1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 267 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by Looking for other options after 15 years. I needed to upgrade to home and business and next year it will probably not be free!!! Right??? Then you snag me for $60 as I am trying to get out the door (efiling.) You would think that would be part of the Deluxe. Hey I am not a millionaire!!! I am not even at $100K. Why cant Deluxe include a Form C for a small business and and Form E for Rental and Royalties??? And I have yet to figure how to link the 1099 Misc to the Form E without recording my income from those sources twice. Maybe you can have one of your young whippersnappers send me instructions on how to do this!!! April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thx to Bonnie P. CPA, PTIN Bonnie P. helped me determine the proper amount of my charitable carry-forward for 2014 as well as the trade-in of my SUV and the purchase of the new SUV. She also help correct the interest on my equity bank loan. After these were completed she had me go through the federal and state check lists to assure that there were no further errors needing correct (and, of course, there were not). So, kudos to Bonnie and other people assisting me. It was unusually difficult because I use an Apple iMac not a Microsoft-based operating system to be able for Bonnie to view my 2014 return. March 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not impressed with the version this year I have always loved TT, but I was not real impressed with the version this year. I would suggest that you go back and look at the versions in past years and keep what works. I love it when its simple to use, offers great tax tips, easy for me to save and find my docs, and guides me through the processes (all of them). It was hard to maneuver the documents up and down. It was more difficult to use. It encouraged saving in the cloud which I did not want to use. I had a hard time finding my document each time I went out of the system. It did not guide through all the processes. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have been using Turbo Tax program for the past 10 years. In the past years, the Deluxe version allowed access to all the steps and forms, while the Premier version and the Home & Business version provided more detailed guidance on investment, rental property and business income and deduction. The 2014 Deluxe, however, will not allow access to reporting investment, rental property and business activities. But it provides a free upgrade for such access. It is somewhat confusing, but gets the job done. I am curious what the Deluxe version would be like with Turbo Tax for 2015. March 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by difficult to review step-by-step once covered Turbo Tax is very user friendly, but if you have reviewed a topic and then have to go back to that topic it can be difficult. Multiple times my husband and I had to first find what we were looking for to review in the "forms" view, and then we could go to review that information in the "step-by-step" view. This was especially true in the state form. We tried to work through the tax credits for Private Schools section in Arizona and despite going over it multiple times I am still not sure we understand how state tax credits work, nor were we able to find this topic very easily. March 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the money I have used TurboTax for 3 years now & it tends to be right on the money. This year I had a problem with the way it added up the refund. Iwas give an option on a deduction & when I tried several different options, the refund jumped all over the place but never went back to the original. I finally looked at the forms page & saw that each time I changed the option, another form was added, which added on to my final refund. If I hadn't caught that, the program didn't catch it, and I would have been in trouble. First time I've had a problem. Other than that I think it works great. February 11, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by changes from last year I felt it was harder to enter information in the 2014, the questions did not seem to flow. I entered self employed expenses in the business section but in the personal there was also an area to enter business and none of the information carried over from what was entered in the business section. Last year I did not need to upgrade to be able to do a schedule C and this year I had to pay more to get the schedule C version for turbo tax. I will consider different software next year. I have been using turbo tax for over 10 years and I am that dissatisfied with this years version. April 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Low Income people should get FREE State Tax Filing My income was under $15,000, yet I am charged $20 to electronically file State Taxes. Additionally to do so, you want me to pay more for you to DEDUCT it from my Tax Return, or ask that I pay for a credit card that I do NOT have. Do you realize that $20 is 3 hours work at a minimum wage job (after taxes). and you wanted more to simply route part of my refund to your bank account. I will re=enter the info electronically at my state site and save the money. For the 30 minutes it takes to do so, I will effectively be paid more per hour than I will make when I get out of college. February 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overwheleming I've been using your product for several years and I feel that every time there are errors it is difficult to follow. Errors will refers to carry overs or worksheets or schedules there is no explanation to assist with understanding why in the middle of the guide me process it doesn't show the connection. I think it should link automatically to the form from the previous year rather then have to open the previous year filing and go line by line. Please get this resolve because for the amount of hours of going back and force I might as well pay a tax professional to do it for me. April 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by RVP I am extremely dissatisfied with Turbo tax from being made to purchase a higher program to do what I always do with the Personal Deluxe program. Then I was encouraged to find that there will be a refund check of $25 after I efile this year. Then was again discouraged and frustrated to no end with the problem of not being able to efile my taxes and NOONE has filed these and IRS has NO record of Efile. Please assist ASAP Many people use this program in my organization but we will find alternative programs if this cannot be resolved. Thank you for your attention to this matter. