1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 268 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 12923 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by I wish there was better K1 step-by-step instructions. With more and more "alternative" investments, this would seem to be a new area that many taxpayers are going to be asking for better assistance with. K1 forms are not well standardized and it seems to me until you improve these data entries, professional help will be needed to interpret these, and your customers will be taking their returns to their tax accountants, at much greater expense (and time and effort). This looks like a business opportunity for intuit, until Congress wises up and simplifies the tax code!!! August 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved Precious Time if you have to do your taxes....and you DO! Turbo is with you every step of the way. They've got the answers to all the puzzling questions, or can point you straight to the IRS publication you need to explore. No waiting on line for hours to answers to hair pulling questions. I've used them for years and I'll use them again! They are quick to fix anything the IRS changes during the newest tax year before we all get caught up in a mess and I love that about them. They take responsibility for their product and stand behind their product! Keep up the great work Turbo Tax! February 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Quick, Easy, and Thorough Please make the details on what each program is best for you (listed on back of package). I needed the ability for farm, depreciation, etc.; I bought the "Home & Business" and when I started using it found it concentrated on big business and investments and was very complex so returned it and purchased the Premier. About half way through, I was informed I needed to purchase the Home and Business to complete filing, which I did for an additional $10 and it blended in very well. I am wondering if it simply listed a "schedule F under Home and Business if that would help?? April 23, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Reviiew It is a decent program.. Menu driven options are good. Inability to selectively E-File Federal & State returns is a big disadvantage. I want the ability to decide which (federal or state) returns to file electronically. E- Filing allows the IRS to delve more deeply into a return. Submissions to the IRS should be limited to applicable forms only. Cost has gone up every year for the past three years. This is unacceptable. Features in certain versions have been minimized. The deluxe version should allow schedule C , schedule D inputs. We should be forced into upselling April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Doesn't always return to where you left off It bugs me a bit that I can't always return to the exact place I left off. For example I was one click away from submitting and I needed to go back to check on something and then I was required to go through all the same filing screens again to reach the point of submitting my return. I tried to find a shortcut using the topic list, but that didn't help. There were several occasions when I had to go through screens multiple times in revising or verifying my entries. I suppose TT has good reasons for requiring this but it makes the process tedious for the user at times. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good - if you're a novice I generally like TurboTax and I've been using it for years but I find that unless you want to endure the seemingly interminable questions (the vast majority of which don't apply to you) you're sometimes left to guessing what to do next. Still, if you get to the right sections, the process of filling out the forms is mostly automated. At the end of the day, almost anything is better than the unintelligible instructions and the manual, tedious forms from the IRS. I'll continue to purchase TurboTax until the government comes to its senses and implements a flat tax system. March 25, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again Too expensive. I can get the other tax ware at a fraction of the price that I paid for this one for the same things that I needed to fill out. There were parts that I had no problem filling out with the other tax ware and with this one, had me more than confused on what to do. Several times I had to read then reread over and over again as to what they wanted in order to continue on. I left out a lot of things that I could have deducted and more forms to fill out if I wasn't so danged confused with it all. Never again, will go back to the other software for doing taxes. April 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and bad This year one thing was better. In the past, the portion of my small business income that was reported on a 1099 was not separated out on schedule C--always wanted to add it again, effectively doubling it. That did not happen this year. Unfortunately, I could not transfer the information from last year's return and had to enter it manually all over again, even though the last several years are supposedly stored on my computer. It also appears that we will be paying extra for doing the business forms in the future. I will be checking out other software and may jump ship. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service I have used TurboTax for many, many years for our families returns. This year, I logged on to TurboTax.com and fortunately started my college student's return as a free, instead of the $108.00 Home and Business. I quickly went to the downloadable site when I realized my error. Yes, I needed to do her 1040-EZ twice, but glad I read the fine print. As she goes to school and has a part time job in another state I needed to have some questions answered by customer service. The rep answered my questions, walked me through the process and was incredibly pleasant to deal with. March 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Clunky General entry was not that bad.. the review though (Smart Check) was painful. Little things that it should pick up (e.g. if there was no $$ entered in a field, why does it throw errors and make you go and find the right screen so you can delete the line item?) Also, something happened where my Fed return drastically dropped once I downloaded my State forms. Not sure what calculations happened on the back end, but I spent hours reviewing and finally just accepted that the amount of Fed taxes due drastically went up. Very buggy while I was trying to manually review this. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Form 8824 Maybe you could put a better explanation of this in a ...a.....parable like say you had a old truck you traded in for (whatever) and you bought a new truck for (whatever) and if the old truck had so many miles on it the depreciation would be this (I got stuck on the depreciation of old truck) it had so many miles on it that it depreciated more that it was worth...finally looked up about 5 irs forms and figured out that i couldn't deduct more than it was worth but some people might not go that extra step to research themselves so maybe you could work on this section..... April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trading in an old vehicle for q new All went well for entering the data. When I was at the Final Review it said I needed to make a couple of entries related to my trading in an older truck for a new one (these were both used in my business). No explanation of what the requested info was. Just an empty box labeled "Like kind" or similar). I went to Search Help and got an answer to one box but a was stumped on the other. I had to make my best guess. Don't know if it helped or hurt my taxes "bottom line" and not comfortably sure it was done correctly. Needed help in this but there was none to be found in TT. July 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Product but losing confidence in Intuit I've used Turbo Tax for as long as it's been on the market and felt I got an excellent product at a fair price. This year I bought my usual package and found that it didn't handle my tax situation any longer. I upgraded (fortunately free by the time I encountered this change# and then found my upgrade was not adequate requiring another upgrade #also free#. I don't know what to expect next year. In addition, notice that Turbo Tax is heavily discounted to the general public #such as in Costco) but automatic renewals pay the full price. Not the best way to generate loyalty. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Turbo tax is easy to use just fill in the the questions and hit save. Outstanding product, have used it for years. What I didn't like this year was the healthcare part, seems unfair to get money taken away just because a member of your family is not working and cannot afford healthcare and there is no way to put it in the system as such. Causing you to have to pay a penalty, just because they live with you and your supporting them. However this is a great program to use and cost less than using any other tax service that charge you over $100.00 for them to do your taxes. March 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by NY e-file FAILS NY e-file fails because- I put in a blank 1099R as $0.00 & $0.00 tax, as a holding place for an investment that I took no RMD; as would be required because; all RMD had been taken from the other location IRA investments. I have taken more than the total RMD required for me, from the other IRA investment. Turbotax needs to clarify that only list 1099R that one has received. Do not use holding place to help determine ones investment names & RMD amounts. Also: TURBOTAX could add a RMD calculator like some web-sites have available to their investment clients. DantheMan101 March 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by tres confusing When you make the 2015 Turbo Tax version, please include more clear instructions about health insurance esp. -- where to look to deduct self-employed health insur payments that are above the allowed amount that are deducted on business expenses. It took me forever to figure out what was what and what went where. Would it be so hard to lay it out somewhere fully right in Turbo Tax? I had to hunt around the rather amorphous discussions on the forum to glimpse an idea of what I needed to do. In the end, it wasn't hard, but it was hidden from sight pretty well in TT. Thanks. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbo tax failings The last 2 or 3 years I have saved a pdf file of my return--then the next year your program says it cannot find my return. No amount of twisting or turning permitted you to recognize your return to extract info for the new year. A different program could extract all my info when I tried them--but you don't seem to be able to get info from your own pdf files!! Also I want to save the whole file to a zip drive as a protective back-up, and you want me to save a pdf of the return, which is useless. You should permit the saving of the whole file to a zip drive as a back-up, April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tax Filing Software - Still the best I have used turbo tax for many years and each current year's version is always improved and better than the prior year. The step by step function is excellent for the average person who is willing to spend a little bit of time working through the questions. The ability to download W-2 information and prior tax return information is definitely a plus and the explanations provided for the income and expense sections are clear and try to be as non technical as possible. The help function was very helpful for me this year in answering an atypical technical 1099 Misc question. March 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less easy to use this year I've been using Turbo Tax both online and installed versions for home and business for many years. This is the first year I struggled to find sections and navigate through entering my deductions. It felt like I had to go into sub-sub menus to get to the places where I enter information. Start, select, Edit, select, enter. It is far less easy to find where elements if I needed to go back into a section versus following the linear process. Overall Turbo Tax is a great product for us, and we will remain loyal. Just keep the navigation clean if we need to go back and review. February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use, but you may have questions Overall, this is a really good program that I've been using since 1998. It's the unusual, uncommon stuff, though, that continue to leave me researching for a clear answer, like anything having to do with pensions & annuities, but I don't blame Intuit for that -- I leave that on the IRS' front porch! TT has made my annual tax filings much easier -- and more inexpensive! -- than they would have been. The home business section is a breeze to go through #if you are prepared!