1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 267 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by Going backwards I have been using TurboTax and MacinTax before that since 1991. Unfortunately, the features of the software keep disappearing, and it gets harder to use every year. Creating multiple versions that increase the cost is a mistake. Making it difficult to track back through numbers is also a mistake. The ability to go into forms, and double click on a number and find the source of the number made it a fantastic way to make sure you were doing your taxes right and understood how they were being done. Now it is just a black box that you must trust with no understanding of where the numbers are coming from. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 tax preperation In the review Turbo Tax should be more explicit with exactly what they require. I spent many hours trying to satisfy its K1 objections and was generally not successful. The fact that K1 information is not included in my brokerage account (Fidelity) downloads defies imagination and logic. Perhaps Turbo Tax should use its good offices to prevail upon Fidelity to include ALL investment information in its down loads. Please note, I have used Turbo Tax for many years and have always had excellent results. This is the first time I had such difficulty. Thank you for your interest and consideration Larry April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and Thorough Tax Prep & Filing I've been using TurboTax for 6 years. Favorite feature is the automatic entry of last year's data, including personal info and W2s, and carryovers. TurboTax checks for every possible deduction, so I know I'm getting the most refund I can, and gives me tips to decrease my tax bill next year. One thing that was annoying with the 2014 version was that I had to upgrade from TurboTax Premier to enter my self-employed business info. Also, every time I opened the file, it prompted me to enter my contact info to register the product, which I had already filled in. Otherwise, I was very happy with the software. March 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good coverage and reasonable Mine is a complicated situation: Home business, with foreign clients and foreign income and with foreign financial holdings. Although I was able to get complete coverage using home / small business version, there was confusion for me. In the interview process for the complicated forms the questions asked were imprecise. I had to refer to forms to see understand the interview questions better. The topic of foreign tax credit was also confusing. So plenty of room for improvement. If I had spreadsheets for all the forms hat I could buy for a small price I would rather go that way! There's a business idea! April 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good prep program but let me down at transmission I have used TurboTax for years with no problems. This year I completed my taxes but could never get the file to transmit. The error message made it sound like problems in my computer or connection. I made every change in setting recommended. In the end, I believe TurboTax simply couldn't handle the volume of internet traffic but wouldn't give an error message that said so. I thought I would just file an extension, but TurboTax did not provide the option of sending an extension application online. We ended up printing the forms and waiting in line at an open after hours post office. So disappointed! April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not so user friendly I found this year's TurboTax fairly confusing and not so user friendly as in times past.. Explanations and directions about rental property entries as well as explanations about the difference in married filing jointly vs married filing separate. were not clear and I found I had totally skipped entering the information about rental property because of poor directions. I just found myself unsure if I was entering information appropriately and worried about being audited. Don't know why you made the current changes in the tax programs, but it was not a good change. I think you need better program writers. March 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by GETS THE JOB DONE I have been using TurboTax for many years and found it very satisfying. When I was working, I ran my own business (Physician) and had many complex issues with deductions, expenses, investments, etc. Turbotax always had the power and simplicity to deal with these business-related issues and complete my entire tax preparation with minimal cost, time and aggravation. Now that I am retired, I still find it very easy to use, and it handles my retirement income and secondary job income very well. I like the Audit insurance as well! Like the add says about a certain breakfast cereal..."Try it, you'll like it!" April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good, but Confusing in Places I've been using TurboTax for over a decade and like it. The troubles with needing to upgrade to Turbo Tax Home and Business for those of us who do consulting was unexpected, a problem, and handled only fairly well by Intuit. As for the product itself, the one spot that I find confusing is where to enter MISC-1099 income for consulting. Home and Business seems to ask for it both under the Business tab and under the Personal tab. I had some 1099s entered twice until I figured that out (...and I definitely don't want to pay tax on the same income twice). I hope that can be made clearer in future versions. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Helpful! I have always used Turbo Tax Deluxe and was grateful when Intuit decided to change course and retain the business forms that had always been available with this product. When I purchased Turbo Tax this year I made the mistake of buying the product without the state return. I didn't mind paying for the return but the cost through the software was a bit higher than I would have paid online. When I called customer service they set up a download for me at a reduced price. Everything worked smoothly and the woman who assisted me was wonderful. Turbo Tax performed flawlessly for me again this year. Very happy! February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Even Easier than before I have been using TurboTax for decades. I am pleased that the tax filing has become even easier and simpler. I like that it offers the "step by step" method and the direct input method which the user can easily switch between during the input process. While the program offers a "import" from your money management program, it also copies over your entry/category errors. I find it easier to input the info into TurboTax directly versus importing. Once you have a prior TurboTax filing, you will have a comparison with the prior year entries as a double check of your current year entries...a very nice feature! January 30, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed Blessing This program doesn't give you any idea of how things are being calculated, and some years some questions are asked; other years those questions are not asked and others are. You're told to input details from forms you've received in the mail but the input possibilities don't match the information you've received. You're asked multiple times about health insurance and it's not clear whether you can keep all those entries or if you do you'll be duplicating your deductions. Etc., etc., etc. It's frustrating to try to work with TurboTax but I haven't found anything any better, and can't afford a professional. