1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 259 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than Other Years I started my new business in 2014 and was unsure what business expenses were legitimate and what were not. The Home and Business version was easy to step through, thorough, and educational with respect to allowable business expenses. Especially reassuring was the color coded risk of audit panel. This version of Turbo Tax not only helped me minimize my taxes but also allowed me to sleep better knowing that my risk of audit was acceptable. And now I have a much better handle on what business expenses to watch in 2015 and beyond. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worked as expected There were really only two issues with the software: 1) Upon opening the software, an update was needed. After the update, the software said it would open. But nothing happened. I had to start it manually from my Windows menu. This happened twice following an update. 2) It seemed to me it was difficult to jump around to different parts of my return. If I wanted to look back at something (e.g., check income, or deductions, etc.), it was easier to just wade back through the Q&A process. I would have preferred a more direct jump. April 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by What Happened? I have been a loyal Turbo Tax used for over 20 years, however this is my last year. I was shocked by the surprise in app purchase required to have the same functionality I have been using in the deluxe version for years. I only continued to use the product after being offered a free upgrade when I called to return it. Then I got another surprise when I went to electronically file my state tax only to find a 66% increase in filing fee. Tried Blocks tax software ( offered free to unhappy TT users) and found it to be comparable . March 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always reliable! I depend on Turbo Tax to prepare our taxes every year. We are a middle class working family with regular W-2 income, mutual funds, rental income and small business income. In 2015, I used TurboTax Home and Business. The most helpful feature is transferring information from the previous year to present. The only thing I would want to improve is being able to edit names of charities when making typographical error, and not transferring supporting detail. Other than that, Turbo Tax is great, especially for a busy, working mother! March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not quite as easy as last year Sched. C process not as clear as last year, particularly with business asset entries apparently for depreciation. All assets had previously been taken as Sec. 179 depreciation, yet entries were still required concerning date of purchase, date placed in service, etc. Generated items during final review which had to be corrected, but were basically unnecessary. Otherwise, an excellent product. I will use it again next year. Please, Please don.t get into the situation with various versions next year that you experienced this year! March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax is the best I think I found one error in one of your screens. In the summary that shows all deductions, the line Other Deductions appeared to be incorrect. It showed me a negative approximately 12,000 when the amount should have been $1,294. This represented gambling losses in the same amount as my wife's gambling winnings. Take a look at this and let me know if I am correct. I do not believe that this screen error affected the accuracy of my return, but if it did, please let me know immediately. Thanks PS I will be using TurboTax next year February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax is awesome I have been using TurboTax for over a decade to file my taxes. I love the fact that I can file my return as soon as I have all my tax statements. No waiting for weeks for a tax professional to complete their work. I also like the fact that all my ongoing information is transferred from my previous return the year before. Really saves time. As does the ability to input financial information from the QuickBooks program I use for my small business. My only complaint is that a free state e-file is not included in the purchase price. January 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy filing, just an issue with which software to I bought the regular Home edition for 49.99 and the Business edition for $139.99 because the Home & Business didn't indicate that a sole member LLC could use it. I saw many posts about the confusion. I was thankful for the free upgrade that was allowed on the Home edition to file a Schedule C, however, I am out the $139.99 I spent on the Business edition because I cannot return it now that it is opened. Really want to make me happy -- send me a refund for $139.99. I have used TurboTax to prepare my taxes for more than 10 years. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I <3 Turbo Tax I love the peace of mind I have knowing I was walked through each step in an organized and clear way. This is my second time using TurboTax. Having everything from my last year return imputed to this years return made it so fast and simple. I own my own small business and am thrilled at how quickly and easily filing my taxes was this year! Thank you Turbo Tax! I will be using Turbo Tax next year and the years after! My only complaint is that I feel e-filing a state return should be included without the additional charge of 19.99. February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2014 Federal & State Returns Overall excellent program. In-depth data input if necessary; Interview questions are easy to understand and implement; Q&A info is invaluable; On screen hints and explanations for each section/question is fantastic and very helpful. Using this program I can make the appropriate decisions for each entry using the "Hints" and Q&A help and not rely upon the "interpretation skills" of a third party. I have used Turbo Tax for years and this is my first review. I will continue using this program for many years to come. Thanks Turbo tax! April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not quite as good as prior years Handled the new 1095-A form poorly if you also file a Schedule C. Easy to duplicate health insurance cost if you inadvertently enter on Schedule C (as was always required before the 1095-A). Worse yet ... took quite some time to figure out how to undo. Also, there's a problem this year in saving to PDF when a prior version of the file already exists. Workaround is either to delete the PDF file, or open the PDF in print-preview mode prior to save. Otherwise ... similar experience as prior years with typical incremental improvement. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Like home ofc help. State tax not well integrated. I didn't know the new rules for a home office so appreciated Turbo Tax's help with this. An audit is the last thing I want! I had to figure out on my own how to decrease my MA non-resident state tax even though it increased my Fed. tax a little bit. I used Sch A (medical) as one of the MA deductions which substantially decreased the income that MA could tax! Even though using a Sch A gave me less of a deduction, it only increased my Fed tax by $19. But it decreased the MA state tax by around $300. Turbo Tax should have know this. March 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple to Use I have used H&R Block software for years. I had some problem with it for the past several years, so I switched to see how turbo tax worked for me. Everything went smoothly. It was simple to find areas to work on and recalculations happened automatically to help me see how they affected the outcome. I was disappointed that the box seemed to indicate that state e-filing was included, but you had to pay for it. It is offered online for free using turbo tax for qualified people, but the option is not available for the purchased product. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Small Business and Personal Taxes Done Right The detail and accuracy of determining every possible deduction both for business and personal is remarkable. Calculations of course are absolutely accurate and the running total of just where your tax liability provides a constant monitor as you enter each income or expense. The review at the end of the process is great, especially telling how your return stacks up against all of the returns filed by tax payers. This is the 6th year doing my business tax returns and my 21st year doing my personal taxes with TurboTax. It's the BEST! April 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have been using Turbo Tax for many years - The printing options this year were horrible. I didn't like the printing options - I submit my return my mail and prefer to have it print what I needed directly - not having to go to a pdf file or print preview. I found it very confusing. Still not sure I got all the pages that I need to send to IRS. (This may be a deal breaker for me when it comes time to purchase tax software next year. I know if my husband had to do the taxes he would definitely be confused with the printing options.). April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TurboTax 2014 tax year edition Each level of TurboTax always supported all elements of the lower levels, plus some additional features. Now you seem to have tailored your structures to make the user select a particular level in advance, where the new selection may not support all forms that may have been relevant in former years. I much prefer the former structure, and I would probably not choose TurboTax under the current structure, if I did not have my existing tax history saved in TurboTax records. Please return to the former more supportive levels structure. March 27, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Amended Return I have using TTax for about 10 years. This yearI had a complete printed copy and a Pdf copy by no .tax copy so basically had to completely redo my taxes! Unfortunately, I had deducted the original downloaded copy of TTax before IRS contacted us with a mistake in the estimated tax paid. The we received a late 1099-R that was different from our calculation. I "hope" the amended return is correct but am not confident. In addition, for some reason I was unable to download a copy of TTax 2014 and had to have a technician accomplish that. May 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Excellent, but there was one problem The only issue was when you are recapturing the remainder of unamortized closing expenses at the sale of a rental property (and probably other property), the form asks for the sale price and cost basis of which there are none. This is very confusing and if you put in the sale price of the asset you double the gain. I worked it out with an extremely knowledgeable TurboTax technical representative, but that shouldn't have been required. This is the first year in probably 20 TurboTax hasn't gotten 5 stars from me and it was due to this. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by K1 problem Everything typically goes well, I have used Turbo Tax for many years. This year it got stuck on my K1s Federal. I got to the end and Turbo said Ieft one of my Ks blank and this needs to be fixed. I went back and double checked both of my Ks, they were fine, no blank spots anywhere. The message would not go away. Later I got stuck on a “worksheet” extension, there was no indication of where to go to fix the extension or what belonged to, I didn’t fill out any extension pages. No information about where to go to fix it was frustrating. