1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 5 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by Different experience this year I gave a 3 star average grade because of the online experience, not because of the product or the support. For the latter two, I give five stars for sure! I erred in starting my taxes on the online version of TT this year. Did not realize that it would have two major drawbacks: I could not access the forms directly (which is my way of verifying that my complex situation is accurately reflected), and the cost was substantially higher. In addition it had upgraded me to Home and Business without my realizing it, so the cost was even more. Fortunately I called TT before concluding and a highly competent and friendly rep assisted me and helped me reduce my costs, save all my work and transfer to a more familiar environment. March 31, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mediocre for W-2 System Would not allow non-zero Medicare wages with no explanation why. Complained when SS Withholding was set to zero. Explanation was that SS Withholding was less than sum of SS Wages and SS Tips -- an obvious logical typo. January 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Changes to Deluxe I did not like the changes to Turbo Tax Deluxe. If changes stand I would need Turbo Tax Home Business because I need to recoup $3000 in long-term loss carryover and I have a small farm rental which is not worth the expense. If Turbo Tax Deluxe is not changed back, I will not use Turbo Tax for 2015! February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Takes Me Through Everything This year's version was missing some of last year's features and therefore had to be updated. However one aspect is confusing. I had some first year, initial investment Tangible and Intangible Drilling expenses in a limited partnership that I was told by tax folks needed to be reported on Schedule C. By doing this I'm allowed to take the expenses as a complete "loss". TurboTax didn't let me do this and according to your Blog I had to report this on Schedule E, which didn't allow me to get full credit for my loss. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product, but watch the details when selecting I've been using turbo tax for many years now and overall like the ease of use and the detailed explanations and assistance when needed. I was disappointed this year to find out after purchasing that the schedules I'd previously found and used in the Deluxe edition were now only available in the Home and Business Edition which cost an extra $42.70 above what I'd already paid for the Deluxe or rather about $8 more than if the box had indicated which schedules where no longer part of the Deluxe package and afforded me the opportunity to purchase the correct version in store. If you've used the Deluxe Edition before, buyer beware some of your needed schedules may not be available and you will have to upgrade to a much more costly version.. January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding value and easy in navigation Great product and company. Look FWD to new features each year. Great customer service and outstanding value in making the navigation of difficult processes most simple and easy. Keep up the good work March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy problem solving Had problem with an art sale and show for my hundredth birthday. Had to set up a business and file. Turbotax made it easy March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great interface I spent about 3 hours. Lots of deductions, a Schedule C,... About half the time is before and after actually filling in the tax forms. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Since I have to deal with rents, royalties, and partnership items, Turbo Tax is valuable help in negotiating matters that seem very complicated. Turbo Tax also is useful in cataloging all the deductions that are available. The feature that enables sharing of federal information with the state tax return is also of great assistance. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Program easy to use, questions asked were clear and relatively easy to answer March 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Force to take extra steps After better than 10 years of use of turbo tax, I think this is the last. I own a rental property and do freelance photography. All other years I filed with TurboTax Deluxe version now I am force to purchase the Premier edition because of the freelance business. Also, in the pass I was able to file my state return by mail if I chose to. Now when the state return is printed to mail, it has "Do not file" all over it. That will force you to pay an additional $19.99 to e-file it. January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax, A Great Helper I am pleased that I was able to successfully complete my 2014 Tax Preparation by using Turbo Tax. The Support Persons who halped have been fantastic I look forward to using Turbo Tax again to prepare my 2015 Taxes.. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Co-Owner Great and user friendly software LOVE IT!!! March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently thorough Have used TT for many years. Always impressed with its simplicity of use, thoroughness of questions. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use and understand If you are not self employed, this is a breeze. If you are self employed, it can be challenging. You must be very organized with your paperwork and it is very helpful if you use something like Quickbooks. Chartible donations of items or time are also somewhat confusing....read directions carefully for maximum deductions. January 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by MY TURBO TAX IN THE PAST DELUXE VERSION WAS ALL I NEEDED TO DO SCHEDULE C'S AND STOCK TRANSACTIONS. nOW I WILL NEED THE HOME AND BUSINESS TO DO POSSIBLY ONE SCHEDULE C AND VARIOUS STOCK SALES. ALSO IN NY WE ARE REQUIRED TO EFILE THE STATE. AFTER EFILING 5 RETURNS TURBO TAX WOULDNT LET ME EFILE THE NY RETURN AND PAPER FILE THE FEDERAL RETURN. i DO ABOUT 10 FAMILY AND FRIENDS SO IM LEFT IN A QUANDARY SINCE I MUST EFILE NY. VERY DISAPPOINTED SINCE I HAVE USED TURBO TAX FOR OVER 30 YEARS. