1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 268 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by Long time user now unsatisfied My primary grievance as a long time TurboTax user is that Intuit has removed the business forms and worksheets from every version except the most expensive, forcing you to upgrade without telling anyone this was going to happen. To add insult to injury, the guided questions are more extensive and the links to help you understand the information required are actually not accurate (I verified a couple by going to the IRS website). At the end of the day Intuit made it more expensive for a product that is more difficult to use. I will most likely be looking for alternatives next year. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Faithful I've been using Turbo Tax for as long as I can remember (10+ years). Every year I dread having to file my taxes and I walk away amazed with each iteration of this product - I'm not sure why I stress over this since I get it all done in a matter of minutes. If you stay on top of your finances throughout the year with Turbo Tax's sister product, Quicken, you can rip through this process in under an hour. Mind you, I've got LLCs, rental properties, consulting gigs, a full-time job, etc. So an hour doing taxes versus 8+ hours prior to switching to Turbo Tax is incredibly satisfying! April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The ugly, the bad and the great. I could not get updates through Turbo Tax when I first installed it. I used the offered patch method for updates which worked fine. Then I couldn't download the state return. I called support, on a Sunday evening, and got a great agent which together we worked through the problem of my original disk from Costco which was defective. After quite a while on the phone, all problems were solved and I completed my returns shortly there after. It's great to be finished thanks to Turbo Tax's great service reps. I went from upset to very satisfied so I will be using Turbo Tax next year. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by DIY Taxes I have always done my own taxes and appreciate how easy Turbo Tax makes the unpleasant process of filing Federal Income Taxes. Even though I have a great deal of experience, I sometimes encounter tax language that I find confusing. I would love to see a separate glossary section with examples that I could view prior to filing out the forms. I have also encountered some confusion when dealing with income that is reported on a 1099-MISC.Many different kinds of income are reported on a 1099-MISC. The Step by step instructions need more detail regarding various types of rental income. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Filing! Overall, I think that it is awesome software and very simple to use. The only suggestion that I would request is that if you select the option to have Turbo Tax walk you through each step of the income or deductions section, it would be much nicer and faster if the program went through all 8 or so deduction options before bringing up the summary page instead of bringing up the summary page after each of the 8 options. This becomes a bit tedious, especially if I answered no to a deduction, I don't need to see the summary page to tell me that I just answered NO to the last question. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tougher this year with need to upgrade to H&B I hope they go back to the previous Deluxe edition next year. This year I had to update to Home and Business to handle Stocks and Royalties, neither of which constitute a business, but both had to be handled that way, yet avoid defining them as a business to avoid self-employment taxes. What should have been a simple year, ended up not being. Then there are the Javascript errors when getting ready to e-file (Console not defined) which I had to ignore to continue, but they interfered with paying for filing such that it had to be done in an odd way, and took support to get it done. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Like it a lot, but don't love it much. I have used Turbotax for years, and likely will continue to use it. It would raise my comfort and confidence level if it could offer me the option of returning to the point in the interview that I was at when I needed to go to a form to check something out. Not knowing or being able to see where I should return to the interview process so that I don't overlook anything leaves the opportunity to skip useful questions. But having the ability to switch modes and review whatever, whenever a question arises is terrific. I just need "breadcrumbs" or tracking indicators for both modes. March 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Pain I needed Sch. C, so had to upgrade to Home & Bus. which this year was free luckily. Big cost increase if it wasn't. The box containing the desktop software was vague on the "Deluxe" limitations. TT tried to give me a credit on state tax that I didn't want to take. I overrode it to zero. All checks found no errors. I paid the $19.99 to file the state and then hit transmit for Federal and State returns. It then stopped me and said to remove the overrides before transmitting. That check should have been there before reaching that point. I'll look at Tax Cut next year before buying TT. March 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Using TurboTax 2014 I will continue to recommend TurboTax to all my friends. As long as they don't have unusual issues as I did, it will serve them very well. Up until my 2013 debacle I had used TT for several years, and the program knew what questions to ask me about income sources I had reported in the past. Since I acquired a new email address ( a free gmail account) my old history with TT appears to be lost somewhere. I still have not been able to access my TT account online in order to purchase the Audit Defense insurance. To accomplish that may take another three hour phone call, but I hope not. April 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by At least I finished Due to some answer up front, TT required me to upgrade to Home and Business when Home only would have worked just fine. There was no reason to do this. Additionally, I incurred additional business tax when I really don't have a business. It took me entering my data FOUR times to finally get something I was willing to submit. Now I know why I got all the apology emails earlier this year. I will probably spend the next year seeking someone to do my taxes since it seems like TT can't be depended upon to provide the same continuously good service and product and product as in the past. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Problem with New Hampshire Turbo tax said that I needed to buy a New Hampshire tax package. This was not true. Turbo Tax said that an income of $52,000 required a New Hampshire tax form. This is not true. New Hampshire individual tax is based on income and dividends being over $2400. In this case, dividends and income were $67. I have reported New Hampshire income earned for the last 4 years and this is the first time Turbo Tax indicated that the New Hampshire form was needed. I have always trusted Turbo Tax but now I am not sure. Someone should go back and evaluate the New Hampshire package updates for 2014. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Like Year 2013 or Past Years Turbo Tax continues to be a great product. In Year 2013, I used Deluxe to complete Sch C/Form 8829. Once I discovered Deluxe had changed (after my purchase for 2014), I was pleased that Turbo Tax had a made a positive effort to correct by offering to free upgrade to Premier. After I upgraded, I felt the software was not as easy to use as far as completing Schedule C/Form 8829. My experience with Turbo Tax afforded me the ability to go to the forms and complete the necessary information although I was never asked the right questions during the interview phase for Schedule C/Form 8829 April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 TurboTax Software Performance This years' TurboTax software has improved from prior years. I still get lost when I try to go back to a specific segment of my tax return. However, this year I have found that when I do a search it often gives me the option, with one click to go to that part of my tax form. This was a tremendous savings of time for me. However, all searches do not give that option. I hope for next year more searches will be available to get me directly to that portion of my tax form that I am looking for. A wonderful time saver for such a complicated federal tax form. I will be back again next year! March 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by YOU REALLY FOULED UP THIS YEAR I have used Turbo Tax for over a decade. In the past I have found it relatively easy to use...no more. Many of your questions are ambiguous, as questions related to RMD's and periodic payments. We are not CPA's but I consulted a CPA and he said the questions are BAD. Your hugest error is the deletion of the Schedule A from the Deluxe version. Many users want to see their deductions on the Schedule A to satisfy themselves that they do or do not qualify for itemized deductions. Having to upgrade to Home and Business is an unnecessary hassle. I will think twice before using TT next year. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unfortunately I had to pay First paying $24.00 to pay for filing the state return is quite excessive. Also in making the state payment it was very hard to do. Even one of your people that got on the line with me had to refer me to another assistant, who by ther way, has never come on the line even though I've been waiting over 20 minutes. So guess what, I finally figured out how to do it myself. After all, as a Professor of Business Law at DePaul University for many years I always tell my students to use Turbo Tax. For that alone I shouldn't have been charged $24.00 to have you simply submit my Illinois return. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 wasn't the best year for turbo tax I've been using Turbo Tax for 20 years and I really like the interview format for getting information organized and entered into the program. It is very helpful if you used turbo tax the previous year because a lot stuff is imported from the older files. This year's edition was not the best, however. I found that every time I restarted TTax to work on the next section or after an update, I had to start the interview over again. Previous years, the interview would pick up where I left off. No so this time. Became a bit annoying after awhile. Hoping that this is corrected for next year. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by State I file a joint return. Turbo Tax allows you to edit personal data for federal but there is no such provision for State in the event of errors when the program automatically transfers personal data from Federal to State. For instance, in the state portion, my name and social security number was indicated as the owner of my spouse's business and her name and social security number was indicated as the owner for one of my businesses. For the sake of accuracy, when moving to the "State" portion, a "verification of personal information" page with a provision for editing should be included. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, Fast and saved me MONEY Due to a death in my family I had to account for income I never had before. TurboTax lead me through the questions that were easy to understand so I could take care of it myself. This saved me money hiring an accountant and time. No one knows your financial picture better than you and you have to tell someone else about all of it to get a good return. TurboTax takes care of that. Deductions were just as easy. I didn't start until 8 pm on 4/15 and had my business / personal return in the mail before 11 pm. Thank you Intuit!! (PS I don't recommend waiting until the last minute however.) April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I used Turbotax for Trust and Daughter's Return This is the first time I have done my own Trust taxes and it was simple. I tried H&R Block but it was way too complicated. Turbotax took me through the steps and gave me the help / explanations when needed. For my daughter's tax return this is the second year I have used Turbotax; this year she went through all the steps and asked me questions as we went along. As a teacher the tax return is fairly simple, bus since she has a small summer business it gets a little complicated. We had to use the Turbotax Home and Business edition, but it was simple and easy to follow from step to step. March 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not trust your software too many mistakes Have used Turbo Tax for over ten years and have always found it valuable until this year. I found the software faulty and difficult to use. The updates were few and given the manual intervention needed to be made on the forms itself, I found myself not trusting the system. I spent 12 years of my professional life preparing difficult tax returns for individuals and corporations, so I know the laws quite well. This year I continued to question whether your system was doing the proper calculations. I am struggling what to use next year because of my experience with your prodcut this year. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by little things that keep it from being great Almost a great program. Here are the shortcomings, none of which are big enough for me to use another program. To e-file you need to leave the program and log on to the turbotax website. There is no link for this in the program, I had to find out about it on the help forum. The program just prepares a paper filing of the 4868. A real pain if you are trying to get extended at the last minute. When you go online to extend you have to put all your info in again. Although you can do several returns in the program, online you can only extend one. You have to open a new account to do another. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only way to do Taxes I used to have a tax accountant. He never found all the deductions that I find by doing my own taxes. I don't know if he was lazy but I like saving money. I paid him $300 to do taxes and I can buy Turbo Tax at Costco for under $60. Plus I have the control to know that I am getting every possible deduction. It is worth the time. And if you have to call Turbotax for questions they are AMAZING!!!. Even if you have a Mac. The first person wasn't sure of something so they got me to someone who knows how to use a Mac. How great is that? So, skip the accountant and save money with Turbo Tax. June 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Synchronization is terrible During final review it becomes apparent that the software doesn't pull the previously entered data from other areas within the overall return, i.e. I had to enter business car use in two different states even though it was the same data. That's another thing, we didn't use our car for business use in California, only Nebraska so why do I have to include it in California's return???? Also when entering state data if I need to look at a certain form and choose "forms" when I return to the step by step process I often loose my place and have to start all over again, are you kidding me???!! March 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by change my PIN Turbo tax automatically enters last year's PIN and AGI. I like that it enters the AGI, but not the PIN. I thought ,since it entered last year's PIN,I would be able to use it for this year. I e-filed using last year's PIN and was rejected.It shouldn"t automatically fill in the PIN if the past year can't be used. One other concern, I wanted to pay my mother's taxes using my account but there wasn't anywhere to show my name on the account. Is my name needed or just my routing number and account number even though the taxes were for a different name.Turbo tax doesn't explain that situation. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and reassuring I was a little worried about risking my taxes on my own, but TurboTax was a great experience! I could do the work at my own pace with the easy-to-follow steps. Everything that might be complicated seemed to have a popup window to help me out and I didn't feel worried that I missed something when I hit that "File now" button. It did take longer than past appointments with a CPA, but that was partly because of home interruptions. A fee of $35 did pop up at the end that I didn't expect and still don't know what it was for, but compared to the $300+ cost of a CPA, it was definitely worth it. March 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by New Mexico state return has bugs New Mexico return has bugs in some lines concerning the form PRD-42359 where the information imputed does not end up in the correct place on the tax form or it does not compute correctly. I did an override to correct the information and now the forms are correct but the software will not let the tax form be e-filed. I didn't find this out until after I paid for the e-filing. I printed the NW forms and mailed them. The same thing happened last year and I would have thought you had it fixed by now. I am out $48 for e-filing NW returns for 2013 and 2014 and the returns could not be e-filed. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax ALMOST Met All My Needs TurboTax met almost all my needs. However, there were two instances in which the program did not meet expectations. First, the program does not naturally handle hobby income very well. It dumps the user at the Schedule C, with no guidance regarding how to NOT declare a business. Second, I discovered that when certain information is manually entered into worksheets, the information DOES NOT get transferred for recalculation. That caused me three hours of grief, doing re-entry. All said, TurboTax is better than H&R Block, my only other serious alternative (which I have used in the past). March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great recovery I have been a Turbo Tax customer since you started. I cannot begin to tell you how frustrated and upset I was when I realized I needed, first, to go up to Premier from Deluxe and, then , secondly, to upgrade again to business. In my decades as a user, Deluxe always worked just great. Your response to the problem was benchmark. My hope now is that I will be able to complete future returns with Deluxe and not have a repeat of this year's nightmare. Customer first is a pretty good philosophy to follow. At the start, my review would have been 1 star- I gave you a 5 because of your response April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Clear - gives you confidence! This years TT was easy, clear, and blindingly fast. With my paperwork from income sources and with Quicken Deluxe running reports, it was a breeze to finish in just a couple of hours. Love the product - since I started a home based business in 2014, I needed an upgrade to last years version of TT - and VOILA! - there it was downloaded almost before I knew I needed it. I like knowing way ahead of time (since last fall!) that whatever changes happen with the tax code I would have the program updated with all the latest changes and ready to go when I was ready to file. Worth every penny! March 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Excited.... Spent way too much time going back and fixing errors such as 1) mortgage interest "auto-download" that would not allocate properly to personal and business (rental) segments and 2) misconstruing the "personal use" verbiage for rental properties that could very easily be clarified. Not the smartest guy in the world but, it seems this product should be getting better over time, and not just keeping static with some bs fluff. Would love to see some substantive changes in the rental property section which allows for "clean" breaks and integration throughout the personal and business segments. April 5, 2015
  • 2015-08-02T11:20:51.575-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-268, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12839, tr_12839
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 266 267 268 269 270 ... 296 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.