to cover this. But generally, I love TT. August 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Product I have used TurboTax for more than 10 years - and also helped family when they used other products. When comparing I find TurboTax is always the best tax preparation software! This year had to reinstall after going to Win 10 and then back to Win 7 - engaged the support team / process took less than 10 minutes. Only negative found this year - navigation to Form 8379 was not clear - had to skip thru another form ("continue") to reach the 8379. August 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Used to love what I now hate If I could find some other software that like Turbo Tax uxed to be, I'd switch in a minute. It's way too cumbersome now. August 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I like turbo tax. It walks me through the questions I need to answer to get the best return for the Federal tax return. The State returns are more confusing on what is actually required and it was a little difficult getting answers to the questions that covered my concerns. I had to go out to the actual state site for information sometimes. August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good, but some silly stuff needs to be fixed I buy this version because we have rental properties. Why can't the system recognize one vehicle being used for all four properties? The net result is my entering very similar numbers for four versions of Form 4562, in order to report on the mileage of my one car. August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved my life (not really but close) I don't have a lot of time to spend on a review but this was easier and cheaper than my accountant and I have confidence that my returns are right. August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Fast This was my first time filing taxes, and I am so glad TurboTax was recommended to me! It was very fast and easy. They walked me through everything, nothing was confusing! August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and understandable My taxes, sadly or luckily depending on your outlook, aren't that complicated. Few dividends, regular write offs. Anything other than that I might have to go to a tax pro. August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Telephone Help Excellent The software changes of the 2014 Turbo Tax were not as user friendly as all the other years I've used this tax preparation program. Some things were confusing in the Primer, and Home and Business that I had to upgrade to. For the first time I had to take advantage of the Contact phone line. Thank God they were there or I would have never completed my taxes, and would have gone to an accounting service. They stayed with me the entire time until my problems were solved. August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Tax Product I like the program overall. It is a very good program, However, one has to stay alert for possible glitches. I noted one earlier in the Ohio (state) part of the return. There is now too much "blind faith" put into the program. It just asks for entries and you must have faith that it will all come out for the best. Usually it works out. __End## August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by We have used Turbo Tax for a number of years. They do a super job keeping up with all of the updates that the IRS generates every week. Easy to use and the community of users is most helpful if you get stuck on out of the run of the mill situations. August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by KISS - Turbo Tax Keeps It Simple and Swift! Filing tax returns could not be any easier. The software is user friendly. It is a great help that no data is lost due to timing out caused by delays while researching for the information and numbers. There is excellent guidance if it is needed. Love it! August 11, 2015
  • 2015-08-28T11:37:32.522-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182850, tr_182850
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 3819 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.