1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 268 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have used TurboTax for years and have had a few problems but on the whole I was satisfied until this year. I did not like the way it was packaged. Last year I purchased it on line but never could get a CD which I wanted. This year I chose instead to purchase it in a store and that was a bad experience. I want to buy turbotax with a CD but I want everything in one package. I don't want to pick and chose, mickeymouse around, with add on's etc. Even after I purchased the initual software I was told I needed to purchase an additional schedule. I want some assurance that we will not have this next year or I'm going to do something different. March 4, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not happy I was forced to upgrade right in the middle of my return to the most expensive business version, that I absolutely did not need, in order to enter an expense against my business income that wasn't one of the few in their list. I went through the zillion questions in Easy Step trying to figure out what made this more complicated version necessary and concluded it had to be plain ol' greed. I work for a former employer a couple of days a month and for this had to become "self-employed" and be a "consultant." Nothing has changed in 5 years - except I had to fork over more money THIS YEAR to put exactly the same things on my return as before. March 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax BUT..... I have used your product for several years and typically have no issues. This year there were 2 bugs i noticed while filing. 1. the page that comes up and asks you if you want to e-file or mail your return usually didn't populate and I would get a partial error page I think it said unable to load. Next when e-filing federal it worked fine but when I had to pay you to file my state return, I could never get the correct page to enter my credit card info. I always got an error message. When I used the phone number to pay by phone and then entered with the code your rep gave me it worked fine. This was frustrating and a bit of an inconvience. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Product I have been using TURBO TAX for several years and it seems that each year there are improvements that make the job easier. I remember struggling with topics like K-1 information entry. This year it seemed much easier to accomplish. I also appreciated that you told me I had the wrong version for Rental Property and then provided the correct version quickly and at no cost. I enjoyed using "ItsDeductable" this year. It made the job of entering and pricing our charity donations very simple. With you providing a cost spread, it took some of the stress out of our cost assignments. Please continue to provide this excellent product in future years. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Importing 1099B is a life saver My 1099B this year was approx. 50 pages long thanks to numerous stock & ETF trades I had done. I was agonizing over needing to manually enter each transaction which would have taken me days. TurboTax asked if I wanted to import my 1099B from my brokerage house, so I did. It took less than 10 Seconds! The rest of my return also went very smoothly. I do two states as well. TurboTax handled the separation of income and off-setting credits for taxes paid in each state very easily. The only negative is at the end when the option for saving a PDF is a pulldown from the print window. I wish there was a more obvious button or tab for saving a PDF. March 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some issues still For the most part it works well. But at times there are questions that are not asked to fill in form blanks later during the error check. And at times if you answer something incorrectly it can be difficult to find out where to change it when in comes up in the error check section. I noticed there were a lot of updates this year which I hope I had all that I needed for when I filed my returns to get the full amount refunded, that nothing was missed that should have been included this year. Also the price for the Home and Business I think should be reduced since the Deluxe version now includes what I need from the Home and Business version. February 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Confused It isn't clear which entries cause you to create a schedule F rather than form 4835. You only find out after filling out all the questions. Put this information with the entries that cause the branch to be taken. More guidance is needed about when you are issued a 1099. In some cases they are triggered by $10 in income, while others take $600. This would save time looking and calling when they aren't found and were never issued. Schedule K-1 entries are confusing. Some are information only, others needed only if you use section 199 (whatever that is). The K-1 issuer directs you to the tax preparer, and Turbotax directs you to the issuer. March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The "no fear" method for doing one's taxes The ONLY thing I continue to have problems with is when I go back to a section that I'd finished b/c I found some new information I want to add. Often, but not always, TurboTax acts as though it thinks I want to revisit the whole section. Why can't it recognize that I've already been through it once & now just want to change one page of stuff? There should be some kind of button I could check