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The royal road to tax prep I've been using Turbo Tax for many years and have the feeling it used to be easier to navigate. This year I thought I might have entered the same info in two different forms and had a really hard time finding a way to compare the two. Maybe it's just me, but it feels as though I have less overall control of the process than in past years. I've had this feeling the last few times I've used TurboTax. That said, it is still a great program and is especially good at preventing errors. The importing feature also shines. Two years ago my Sched D was 50 pages long. Thank god I didn't have to fill it out by hand! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty Painless I have used TurboTax for over 2 decades. This year was pretty painless. TurboTax can gather information from your financial institutions and fill in the appropriate reporting forms, and also it can importing data from Quicken. As a small business owner and someone with investments, this made my life pretty easy. There was one glitch that caused me to lose about an hour of my time - TurboTax would not import from Quicken even though Quicken was open because ... Quicken was minimized. I still am given TurboTax 5 stars because I was able to find the solution to my problem through the TurboTax help community. April 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Reviewed I started the day with piles of paper. I opened TurboTax, and allowed it to guide me through each step. Started with businesses, which I would have rather to do after personal. However, two businesses entered, which really is the hard part, then coast through personal data. All done in 7 hours. Long day, but it is over. I really enjoyed that items I didn't remember, such as federal pins and ID's, were loaded from last year, as was my banking info. Taxes are terrible, but at least TurboTax got me trough it rather quickly. I've tried H&R Block before, a few years. i came back to TurboTax, much, much better. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by What would I do without Turbotax? I use Turbotax to file for my LLC and personal taxes. I love being able to swap between the "interview" process, the "I'll do it myself" mode, and to look at all the related forms and worksheets as I go. We have improved our tax preparation in terms of completeness and accuracy by using Turbotax and its feature that allows us to upload files from our employer, broker, and other financial institutions. My dad used to do all his personal and business taxes by long hand. It took him weeks and a created a lot of stress. We can get our taxes done and checked in a couple of days. I am so grateful for Turbotax! April 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Still a bit clumsy - stop with the commercials. I don't want an Amazon Gift Card - in Forms mode, you must link to the source of each calculated field, e.g. IT-249 Lines 1 and 2 are calculated, but you have no way to find the source - In forms mode, forms are hard to find by name, because the name shown may not be an IRS name - Quitting TurboTax takes too long ( almost 30 seconds ). What is it doing ? - If we choose to apply our refund to next year, please don't make us enter a number. If we then edit the return, this refund amount will change - please don't ask to Register each time TurboTax opens. I choose not to Register April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax finds it ALL! We had an extremely difficult return this year due to me closing a small business in my home and my husband had an inherited IRA from the death of his mother. I was uncomfortable if I had completed the return correctly on Turbo Tax so I took the my completed return to a tax accountant. They just wanted to start a new return, that's fine. But they were not asking me some of the same question Turbo Tax had asked. I asked her about this her reply "Turbo Tax has our software beat on some of this, our software is not even addressing the issue" Way to go Turbo Tax! I came home and file my return with Turbo Tax. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Whew! I took on a couple of extra responsibilities this past year and with that my CD got misplaced. On top of that, somehow I ended up with two different user names and passwords and couldn't find the right combination to log on to the website. I finally got through to the most affable and accommodating CSR that very efficiently handled my problems to get me where I needed to be. I don't recall her name but she definitely deserves a raise! Every year (I think this was my 10th) your process gets easier in spite of the fact that the IRS has tried to make it more difficult. My hat's off to all of you at Turbo Tax! April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not the best... but not the worst either Be honest and tell people that you charge extra money to file the state return. You go through the hassle of filling out all the info and then at the end you hold us ransom for more money? You've got to be kidding me! Just include the fee with the purchase and be done with it or come right out and say "State filing NOT included". Other than that I have no other complaints. It is pretty user friendly but it takes for ever to upload and load. I do like how it populates all your information from the previous year. Not the best but not the worst either. Definitely less that going to Jackson-Hewitt or H&R Block. February 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't plan on printing your return. This program will not print a return unless you are connected to the Internet. You can't even save the return as a pdf unless you are connected to the Internet. So, I drive 12 miles round trip to get to the local Library where there is an Internet connection. I can then save my return as a pdf, drive home and print it out so I can then mail it. What kind of software will not print to a locally connected printer unless you are connected to the Internet. This is just stupid. Next year I'll do the paper form by hand and save the multiple trips to the library. It will be much faster, easier, and less expensive. February 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Change to Business forms I purchased Deluxe as in the past several years. Your change requiring an upgrade to Home & Business caused difficulty. I went to