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to follow. I itemize and questions and suggestions help very well. I do like specific instructions to go to review/update a part of the form. Final printing of the required Washington County. Oregon Tri-met tax on self employed tax: we need 2 forms. First prints to the page break and then prints "page two data" in the middle of the second from. Second form prints more (the rest of the data for the second report) in the middle of the second page. (must not expect two self-employed plus regular joint return) on the same return??) April 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Very Accessible I normally use the web version of TurboTax. This is the first year I have used the software version and, while I appreciate that it is intuitive and helpful, it doesn't work with my screen reader. I am visually impaired and use a program called ZoomText to magnify the screen and read text to me. The software version of TT doesn't allow me to read 90% of the text within the program, so I had to have someone else navigate while I provided the answers. Unless this is fixed in future versions, I'll be switching back to the web version. March 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Who designed this mess I have to use an ip pin. I spent over an hour trying to find how to enter the pin numbers. When I finally accidentally found the place by searching the forms file, (it didn't show on a search, only looking down the list) then there is all kinds of confusing windows to pick through. The normal work thru makes no mention of the ip pin, I thought I was ready to file, then had it rejected because of the No IP PIN. I tried to get numbers after rejection by IRS. No wait until we send one. They arrived before the date they set as their goal. February 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not get the maximum refund. The system claimed that I owed $28 penalty because my estimated tax payments were not enough. However, I received a refund so my estimated payments were enough. Therefore, I did not receive my maximum refund. I believe this was caused by the fact that the first time through, the system could not calculate the deduction for state income or state sales tax. At that point, the calculations stated that I owed over $400. When the State Sales Tax was finally filled in, and the system calculated the refund, it did not delete the $28 penalty. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Random Thoughts I've been using this program for as long as it has been around. Suddenly, it can't remember where I was when I left. Also, it used to efile Federal and state without an additional charge, now it requires an additional 19.99 to efile your state tax return. I don't really understand that. To add salt to the wound, when in my federal return, it knows all my banking info (because it xferred from last years return) then when I get to the state filing it can't recall my banking info and I have to reenter it. Stuff like that is irritating. . March 21, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Falling down Intuit products in general are performing poorly with the new Mac Yosemite. If you're not an experienced Turbo Tax user, this can be even more frustrating. Plus, Turbotax still doesn't give you a menu specifically to print and file your state return. They assume you will efile even if your state charges for this (a bad deal for the taxpayer). The overall link to Quicken is weak because of the Yosemite problems, and updates require that you install only by opening the application, not if you already have a file (like your return) open. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplied The Complicated We Love Turbotax! Easy to Use, Auto populates previous information which I find beneficial. It handles all of our business and personal income tax needs seamlessly and with ease. I had to call Customer Service one time, and she was very helpful. With Turbotax, I am confident in the filing of our tax return. Did you know the IRS considers a 5th wheel a 2nd home and the loan interest is tax deductible? Turbotax did! The audit defense is reasonable and provides us with peace of mind. I will be a loyal customer for life! Thank you Turbotax April 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Won't use again I bought turbo tax deluxe this year as I have for many years. I assumed it would cover the same stuff as it has in the past. I was wrong, no longer was I able to enter my 1099-B it isn't supported so for $30.00 more I had to down load turbo tax premier. Then I went to enter my small farm info and once again I was told its not supported and for $10.00 I had to download turbo tax home and business. I'm now out almost $100.00. Charging me over $40.00 more over the $50.00 I've paid for turbo in the past. I will not buy Turbo tax next year. May 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for federal, less so for state I've used Turbo Tax Home & Business for more than a decade; it has always worked well and I've never had a problem using the program or filing my taxes. It does a great job walking you through every step of the federal return process, with tutorials and help readily available. That all comes to a screeching halt when its time to do the state return (mine is NJ). Dense questions are asked, the tutorials are gone, and the help screens offer little help. You are on your own if you can't think like a tax preparer when you get to this part. March 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Works great, but not all forms included with basic I have used Turbo Tax for years. The step by step guide is great and easy to follow. I have never had any problems until this year. However, for some reason Turbo Tax decided to make a change to their program this year and I had to upgrade to home and business just for 1 form. The farm schedule used to be part of the basic program, now it's not. I had to pay double just to get what I needed. I am very disappointed. I hope they decide to go back and include it for next year. Otherwise, I will have to find another program for 2015 taxes. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but still some uncertainties I have been using TurboTax for many years and overall it has been far better than filling out papers by hand. Handling unemployment issues is not well spelled out as to how to characterize expenses for job search. Healthcare issue is extremely unclear as to how to handle the last page. TurboTax insists on filling out the form when Healthcare act staff tell you that you do not have to file the form, This is really confusing and it would help if TurboTax cleared it up instead of asking for a form that cannot and should not be filled out. April 13, 2015
  • 2015-07-04T11:28:21.101-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-259, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12767, tr_12767
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 257 258 259 260 261 ... 295 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.