to indicate that i am just amending one screen of stuff & don't need to go through the rest of that section again, and be asked the same questions again that I've already answered. (It could be that there is a way to do this, but I've never found it.) March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by mostly good but not all First, I apologize for not remembering everything I think you could improve. Most importantly, you could have an online instruction file that is separate from the actual program so the user has an idea what to expect next. For the last couple of years, I have started to write my own booklet for this very purpose. For example, it would have been nice to know in advance the breakdown of medical expenses rather than assuming it mostly fell under a lump category. Also, I found it impossible to find where to put my cash income. During the review, I was forced to use one of 4 options, none of which fit my situation. I chose one just to get through. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Done Able to do my personal and business taxes efficiently on my own. AMT is blatantly unfair but the calculations show what you can do to limit it. Corrected multiple minor issues that I might not have detected without an above average CPA looking over my shoulder . Online employer forms make that extra processing step very reasonable. Two separate entities 8 employees and still able to get all reports out on time. I could not do this without TurboTax. I don't have the time, patience or knowledge to deal with thousands of pages of federal "help", changing tax laws and other minutia. Thank your for a solid program that does the job. Enough said! February 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Over 20 Years using Turbo-Tax !st, been using Turbo-Tax since 1993. I have been doing my own taxes since 1960. I have 8 years as an Accountant and Internal Auditor, and 33 years as a IT professional (System Analyst; computer progamming, etc.) For the first time in the past 22 years I attempted to file the Federal return by eFile. Your programmers are NOT smart enough to fill the page with information that has already been entered (Name, Address, etc) And, your Step-By-Step instructions tell me that if I have an LLC to use Schedule C! That is only true if the LLC is a one member LLC, but, if husband and wife are both members you have to use Schedule E page 2. Just stupid! April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product! Turbo Tax is great - easy, pretty quick, I really like it. I got tired of telling tax prep people through what I could and couldn't deduct for my small business (when google beats the tax prep, there's a problem#. So this is my first shot at taking the reigns myself. I'd like to see more info on certain things for business, and some things #like federal and state tax return info for previous year) were not where I thought they'd be, so a search option to find specific things would be nice - but that's a pretty minor issue. It's also my first year doing this myself, so part of that is just the learning curve. Very excited to be doing this myself! April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Employer Stock (ESPP, RSU) Calculations Broken I've been using TurboTax for Mac since 1998, and this is by far the worst version they have ever put out, particularly when it comes to employer stock calculations. For every ESPP or RSU transaction that I entered through the interview, I had to switch to the forms and manually correct the math. The program knew something was wrong because the worksheets all showed errors. The biggest problem with this is that when I went back through the interview to double-check my inputs, the math would be all screwed up again requiring another round of manual correction. I've also had TT crash several times, which has never happened in previous versions. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Is The Best Option! I have been using TurboTax for years. Each year it gets better, easier to use, more convenient, and gives me the control and accuracy that I'm looking for when preparing our taxes. Its interview approach to doing your taxes is no different than sitting in front of a tax preparer in someone's office. The best things is that I can do all of it on my time without ever having to leave home. TurboTax is also a much more cost-effective approach to doing your taxes than paying the higher fees of a tax preparer or CPA. Our tax situation has become more complex over the years but TurboTax STILL is the best option for us. I highly recommend it to you! March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost flawless Have been using Turbotax for at least years; it is easy to follow, offers the option to go forward or backward, to recheck multiple times; access to IRS forms, when desired; the on line help usually does help; This year, even with itemizing small donations to about 200 charities, I completed my taxes in three afternoons, and that includes calling two financial institutions to get clarification about Required Minimal Distribution of retirement funds, and figuring out how to report that I no longer have a personal business. Intuit read the rules and provides the entry-related instructions, saving me HOURS (maybe weeks, the way I would do it.)