1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 3 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.5 out of 5 average

(4.5/5 | 184773 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 184773 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by frustrated I have been trying to figure out for 3 weeks how to go back & add more business deductions to my return. Without knowing it wasn't able to do that, I went ahead and did the review which then went to file. I am very frustrated & obviously VERY late getting my taxes in after the extension date passed. November 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have been using TurboTax for several years and have always found it very helpful, but this year I had a number of frustrations: - Getting delayed and having to pay extra just to complete a one-page Schedule C - I know Schedule D is getting more complex, but the screens had difficulties and line items kept getting deleted. I would suggest looking at whether there are issues that can be fixed. - Your program doesn't do a good job a explaining why a state credit is not being received, only that I wasn't receiving it which was confusing. I had to do a lot of trial and error with the numbers to figure out why. November 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this program!! Have used Turbo Tax for years. Great easy to use program but a little sad that they offer the free options to some, taking income away from tax preparers November 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No one needs to know my business but the IRS! I have filed my own taxes for years, it is not that difficult as long as you keep your records in one place. Using Turbo Tax makes it so much easier, just enter the requested info, and it guides you through the process. I've found out about credits I didn't realize I qualified for, which decreased the amount of taxes I paid. The best part is I don't have to go to any of those Tax Filing Services and discuss my finances in public. Those places remind me of car dealerships. No Thank You! I much prefer doing it on my own time in my own home and having the benefit of the TurboTax Review. Gives me added peace of mind before filing. Thanks TurboTax! November 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't live without Turbo Tax! I have been using Turbo Tax since it first arrived for myself and my business, and my daughters' taxes. Intuit and their Turbo Tax products have proven to be thorough, stable, and secure. I appreciate that the software is current on tax law and that each year I am educated on what to do. I feel the price is an excellent value, given what it would cost me to have some outside firm perform the work. Thank you for creating an understandable, thorough, coherent, easy-to-use program for the Everyman! November 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by State CA K-1 form (568) vs. CA K-1 Form 565-HoBis Had Fed Schedule K-1 form 1065 and TurboTax Home and Bisiness would only generate CA K-1 Form 565 when we had a CA K-1 form 568. Tried to use CA K-1 (568) and TT would not use the input data! Please fix! November 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Rules Meets Need for Home and Business I've used Turbo Tax for Home and Business for over five years. Each year, the software helps me to have confidence that my taxes have been prepared accurately while ensuring that I receive the deductions for which I am entitled. I like the ease in entering information and the prompts that answer questions that I might have about different tax terms and forms. I'm a loyal Turbo Tax and Intuit customer. I'll be buying the 2015 edition as soon as it becomes available. November 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Important suggestions There is a lot that needs to be done to TurboTax to make it easier and quicker to use. As it is, using the EasyStep can be infuriating to the point of looking for a better application. Among the items that desperately need to be fixed are: 1.) Make editing of previous entries more straight forward and easier. Right now, if one corrects an entry, the long list of questions associated with that entry that had been previously answered is destroyed. The user is then forced to reenter that long list of answers to mostly inane questions. The previous answers to those questions must be preserved in the system and, at least, presented for new approval with only a single key stroke. 2.) There are too many long lists of questions that are repeated in identical form for multiple entries. If a question string has been answered once, those answers must be presented for approval with a single key stroke or edited as required. 3.) Whenever one answers one of the vast number of questions that EasyStep asks, the "continue" button must light up so that a single hit to the return key will advance the application to the next entry. Searching for the "continue" button with a mouse and then activating it is far too time consuming and frustrating to keep customers using TurboTax. 4.) There must be a button in the toolbar that returns the user to where he left off in EasyStep after he has made edits to previous entries. 5.) I was within minutes of submitting an incomplete tax return and generating a near certain audit when I discovered that I had omitted entering a 1099 that I receive every year. I had become falsely reliant on TurboTax to include this entry as it had been entered for several previous years. The failure of TurboTax to transfer my repeated entries from year to year is a reliability/quality control problem that TurboTax needs to investigate and correct. 6.) Now I have another gripe. I just went through the review submittal process to have it all erased because I had not "signed in". There was no place on the review page to do so nor any instructions as to the necessity or the mechanism for doing so. Please make the changes I have requested. Thank you. November 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super! Best tax program ever! Former tax preparer. This is the easiest & best tax preparation program to use, ever. Nothing else comes close. November 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by New product is fine. Got through it faster than usual and review went well. Some instructions are unclear. November 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for an Excellent Tax Program, that was easy to use. John Taylor November 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not user friendly As a paid tax professional with a large tax preparation firm and 17 years of income tax experience, and an accounting degree with 15 years corporate accounting experience, I find that the software is NOT user friendly. I know were a tax item has to go. However, it is difficult to get it to go there because when the line is clicked, the worksheet or pop up doesn't appear. The preparer has to know to click on some other box. I spent hours to input returns that only should take 1 1/2 hour each. As a result, only one federal return was electronically transmitted, and the other federal return was Not transmitted by 0ct. 15, 2015. Both New Jersey returns did not get electronically transmitted. As a result, Intuit should refund the fee paid to electronically transmit the states. The cost of the state software should be refunded because it could not be efiled and now I have to use the