1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 4 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(181897 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great reliable product I've used Turbo Tax since 1991 for personal and various business entities. Although my business taxes are sometimes comple, I've always managed to do my own taxes with the help of these programs. Despite the complexity, I like doing my own taxes because it forces me to understand the accounting in a way that turning it over to a professional would not. After all, I am ultimately responsible for any tax return I sign. I'm not particularly interested in finding questionable ways of tax avoidance or I might seek more advice. Sometimes Turbo-Tax seems to have a bug or two, earlier versions especially seemed to hang up during recalculations and occasionally I have had to begin again on a return when it didn't accept changes properly. But I tend to be forgiving because I can't imagine the programming complexity of keeping up with the changing tax code for 50 states and the IRS. This year I had a complex 1031 exchange that was over two tax periods and for multiple buildings it was not possible to account for this in the step-by-step mode but after a little online research and without too much trouble I was able to accomplish it in the forms mode. I find the online help very limited but it will at least direct me to the appropriate IRS form and there I can find the IRS instructions. I now know a lot more about taxes that I probably ever wanted to know but this knowledge has been incredibly helpful in making business decisions. It was gained simply by working through my taxes with Turbo Tax every year. So I would suggest that any one just starting out might consider doing their taxes from the beginning and over the years as their life and business interests get more complex they will have an increasing knowledge about the tax code as it applies to them. Unfortunately by supporting Turbo Tax we are also unwittingly helping to keep the tax code unnecessarily complex as I understand Intuit has an army of lobbyists in Washington encouraging lawmakers to keep it so. After all what would happen to Intuit if the tax code was so simple we could all fill out a single page form on April 14th? But multiple interests being what they are I doubt that the tax code would simplify even with out Intuit's influence. May 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Refund During info input program kept saying encountered an error and would shut down. Open again continue and shut down. This also happened to someone else who bought from walmart in covington la. He was told it was his computer, but this was also happening to me. I did not call just kept reopening and constantly saving so when it shut down I would start where it quit May 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good explanations in most cases May 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Amended Return I have using TTax for about 10 years. This yearI had a complete printed copy and a Pdf copy by no .tax copy so basically had to completely redo my taxes! Unfortunately, I had deducted the original downloaded copy of TTax before IRS contacted us with a mistake in the estimated tax paid. The we received a late 1099-R that was different from our calculation. I "hope" the amended return is correct but am not confident. In addition, for some reason I was unable to download a copy of TTax 2014 and had to have a technician accomplish that. May 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst experience & I'm an Intuit shareholder May 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product In past years even the basis tax program had all the normal forms required to do personal taxes. This year if you needed schedule D for stock sales ,the next higher program - Premier was required. I believe this is a mistake to force customers to have to buy the more expensive program to get the schedules that used to be included in the deluxe. . You can leave out the hand holding for filling out these forms but include them as in the past. May 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by I have used Turbo tax for the last 17 years. I find this years Turbo tax to be the worst ever!!! May 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by How do you do it? Turbo Tax is harder every year I did not have my year 13 taxes on this computer, that is my fault. I have used TT since yr. 2000 This was the worst by far. After you get my credit card info to pay the taxes why do I need to answer other questions? May 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 Review I e-filed federal separately because I have been unable to pay with a perfectly good credit card for e-filing the state for two days. The problem is still not resolved. This is not rocket science...I pay lots of things over the internet. Turbo Tax used to be good at this kind of stuff. The time wasted fooling with this is such that I may move to a different product next year. May 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simplify My Returm 1040 Efiling pin number should be linked to the person login other than that Turbo Tax is constantly getting simpler to use. May 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by thank god for tubo tax I will always use this system, it feels safe and accurate. May 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Had to pay....first time in years I've used Turbo Tax for 18 years. I do wish it would look at all my old files to identify potential deductions that I haven't claimed in the current year but had claimed in prior years (more than 1 year back#. Wish it would also figure out if formula bugs or tax changes in prior years result in a possible refund from prior years #would need to review old "filed" returns and maybe compare date stamps with any fixes that came out later in that particular tax year that might result in less tax)....this of course would result in an Amendment to prior years. Otherwise, Turbo Tax lives up to its hype...it is very consistent across the years in its wizard driven behavior...the user experience is second to none. May 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax needs a lot of work to make it friendly There is a lot that needs to be done to TurboTax to make it easier and quicker to use. As it is, using the EasyStep can be infuriating to the point of looking for a better application. Among the items that desperately need to be fixed are: 1.) Make editing of previous entries more straight forward and easier. Right now, if one corrects an entry, the long list of questions associated with that entry that had been previously answered is destroyed. The user is then forced to reenter that long list of answers to mostly inane questions. The previous answers to those questions must be preserved in the system and, at least, presented for new approval with only a single key stroke. 2.) There are too many long lists of questions that are repeated in identical form for multiple entries. If a question string has been answered once, those answers must be presented for approval with a single key stroke or edited as required. 