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great small business Tool ! I did save a bundle on filing fees ( three years in a row) and no phone calls from person preparing my taxes to gather more info. Good to excellent tool, personal or for business, easy to follow instructions and always the option to go back to specific topic or IRS form to review or add info. My best advise is to gather all your information, records and practice. Start a "dummy return" then after corrections and verification, start the new filing return with confidence that everything is there. Don't forget to "save" your return often to avoid loosing progress in your computer. March 18, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not like this year's changes to software Was excited about a FREE FILING option - then I realized if you have to itemize anything you would have to pay. In prior years I was able to access prior returns just by being a Turbo Tax user and this year you have to subscribe to the DELUXE Edition. Also had a direct sales business that operated at a loss...in order to file that I had to purchase TURBO TAX BUSINESS at $80 another cost not applicable last year. Just like with the federal and state governments if you make any kind of living (decent or not) you are penalized for it. Not happy, will try another software next year. February 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 20 years! I have been using TurboTax for 20 years now. My husband has a small business and I wouldn't dare do taxes without Turbo Tax Home & Business. This year was the easiest version yet to use. I don't mind paying the initial cost for the software. I do mind that, while it includes the software to do the state tax, if you want to use it you have to pay another $25-$30. I can file my state tax online for free but the last time I tried the site was not user friendly. So I fork out the bucks for the ease. I have tried other software in the past but, in my opinion, Turbo Tax is the best. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax does a great job with getting all of the deductions for a tax payer. It is easy to use. However, it is making customers angry to be charged more money when they are ready to E-file. If cost $19.99 to e-file with the state it should be paid upfront or it should be told of the charge at time of purchase. Also another hidden fee of direct deposit! Really? It is not clear that this extra charge is not there if you pay by credit card. The credit card payment did not work so I had to call to make a payment. However it was great that you waived the $19.99 fee for my trouble. February 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2015 Experiences The display box was not colorful this year and it took more time for me to pick the right product. They all looked the same. While doing my taxes the section for my business expenses was not as obvious as in previous years. I went all the way through to the end of entering info and had to go back and find the section. Also, the window that opens up for you to fill in forms was too small and not every line had a pop-up to answer what the line was asking for. There are too many other competing tax-preparation products out there for TT to start degrading the preparation experience. April 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK, but could be better I couldn't figure out why some forms were being used. My biggest complaint is that if a person is NOT sure of using a form, there is no way to see what happens and UNDO the work without having it printed at the end. Once Turbo Tax sees a form was created or used (even if it ultimately wasn't needed, it prints it, EVEN if you decided at a later point to NOT use that form due to some changes. Waste of paper AND more importantly, you are giving the IRS info that I, as the customer, may not want them to have. I don't want the IRS to see all sorts of forms with zeros in it and stuff. March 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by unsatisfactory my wife has 2 sole proprietorships that were originally a single entity but we were recommended to divide. a vehicle was used in business, but when divided the vehicle was used in the second business. turbotax had listed an option to indicate vehicle no longer used in business but kept insisting it was sold and tried to process as sold even though there was supposed to be an option to no longer use in this business but not sold, and not converted to personal use. Never could get figure out how to access the option that was described in the step by step, but didn't seem to exist. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax2014- from zero to hero! TTax2014 started out on a really bad foot. First they changed what forms were available in Deluxe (basically a major price increase) without notifying loyal customers, then when they tried to fix it with free online upgrades, it introduced some bugs. HOWEVER, they obviously train their customer support reps well. I spoke to at least two reps and both were extremely courteous, professional and patient. The last rep resolved my issue and as a courtesy for the inconvenience allowed me to e-file my state for free. Their customer service is the main reason I'm giving TTax four stars. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent software I have been doing e-file since I started working back in high school (2001) and I had been doing web based software until life became a little more complicated (think wife & house) and the fact that we were always moving to a different state. went with the upper level version of TT and it breezed through everything, I did not have to enter any w2, it found them online and imported them for me, I just had to fill in the entries for my house deductions and here I am, e-filed with hours to spare on the 15th. I wasn't going to let the govt get "their money" any sooner than necessary. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo Tax -Waste of Money if you have sick pay As a ten year plus user ofTurbo Tax I found this year to be frustrating. All that money and not able to file Federal or State return! Seems if you have third party sick pay but no Wages (box 1 income) the software can't compute properly and you have to print and file. As a retired NYS employee, our pensions are EXEMPT from our state income, yet the software continues to try and make the income taxable, transferring it from Federal to NYS and not allowing an adjustment. So for $80 I had to print and file BY MAIL. Waste of money. Will probably use a competitor's software next year. March 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by So-so This year I received a invoice from the state indicating that I had underpaid what I owed on 2013 taxes (also done entirely in TT). I thought I had overpaid and had a small refund coming. I don't know why this happened, and trying to enter the correction in TurboTax was confusing. Don't know whether to blame this on TT or the the over-complexity of our current tax regulations. In any case, I gave up on trying to check the numbers myself and just washed my hands of it. It doesn't help that TT tries to sell the user products and backup services while I'm trying to get my work done. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Very good tool to use for doing your tax returns. Leads you through question by question. Brings forward all pertinent prior year info to save time. Complete with supporting worksheets to explain calculations as needed. I did have extra work , I thought, in my business use of my car. Turbotax got all hung up on getting details of my new car, the trade in and basis of new car for 2014. I only use mileage for vehicles in my business. I do not depreciate the vehicle since my mileage and business use is so minimal All other areas of the federal and state tax returns worked very well. March 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by This Option should be better Will definitely use again, about my needed improvement I had student loan interest I needed to remove. Yea figured it out but stumbled on correction method. When error was identified and displayed I didnt realize I could make corrections in display. My frustration was originally filed head household and entered dependent info, for student loan..then had to change to file separately and couldnt navigate back to delete entries for student loans but the original total displayed on summary although it stated i couldn't use this deduction. Hopes this helps you improve a great product. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Long time user now unsatisfied My primary grievance as a long time TurboTax user is that Intuit has removed the business forms and worksheets from every version except the most expensive, forcing you to upgrade without telling anyone this was going to happen. To add insult to injury, the guided questions are more extensive and the links to help you understand the information required are actually not accurate (I verified a couple by going to the IRS website). At the end of the day Intuit made it more expensive for a product that is more difficult to use. I will most likely be looking for alternatives next year. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Faithful I've been using Turbo Tax for as long as I can remember (10+ years). Every year I dread having to file my taxes and I walk away amazed with each iteration of this product - I'm not sure why I stress over this since I get it all done in a matter of minutes. If you stay on top of your finances throughout the year with Turbo Tax's sister product, Quicken, you can rip through this process in under an hour. Mind you, I've got LLCs, rental properties, consulting gigs, a full-time job, etc. So an hour doing taxes versus 8+ hours prior to switching to Turbo Tax is incredibly satisfying! April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The ugly, the bad and the great. I could not get updates through Turbo Tax when I first installed it. I used the offered patch method for updates which worked fine. Then I couldn't download the state return. I called support, on a Sunday evening, and got a great agent which together we worked through the problem of my original disk from Costco which was defective. After quite a while on the phone, all problems were solved and I completed my returns shortly there after. It's great to be finished thanks to Turbo Tax's great service reps. I went from upset to very satisfied so I will be using Turbo Tax next year. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by DIY Taxes I have always done my own taxes and appreciate how easy Turbo Tax makes the unpleasant process of filing Federal Income Taxes. Even though I have a great deal of experience, I sometimes encounter tax language that I find confusing. I would love to see a separate glossary section with examples that I could view prior to filing out the forms. I have also encountered some confusion when dealing with income that is reported on a 1099-MISC.Many different kinds of income are reported on a 1099-MISC. The Step by step instructions need more detail regarding various types of rental income. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Filing! Overall, I think that it is awesome software and very simple to use. The only suggestion that I would request is that if you select the option to have Turbo Tax walk you through each step of the income or deductions section, it would be much nicer and faster if the program went through all 8 or so deduction options before bringing up the summary page instead of bringing up the summary page after each of the 8 options. This becomes a bit tedious, especially if I answered no to a deduction, I don't need to see the summary page to tell me that I just answered NO to the last question. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tougher this year with need to upgrade to H&B I hope they go back to the previous Deluxe edition next year. This year I had to update to Home and Business to handle Stocks and Royalties, neither of which constitute a business, but both had to be handled that way, yet avoid defining them as a business to avoid self-employment taxes. What should have been a simple year, ended up not being. Then there are the Javascript errors when getting ready to e-file (Console not defined) which I had to ignore to continue, but they interfered with paying for filing such that it had to be done in an odd way, and took support to get it done. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Like it a lot, but don't love it much. I have used Turbotax for years, and likely will continue to use it. It would raise my comfort and confidence level if it could offer me the option of returning to the point in the interview that I was at when I needed to go to a form to check something out. Not knowing or being able to see where I should return to the interview process so that I don't overlook anything leaves the opportunity to skip useful questions. But having the ability to switch modes and review whatever, whenever a question arises is terrific. I just need "breadcrumbs" or tracking indicators for both modes. March 13, 2015
  • 2015-07-27T11:22:03.180-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-267, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12825, tr_12825
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 265 266 267 268 269 ... 296 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.