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 Love Turbo Tax BUT..... I have used your product for several years and typically have no issues. This year there were 2 bugs i noticed while filing. 1. the page that comes up and asks you if you want to e-file or mail your return usually didn't populate and I would get a partial error page I think it said unable to load. Next when e-filing federal it worked fine but when I had to pay you to file my state return, I could never get the correct page to enter my credit card info. I always got an error message. When I used the phone number to pay by phone and then entered with the code your rep gave me it worked fine. This was frustrating and a bit of an inconvience. March 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 TURBOTAX MUST BRING BACK FULL ON DEMAND GUIDANCE The discontinuation or absence of full "on demand guidance" for all fields makes Turbotax no longer suitable or adequate for me as an individual to use for my tax returns. Turbotax used to have great descriptions that guided you through most fields, helping you determine what to put in the fields. Now that this guidance is gone from so many and perhaps the majority of fields, and clicking the help button just takes you to other customer's opinions of what to do, it's ludicrous and ridiculous to be a paying customer and be referred to nonprofessionals who are simply peer customers for their guidance and tax advice. This is completely unacceptable. The whole reason I paid for a professional tax advice program was to get professional tax advice and help that I can trust meets government legal requirements for completing a tax return. If I wanted to ask other customers how to fill out my tax return I wouldn't buy a program I'd just go outside and ask anyone! March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still great! I've been using TurboTax and it's predecessor for at least a dozen years, and have been on the Mac (Apple) platform since an Apple II with a single disk drive. Quicken and TurboTax get better and easier each year. Thanks! March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use For my return it is easy and a tax person wanted to charge me a lot of money to do my taxes and the time I saved in doing them through Turbo Tax on my own saved me time and money. Thanks Turbo Tax. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Biggest Refund Ever Thank you so much for helping me maximize my refund!! March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Software Great Software Software is easy to use Useful Information on ever Page March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by had trouble had to delete K-1 form and could not do it by just saying I did not need it. No longer a business. Finally figured how to delete but took a while. Should have delete button at the location of the form January 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Why only 4 stars? If you have a basic return, you can use Turbo Tax. Definitely. Turbo Tax also does a very good job of medium and even hard returns. But in those cases, you need to be willing to put in the time to understand your return so that you can answer the questions correctly. That is not a criticism of Turbo Tax, it's true of any tax program - you have to know enough to answer the questions correctly. Turbo Tax's explanations are excellent - but you do need to read them. I would have given Turbo Tax 5 stars, except that they charge $24.99 to efile a state return, which is just silly. I efiled my federal return and printed my state return for free. Most state returns are fairly short, so this is a strategy to use. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always use Turbotax. Extremely efficient. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax Nothing more to say. I've been using Turbo Tax for years and like it. I do wish EZ form was in this program so I can do my taxes as I need to, but can also do grandchildren's who only need the EZ form. February 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Plain and simple Good overall experience. This program was very easy to operate and navigate through. Sometimes I got caught up in areas that didn't apply to me, but was very pleased with the results. March 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as last year's Premier The 2014 edition didn't seem to allow for editing information as easily as last year's Premier edition when entering deductions and other financial information. February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filing the Federal Tax Return The program gave me a choice to enter everything in my own manner OR be walked through each of the items they had listed. Everything was so easy and it compared my last year's filing with what I had entered this year. Great for checking if you missed anything or if something had to be added. January 27, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tough Year for Intuit product...required upgrade. After decades of using Turbotax, I almost jumped ship. If they had not upgraded my software without cost or grief, I would be gone. VERY poor business strategy to require upgrade at point of filing of the return at $40 (even with a delayed rebate of $25!!!). The product is solid, as corrected. January 27, 2015
  • 2015-04-01T13:11:00.614-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_6777, tr_6777
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 153 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.