forms and entered the line items for business expenses but after you provided the upgrade, the items that I entered were not reflected in the Easy Step but were still on the form in forms view. Caused a lot of confusion and trial and error. Hope my return is correct. As a note, I have know the rules for business expenses and therefore have not needed to pay for Home & Business in the past but appreciated the option of inputing the actual expenses without having to pay for advice. February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax in General I have used Turbo Tax since it's inception, year after year, even for clients when I had a rather large Accounting Company. During tax season my door was always knocking with a relative, family member, etc., that wanted my help in getting them through this stressful time in the year. Turbo Tax Customer Service is extremely helpful and each and every one of their Representatives has been not only informed and friendly but, always went out of their way for each and every need. I will continue to use Turbo Tax until they are no longer. Thank You just doesn't go far enough for this review, they are awesome!!! April 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by State Returns need help Shift to require home and business for simple Sch K is INSANE. OK state return would not let you enter more than one period of residency to reflect all time as OK resident. It also would not let me override the period of time on worksheet or Form 511. The exact situation is as follows: Taxpayer lived in OK and moved to CA on 6/10/2014 then moved back to OK on 10/4/2014. The return is wrong because it shows time in OK only from 10/4/2014 - 12/31/2014. $39.99 additional state price is too high especially since extra was paid to purchase product with 1 state included. Additional states should be discounted. April 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2015 TT This more expensive product was required for the first time in order to file for my small business; at every turn I was directed to an advertisement to buy something else (like when I clicked to ask a question, etc). I paid almost $100 dollars and DO NOT LIKE THE ADV ERTISING! The "free" state has now become print-it-free but pay for filing. This version of TT would not load the info from last year's return, even though all the records were in the same folder on my machine! I have used TT for years, and am now considering the cheaper alternative for tax filing software. Feature this one on your website! April 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fixed What Wasn't Broken As best I can estimate, I have used TT for 6 or 7 years. I have always liked that ALL of the forms I need are in the package, INCLUDING STATE FORMS. This year you took away several necessary forms. While you corrected that, it was still an extra hoop that I had to jump thru to get it. AND you put a rediculous requirement that I had to file before February 15 to get state forms included. I am absolutely sure you are aware that W-2 forms are not due to taxpayers until February 28. So I paid an extra $40+ to get state forms. Given those issues, I will review other packages next year, and will likely NOT use TT. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Maxed My Refund Been using TurboTax since 2009 and its always been simple and easy. This year a minor glitch regarding changes made to the Deluxe version which used to handle ALL my areas, needed to upgrade to both Premier and then Home and Business to handle it all. All my tax situations were handled with the usual ease and completeness provided by TurboTax but required to use the other two products in addition to Deluxe for completing my taxes this year. I fully endorse and recommend all your products for tax preparation just that going forward ensure that the use of each is properly documented for consumer understanding February 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Forms and Process The programs don't seem to improve. When running updates, which appear to be daily and not sure why, data previously entered just disappeared. It also did not save data after I was done with entries for the day and tried to continue the next day, the info was back to where I started, did not save data! There is no provision for NOL carry over although it shows a loss on last year's return. Very painful to use the system. If it wouldn't be for historic data that's already in the system I would look for another tax program. Maybe Turbotax is not advanced enough anymore for the current tax laws...sorry to say.. April 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing after many years of productive use Have used Turbo Tax for many, many years, but this year several areas were vague in description and follow through, I had to upgrade to get a tiny part that was left out of premier this time, and tax time was quite frustrating this year (in past it had only been time consuming and irritating) I'm going to be comparison shopping for other tax services for next year--I felt we paid more than we had to, and I could not figure why such a difference existed from previous years. Still, it was better than doing everything myself on paper (or was it?....) I have counted on TurboTax in years past--I feel disappointed. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 17th Year Using TurboTax; Home & Business Seventeen years ago there were quite a few tax situations that TurboTax couldn't handle and I found myself overriding quite a bit. Each year TurboTax got progressively better and I haven't had a situation that TurboTax couldn't handle without an override in years. I doubt any tax preparation service could do it more accurately and I'm sure they couldn't do it cheaper. I have saved thousands on tax preparation. And I know from having done my own taxes for over 40 years approximately what I owe and can double check the TurboTax result in a few minutes. I use it to prepare the taxes of five other family members. April 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Klunky, Hated it. Past Versions of Turbo Tax have been so easy to use, you could always easily jump back to an area you had been in. This year using it was painful. I don't know what they were thinking. I have a small business and in the past could use Turbo Tax Deluxe and it was really easy. This year you had to have the Home and Business version and you almost needed to be an accountant to use it. Hated it. It would refuse t o move on but wasn't clear about what you needed to do to continue, if it didn't like something on that page. They promise to bring back the earlier version of Deluxe next year. See that you do Turbo Tax. April 2, 2015
  • 2015-05-27T13:11:57.145-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-267, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12647, tr_12647
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 265 266 267 268 269 ... 292 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.