1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 267 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 13706 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by The refund processing fee was very misleading. It wasn't until I had already filed my return that I understood how to avoid this charge. I think it should be clearly stated in the process that selecting the option to take the audit defense charge out of your refund will result in a refund processing fee and the intermediary bank step. I new this process didn't seem right, but I couldn't find an explanation until I reviewed the save file at the end after the return had been filed. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and covers many areas not expected I have a fairly complicated tax situation. I have investment income, multiple partnership K-1s, self employment income and W-2 income on deferred compensation. I have used Turbo Tax for years and find it very easy to use. It covers all my tax situations and it is quick. In the past it has also covered stock option transactions. I recommend Turbo Tax to anyone who has used a tax service in the past for their complicated return but has a computer and a basic knowledge of income tax. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo Tax doesn't know how to handle divorce & ACA I have 3 kids from a previous marriage and since I'm allowed to deduct them, they are listed as dependents on my taxes. HOWEVER, they are on All Kids (medicaid in Illinois) with their mother. Turbo Tax did not seem to comprehend that my 1095-A form did not include the kids, and Turbo Tax kept trying to repopulate the electronic form with the kids info and then gave me error messages. FIX THIS!!!!! You made me miss the e-filing deadline and I paid for state efiling for nothing!!!! October 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Oct. 15th Review I use Turbo Tax year after year. It's easy and has become familiar. However, I found the Amazon roadblock I had to navigate before I could actually file my return quite annoying. Let's face it, filing your tax return falls pretty far down the list of "ways I would love to spend an evening" especially when you wait till the last minute like I do. Once I get through the tedious process, it kind of makes me angry to get solicitations for my refund before I can even file the return. October 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Owner Occupied Rental Expense Calculation I own a duplex, rent one side and live in the other. I really like the function that turbo tax calculates my expense portion between my rental and my personal forms. However, I wish there was a way that if you had rental specific expense (painting at rental) you can enter that information without going back and manually calculating all expense portions between rental and personal. If there was an option for both manual and pre-calculated on the repairs tab that would be perfect. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by First time user of TurboTax Home and Busness I had to purchase the Home and Business this year because Schedule C was not included in the Deluxe version. My first time having self employment filing. Some of the worksheet questions were not very intuitive. May not be the fault of TurboTax just government forms in general. You just must trust TurboTax is doing it correctly until you can review documents before filing. I do think that this should include Free filing of State Tax for the price you have to pay for the software. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great way to learn You take responsibility for learning about the tax structure with the support of tax professionals. For years , I used a CPA, and after I did all the work, he would just imput it into the computer. Well, after watching him do it year after year,r I took the time and did it myself. I learn more each year, and anytime I have a question, or I'm unsure of something, a turbo tax professional is always available. I also use audit support, so Turbo Tax will act on my behalf if necessary. April 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I used to like TurboTax I used the 2014 version at extension time and even so, with all updates, it was very buggy, with unrelated links, forms, or worksheets popping up when I dug deeper.. I couldn't enter some of my material in the worksheet or the form itself. After many go-rounds with the business version I finally found some backdoor, probably some order in which I was circling through to renew and add to my numbers. I'm a longtime user of Turbotax, but this scared me and I'll think twice next time. October 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Uncorrectable Program error NY Form IT-225 is required to be attached to my return for e-filing in NY. The program prepares the worksheet, but won't accept the command to attach the form to the underlying return, IT-203, even usng the Override function. I was required to find the form on the State website, print it, complete it manually, print the rest of the return for mailing, prepare a written explanation for NY, mail the return and experience unneeded aggravation due to the uncorrectable program error. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Generally, I love TurboTax. This year I feel there was not enough help available and it would have been easy to skip sections. I'd rather it be up to me whether to skip ahead rather than make it up to me to be sure to answer all sections. Turbo Tax, ask me questions, don't assume I know what I'm doing (even though I do). Not as much confidence this year that it was done correctly. We have our own business plus an LLC and am not convinced things were as thorough as in years past. