1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews

TurboTax Customer Ratings and Product Reviews - page 3 of Customer Reviews

Read unfiltered reviews from our customers and see why TurboTax is the #1 best-selling tax software.

4.6 out of 5 average

(182338 reviews)
Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 IRS PIN explanation There was inadequate explanation on the Ttax page where IRS 5-digit PINs were requested. Worse, Ttax pre-entered numbers that were not to be used in the boxes where I was supposed to enter the numbers. These boxes should have been left blank by Ttax and instructions on this page provided to call IRS for the PINs to be entered. I located the proper instructions with Help but wasted time trying to follow the so-called step-by-step instructions. For this I took away one rating star from my usual 5-star rating. June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So grateful After she told me how to get back into my return, I was OK. It was tricky, though. I never would have known how to get back in on my own. She was very helpful and found out we both were from Mich. ;-) June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phew!!! I Did It Myself!!! I absolutely LOVE this product---Personal & Small Business Home & Business!!! I was able to do my taxes myself!!! TurboTax made it so easy for me, if I didn't understand something, there were explanations that I could click on. I also know that there were tools, such as phone and online support, if I needed further help, but I did not need to utilize these aids. It made me feel secure knowing I had them at my fingertips should I need them. I will not pay someone else to do my taxes again!!! Last year I spent double what I paid on TurboTax this year and I didn't have a lot of phone calls to clarify items along the way... I did it myself!!! Less hassle and no phone tag!!! Yay!!! I'm so proud of myself!!! Also, another HUGE benefit for me, I could save my return to finish at a later time!!! As a single mom, that was fantastic!!! Thank you TurboTax!!! June 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 15 year user The disappointment was that I had to buy a $30 upgrade from Deluxe to Premier just to get one form (8949) that previously had been included. As in other years in step-by-step if you leave in the middle of a section when you come back it starts the section over having to answer the same questions over & over. June 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by efficent and easy! im 20 years old and don't have much experience with taxes but this was simple and nice to use. thank you. June 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by caught off guard I filed and prepped well in advance of the 4/15 deadline. To my dismay I was contacted by the IRS informing me that I had been delinquent on my filing. Upon further review I recognized that I had not completely satisfied all the steps in Turbotax. Costly mistake that I am responsible for but if I had used another service this would not have happened. June 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great software I uses both the personal and the business software, and could not be more pleased. Saved a lot of money June 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Feeling I can't believe I filed my taxes on my own! Not only was able to understand everything and do what I needed to do, I enjoyed it! I feel like an expert now. Turbo Tax is awesome! All the instructions, including everything that needs to be done once you print your return, is clear and to the point. I will do this every year! June 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Is The Way To Go! I highly recommend. In the past as a W2 and over the last several years as a small business owner with no complex facets (sole proprietor - private practice), TurboTax has been my go to Tax Software since mid-2000s. It is easy to use, provides great summary explanations, and consultants are available for what seems to be reasonable price (though cousin is accountant so consultation has not been needed to date), and audit protection is a plus. Overall, I find the product to be fantastic and have never had any major issues (and minor issues have always been handled by their customer service representatives in a quick and efficient manner). I will continue to use this product into the foreseeable future. June 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent and Detailed Overall, the service is excellent. It provided me with knowledge of items that I did not consider or know about. Along with the confidence of the depth and checks on all of my tax information, the service allowed me to work and file my taxes to fit my hectic schedule and work conditions. The only drawback is the overall cost, but even that is worth it for the convenience of the import features with the major agencies and the flexibility to file on my own timeline. June 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The program seems much better than the versions I used in 2003 and 2004 June 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Customer Support great! June 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Last Time This is probably the last time I use Turbo Tax because I no longer have access to a computer running Microsoft Windows. I have enjoyed using it in the past but now can file a more abbreviated form. I have found too many security problems associated with the Windows OS so no longer have it on my system. June 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Difficult to do a 1040X I've used Turbotax for 20 years or more but never for a 1040X. It was difficult to get the new 1040 and the old 1040 to compare since the old one from a relative was not done on Turbotax. June 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by SAVED MONEY AND TIME SAVES MONEY and TIME!!!!!!! Very effective in teaching me how to do my taxes every year I seem to learn more. I do not have to wait for businesses to open, I can go online anytime and file. THANKS TURBO TAX!!!!!!!!! June 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps getting better This is my 6th year of using Turbo Tax. I use it for personal and small business filing. Will continue using it until I don't have to pay taxes anymore (i.e. when I'm dead.) June 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have used turbo tax for at least 10 years. Would you consider this option: At time of purchase/upload, get a second state return at half price. It's crazy that it costs almost as much to purchase an additional state return as it did to purchase the entire program. June 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Preparer Unbelievable easy and fast and absolutely free for people like me!! June 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful tool Best benefit is access to previous tax return. Saves a lot of time inputting addresses and lots of numbers. June 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by TURBOTAX FIRST AND FOREVER! I've been using Turbotax for over fifteen years and have always been thrilled with the quick, easy work its made of doing my rather complex at times tax returns!! As a self-employed independent contractor as well as landlord, I've found TT Home and Professional to suit my needs perfectly and have used it to prepare several returns for family and friends each year! Well done, team! June 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT SOFTWARE. I LOVE THIS TURBOTAX. EXCELLENT. I LOVE THIS SOFTWARE. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR MAKING MY TAX FILING FUN AND EASY AND EDUCATIONAL ALL AT THE SAME TIME. June 23, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by This product would NOT update at all, would not allow me to purchase audit defense and would not efile. It basically does not work with my internet connection or Windows 8. Not a good experience this year. June 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Bad software glitch I paid a different/higher amount with Maryland extension. Everything works fine through to the "Review" steps. But when I go to print to PDF, the software changes the amount that I paid with MD extension. There is NO excuse for this software glitch. June 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax Deluxe I have used Turbo Tax for about 20 years now and will continue using it. It is very user friendly. I take several days to do my returns and it is easy to pick up where I left off. Great value. June 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Glad to be Done I have been using TurboTax at least 8 years or more and cannot imagine using anything else. However the repetitive questions -- asking the same stuff over and over and over gets very tiresome and wastes a LOT of time that could be better spent. I have also found it extremely frustrating that while TurboTax goes on & on & on about stuff I have already told them does not pertain to me, they let my deduction for sales tax just slide right by. Where were all the repeat questions about that?? (I am referring to my own & my husband's returns here, not the one I just helped my nephew do!) June 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smoothe TAX 101 Great system for just about any tax case or situation June 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time User, Facilitation was AMAZING! It was really nice to be able to do my taxes on my own for the first time. June 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you for making this easy!!! June 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rejected State due to PIN # REJECTION Somehow the State return was rejected. There is a lack of details on how to fix. One of the supposed benefits of using turbo tax was for ease of use. We thought that it was use our prior year AGI for confirmation. Obviously Turbo Tax did a poor job of using our prior year AGI as our state return was rejected. We will not be using Turbo Tax next year. We will also let others know of the issues we were having in submitting our taxes. June 20, 2015
  • 2015-07-05T11:33:15.097-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_182329, tr_182329
  • loc_en_US, sid_TT_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 3809 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.