1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 268 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not so user friendly I found this year's TurboTax fairly confusing and not so user friendly as in times past.. Explanations and directions about rental property entries as well as explanations about the difference in married filing jointly vs married filing separate. were not clear and I found I had totally skipped entering the information about rental property because of poor directions. I just found myself unsure if I was entering information appropriately and worried about being audited. Don't know why you made the current changes in the tax programs, but it was not a good change. I think you need better program writers. March 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Problems with filing HI state return I can not file my HI state return due to an error that on form N312 my state tax number has too many digits. When I check the form it is blank except for my name and SSN and the window for state tax code has "none assigned" in bold red letters. Well, this is a form for a state tax credit that I do not claim, there is no information on the form and I do not have a state tax number. However, I can not find a way to delete this form from my return to clear this error and proceed to file my HI return. I leave the country on Monday for six weeks and need this resolved quickly, or I have to file by mail before Monday. Thank you. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The royal road to tax prep I've been using Turbo Tax for many years and have the feeling it used to be easier to navigate. This year I thought I might have entered the same info in two different forms and had a really hard time finding a way to compare the two. Maybe it's just me, but it feels as though I have less overall control of the process than in past years. I've had this feeling the last few times I've used TurboTax. That said, it is still a great program and is especially good at preventing errors. The importing feature also shines. Two years ago my Sched D was 50 pages long. Thank god I didn't have to fill it out by hand! April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed Blessing This program doesn't give you any idea of how things are being calculated, and some years some questions are asked; other years those questions are not asked and others are. You're told to input details from forms you've received in the mail but the input possibilities don't match the information you've received. You're asked multiple times about health insurance and it's not clear whether you can keep all those entries or if you do you'll be duplicating your deductions. Etc., etc., etc. It's frustrating to try to work with TurboTax but I haven't found anything any better, and can't afford a professional. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Helpful! I have always used Turbo Tax Deluxe and was grateful when Intuit decided to change course and retain the business forms that had always been available with this product. When I purchased Turbo Tax this year I made the mistake of buying the product without the state return. I didn't mind paying for the return but the cost through the software was a bit higher than I would have paid online. When I called customer service they set up a download for me at a reduced price. Everything worked smoothly and the woman who assisted me was wonderful. Turbo Tax performed flawlessly for me again this year. Very happy! February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Even Easier than before I have been using TurboTax for decades. I am pleased that the tax filing has become even easier and simpler. I like that it offers the "step by step" method and the direct input method which the user can easily switch between during the input process. While the program offers a "import" from your money management program, it also copies over your entry/category errors. I find it easier to input the info into TurboTax directly versus importing. Once you have a prior TurboTax filing, you will have a comparison with the prior year entries as a double check of your current year entries...a very nice feature! January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Whew! I took on a couple of extra responsibilities this past year and with that my CD got misplaced. On top of that, somehow I ended up with two different user names and passwords and couldn't find the right combination to log on to the website. I finally got through to the most affable and accommodating CSR that very efficiently handled my problems to get me where I needed to be. I don't recall her name but she definitely deserves a raise! Every year (I think this was my 10th) your process gets easier in spite of the fact that the IRS has tried to make it more difficult. My hat's off to all of you at Turbo Tax! April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax in General I have used Turbo Tax since it's inception, year after year, even for clients when I had a rather large Accounting Company. During tax season my door was always knocking with a relative, family member, etc., that wanted my help in getting them through this stressful time in the year. Turbo Tax Customer Service is extremely helpful and each and every one of their Representatives has been not only informed and friendly but, always went out of their way for each and every need. I will continue to use Turbo Tax until they are no longer. Thank You just doesn't go far enough for this review, they are