_ April 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mo' Money Mo' Problems Generally, TurboTax's ease of use and ability to transfer last year's information into this year's taxes make it a fantastic value. If you have a brain and understand your finances, I definitely recommend it. It did a great job for me with rental property income, personal deductions, and W-2 income. Some issues arose for me around multiple self-employment filings, with 1099's coming from multiple states. To be honest, I still don't know if Turbo Tax calculated things correctly, but at the end of the day, I figure it's good enough. I did what they said, but some of the directions became very vague and lacked helpful dialog boxes in this area. February 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Surprised by Turbotax Changes I have only needed TurboTax Premier in the past. This year I was required to upgrade all the way to Home and Office because I used schedule C. In the past this was covered in Premier. Why do I need to upgrade when it was very limited? I could do this part by hand if TurboTax allowed me to input the information. I think Schedules A, B, C & D should be covered in Premier. Also This year's TurboTax asked my what my refund was last year. I had to look it up myself. Why didn't TurboTax transfer this info from last year? TurboTax is giving me a lot of surprises. It's not getting simpler. I may need to look into H&R Block tax software for next year. March 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Going Downhill I've been using TurboTax for as long as I can remember. Earlier editions were easier to use in my opinion. Most important, it was much easier to find things in earlier editions and to go back to something already done and make changes. I also found that the Deluxe edition which I always get, will no longer handle downloading data from my Investment company, nor will it handle my little side business. I had to upgrade twice, first to Premiere edition and then to the Home & Business edition. To do that I had to call Customer Service twice.Very annoying. I also found that the fee for Audit Defense was significantly higher than in previous years. March 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Painful to ammend I purchased the software but my husband had never done the taxes until this year. He made a mistake of entering babysitting income as MISC income instead of self-employment. We had to pay $40 extra dollars to fill out a schedule C form to report a few hundred dollars of baby sitting, with no extra deductions, losses, etc. But the worse was trying to find out how to amend it. The instructions were unclear from all the "help"forums. When I finally figured it out and thought I had fixed everything on the state it then asked the question if I would like to amend my return. That could have been helpful much earlier and much more obviously to find. April 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Getting worse Largely this is the same, reliable TurboTax. It still remembers everything and I trust the calculations. On the flip side, things seem to be getting more difficult. The navigation feels less intuitive. (Fortunately, I knew my way around before starting) On the tech side, TurboTax is losing it. I had to go on the forums to figure out how to adjust my browser settings to get through my return in 2-3 places. Every time it opened a new window, TurboTax couldn't find the window it just opened. When I owed taxes, it still asked me how I wanted to spend my refund. They seem to be sitting back on their market share lead and taking us all for granted. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by frustrated with the changes Figuring out what to do because of the change the company made to the schedules available in the deluxe version was confusing. It seemed like you would have to exchange the deluxe for another version when you just needed to upgrade online. Navigating the program seemed to be more difficult this year. Getting back to previous questions or areas to review or change information was harder to accomplish. And the some of the state questions were confusing and were asking things that never were part of the form before. In the end, I was able to complete my taxes, but the extra drama was NOT appreciated. Please do NOT change the format ever again!!!!!! April 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sad news I had used Turbo Tax to figure my taxes and right when I went to transfer returns, Turbo Tax went online to save returns and the program froze. There were two additional aggravating circumstances, the program did not save locally first so I did not have a back up, There was noway around the error, no clicking on reload or cancel. I took pictures of the screen the next morning at that time and would be happy to send them to you. I thought if I let the computer sit until the next day the program would unfreeze, but alas it did not. I had to restart the computer and start all over with my taxes again and file them late. Sadly, it does not matter how well a program assist you with your taxes, it is moot when you cannot file them due to technical issues. April 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by For Retired People I've used TBT for the last 5 or 6 years, I like it. I do have to gather all the information, that takes about 2 days, but once I have, is just plug it in. Just one item, now that I'm retired, I get no W-2 forms, & my Spouse Is Self employed, so she gets no W-2 forms either, she does not do quarterly, she does everything at the end of the year, just 1 time, which is fine with me, she keeps all the records in a notebook. But I noticed this year, that because of that, we got placed in the