3.) Whenever one answers one of the vast number of questions that EasyStep asks, the "continue" button must light up so that a single hit to the return key will advance the application to the next entry. Searching for the "continue" button with a mouse and then activating it is far too time consuming and frustrating to keep customers using TurboTax. 4.) There must be a button in the toolbar that returns the user to where he left off in EasyStep after he has made edits to previous entries. 5.) I was within minutes of submitting an incomplete tax return and generating a near certain audit when I discovered that I had omitted entering a 1099 that I receive every year. I had become falsely reliant on TurboTax to include this entry as it had been entered for several previous years. The failure of TurboTax to transfer my repeated entries from year to year is a reliability/quality control problem that TurboTax needs to investigate and correct. 6.) Now I have another gripe. I just went through the review submittal process to have it all erased because I had not "signed in". There was no place on the review page to do so nor any instructions as to the necessity or the mechanism for doing so. May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This software product is excellent. It checks for errors and gives you the best refund possible within the law. You can feel secure in the software's accuracy. It does the work for you. You become your own tax professional May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Done! May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Making the complex simple! Very easy to use ... you make it easier every year. I used to use taxcut and switched when H&R Block bought it because all they did was try to sell their services through the software. I find Turbo Tax so easy to use. great product May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs work to deal with Non-Resident Alien Spouse Please put continue button on the guided entry menu at top and bottom of page - stop making me scroll to bottom to continue. Please make location of choice buttons static on one page questions. Stop jumping them around on each page. Big issue when dealing with Non-resident alien spouse who does not have a SS or ITIN number. Allow for SS/ITIN space to allow "Non-resident spouse" or auto fill with the question "does spouse have SS or ITIN?" = no I know I have to print and send the return so stop checking for missing SS number if SS = non-resident alien spouse. May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Requires Upgrade to Business Next Year I have used Turbo Tax for years. Sometimes I'm amazed at what a good job it does. Sometimes, when doing uncommon things, I'm frustrated by obscure bugs and lack of clarity about what's happening. Starting next year, california is going to require e-filing of Form 568 (LLC tax and fees). Turbo tax already prepares this form (for a single-member LLC like mine), and I have been printing it out and mailing it to the Franchise Tax Board -- no problem. But now that California says e-filing will be required, TT says I will have to upgrade to Home and Business in order to e-file. I think this is very unreasonable. May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy May 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by In some cases the PA state section would not allow editing of income from interest so I had to fill out and file a paper version. May 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so good Still best way to do taxes if not use accountant. But, this year's version rougher and not as smoothly used as previous years. Some topics-forms such as figuring when estimated paid and calculating penalty were hard to locate--not a good feature of software. May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good - could be better Overall I am very satisfied and would never, ever do my taxes manually nor would I be likely to use any other tax prep software. I wish, however, that there was a place to enter the school taxes and the property taxes separately and that they would then calculate together as one line item. There are a couple other places where this is the case. The less manual addition that needs to be done outside of TT, the more accurate it will be. I also found this year's version a little harder to navigate than previous versions, due to all the "improvements." May 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trouble with K-1 Overall Turbotax did a fine job. It is easy to move around and switch between forms mode and Q&A mode. It struggled when doing K-1 forms from Publicly Traded Partnerships. I was forced to override the results from the sale of one. The capital gains from the K-1 was being double counted due to a downloaded 1099-B from my broker. There was no easy way to link the two to get the correct value. Foreign Tax credit section for K-1s was also cumbersome and difficult to understand. Finally, there is a software bug in turbotax that is rather annoying. Some places in the Q&A I would enter a value, then go back and change it to zero and it wouldn't let me ('Enter a value between 1 and ...). I think I had to go to Forms mode to delete the entry. This happened more than once. May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Complicated I have used Turbo for years and it seems to deal with complicated filings very well. Pays for itself many times over is accountant fees saved ... forget the many man hours it has saved me. May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Turbotax Review Turbotax makes tax filing a painless process. I have used it for years and have found it reliable and easy. May 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not all functions on online version Can't access forms to change items. Caused me to have to file by mail. Don't know why you can't have same options as disc version. May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mom5150 Turbo Tax is amazing in the way it walks you through the whole process and asks questions to clarify if you are eligible for deductions, or reminds you of income you may have forgotten. Specifically stating which ones are uncommon so you're not worried that you should have info that most people don't anyway, is very nerve-settling. I also love the refund calculator showing so you know what every change does to your amount. This year I'm adding each charitable contribution to "It's Deductible Online" so next year the info will just pop on over! May 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by State was more difficult than the Federal. The state questions regarding IRA distributions were hard to understand. The questions did not specify which document it was related to. And the questions were not based on the W-2 but rather on the state tax form.. I did not know that I was on the state tax form. May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still using after more than 15 years A little disappointed that several procedures were removed from Deluxe version this year. Had to spend more money to purchase Premier version to access those procedures. I would like to see ItsDeductible available for use off-line. Haven't seen that for many years. May 12, 2015
  • 2015-05-25T13:17:39.779-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_181894, tr_181894
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 3799 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.