1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 268 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dazed and Confused When looking to do the unreimbursed expenses for work you end up going to a section called Business Expenses. As I am filling all the information in I realized that this was not the appropriate area for those expenses. If you are going to identify something as a Business Expense it should clearly state your Home Business or the Business that you operate for your primary income. I wasted over 2 hours trudging through everything and was not happy when I had to re-enter it later on. Clarity. Remember this program is for those of us that do not wish to pay $150 to those other reporting places. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Limited Partnership sales Over the past 5 years that I have owned MLP's, TTax has not handled the reporting of partial sales or complete sales correctly. The worst case is partial sales. The K-1 interview screens lead you to report the sales there, but in my case, and in all other cases noted on the TTax Users forum, TTax does not take into account that the LP sales (partial or full) are also reported on the broker 1099B. If the TTax user doesn't manually modify the reported information, TTax will double tax the gains on LP sales. It is very unprofessional for TTax to not fix this problem over the course of 5 years. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Application I have used TTax for years. I love it. I used to feel more comfortable during use with the verbal explanations and the more explanatory hotpoints. Seems like I have to refer to the IRS Pubs more for questions. A few places don't pull in info from previous years which is annoying. i.e Like in certain AMT stuff. Also some instructions and process flows are not intuitive. I'd like to see state filing free across the offerings not just the 1040EZ. It was disconcerting this year to hear about the tax hack. Intuit needs to stay extremely vigilant on this front as tax forms are highly confidential. February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Personal vs Small Business I've used Turbo Tax for years last year my wife and I became a small business independent renters in a salon. Prior to that she was commissioned and with the first year of the affordable care act I decided to have a CPA do my taxes. This year I decided to attempted to do my taxes myself using Turbo Tax for small business. With all the fear that comes from doing taxes and layer on the new affordable care i jumped in and to my surprise and one week of plowing thru the process i found that as usual Turbo Tax made my life less stressful and the process was surprisingly easy. Thank you Turbo Tax! February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service I most was satisfied with the customer support. I had several phone calls into Turbo Tax, mostly regarding issues with my S-Corporation Business and my spouses Sole Proprietorship Business. The CPAs available at no charge to me were outstanding, friendly, very respectful of my concerns and willing to go the extra mile to satisfy me. The products, Turbo Tax Home & Business and Turbo Tax Business are both outstanding. I was frustrated that the state corporation taxes could not be e-filed, but overall I completed all my tax filing in only a few short days (10 hours overall) from start to finsh. March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Choice I love Turbotax. I used to pay an accountant a few hundred dollars, then I went to a retail preparer. I actually had to walk the retail preparer through my not-all-that-complicated return. And paid a few hundred for the privilege. Turbotax tax makes it easy and walks you through the entire process. I'm confident that my returns are accurate. My only quibble is with the documents and saving them. Be sure to save them on your computer as well as with Intuit. I made that mistake last year and none of my previous information copied over to this year's return. Overall, I wouldn't go anywhere else. February 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by medical insurance done wrong I'm on social security but also have a consulting business. I entered as instructed the medicare insurance that was deducted from my social security payments - in the small business medical insurance location. Turbotax also entered the same deduction under medical deductions. Since it was getting the info off the form from social security, Turbotax refused to let me delete the med insurance from the personal section. In spite of clear instructions to the contrary I had to delete the info from the business expense side. Had I not noticed this, Turbotax was planning to take the deduction twice. February 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Taxes are a must TurboTax is the best product out in the market at this time. Every year they do their best to make changes to the application based on consumer input. Although they need to SIMPLIFY the section on the Roth and State taxes. The application needs easier process where an individual works and where they live. In addition, if a tax return is required for the state they have selected up from, not several pages into the (TurboTax) application process. On a scale of 1 star to 5 stars, 5 being the best, I would give them 4 stars or 80% satisfaction. Good, but needs more customer and input improvements. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still Love This Product Been using Turbo Tax for at least 7 years. It is much faster each year as you get familiar with their format and learn to do taxes. With two businesses, rentals, kids, a W2 job, and donations, I am still a little nervous on whether they are done right as my circumstance is a bit unique. My In-Laws use a person to file, but mine take less as I simply enter the items as I find them. I highly recommend using Turbo Tax if you are familiar with the paper route or your taxes are not overly complicated with new circumstances such as adding a business, etc. Even then, it is worth the time to learn it. February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gets it done, with less pain Turbotax has always gotten me through the process in a fraction of the time doing it by hand used to, no matter how complex the detail has become. Health and medical, investment, property, child dependents, everything gets me through pretty smoothly. It is hard to tell in advance what the necessary documentation needed is in full sometimes and no one can warn you in advance, but it's easy to suspend the process while you find something. And having a program sit waiting is a lot cheaper than an accountant sitting and waiting. If you want investment advice, you really need something else though. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent..as always I have used Turbo Tax exclusively to prepare my returns for 20+ years (since the DOS days!!!). This year, as always, the experience was superb, with one exception: The initial release of Turbo Tax Premier (which I've always used) lacked some of the function that I had come to expect. However, Intuit took positive action to fix this problem early, so by the time I did my taxes, the fix was automatically downloaded and I successfully finished my returns on time. Kudos to Intuit for responding to the clamor that arose early and for fixing the reduced function release at not additional cost to me. April 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by More options... I have used Turbo Tax for years. I recently started a partnership. I ended up with H&B because of the "do you own a business" question. Once I got started, I realized I couldn't do my Schedule K-1 or other business forms for the partnership. I think it should be an option to be able to pay extra money to buy the ability to do an extra form or process. Since I only needed a small amount of what Business offered, I ended up doing my business taxes by hand instead of spending the $145+ on it. I had already spent $75 on H&B when I really could've just used Deluxe and did my business taxes by hand. April 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience in 2014! Home and Business is a difficult tax to file (lots of details), but it went well! I have been using TurboTax for well over 12 years and this one was the best. You had answered many of the questions that nagged me in the past, such as double reporting of long term insurance in the business and personal portions, and kept beautiful track of carryovers. As every prior time except for once, I used the desktop version since I got bitten once by the downloaded version. Then the server lost my tax files which caused me to reload what I could from the PDF version for next year (but lost the carryovers) March 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Transfer Problems/EFT Apparently Intuit got in a hurry this year I found several bugs. They were difficult to locate the problem. One bug allow by Oklahoma return to be transfer after review of the return only to be unaccepted by Oklahoma. I found where the intuit didn't properly complete transfer on 511NRB. Also it wanted to file my Oil royalty income on Schedule C not the proper Schedule E, made it extremely difficult get the information in proper place on Schedule E. The depletion deduction supposedly automatic figured is not and any number it comes up with will not show on the form or be giving credit in return. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Want to be a Tax expert? Use TurboTax I've been using this product for 16 years. It's an excellent tool that allows you to organize your Tax related info, walks you through the Tax return preparation by asking simple and straightforward questions. It has multiple help tools including instant help, on-screen comments, and internet links. It helps tremendously to answer the questions correctly. It uses your prior year Tax return to automatically fill out some info, so you only need to confirm the changes. At the end of the day, it's a perfect learning tool if you want to know more about Taxes. I recommend TurboTax to all my friends. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Frustrating Every time I went to work on my return, there would be a "new version" and I had to update. The problem was that on my MAC the updates would NEVER work normally. Each time I had to delete all copies already on my computer, load a new copy, update, but then have to go to "application assistant" to finish the loading of the update.Since I could never just open a file in progress I finally had to find a time when I can do the whole return in one extended session and be done before I had to update it again. I'll give TT a shot again next year, but if this problem persists, I'll find an alternative. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I see myself as a dinosaur with computer technology but feel that Turbotax has enabled me to do my own taxes. Now as a clergyperson-retired and running a small home business, the software and support system have met my needs. It was only in a very few instances I became confused and had to either call TurboTax and pay for professional advice or turn online to the Turbotax wider community without charge. Even though clergy taxes are a "different animal", while dealing with "housing allowances" for example, I have found this resource helpful. I am a ten years user of Turbotax and a senior citizen. February 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Two patches and a refund The order of instruction to fix the files causing the import issue with itsdeductible needs to be changed to the following Line 1 Print these insrtuctions Line 2.--The current line 5, with the patches, needs to be line 2, to download the patches to the desktop before you close the program. The following steps need to return to the original line 1... Closing the Turbotax program.etc. When closed first you lose the patch link,and if you change the files as instructed , you cannot get back in to Turbotax to get the patch files. I found them online luckily, through the question file. Not fun! I February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by my 1st time What a pleasant surprise...very good, very user friendly. I am techo phobic... I never have done it this way. I have paid big bucks many times to hand in my well organized numbers so someone else could run it thru their program and now I see how easy it is to input data and let the program do the work . I liked it alot, and I think next year will be better because my records will be on hand to reference and I will have a better handle on how to do my entries. It will probably make me keep better records for deductions too. Very Happy not to leave $600 plus dollors at H&R Despite ther cute ads !! April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still a Great Program - Lousy Merchandizing If you felt it was necessary to upgrade all the Deluxe customers who have faithfully used your software for years you needed to make that news well publicized before people bought their software. After using the same version of the same software for that many years, people don't read the fine print on the box. They buy what they have known and trusted. If you were going to change what Deluxe included, then you could at least have dropped the name Deluxe and renamed all the versions so people would have to read the details and selected the appropriate one for their needs. Very poorly thought out! February 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review of 2014 Home and Business I used the CD version of Home and Business both for 2013 and 2014. I. In this version, there is NO place in the interview to add the following for K-1s: -ending percentages for partner's share of profit, loss & capital -partner's share of liabilities at year end -partner's capital account analysis I had to add all this information on the forms view 2. In Turbotax Corporation and Partnerships software, when you right click on a data field, it tells you the source of the entry for most fields. This is a very useful feature, perhaps you could incorporate this feature into Home & Business software. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hard copy printing after e-filing After e-filing there should be an option to print a hard copy without printing all the backup data for each state return. I have income sources in three states and therefore must file in three states. I always opt for e-filing but need to keep a hard copy due to the nature of the nature of our business. Although you can go through the long list of forms to select only those that you require, it is time consuming and could result in errors if you accidentally fail to print a form you need. It would be convenient if TurboTax had an option to print the full Federal return and the Stat returns only. February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I Did It! Eventually... I was able to get my personal taxes done with the Turbo Tax Personal and Small Business version that I purchased. I had to get an accountant to do my business taxes that set me back $500. Needed my Schedule K-1 forms. I could have saved money and bought the less costly Personal Turbo Tax so that didn't make me too happy. And the business part of the personal and business edition just made it more confusing to someone who is not an accountant. Keep the Turbo Tax versions separated for the specific task they are used for. It will help us and save us some money. Once completed, everything went well. March 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Buggy Home & Business Edition Easy Step was terrible, losing track multiple times as I went forward and back. Sometimes it would kick me all the way out to the beginning of a section. Back button was especially poor, sometimes forgetting what page I was on, so even if I hit continue it lost my place. In addition, some of the rendered forms did not format properly on my Mac OSX screen, splitting numbers and moving them down a row, etc. Very, very buggy this year. Moving to HR Block next year. Worst TurboTax I have ever used, going all the way back to the first years when they robust videos and guides...product seems cheap now. March 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Home & Business did everything I needed I have used TurboTax on my Mac since they bought out Mac- in-Tax. I always used the Deluxe addition and it provided everything I needed to handle multiple stockbrokers and a simple business and seemed simple but thorough to use. Last year I decided to try the Premier version and since it did nothing additional for me, I went back to the Deluxe version that my wife picked up for me. I was surprised that it could do nothing like previous versions and I had to spend an extra $43 for the Home and Business before I could get the forms I needed. I was so disappointed that I may use H&R Block next year. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quickly got to the point I first did my taxes by hand this year for the first time since 1988! 12 forms and counting! I got a better understanding of the benefits of turbo tax. The healthcare forms are bad by hand. Turbotax it was a breeze. But that being said I found errors in the way TurboTax report business income. The error is not in the calculation but rather in the questions it asks. Bank business account interest income should be reported on schedule C and not on Schedule B. I have been reporting this income on schedule b for years and years because Turbotax asks for all 1099-INT during the building of schedule B. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 I originally bought another tax software this year, after using Turbo Tax for many years, due to the price increase and the fact that I started my own business mid-year 2014. I was disappointed in the cost increase and tried the other software. After getting frustrated with the software and receiving an email from Turbo Tax saying they'd upgrade previous customers for free this year, I went back and am glad I did. It is so much more user-friendly than the other software I used and I feel I got the best tax refund I could. Thanks for working with your customers after receiving feedback, Turbo Tax! March 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by At times confusing; forced upgrade! Used basic TTax for years. No problems with IRS, keeps track of info, transfers to current year, etc. Don't like having to upgrade to more expensive TTax programs for the same info this year. Yes, it was free---- this year. But what about next. Will I be forced next year to pay the additional cost of the upgrades? I am retired and can't afford superfluous expenses. Take me back to prior years when the basic TTax did great. Would like one question for vehicle expense: Do you intend to use mileage usage only? If yes, then bypass the numerous questions about ownership, total miles driven, etc., etc. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good... but the cost?? I am pleased with the functionality and organization of the software, and the ability to import data from third party companies and software. However, I am so disappointed by the higher cost of the software vs prior years and paying $24.99 to efile a state return, that I may stop using it unless there are reductions in cost or improvements in value next year (include the state efile!!). As it is now, when you add in full Audit Protection, it would not cost much me more to use a professional preparer again which is a far more valuable service, saves a lot of my time, and supports my local economy. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hidden Fees After paying $80 for the program at Costco (Turbotax Home and Business 2013), the program kept trying to add other services for a price. It kept pushing me to add an Audit Defense to my cart for $40 and then it charged me $25 to E-file my state return (Even though my state and federal returns were only going to be about $90 each). It also gave me an option to just have the money deducted from my return rather than using my card... but to have it deducted would cost $35. It was convenient and fast.. but it was annoying how it pushed other products on me, especially when my return wasn't very much. April 12, 2015
  • 2015-07-06T11:09:02.872-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-268, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12768, tr_12768
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 266 267 268 269 270 ... 295 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.