awesome!!! April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not the best... but not the worst either Be honest and tell people that you charge extra money to file the state return. You go through the hassle of filling out all the info and then at the end you hold us ransom for more money? You've got to be kidding me! Just include the fee with the purchase and be done with it or come right out and say "State filing NOT included". Other than that I have no other complaints. It is pretty user friendly but it takes for ever to upload and load. I do like how it populates all your information from the previous year. Not the best but not the worst either. Definitely less that going to Jackson-Hewitt or H&R Block. February 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't plan on printing your return. This program will not print a return unless you are connected to the Internet. You can't even save the return as a pdf unless you are connected to the Internet. So, I drive 12 miles round trip to get to the local Library where there is an Internet connection. I can then save my return as a pdf, drive home and print it out so I can then mail it. What kind of software will not print to a locally connected printer unless you are connected to the Internet. This is just stupid. Next year I'll do the paper form by hand and save the multiple trips to the library. It will be much faster, easier, and less expensive. February 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Change to Business forms I purchased Deluxe as in the past several years. Your change requiring an upgrade to Home & Business caused difficulty. I went to forms and entered the line items for business expenses but after you provided the upgrade, the items that I entered were not reflected in the Easy Step but were still on the form in forms view. Caused a lot of confusion and trial and error. Hope my return is correct. As a note, I have know the rules for business expenses and therefore have not needed to pay for Home & Business in the past but appreciated the option of inputing the actual expenses without having to pay for advice. February 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Really poor software this year I have been Turbo Tax user for the last 15 years. Most of the time previous years, TurboTax has provided consistently solid interface allowing entry points for my taxes. This year multiple areas were completely screwed up where I was not prompted to enter data correctly and had to go directly into forms to update information. It has never happened before. This applied to conversion of personal residence to rental, business use of your home, HSA deductions and so forth. If I have to figure out how to use IRS forms directly why bother with Turbo tax. I am not even mentioning that this year I had to buy additional Turbo Tax upgrades to have the same level of Tax coverage I had years before. Not good. I am going to be looking for a new tax software for 2015. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Forms and Process The programs don't seem to improve. When running updates, which appear to be daily and not sure why, data previously entered just disappeared. It also did not save data after I was done with entries for the day and tried to continue the next day, the info was back to where I started, did not save data! There is no provision for NOL carry over although it shows a loss on last year's return. Very painful to use the system. If it wouldn't be for historic data that's already in the system I would look for another tax program. Maybe Turbotax is not advanced enough anymore for the current tax laws...sorry to say.. April 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fixed What Wasn't Broken As best I can estimate, I have used TT for 6 or 7 years. I have always liked that ALL of the forms I need are in the package, INCLUDING STATE FORMS. This year you took away several necessary forms. While you corrected that, it was still an extra hoop that I had to jump thru to get it. AND you put a rediculous requirement that I had to file before February 15 to get state forms included. I am absolutely sure you are aware that W-2 forms are not due to taxpayers until February 28. So I paid an extra $40+ to get state forms. Given those issues, I will review other packages next year, and will likely NOT use TT. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Maxed My Refund Been using TurboTax since 2009 and its always been simple and easy. This year a minor glitch regarding changes made to the Deluxe version which used to handle ALL my areas, needed to upgrade to both Premier and then Home and Business to handle it all. All my tax situations were handled with the usual ease and completeness provided by TurboTax but required to use the other two products in addition to Deluxe for completing my taxes this year. I fully endorse and recommend all your products for tax preparation just that going forward ensure that the use of each is properly documented for consumer understanding February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 17th Year Using TurboTax; Home & Business Seventeen years ago there were quite a few tax situations that TurboTax couldn't handle and I found myself overriding quite a bit. Each year TurboTax got progressively better and I haven't had a situation that TurboTax couldn't handle without an override in years. I doubt any tax preparation service could do it more accurately and I'm sure they couldn't do it cheaper. I have saved thousands on tax preparation. And