1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 267 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by All Day with Turbo Tax I found my self very frustrated at time during this process. Your search icon absolutely searches for nothing and displays nothing. It does not even say I dunno. It just leaves you hanging. Also, you cannot scroll down the page. You have to always mouse the scroll bar. Time-consuming and uncomfortable. Your error review/correction process is different --and the change did not make it better. It's cumbersome to find the thing needing correction. Finally, so many many items did not need correcting. I distinctly remember having answered all those questions and yet there I was chasing after answers already given. Otherwise, A-OK. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eleven Years of Turbo Tax Filings I just filed my eleventh tax return with Turbo Tax. I keep up my financial records all year long, and start working on my taxes in January. By the time I get the last form from the financial institutions I deal with, it's all done. Turbo Tax prompts me for what I need, and I just have to get it. The hard part is remembering what I've already entered, and since it's all visible either in the step by step or forms view, I just do one last pass to get that warm, fuzzy feeling before E-Filing. Buy the software on Amazon, and get a 10% bonus on whatever part of your federal refund you use to buy a gift card - what could be better? April 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo tax has been difficult to order this year Doing the taxes was fine and what I have become to expect. The problem came with any time I tried to purchase anything on line. I kept getting a payment error for the state program. Once when I wanted to buy an additional state and second when I wanted to pay to e file. I waited a long time to get purchase of the additional state program but refused to do that again to file so just printed out the forms and mailed them. You lost a sale and next year I may just think about going some place else. I was already a little miffed that the deluxe program had been dumbed down and I was forced to up grade to the most expensive program. March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Surprises As usual, the program is easy to navigate and use. The thing that was surprising was that I needed to upgrade to the Home and Business version for this year. Even though I was upgraded for free this year, I anticipate my cost of the program being significantly higher next year when the Deluxe version was always able to handle my return in prior years. It feels like a way for Intuit to increase their revenue by making features previously available on the Deluxe version no longer available, forcing customers to the more costly solution. I will seriously reevaluate my choices next year before purchasing Turbo Tax for 2015 returns. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weird situation with import from previous year This version of TurboTax is very similar to previous versions. However, I did find it better than previous in navigating back into previously covered materials to change numbers, maximize contributions etc. Still find it better than most other tax software I have used, especially for those of us who own small business and have to provide Schedule C's. The weirdest problem occurred with the import feature. for some reason it automatically decided that I should declare unreimbursed business expenses for a Job that I left the previous year. Did not seem to cross reference with the current W-2's or 1099's. That should not happen. March 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax gets better every year! Just like fine wine, TurboTax gets better every year. I was an early adopter of Turbo Tax back in the mid 80's when it first came out as Chipsoft's MacInTax, and subsequently purchased by Intuit a few years later and merged to TurboTax. Every single year this program keeps improving, and stability improves. I've found that year over year, I am forced to go up the ladder to keep getting the forms I need. (I have 2 LLC's, and a need to do a K-1, & Schedule C&D.) I now use the Home & Business version which fits my needs. Years ago, I used to use just Deluxe. Anyway, I'm happy with the continuity and stability. Fantastic Job!!! February 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Skips over home office expenses The only things I really don't like are the fact that once I enter that I have a home-office, it doesn't take me right to the home utilities and expenses, but goes on to other topics. At the end I realize I haven't entered those write-offs and have to go SEARCHING for where to enter them. This is the second year this has happened to me. Don't undertsand why it hasn't been fixed yet. Also, when I edit a section, it doesn't show clearly that that is done. Maybe changing that button to a different color would help. I have to scroll down to look for where I was and find the next point. Otherwise, I'm pretty happy with the software. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No problems, what are all of the complaints about? I am not sure what negative reviews were about. Everything went smoothly, I liked the layout, and explanations were great, and ItsDeductible is terrific for entering donations. Included in price was Federal return, 1 free federal e-file, and 1 free state return. I had to pay to e-file state. This is no different than what I have been doing every year. Also, I can do all of my children's taxes. It is free if I mail printed forms in, but I have to pay for both state and fed e-file fees. I also like to pay for the audit insurance where I don't have to talk to IRS person at-all if there is a problem (might be $60 for this service?) March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by DYI Taxes I"ve been a TurboTax user for over 15 years. I feel it is important to understand my taxes and the things the impact them. TurboTax does that for me in a very logical, straight-forward way that enables me to really understand the elements of my federal and state taxes. Given that I have a relatively complicated return (multiple states, partnerships, personal business, etc.), I find the process to be very doable as long as you have gathered all the information before you start. This is taxes for the common person as well as for the unusual situation. Highly recommend - now if they would just eliminate the filing fee for state :( April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Refund Overall this is a very good program, it leads yopu step by step and is close to fool proof. I believe it also cuts down on the chance of an audit verses doing it by hand and mailing it in! It has been especially helpful for me in prepairing returns that involve realestate and Form C whic we us for our new LLC business. It's step by step and walks me through the items I need. It additionally prepares me for what I need to keep track of for the next tax season, whic is a great help. Gives me a heads up for how to keep my records and if I'm diligent during the year, it will save me time when i get ready to file again the next year! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1040 & 1041 Expert Help a phone call away. I have been using Turbotax deluxe for filing are joint individual returns for ages. What a breeze. Since I have been doing 1040 for 5 decades, I have found no errors in the returns. I just started using 1041 for a trust in 2013. I found the best way to get a hold of expert advice is to ask the question and sometimes the exact same question is asked by someone in the community. Then you will be able to click on contact us. Use the prompt for expert advice - $19.95, however if you have purchased the software, there is no cost. A certified accountant will call you back..... so no waiting on speaker phone for 45". Turbotax rocks!!!! March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Product I have a small business and rental house using Turbo-Tax Business for the last Eight years. The business slump forced me to cut way back closing my store front location, becoming Home Business. Turbo-Tax allowed me to get rid of CPA and his Big bill. I’m very pleased with all the work sheets I’m able to store each year. With this paperwork Plus the Tax Audit, I purchase each year, I will have peace of mind in case of audit. I found in past audits that the IRS wants a paper backup which Turbo-Tax has Plus if you have a Major Investment account such as Edward Jones or many others that are Super easy to transfer to your 1040 forms. March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good overall for 2014 Overall, very well thought out program. It helps me a lot with my kids college and wife's business. However, there were some problems with my local forms or the City of Jackson, Michigan. TurboTax does not properly transfer the local income tax my wife paid to all the places on this form. Consequently, it shows $0 in tax withheld when in reality there was $231. This turns a $217 in taxes owed to a $14 refund. Additionally, it prints the wrong address for me on Attachment 1 - even though the system asks for my actual work location address. Like last year, I will use the TurboTax forms to help me fill this out by hand and mail in. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax! I have used Turbo Tax Deluxe for several years. I have recommended it to several others who tried it and was amazed at how easy it was to use and understand. I purchased the Deluxe I normally use and found part way through my return that Schedule C had been moved into the Personal and Small Business product. I had to upgrade...but was able to continue at that point and complete. BUT A CLASS ACT COMPANY! I was told I would get a $25 refund toward the additional cost this year....and an e-mail apologizing for the change and saying that they would be returning the Deluxe product to its previous form for the 2015 tax year! THANK YOU! February 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Taxes made easy I have used turbo tax for years and like how it walks through all the issues- and we have a complicated tax situation. But this year, as I was completing an issue that had several parts, when I completed one part and when back to the main list of parts I had to scroll back down through the completed parts to find my place again. Then when I was e-filing it kept taking me back to a form that I did not need and asking for information before the form could be transmitted? It was for a 1099 Misc, but there was no payee and it kept asking for an EIN. It would be nice to have a Help line that we could call if we are stuck on something. March 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Home and Business Turbo Tax I purchased the Home and Business package through Vanguard. I did not have the forms package because I never needed it in the past. Without this program I was unable to look at the forms within my return and could NOT make the required fixes to the errors that were identified. I had income from two sources that required two Schedule c's but was not made aware of this during the input of my data. Upon review, I had to fix these forms but was unable to do so. Finally talked with Stephanie in Chicago's turbo tax office and she was very helpful. She downloaded the forms program and I was able to complete my return. She was the best!! March 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Repeat TurboTax User Have done my own taxes for 35 years, and have used TurboTax since early 1990's when I got my first home computer. TurboTax allows me to complete my own complex return (two incomes, home business, farm and farm rental income) without relying on an accountant. Transferring in data from previous year's return is a huge benefit of being a repeat TurboTax user. I use the TurboTax interview process where it leads me thru the entire return, step by step. This process along with the frequent comparisons to previous year's return data built into TurboTax ensures I don't miss anything and notice any big changes from previous year's return. March 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Long Time User 1st Time Disappointed Didn't seem to flow as easy as previous years. I wanted to file Fed electronically and print to mail state. It didn't give me the option in state to print so I ended up going back and indicating the Fed would be mailed then it allowed me to print State. Other times I had to back up several times to get other issues to work right. I can't recall having so many anomalies in the previous years as I did this year. Next year I may have to break away and start looking at other services. Many things I can't put my finger on specifics but it just doesn't seem to be the same quality user experience from previous years. You can Do Better!!! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still good, but could be better Have used Turbotax (and Macintax) since forever. It is good and reliable, and I wouldn't consider changing because of the ease of importing prior data, but it could still be improved: Make it easier to go more directly to the data input point (NOT the actual form) when you know what you need to input/change. Now, you have to go back to the beginning of an interview section and plow through all the questions until you get to the point where you need to make the change. SUGGEST expanding the Index for Step-by-Step view to include many more points in the interview process, thus enabling a quicker access to the needed data entry point. April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 SNAFU We have used Turbo Tax for many years and the Turbo Tax Deluxe with State has always been highly satisfactory. This year's version, which omitted Schedule F that I need for my forest farm (produces income only once every ten years or so, but has expenses every year), was a disappointment. The "fix" by which I could download the Business version of Turbo Tax for free was helpful, but I got a lot of screens that I did not need since this "business" produces income so infrequently. I will continue to use Turbo Tax if this can be corrected in future years since the walk through of entering income, expenses, and deductions is so easy. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Customer for 25 Years! Turbo Tax is the very best tax preparation tool I have ever used. I don't have to worry about missing anything by letting TT walk me through the process and the TT software helps answer any quesitons I may have about what the program is asking me to enter. For the last 15 years I have used my TT experience to set up a spreadsheet where I keep my income and expenses up to date throughout the year so that when tax time comes I only have to confirm my completed entries and transfer my data into TT - couldn't be easier and this allows me to e-file at the earliest possible date, ensuring I have the most up-to-date forms in the process. January 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Retiree's Return All aspects of Turbotax is very good for me with the exception of the one form needed to report capital gains. In prior years it was included, this year you are assessing an additional $30.00 for that one form. I bought my copy of the system at Costco, the additional form need was forwarded because I did buy it at Costco. I'm a small investor, I had only one transaction to report and that one form would have costs me an additional $30.00 if it wasn't for Costco informing me that I was being upgraded to premier at no additional cost. I trust you are going to included in next Year's Deluxe version, If not I may have to go elsewhere. March 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Sputter I didn't think I required the business upgrade this year... but each time I selected an automatic entry, it told me I needed the upgrade. I believe it was a carryover from my previous years, but the Deluxe would not allow me to see it and I didn't want to file it blindly. I did the upgrade, prior to Intuit offering the free upgrade, only to discover I didn't need it. This year I was only claiming my office space for a W-2 job not a business of self employ. It was a frustrating lesson to learn, and not the best for confidence building. I plan on getting my $25 back for my un-needed $$ purchase but i'm still paying half for nothing. February 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Program problems. Not as easy as it used to be!!! After uploading my brokerage information into TurboTax, it told me that I could not file because several of the transactions were missing codes. These codes should not have been needed. This is a problem with turboTax. Needed to download an additional business program from Turb Tax since they no longer allowed me to us the premier package for the same transactions I have done year after year. For a $7 business transaction I had to go through that. There are many more problems with Turbo Tax now. I hate to have to use another company because I will have to log in all my information again instead of transferring it. What a dilemma! February 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Improved Turbo Tax for 2014 Turbo tax is updating to help make returns easy. For each section, you can either be lead through the entries or if you know which parts you need to enter data, TTax can allow you direct access. Key part of the program is the ability to search for possible deductions you may qualify for, and the ability to create all related forms and worksheets needed to file. I used to have to download or travel to a library to get these. Some no longer being printed by IRS (e-forms only). We did have some difficulty with cars used for business and un-reimbursed mileage expenses. A question prior to the section starting may have helped with this. March 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good and helpful tax product Over a great product. Looking back, we've used TurboTax for the last 13 years. This year the only problem I encountered was that the Capital Gains reporting tool includes the ability to import Quicken transactions and then change them to Box A, D, E, etc. This did not work for me and I ended up manually entering about 40% of my transactions. Another feature I'd like to see is that when the application downloads and applies updates, it would be nice if it would check my return to see if the changes apply to me and then report the result. As it is, there is no confirmation one way or another. I would recommend this product to others. March 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, Accurate and Private I like working on my taxes at my speed and having the knowledge that I am gathering all my information and someone is walking me through each section with lots of help topics. I enjoy working at my own speed and not having to get everything done in a one hour appointment somewhere else. I especially love having my information private; like this year I had several medical issues and did not want to discuss all that with the "tax man". I have been using Turbo Tax for years and do not plan to ever go back to a private company. Turbo Tax allows me to be in control of this rather arduous and personal task. Thank you for a great product. March 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still worth it... Missed the formerly easy opt out of schedule 1065 balance sheet. It took a long time to figure out how to get rid of the error message that resulted from a balance sheet discrepancy when a balance sheet was not even required. Error check said there were "explanations" required for very small amounts of money; all I could provide for an explanation was "I have no idea what this is". I believe most of this is related to ever increasing insanity of the tax code rather than shortcomings for TurboTax, but failure to include the balance sheet opt out - which has been there in previous years - was a puzzling and time consuming omission. March 25, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frustrated family I (and my family) have used Turbo Tax to file our taxes for years. Based on my frustrating experience this year, I will be in the market for a new method of filing my taxes next year. I began with the Deluxe Version, but had to upgrade to the Business version because I needed a Schedule C. I understood I was eligible for a rebate for the additional cost if I used Turbo Tax last year, but I was unable to determine how to apply for this rebate when I purchased the upgrade. After I installed the upgrade, the program began to freeze and I was no longer able to open any of the "help" links. My overall experience was extremely frustrating. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good program TurboTax Home & Business gives peace-of-mind. One knows that all possible items are covered and nothing is left out. But usually one encounters one or two glitches, different ones each year. This year when I got to the state forms using EasyStep, I found that state income tax withheld on royalty income had not been entered; there was no place to enter it in EasyStep so I had to go into forms, where I found the right place to enter it. In addition, the program made it appear that I may have entered royalty income twice although this turned out not to be the case. Aside from these glitches the tax process goes smoothly and thoroughly. April 13, 2015
  • 2015-04-27T13:02:46.078-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-267, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_12519, tr_12519
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 265 266 267 268 269 ... 289 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.