1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 267 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 wasn't the best year for turbo tax I've been using Turbo Tax for 20 years and I really like the interview format for getting information organized and entered into the program. It is very helpful if you used turbo tax the previous year because a lot stuff is imported from the older files. This year's edition was not the best, however. I found that every time I restarted TTax to work on the next section or after an update, I had to start the interview over again. Previous years, the interview would pick up where I left off. No so this time. Became a bit annoying after awhile. Hoping that this is corrected for next year. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unfortunately I had to pay First paying $24.00 to pay for filing the state return is quite excessive. Also in making the state payment it was very hard to do. Even one of your people that got on the line with me had to refer me to another assistant, who by ther way, has never come on the line even though I've been waiting over 20 minutes. So guess what, I finally figured out how to do it myself. After all, as a Professor of Business Law at DePaul University for many years I always tell my students to use Turbo Tax. For that alone I shouldn't have been charged $24.00 to have you simply submit my Illinois return. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by State I file a joint return. Turbo Tax allows you to edit personal data for federal but there is no such provision for State in the event of errors when the program automatically transfers personal data from Federal to State. For instance, in the state portion, my name and social security number was indicated as the owner of my spouse's business and her name and social security number was indicated as the owner for one of my businesses. For the sake of accuracy, when moving to the "State" portion, a "verification of personal information" page with a provision for editing should be included. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, Fast and saved me MONEY Due to a death in my family I had to account for income I never had before. TurboTax lead me through the questions that were easy to understand so I could take care of it myself. This saved me money hiring an accountant and time. No one knows your financial picture better than you and you have to tell someone else about all of it to get a good return. TurboTax takes care of that. Deductions were just as easy. I didn't start until 8 pm on 4/15 and had my business / personal return in the mail before 11 pm. Thank you Intuit!! (PS I don't recommend waiting until the last minute however.) April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I used Turbotax for Trust and Daughter's Return This is the first time I have done my own Trust taxes and it was simple. I tried H&R Block but it was way too complicated. Turbotax took me through the steps and gave me the help / explanations when needed. For my daughter's tax return this is the second year I have used Turbotax; this year she went through all the steps and asked me questions as we went along. As a teacher the tax return is fairly simple, bus since she has a small summer business it gets a little complicated. We had to use the Turbotax Home and Business edition, but it was simple and easy to follow from step to step. March 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not trust your software too many mistakes Have used Turbo Tax for over ten years and have always found it valuable until this year. I found the software faulty and difficult to use. The updates were few and given the manual intervention needed to be made on the forms itself, I found myself not trusting the system. I spent 12 years of my professional life preparing difficult tax returns for individuals and corporations, so I know the laws quite well. This year I continued to question whether your system was doing the proper calculations. I am struggling what to use next year because of my experience with your prodcut this year. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only way to do Taxes I used to have a tax accountant. He never found all the deductions that I find by doing my own taxes. I don't know if he was lazy but I like saving money. I paid him $300 to do taxes and I can buy Turbo Tax at Costco for under $60. Plus I have the control to know that I am getting every possible deduction. It is worth the time. And if you have to call Turbotax for questions they are AMAZING!!!. Even if you have a Mac. The first person wasn't sure of something so they got me to someone who knows how to use a Mac. How great is that? So, skip the accountant and save money with Turbo Tax. June 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Synchronization is terrible During final review it becomes apparent that the software doesn't pull the previously entered data from other areas within the overall return, i.e. I had to enter business car use in two different states even though it was the same data. That's another thing, we didn't use our car for business use in California, only Nebraska so why do I have to include it in California's return???? Also when entering state data if I need to look at a certain form and choose "forms" when I return to the step by step process I often loose my place and have to start all over again, are you kidding me???!! March 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by change my PIN Turbo tax automatically enters last year's PIN and AGI. I like that it enters the AGI, but not the PIN. I thought ,since it entered last year's PIN,I would be able to use it for this year. I e-filed using last year's PIN and was rejected.It shouldn"t automatically fill in the PIN if the past year can't be used. One other concern, I wanted to pay my mother's taxes using my account but there wasn't anywhere to show my name on the account. Is my name needed or just my routing number and account number even though the taxes were for a different name.Turbo tax doesn't explain that situation. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by little things that keep it from being great Almost a great program. Here are the shortcomings, none of which are big enough for me to use another program. To e-file you need to leave the program and log on to the turbotax website. There is no link for this in the program, I had to find out about it on the help forum. The program just prepares a paper filing of the 4868. A real pain if you are trying to get extended at the last minute. When you go online to extend you have to put all your info in again. Although you can do several returns in the program, online you can only extend one. You have to open a new account to do another. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Clear - gives you confidence! This years TT was easy, clear, and blindingly fast. With my paperwork from income sources and with Quicken Deluxe running reports, it was a breeze to finish in just a couple of hours. Love the product - since I started a home based business in 2014, I needed an upgrade to last years version of TT - and VOILA! - there it was downloaded almost before I knew I needed it. I like knowing way ahead of time (since last fall!) that whatever changes happen with the tax code I would have the program updated with all the latest changes and ready to go when I was ready to file. Worth every penny! March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and reassuring I was a little worried about risking my taxes on my own, but TurboTax was a great experience! I could do the work at my own pace with the easy-to-follow steps. Everything that might be complicated seemed to have a popup window to help me out and I didn't feel worried that I missed something when I hit that "File now" button. It did take longer than past appointments with a CPA, but that was partly because of home interruptions. A fee of $35 did pop up at the end that I didn't expect and still don't know what it was for, but compared to the $300+ cost of a CPA, it was definitely worth it. March 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax ALMOST Met All My Needs TurboTax met almost all my needs. However, there were two instances in which the program did not meet expectations. First, the program does not naturally handle hobby income very well. It dumps the user at the Schedule C, with no guidance regarding how to NOT declare a business. Second, I discovered that when certain information is manually entered into worksheets, the information DOES NOT get transferred for recalculation. That caused me three hours of grief, doing re-entry. All said, TurboTax is better than H&R Block, my only other serious alternative (which I have used in the past). March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great recovery I have been a Turbo Tax customer since you started. I cannot begin to tell you how frustrated and upset I was when I realized I needed, first, to go up to Premier from Deluxe and, then , secondly, to upgrade again to business. In my decades as a user, Deluxe always worked just great. Your response to the problem was benchmark. My hope now is that I will be able to complete future returns with Deluxe and not have a repeat of this year's nightmare. Customer first is a pretty good philosophy to follow. At the start, my review would have been 1 star- I gave you a 5 because of your response April 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by New Mexico state return has bugs New Mexico return has bugs in some lines concerning the form PRD-42359 where the information imputed does not end up in the correct place on the tax form or it does not compute correctly. I did an override to correct the information and now the forms are correct but the software will not let the tax form be e-filed. I didn't find this out until after I paid for the e-filing. I printed the NW forms and mailed them. The same thing happened last year and I would have thought you had it fixed by now. I am out $48 for e-filing NW returns for 2013 and 2014 and the returns could not be e-filed. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbotax support Had a great experience speaking with a member of the customer support team regarding how to report the return of my excess IRA contribution. She was knowledgeable and helped me understand the timing differences. I wish I didn't have to work hard to find the number to call however. It is never clear to me where I can find the number, even though I look for this in the TT community. I think you should enable subscribers to find this reference number quickly. Appreciate getting the $25 for users who had to use Home/Business Edition, but hey did I always have to pay to e-file my state taxes? March 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Does not address self-employment correctly TurboTax did not include the deductions for the business use of a home for self employed childcare provider. While the forms are included in the software, it skipped them completely when going through the interview and instead inserted a random number that would have cut my refund by hundreds of dollars. Even after finding and completing the form for utilities and repairs, I had to dig deeper to find it did not transfer mortgage and property taxes from personal deduction to business deduction, again potentially costing hundreds in refund. I will probably use a different product next year. February 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expect from TurboTax I have been a TurboTax user for over a decade. This year's product was lower in quality than I expected. There were intermittent and unpredictable file saving error messages that needed to be worked around (especially fun in the e filing portion of the program!). And, to my surprise, I had to upgrade and pay more for a more expensive product to file Schedule C when I had always been able to use the Deluxe version previously. Springing this on the user mid-prep was a big disappointment. Not what I expected from TurboTax at all. Hope it gets better next year or I will be switching products. February 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbo has always been easy and quick and I loved it. This year it was difficult. It was hard to figure how to move the screens down or up. It was hard to save the file. It wouldn't at first. It was very painful. It took over five hours. I just finished. There is also no explanation that e-filing will cost or just what that amount will be until you do it. It was so tough to maneuver this year, I started to buy HR Block's software just to complete the filing. I hung in there and finally figured it out after five frustrating hours. Hopefully next year it will be very easy to maneuver. Thanks March 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Excited.... Spent way too much time going back and fixing errors such as 1) mortgage interest "auto-download" that would not allocate properly to personal and business (rental) segments and 2) misconstruing the "personal use" verbiage for rental properties that could very easily be clarified. Not the smartest guy in the world but, it seems this product should be getting better over time, and not just keeping static with some bs fluff. Would love to see some substantive changes in the rental property section which allows for "clean" breaks and integration throughout the personal and business segments. April 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Review We have used TurboTax to file our taxes for over 15 years and I was appalled this year to be forced to upgrade twice