I know from having done my own taxes for over 40 years approximately what I owe and can double check the TurboTax result in a few minutes. I use it to prepare the taxes of five other family members. April 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing after many years of productive use Have used Turbo Tax for many, many years, but this year several areas were vague in description and follow through, I had to upgrade to get a tiny part that was left out of premier this time, and tax time was quite frustrating this year (in past it had only been time consuming and irritating) I'm going to be comparison shopping for other tax services for next year--I felt we paid more than we had to, and I could not figure why such a difference existed from previous years. Still, it was better than doing everything myself on paper (or was it?....) I have counted on TurboTax in years past--I feel disappointed. March 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Few tweeks needed Only a few things to improve. When doing my sons taxes, a college student, I had to go back and change his status from dependent on another return to not being a dependent. It did not automatically kick off a calculation to recalculate which education credit was best. I had to hunt around, figure out that he did qualify, and found a way to start a recalculation. Sure enough the $1,000 American Opportunity Credit showed up in the refund. If I didn't know this (I am an Accountant), I would never have known that it wasn't working. My son was on the border of being a dependant (the 50% or more of his expenses thing), so sometimes changes like this are made. The other thing is that every tax return I print, Turbotax prints the quarterly estimated tax payment vouchers for the next year. 4 pages is wasted because none that I do are for people who need to do estimated taxes. Make this a question so it only prints for those that need it. You will save a lot of paper and toner across the country!! April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 SNAFU We have used Turbo Tax for many years and the Turbo Tax Deluxe with State has always been highly satisfactory. This year's version, which omitted Schedule F that I need for my forest farm (produces income only once every ten years or so, but has expenses every year), was a disappointment. The "fix" by which I could download the Business version of Turbo Tax for free was helpful, but I got a lot of screens that I did not need since this "business" produces income so infrequently. I will continue to use Turbo Tax if this can be corrected in future years since the walk through of entering income, expenses, and deductions is so easy. April 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Klunky, Hated it. Past Versions of Turbo Tax have been so easy to use, you could always easily jump back to an area you had been in. This year using it was painful. I don't know what they were thinking. I have a small business and in the past could use Turbo Tax Deluxe and it was really easy. This year you had to have the Home and Business version and you almost needed to be an accountant to use it. Hated it. It would refuse t o move on but wasn't clear about what you needed to do to continue, if it didn't like something on that page. They promise to bring back the earlier version of Deluxe next year. See that you do Turbo Tax. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Walks you through every situation I have used TurboTax since it became available.I have no idea why anyone would use a paid preparer. As long as you keep good records and match the tax forms received in the mail with the very-easily found corresponding entry forms in the program - it's really, really hard to mess up. I file a pretty complicated return as we own part of a business, consistently buy and sell stock, and have multiple investments. I keep everything I need and have it all ready when I sit down to prepare. Today it took me six hours to prepare federal and two states. I can't even fathom how much I would have spent on a paid preparer. April 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will never use TurboTax again I have used Turbo Tax successfully for years. Last year was the first time I had trouble and this year was no exception. I am now getting an error messageYour Federal Return Has Been Rejected This happens from time to time. Don't worry, we can help. Here's the problem with your return: IND-510 - Spouse SSN in the Return must not be equal to the Primary SSN on another tax return. IND-508 - Primary SSN in the Return must not be equal to the Spouse SSN on another tax return for which filing status is Married Filing Jointly or [filing status is Head of Household and the Spouse exemption is claimed]. This was only after getting error messages in the CA return because we owe, and the software is so illusive in directions on how auto fix it. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Change resistant Problem with sale of inherited oil royalty property. No problem going through it the first time. The first time through, to get a feel for the tax impact, I chose to not enter a number for the base value at the time of inheritance. After I investigated how to determine the base value, and then tried to "edit" the base-value entry leaving the sales value entry untouched, the software doubled the sales price. I had to play some games to finally get the correct final number for the sales price. You must have a challenge debugging the software as you try to keep up with the frequent "improvements" in the IRS rules. April 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not as good as years past. My mail beef is that I couldn't access my 1099's, W2's or other forms/files directly. You must go to a worksheet to do anything. The use of worksheets without access to the "official" documents a pain. I've used Turbo Tax for at over 10 years and this was, by far, the most difficult. No guidance on how to delete a job from multiple Schedule C's (and other files) imported from last years file. Come on. Seems less that there are far less "connections" within the software coding that in other years. I suppose that the "newer" more "streamline" approach can be a good thing but not at the expense less accessibility. February 11, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still not as good as it SHOULD be A former BETA tester, I am still disappointed that several of my suggestions have not yet been implemented. - For example, the user should have the ability to use COMMENTS on ANY/ALL input areas. I have many customers who do not KNOW the COMPLETE answer to a question, but TT no longer allows me to open a dialog box and then use an honest answer to approximate the eventual results. In addition, too many questions do not allow a "MARKED ESTIMATE" response so that the program can find all my 'MARKED ESTIMATE" answers as if they were ERRORs. This is a MAJOR LOSS. I should be able to flag any and all of my answers. February 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by not so hot have been using HR Block for last two years. like their format and data presentation much better. T-T also would not update from HRB's last year's filing and I could not upload my income date from Pershing LLC (may not be T-T's fault). Did not know how to hide the mini-worksheets when looking at forms and I could not, or could not figure how to, go directly to a spot on a form and have it allow me to enter data (or at least take me directly to the input location). Had to wade thru the decision tree all over again, Also could not use "create similar form" to avoid entering all the issuer's information each time. March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed MAC user As usual, TurboTax made income tax analysis easy to complete; however, my son had to partition my hard drive to run the latest operating system just to be able to run my Personal & Small Business TurboTax. I had chosen not to upgrade to the newer operating system because I still have older programs that I regularly use, which only run under OS X 10.6. I understand the culture of constant upgrades; however, there is an inconsistency between requirements for MAC users rather than PC users. The program still allows PC users to have Microsoft WindowsXP, dating back to 2001. Why the unfair treatment for us MAC users? April 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disinhearted I originally bought the Deluxe Package that I have always used for the three returns I complete each year. I got two done just fine, but when I needed the Sch E it was only on the Premier Package, and NOT in the Deluxe. I had to call Turbo Tax, Jill and Shannon at Turbo Tax call site sent me the download and I got the Sch E done. Then I needed the Sch C and it wasn't in the Premier. I had to call again and have Wes at Turbo Tax call site , send me the download for the Home and Business to get the Schedule E part done. Finally got the return done after 7 hours on the phone. What a nightmare. Can you please go back to the way it was in prior years with all the schedules I need in the Deluxe? I have been with Turbo Tax going on 41 years now, despite this unfortunate experience this year, I will continue to be aTurbo Tax customer. Please put Sch E and C back in the Deluxe Package. Thank you. I am retired. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by First time filing 1099s, and I had challenges Overall, the Home and Business Software started off without any challenges. I had to do my 1099s before my taxes (so I have yet to finish my actual tax return). While I was able to do my 1099s pretty effortlessly, I still can't figure out how to file them electronically or import them into my actual tax return. And I'm not a computer novice, so I think that part is lacking. But I've liked TurboTax for doing my own business taxes for years. This was my first time filling out 1099s, and the filing of them and the importing of them into my actual return could have been easier, as I've yet to figure those things out! February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a pleasure, sometimes a pain I've used TT even when I hated using it, and loved the results each year, though not necessarily the process or the bad news (I always owe). Heck, I've got *.tax files back to 1997. Must be why I'm so glad they've finally got the "text zoom" working - old eyes! There are always a couple rough spots, but you can usually follow the quick zooms and drill down through forms to figure out whether you've put a number in the wrong place, or TT has. (This year I backed out of itemizing and TT left one negative number stuck someplace for me to find and zero out. And why ask me about sped-up refunds when I owe $6K? :-/ ) February 28, 2015
  • 2015-04-18T12:05:45.313-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-268, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_12401, tr_12401
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 266 267 268 269 270 ... 287 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.