1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 4 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182906 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 182894 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and with all the support I've been using Turbo Tax for a long time...I will always use them because of the service they provide! Excellent!!! August 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE TURBOTAX We have used Turbotax to do our taxes for years and have never been disappointed. As a self employed consultant my taxes aren't easy, but Turbotax covers everything smoothly. August 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Once again - easy tax preparation Love Turbo Tax....have used it for many years! August 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good enough for a small C corp Points of confusion: The common business expenses section includes Rents and adds the number to the total number for common business expenses and shows that against last years total number - except - last year's total number excludes rents! and it is broken out separately on the tax form - so TAKE RENTS OUT of common business expense just like Auto is out! Also, if the only officer IS also the only employee - please cover that situation in the help when you warn that you might get audited for not paying an officer a salary! August 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easier than I thought! I was gonna have a professional help me file my taxes but then a friend suggested to try Turbo Tax and so I did. Since I am filing my tax late, the tax advisors were so supportive and enthusiastic in helping me find and correct my errors as well as looking through areas that need to be entered correctly. I have learned all the tips and tricks on how to get help and correct my errors. I definitely will continue to purchase Turbo Tax software to do my taxes from now on. I could not have done it without the sincere support of Turbo Tax advisors. Also, I have rental income and it was much easier than I thought when having to fill out all the necessary information about the income and deductions. August 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would recommend and hope it will be as easy next year with sale of second home pending! August 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Complaint I have used Turbo Tax for 15 years. This is the first year that I have completely lost confidence in Turbo Tax because of my inability to proceed through what has been in the past logical steps. I have no idea whether it is working or not. I am completely frustrated and absolutely refuse to pay for this frustration in the future. I Completed my forms and it would not let SUBMIT them!!!!! August 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by you all rock! I love this option of filing! August 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by MN State Property Tax Refund There should be a way to go to a form, save it, print it. Turbo makes all that impossible. August 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Resolved my Issue I had filed for an extension and was travelling overseas. I had a short window to file my returns before my next travel and I thought my California Return should not take long. However , it went into a loop. I called Customer Service and lady was very polite and understood my issue. She solved the problem, by allowing me to down load the CA state return and stayed with me till I was able to see it to proceed with state Tax Return. I was thinking of leaving Turbo tax after so many years (I used their products,They were Parson Technology). The customer service lady saved the day. Thank you Turbo Tax. August 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't be easier Thought the process worked well. Done in a day! August 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another year of excellent service. I was thrown off a bit by changes from previous years( I had used Turbotax for fifteen years or more.) August 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo-Tax Rocks! Over 20 years use, no problems. Knock on wood - only audits have been minor data entry (user) errors, not TT errors. Handles complexity of multiple partnerships, S corps, real estate and itemizing deductions quite easily. Computes AMT effectively (once had a problem with carryforward calculations on Form 8801). I'm am not a tax person, although I do work in Finance (or did before retiring 3 years ago). I find it easy to follow the step-by-step method, and also update 'on my own' Highly recommend Turbo-Tax. August 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by went the extra mile to help me with my return I didnt mean to sign up for the deluxe and didnt realize it until I was very near the end. I called the customer support and the most awesome lady assisted me, step by step on remedying my situation. She also walked me through obtaining my PIN # from the IRS and stayed with me on the phone until everything was done. I would definitely recommend TurboTax to anyone!!! August 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy It was helpful and very easy to use! There was not one page where I did not know what to do. August 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great tool I like using the software it is very user friendly. August 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sometimes confusing, but did the job The questions they ask are mostly straight forward. Sometimes the explanations didn't clarify a topic very much. It is very hard to understand how something applies to the forms, but I guess that's why I use the software. August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall, an excellent program As a multi-decade user of the Home and Business versions, I have saved thousands of dollars in professional tax preparation fees and have developed complete trust and confidence in Turbo Tax. August 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good product, but prices are going up I've been a loyal Turbotax user for 15+ years. First, just recently I believe that their data breach affected my brother as bogus returns were filed under his name. Dealing with that is a pain in the rear, plus he was never contacted to receive any credit watch services. Secondly, they now require that you upgrade to Home & Business in order to file a simple Schedule C when you are not issuing 1099's. The cost difference between that and what I normally paid was about $50. Next year, I'm shopping around. August 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good experience. Handled complicated K-1 and IRD deductions. August 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Data Entry Torture Chamber recommend highly that data be entered by entering directly from source documents, ie 1099's. TurboTax would transfer the data into the particular list for summing and entering onto the proper line on the return. August 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Corporation Taxes Buying Turbo Tax at Amazon saved me a hundred dollars. It was well worth the four and a half hours I spent on Turbo Tax. It could have been easier if I had more help with forms corrections. Also, there was not a good direction on how to print the final corporation taxes for mailing. There were 3 choices given: print a copy for your records, save to pdf and cancel. August 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Business & Trust incomplete directions for trust return Fed, MO. NM not supported at all. Not worth the money. Used personal for years but the business / trust needs substantial work. August 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I wish there was better K1 step-by-step instructions. With more and more "alternative" investments, this would seem to be a new area that many taxpayers are going to be asking for better assistance with. K1 forms are not well standardized and it seems to me until you improve these data entries, professional help will be needed to interpret these, and your customers will be taking their returns to their tax accountants, at much greater expense (and time and effort). This looks like a business opportunity for intuit, until Congress wises up and simplifies the tax code!!! August 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 Easy to use but is becoming too expensive I have been a long-time Turbo Tax user (15+ years) and have always been pleased with the product. However, I had several disappointments this year. First, I was not happy that I was required to buy the more expensive version to meet my needs this year even though my tax situation did not change from previous years. Second, I had to file an extension and had to go outside the software to do it. I've only filed an extension one other time and it was included in the software then. I would have expected it to be included, especially in the more expensive version (see #1). Finally, when I efiled my state return, I noticed the fee had gone up $5 from previous years. Through reading other user comments, I saw they actually increased it mid season. In the past, I have purchased TT without even comparing other products, but that will no longer be the case. August 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Federal was good; States so so We are long time users of Turbo Tax (from times before Intuit.) Federal returns are consistently great on their information gathering and computation. The document import features vary in effectiveness and with some of the imports, it was just easier to hand enter the data. State returns (we file 4 states returns in our family) are very inconsistent and difficult to use, California is definitely the best and most through. Wisconsin on the other hand appears to be incomplete and confusing. Fortunately we only need to file for Non-resident loss carryforwards on a K-1 at for the last couple of years, but that will change and we are considering skipping out to a professional when it does because we don;t trust Turbotax Wisconsin to get it right.. August 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by My 2014 refund I started a TurboTax file to apply for an extension to file. When it came time to finish the filing process, I opened the original TurboTax file to finish the final filing. Bad news, the file didn't import my previous year's data. I puzzled over this problem with no luck for almost 2 hours. I was finally able to get assistance thru the online help chat area, where I was told to start over with a totally new filing process. Very irritating. August 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by forced upgrade for investments....would not import prior year.....tech support excellent, but required three time as much effort in prior years....next year turbo tax use is doubtful..........even this survey is proving painful....ben August 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Experience August 15, 2015
  • 2015-09-04T11:52:42.496-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182894, tr_182894
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 3820 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.