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by hiccups I had incorrect credit carryovers from adoption credit on 2013 forms creating issues on 2014 return. I had to have these corrected otherwise my return would have been quite a bit more than it was supposed to be. The online version would not let me manually correct so called for advice. The time it took on hold listening to music, multiple times to get to a cpa was terrible (almost 2 hrs total). However, once figured out everything was as easy as usual. i will definitely use again. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboThanks The entry process gets easier from year to year -- maybe, yes, because I've been doing this for several years now, but I believe also because you've worked to make each edition more customer-friendly! I really appreciate being able to do this myself after having worked with professional tax-preparers over the years, with all of the risks (human error) and costs involved. You've all but eliminated the risks, and the costs are minimal--even including my time! Keep up the good work! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loyal Customer Since 1992 I've been preparing and filing my own income tax forms since 1970. I started computerized preparation in 1992 with MacInTax and later its successor TurboTax. The tax software greatly simplifies tax preparation and I should know since I am self-employed and have capital investments. I love the straight-forward interview process. It is so much easier than working through complex IRS forms. The whole process is much faster. The calculations are much more accurate. Good work, TurboTax! March 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Taxes 2014 Biggest problem this year was that after a whole day of entering my taxes into TurboTax, I left the final filing for the next day. TurboTax does NOT auto-save your tax return. Turns out Adobe Flash Player will reset your machine, while doing updates! I lost my entire day's work. One suggestion for Intuit would be to add this auto-save feature. In the meantime, each time an update (for any software) is installed, find out where you can change its settings to "ask before updating". April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredibly detailed; better than any tax advisor I've been doing my own taxes since 1972 and Turbo tax since 1995. This program has come a long way to excel at ease of use, yet detailed to the point where it catches things I missed. Downloading from financial institutions is a snap, saving a lot of effort. I do an estimate in the fall to see if I need to do anything to influence my deductions in December like charitable donations, then fill in the changes in February. Done. I will never use any other tax program than Turbo Tax. February 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Federal. State is average at best. Good overall Federal Return experience. The State of Ohio return was not at all good, with no support for necessary business forms in the Ohio return, such as IT-SBD. I had to go find the help and information I needed elsewhere, fill out the form on paper manually, and then key in all pertinent details in TurboTax. This is the second year for the same issues. I'm thinking of trying an alternative product next year. Additionally, the 1098-T Federal Tuition details are quite minimal. February 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just OK If you know how to complete a tax return, TurboTax is darn near impossible to use... finding the place to enter unusual items like foreign tax paid and information required for the 1116, the 2555 and the kiddie tax is horribly frustrating. It's fine if your situation is simple and you just follow along but there needs to be an option for more experienced and knowledgable people with more complex situations. Buying the more expensive option doesn't help, the format is all the same. October 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Meh... Don't like that you're held hostage unless you upgrade...that's ridiculous. Also during the "review for errors" stage, the program takes you to the actual form. I bought TT so I wouldn't have to do the forms. It made absolutely no sense. I ended go back through the sections to see what I missed. The program used to do this...no more...sigh. Also with all the security issues this year, I would have appreciated some mention of that or what to do if your return had already been filed. March 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Did I miss the State deduction for Auto Tags/Tax? Overall, I love using TurboTax. Have used it for over 10 years. However, this year, I noticed there was not section (or I possibly overlooked) in the State for Automobile Registration inclusion for deductions. Also, Having been divorced and paying Alimony/Spousal support, I would think there would be a section for me to include those as I believe they (although, understanding, not child support) should be tax deductible. Can you please advise how I may've missed those two sections? April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience, lacks health ins guidance As a satisfied multi-year user of TurboTax Home and Business, this year didn't go as smoothly. It wasn't clear why the Marketplace Health Insurance wasn't entered as a Self-Employment deduction on Form 1040. Seems like in the past there was more context-specific Help available, and I miss it. Also, the section for Federal Estimated Tax was buried in another topic that I skipped. I think the program should prompt you to fill in that section if you have paid estimated tax in the past. April 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not that great I was required to upgrade to the next higher level which confused the transferred