# and the income & deductions sections are equally easy. I won't use anything else to prepare my taxes! February 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly positive, a couple small annoyances I've been using TurboTax for many, many years and it has always worked well for me; that's still the case. My wife has a very small business and this year our kids earned a little money as contract employees. In the past we had always been able to use TurboTax Premier. This year (tax year 2014) we were forced to upgrade to TurboTax Home & Business; I was slightly annoyed by the surprise change. Also, I never found where to enter IRA contributions in TurboTax' EasyStep process. I eventually made this entry by switching modes and entering data directly into the tax forms. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 tax effort Disappointed that I had to upgrade to home and business for the small amount of investment and consulting income which previously could be handled by deluxe. The material brought forward from last year's return was very helpful although I had the same problem as last year with an entry that required a substitute form for foreign pension income. To get to the substitute form I had to delete the entry brought forward and then re-enter it from scratch. I have foreign pension income and consulting fees from which foreign tax is deducted. TT does a good job of sorting this out. March 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly outstanding; some hitches Virtually everything is excellent. Two things I found extremely difficult, and in need of clearer workflows and explanations, were: 1) explaining and tracking IRAs, rollovers, IRA basis, etc; and 2) tracking the information needed to calculate AMT, especially the proportion of mortgage interest that's deductible. The software should allow one to enter refinance information directly, allocate it to eligible and ineligible portions, and then track it from year to year and use it to automatically calculate AMT. At present, one has to track and calculate this outside TurboTax. March 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by While TurboTax does a good job overall, I have a few criticisms: 1. My birth date is entered in the program but is not used in preparing its tips for the user: e.g.; TurboTax suggests that a user over 70 years of age could benefit from creating an IRA. 2. TurboTax always jumps back to the top of the page no matter how far down the page the user has had to scroll to complete a particular area of input to the program. This unnecessarily forces the user to scroll down the page again and again to get to the next item of concern. Very time consuming and extremely irritating!. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much improved this year Federal went well as it usually does. There were some lack of details with income from hobby, as to why expenses were broken out and didn't affect refund. Also, went a couple rounds with trying to put in tool costs for work, only to find out I made too much so it wasn't time well spent. State, however, felt much improved. My voice concerns have been heard. It felt much less like following the state instructions, and much more helpful, especially importing all of the previously entered information, and giving useful overviews without having to reach each and every question. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like Working with a Friend My husband passed away in 2014 and we have always worked on our tax return as a team. I maintain all of the records and files and he inputs the information into Turbo Tax. I was always with him providing data but had never done the entire process from start to finish by myself. I was a bit intimidated when I started but found because I was prepared with the data that the input to Turbo Tax was not bad as I was walked through everything. I also used last years documents as a template when I didn't totally understand something. It was a great experience for a painful process. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Right Way Would like a BUTTON that DELETES whole form if I decide to undo a selection instead of going through all the pages removing the info. I know I can go to FORMS and do this but it would be convenient (my opinion) if I could delete all info within a section with one click. The software really is simple to use. I know you guys must be laying off programmers because there is nothing left to improve (until Congress and the IRS complicates it more). I am considering your offer for Auto Renew because I buy it every year anyway and upgrade Quicken usually every third or fourth year. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by gotta love TTax long-time TTax user. absolutely love the product and the ease of use. easily finds all available deductions and multi-filing ability enables filing of all our taxes. Cons: simply cannot understand why TTax broke up the new products of 2014 to make users have to purchase upgraded products to access forms, deductions, etc. that have been included in the same product for years. Users with no change in filing status or forms suddenly need to purchase an upgraded product? Actually made me consider another tax preparation software product for the first time in more than a decade. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still Not Happy With PA State Return process If PA State Wages differ from FICA wages, the PA State Income Tax instructions say explicitly to fill out a PA W-2 RW (Reconciliation Worksheet), but Turbotax does NOT fill out the form. Last year, this caused a delay in my state refund. I tried everything this year to see if I could get the form to be filled out in Turbotax, but it didn't. I don't understand why the software is not implementing the State Tax requirements correctly. Now rather than e-file my state return via Turbotax, I have to print it out, manually fill out a PA W-2 RW, and snailmail my return to PA. Why? April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by High cost - Poor help Turbo Tax offers free electronic filing but it only applies to the federal return, State filing is a cost of $25 or you print your return out and use the info to go to a site offering free state filing. Free filing should cover both federal and state returns. TurboTax "help" is of little value. To get answers you must go to the IRS web site and dig it out yourself. I use Taxwise as a volunteer at the senior center. Both provide the right answer but Taxwise is easier to use. I will have my returned prepared there next year and will get tax preparation and filing at no cost! March 25, 2015
  • 2015-09-03T12:18:17.311-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-268, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12923, tr_12923
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 266 267 268 269 270 ... 298 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.