state website and their free softwarew to file these returns. Therefore, can you please refund the fee I paid for the state software? November 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not so happy I find the program does not give as much help as in the past, and I had to upgrade in order for the program to handle K-1 type information. Over the last few years I have found the "search for help" screens to be almost useless. November 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Overall great product. Takes you through step by step. Really like the check errors feature and audit check. November 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works for me!! Another successful year of getting taxes done. Like the easy guide and toggling between forms. Wish past years tax data would all flow into the current years taxes such as easy guide asking for a number from the previous tax year on a certain line of the 1040 when you have been using Turbotax on the same computer for 7 years. I would think that data could be found by the program instead of having to open the previous tax year to plug it in. When flipping between forms and easy guide, the return to easy guide from forms does not drop you onto the same screen you were working on but to the beginning of that section. A host of other minor things would speed things up but overall happy with the product. October 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes paid were cut in half I have used TurboTax for several years, but this is the first time I was really nervous on what I may owe. TurboTax was easy and walked me through both Federal and State. Thanks October 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would Use Nothing Else Very pleased once again. I've used TurboTax for years and years. October 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I run a small business and have been using Turbo Tax Business for more than ten years. It's a great product that has always delivered accurate results and peace of mind. October 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty good shape for the shape I'm in I learned how to do my income taxes in the early seventies at my mother's side. She felt that individuals should be able to keep track of the information that was used as a yearly audit of where they were in their careers. That was then and a lot simpler than anything in the work force, now. The national tax bureaucracy has become an overgrown landscape of old dead regulations and new rules that only statisticians and some math prodigies can maneuver through by themselves. Enter TurboTax and I don't have to embarass myself in front of my mother by not being able to accomplish this springtime task. TurboTax keeps track of the ever changing landscape of IRS regs. so I don't land in tax court from lack of understanding of the annual manuevering. Thank you, employees of TurboTax, for making it possible for me to continue preparing my own income tax returns. October 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it!! This made things really easy to understand. October 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Owned it like a Boss! The software is incredibly easy to use and understand. The prompts are useful and give you all the information that you need to file your taxes. Covers all deductions and explains what they are and if you are eligible. If I can do it anyone can! Thanks TurboTax! October 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Easy Well worth the time and money October 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product it would be nice to tell customers that if they don't pay for it before finishing, by October 20, the system deletes it. October 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Forced to Upgrade I've been using Turbo Tax for many years and have been able to file my rental property using the basic version. The software is great and easy to use but this year I was surprised to learn that I couldn't complete my tax return without purchasing a $70 upgrade to the premier version just to file a schedule E with no previous notice what so ever from Intuit. Had I known this upfront, i would have explored October 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I used to like TurboTax I used the 2014 version at extension time and even so, with all updates, it was very buggy, with unrelated links, forms, or worksheets popping up when I dug deeper.. I couldn't enter some of my material in the worksheet or the form itself. After many go-rounds with the business version I finally found some backdoor, probably some order in which I was circling through to renew and add to my numbers. I'm a longtime user of Turbotax, but this scared me and I'll think twice next time. October 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by As much as I hate to work on my Taxes At least TurboTax makes it much easier than it used to be. October 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK but no NOL support Better than the last time I used it 5 years ago. But still no support for NOL (Net Operating Loss). At least you could support the NOL carryforward worksheet! Fairly easy to use and I got the job done but it was time consuming. The personal property tax (portion of car registration) is incorrectly calculated if you share a car with more than one business. I share one car between my Schedule C business and my two Schedule E rental properties that I manage. It asks me the make/model of the car in all three places and doesn't allow me to share the car. It asks me to enter the Personal Property Tax (portion of the car registration) in all three places. Then I notice on my schedule A, my individual Personal Property Tax (on line 7 of Schedule A) is incorrectly adding all three together as though they were different cars. Instead of my personal use portion of the $35 personal property tax (car registration), I'm getting $97, which is my personal use portion of 3 X $35. It would be great if TurboTax did a better job of sharing a car between businesses. October 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great to Have Prior Year's Data Automatically Load I keep using TurboTax because it generally works well. Once you have filed a year or two on TurboTax, you definitely get better at using the software and you learn to keep good notes about the most difficult/troublesome areas. I wish TurboTax would improve the areas regarding Foreign Taxes Paid and AMT. These are very complicated and confusing parts of the tax code, so some EXTRA EFFORT on TurboTax's part to offer clearer explanations of the terms and exactly what the IRS is looking for (in plain English) on each line item entry, would be most helpful. For EXAMPLE, instead of just asking you to input the "Gross Income Sourced at Beneficiary Level: Foreign Source Income", provide clear direction on where to retrieve the require data. Something like 'On the K-1, add the amounts from Lines X, Y, & Z and input the total here.' October 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Taxes Overall, the software provides very good support thru every step and makes the filing less stressful. thank you October 26, 2015
  • 2015-12-01 T10:30:11.190-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_184773, tr_184773
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 3861 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.