information and made entries more difficult this year. Said the upgrade was free, but not next year. Then announced it would be free next year. But they will get me the following year if I stay with TurboTax. There was no apparent advantage to the upgrade. I have to bounce back and forth between forms and easy. When there are errors or omissions on forms it often requires a search to find the problem. February 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eliminated Business Questions I had a small business in 2013 but not 2014. Using the deluxe for mac version CD, I could not get the program to eliminate the business section and therefore, it keep asking business questions. Thanks to a personal phone call with your Representative, my problem was solved in about 20 minutes. Suggestion: The program should have a question in the business section that asks, "did you own a business in 2014?" This would have eliminated my phone call and saved me time and frustration. March 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Makes doing taxes easier TurboTax has always been simple to use, with an easy to use user-interface. The guided entry makes doing taxes a simple fill-in-the-blanks exercise for most things. Getting to the underlying tax documents is one-click away. However, when the tax form says, "see instructions", it's a real pain to get to the instructions, if they are available. Also, the definitions of some terms are often vague or poorly worded, and getting a better explanation requires searching outside of TurboTax. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps Me On Track Turbo tax gets better each year. It keeps track of what I have done in years past and pre-fills personal info, carryover, etc. It can automatically download and sort out confusing capital gain / loss information and report it properly on the forms. When I need to change something I entered, it makes sure the ripple down effects are handled. It calculates as I go so I can see how I am doing. I can file electronically and store copies of my completed forms electronically. Very helpful! March 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost Perfect Although this year's guide only asked for "various" for charity item donation dates when there were multiple donation dates, the built -in review flagged "various" as an invalid entry, so you still have to enter individual dates. Also, the program makes it difficult to pick up accurate acquisition costs for restricted stock / unit awards that are usually included in W-2's, especially when you import from the financial institution / third-party administrator. Otherwise, easy to use. February 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Complicated System It seems as if TurboTax went out of it way this year to make the tax software more complicated and hard to navigate. It was very difficult to find entries that I thought I needed to change (like entered it in the wrong place). Last years program seemed much easier to use and review sections as I needed to. I am no where close to being a CPA. Please use terms that can easily be understood. I have used TurboTax several times over the years and would like to keep doing so in the future. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Do your own taxes with TurboTax! This past year, my retired husband started a part-time business as a Santa Claus performer. We were so impressed that TurboTax asked all the right questions and guided us through claiming all of our business expenses...mileage deductions, depreciation on our computer, advertising, candy canes, costumes, and more. Without the guidance of TurboTax, we wouldn't have even known what forms to fill out! By the time we were done, we felt confident that we had taken every possible deduction. February 21, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Destroyed My Refund Parts of my return was not put in correctly and I have to pay a terrific amount of money. I don't think my files will be excepted or they will be returned for other answers.My print out shows a great deal of incorrect input. If I could have ask a question for putting in the correct info and what not, things would have been better. There is no way of contacting them before you try to answer what is needed. All of these things must be made better. I've had no problems before this year. March 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great program I was quite unhappy to find that I had to upgrade the original software to the home & business because of one form. As a member of an LLC, I must report every year the K-1 I receive though I do not actively participate. I will now pay more for a program that I only add four numerical entries to and which changes nothing on my final tax forms. I hope that in the future that major changes that happen will be clearly advertised so that I as a consumer can purchase the correct program. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRS IP Pin Had to repeatedly enter both IRS Pin & IRS IP PIN for wife before they were saved in 1040. 1st filed 1040 was rejected because IRS IP Pin was blank. Had to enter PINs 3 different times before they were retained in the 1040. Also various changes were not retained in the form, i.e. my review showed 11 problems. I fixed them & they still needed fixing on the next review. Also the "walk me thru everything" in this years 1040 left a lot of stuff out., which I had to go back thru & add. March 24, 2015
  • 2015-12-01 T10:02:15.251-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-267, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13706, tr_13706
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 265 266 267 268 269 ... 316 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.