high risk area for been audited; is this common? maybe next year you may have a section dedicated to self-employed, and retired people. Thanks for the hard work. April 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Trouble In Paradise Did not like having to redo entire tax preparation after being nearly completed, to discover that Turbo Tax did not include the necessary forms (Schedule C, etc) required to complete my return. Also, all information DID NOT transfer correctly after the update from Turbo Tax. I had to completely redo a new file which included starting fresh, open new return, transfer info from 2013, and re-input all data. The difference between original return with the update before finish and the new return showed a large difference in the bottom line what was owed (about a $575 difference!). Thanks TURBO TAX. Let's make sure that this doesn't happen next year! February 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by PROBLEMS EFILING FED TAX WENT SMOOTHLY BUT STATE TAXES NOT SO MUCH. REALLY BUMMED THAT THEY WOULD CHARGE ME TO EFILE AND THEN COME UP WITH PROBLEMS THAT MADE IT SO I COULDN'T EFILE. THAT IS A RIP OFF. ALSO, HELP FUNCTION WAS MOSTLY USELESS. ANYTHING OTHER THAN STANDARD QUESTIONS YOU ARE BASICALLY LOST. THE STEP BY STEP WAS FINE, MOSTLY CLEAR. MY TAXES ARE RELATIVELY SIMPLE. NICE SOFTWARE. OVERALL PRETTY EXPENSIVE IF YOU ARE DOING MORE THAN ONE STATE. ALTOGETHER COST OVER 200 BUCKS TO DO 1 FED AND 3 STATE RETURNS. COULD HAVE SAVED ME THE TIME AND HEADACHE AND HAD A TAX PREPARER DO IT FOR LESS THAN THAT. AND, AS I SAID, PAID FOR EFILING AND THEY COULDN'T DELIVER April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax not user friendly. I used 2014 Premier Turbotax to prepare my tax. I have non-deductible IRA contribution which I converted to Roth IRA. (backdoor conversion). Initially the Form 1040 line 15b showed my non-deductible IRA contribution as income and it took me quite a while to find out how to change 15b income to zero. A friend of mine have to amend his return to correct the 15b income. I used Premier Turbotax to do my 2013 income tax without any problem. Since my tax situation has not changed so I bought the Premier Turbotax again for my 2014 tax. However in the middle of preparing my tax return I have to upgrade to Home & Business in order to complete my return. March 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Constant crashing this year For some reason this year, the product was just not stable. This may have had something to do with the fact I had to go from Deluxe to Premium to Home and Business to get my Tax Return done, but I am not knocking stars off for that as it eventually became free to do so. What I am knocking all the stars off for is the constant crashing. About every 5 minutes the program would just lock up. Sometimes I would get an error message from Intuit, other times the program would just close. I have never had that problem with TurboTax before. I had to keep saving every 4 minutes or so to keep my work. Eventually everything worked and I was able to submit. February 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Review I have used Turbo Tax for years and will probably continue to do so. It is convenient, and I feel it helps me to submit my information accurately. I found it difficult to enter my self employed health insurance deduction, and indeed, would not have known this was a deductible item if my accountant has not informed me. In fact, I have had to go back and amend returns for previous years . In addition, having to buy Home and Business for this one question was confusing, since the accountant takes care of all of our business taxes, and most things in there did not apply. Cost me lots of time to figure out how to get in one line--line 29, on the form. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good product As a loyal turbo tax user for at least a decade, I felt a little betrayed that the Deluxe version no longer contained the schedule C. I do not need all the menu driven questionaires and such as I am a CPA, I just need the form and the programming. Then after I purchased the more expense upgraded version for business, I find out that Intuit is giving rebates and etc to irate customers regarding the Deluxe version. You know what? I don't have time for that especially at this time of year. You really needed to be upfront about this and you weren't. I almost switched to another provider and I still may. I just felt like loyal customers deserved better. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed this year I have used TT deluxe for over 15 years. While it cost nothing extra this year, because I have minimal Schedule C income and 2 stock sales, I had to upgrade twice during preparation of my return, first to premier and then to home and business. I have a single client for my home business with very minimal expenses and no home office deduction. I had 2 security sales. Because of these two items, I will have to upgrade to the much more expensive home and business version next year. It may be cheaper for me to hire a tax accountant for my very simple return. That is probably what I will do as I am very upset about Intuit's new policy described above. March 16, 2015
  • 2015-04-25T12:22:09.364-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-268, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_12499, tr_12499
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 266 267 268 269 270 ... 289 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.