to more expensive versions. We have had the same tax situation for 6 years and have been able to file our taxes with the same TurboTax version all these years. Fortunately, the upgrades were free of charge, but I'm concerned that next year I'll have to purchase the most expensive version of Turbo Tax to do our taxes. If I do, I'll consider looking at other companies who provide tax software at a lower cost. How unfortunate! I've enjoyed using Turbo Tax for all these years!! April 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by It's not a good idea to e-file No easy way to avoid printing out those four estimated tax forms -I don't want them and pay estimated all at once. If I get a refund I have failed to tax plan properly, yet you seem to think that a refund is a good idea! "Government pension fund question resulted in wrongly doubling the amounts already entered. It is impossible to import info for multiple dividends and sources of income - you need a password and ID for each company, which is unwieldy. I think you could make the questions more simple and permit a printed return to review, rather than wanting me to stare at a glowing screen. March 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refund of 401k overpayment I over paid on my 401k in 2014. I requested a refund prior to April 15 of 2015 so the refund should have been included in 2014 income. The refunding company stated they would not be sending out a 1099 until next year, but I was to include the refund in my income for 2014. I filled out a Form 4852 as required, but that form and the Turbo Tax program required an official 1099. I pulled in a 1099, but not having the official version of the 1099 I did not have the Tax ID and other information required. I could not clear this error on final review and had to print and mail in a printed version. May 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Slightly put out. I have been using the same program for many years, so I bought the one I normally use. Surprise; it told me it couldn't do my taxes. Buy the premium. Nothing came from Turbo Tax to tell me they had changed, & when I went in to upgrade they told me my window had closed. Then after I bought the premium for an additional $80.00 it said I could,t do state. I was not happy. The young lady in New Orleans was very helpful and got me the state part. WHEN YOU MAKE A MAJOR CHANGE TO A PROGRAM YOU SHOULD NOTIFY REGULAR CUSTOMERS. You have their e-mail addresses. Thank you for this opportunity to vent. April 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed in Costco Purchase I have been a Turbo Tax user for over a decade. It is the best tax program out there. However it is 2015 and it isn't rare to purchase a computer without a CDROM. When I purchased this CD at costco it said CD/downloadable. There should have been a code in the box or directions to access it via the internet, but there was not. I had to call a 1-800-number, dig for receipts for proof of service (which the agent didn't even verify), and work with a customer service rep for 40 minutes. It was a total waste of time even though the agent was super helpful. In short this could just be streamlined. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Limited Partnership sales Over the past 5 years that I have owned MLP's, TTax has not handled the reporting of partial sales or complete sales correctly. The worst case is partial sales. The K-1 interview screens lead you to report the sales there, but in my case, and in all other cases noted on the TTax Users forum, TTax does not take into account that the LP sales (partial or full) are also reported on the broker 1099B. If the TTax user doesn't manually modify the reported information, TTax will double tax the gains on LP sales. It is very unprofessional for TTax to not fix this problem over the course of 5 years. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dazed and Confused When looking to do the unreimbursed expenses for work you end up going to a section called Business Expenses. As I am filling all the information in I realized that this was not the appropriate area for those expenses. If you are going to identify something as a Business Expense it should clearly state your Home Business or the Business that you operate for your primary income. I wasted over 2 hours trudging through everything and was not happy when I had to re-enter it later on. Clarity. Remember this program is for those of us that do not wish to pay $150 to those other reporting places. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Personal vs Small Business I've used Turbo Tax for years last year my wife and I became a small business independent renters in a salon. Prior to that she was commissioned and with the first year of the affordable care act I decided to have a CPA do my taxes. This year I decided to attempted to do my taxes myself using Turbo Tax for small business. With all the fear that comes from doing taxes and layer on the new affordable care i jumped in and to my surprise and one week of plowing thru the process i found that as usual Turbo Tax made my life less stressful and the process was surprisingly easy. Thank you Turbo Tax! February 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Application I have used TTax for years. I love it. I used to feel more comfortable during use with the verbal explanations and the more explanatory hotpoints. Seems like I have to refer to the IRS Pubs more for questions. A few places don't pull in info from previous years which is annoying. i.e Like in certain AMT stuff. Also some instructions and process flows are not intuitive. I'd like to see state filing free across the offerings not just the 1040EZ. It was disconcerting this year to hear about the tax hack. Intuit needs to stay extremely vigilant on this front as tax forms are highly confidential. February 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service I most was satisfied with the customer support. I had several phone calls into Turbo Tax, mostly regarding issues with my S-Corporation Business and my spouses Sole Proprietorship Business. The CPAs available at no charge to me were outstanding, friendly, very respectful of my concerns and willing to go the extra mile to satisfy me. The products, Turbo Tax Home & Business and Turbo Tax Business are both outstanding. I was frustrated that the state corporation taxes could not be e-filed, but overall I completed all my tax filing in only a few short days (10 hours overall) from start to finsh. March 10, 2015
  • 2015-07-01T11:04:54.402-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-267, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12760, tr_12760
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 265 266 267 268 269 ... 295 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.