1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 259 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good program I like to file my returns a little at a time - concurrent with the receipt of necessary forms from the various providers (1099-DIV, 1099-R, etc.). Using the VIEW FORMS method allows me to do that. After that, I use the STEP BY STEP method to be sure I didn't miss anything. Being able to download directly from my brokers, and other financial institutions also is a big help and time saver. Overall, I rate this program very favorably. I have been using this program for many years; each time it gets a little easier to use. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy I have been using Turbo Tax for over 10 years. It helps to reduce the stress to prepare my tax return each year. It is particularly useful to handle tax returns on my business, investments, rentals and the premium tax credits of the new Affordable Care Act. One particular feature that I like is the flexibility to review the tax forms and worksheets while preparing the tax return, and the ability to make amendments directly in the worksheets instead of going through the Step-by-Step process. I highly recommend TurboTax. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost Painless My second year using the "Business" Edition. They will call it something else in a year or so... My ex uses HR Block's package and I decided that this one is better. I like the interview format and the ability to jump around once I get more info on expenses from the previous year. I file Fed for free and mail the CA forms. I don't like how hard it is to go and isolate the "print version of the form" to accomplish this. It out to be "Efile Now, Print Now, Do something later" for each agency submission. Maybe next year. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love that Refund! As always, I find Turbotax to be a great tool when filing my taxes. I did however, find it more difficult to utilize the Utah State preparation when I decided not to filie electronically and wished to print them off and mail in. It's not worth paying the nearly $20 for filing fees when you're getting a very small return. In prior years, it was quite simple. This year, it took longer to find a way to get it printed in order to do a mailing. Hey, maybe I'm not the smartest cookie, but haven't had such issues in the past. March 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Bad! At one point I needed to search for a specific tax deduction and used the "Find" box. I made the needed adjustment but then could not navigate back to another area. The "Find" box was restricting my navigation. I finally realized (after 10-15 min) that I need to clear the "Find" box in order to continue on. You folks finally got the NJ medical deduction aligned with the fact that some medical expenses are paid with federal pre-tax money, but not state. So the federal medical expense can be very different than NJ state. March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Okay I needed schedule D and C, which would have been TWO upgrades under TurboTax's original pricing policy. I'd have gone somewhere else. TurboTax decided I had a K-1 and couldn't pass the review because the title was blank. No form to delete... until someone on the web suggested filing out the K-1 with bogus stuff until I got to the EIN, then filling in all 9's, then there actually was a schedule that I could delete. Worked. Otherwise, pretty good stuff, will use again next year IFF they have a reasonable pricing policy March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comprehensive program I fully believe taxes should not be so complicated that we have to hire someone to file on our behalf. We do have a less than straight forward tax situation, and I feel TT presents all the necessary options enabling one to self-file. I do wish there were an ability to add a note of explanation, for example, I have an investment fund I still hold in conjunction with ex-spouse--I would like to notate that he is required to claim half of the dividends/gains on his return. This used to be possible, but this year it isn't. March 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Getting better. TurboTax is great at making a tough chore easy. It asks you questions and helps you fill out answers. It imports data from Quicken, although you can generally only get info for Schedule C and Schedule E. It also allows you to download info from banking web sites, but once again, you can generally only get info from specific Investment web sites which is good for your 1099 and Schedule D. The rest you enter manually. Wish it could handle scanned documents, even if it can only attach them and save them with your return. February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My return is done I am most concerned that next year your program will require me to upgrade my software to mountain lion. I have an older computer and can not upgrade beyond lion. If the tax program requires me to use mountain lion or higher, I will be unable to use the Turbo Tax software that I have used since 2004 unless I purchase a new computer. Is there a way to stop the needed upgrades because I am not sure I can afford to buy a new computer next year and would love to continue to use a program I have grown to understand and like. March 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TurboTax14 I have used the Turbo Tax program for decades. This year is the worst they have come out with,as I was forced to go with the business package instead of the deluxe that I have used for years. The packaging made it more difficult in the stores to tell which was which. The Deluxe that I am used to did not have the forms I needed so I had to pay double. If they keep this up, it'll be cheaper to go to an accountant,even though I understand much of the tax code. Many questions not answered as in the past. Very disappointing. April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by "Peace" of Mind and Model Service My debt to society is yet again completed without an upset stomach and with plenty of good news from TurboTax. I got a refund after inputting rather complex information, which would have been a nightmare had I been running solo. Thanks for taking the scare and the sting out of taxes. In my government office, we look to TurboTax as an example of the ideal electronic service - we aspire to the regulation of stakeholders in an as transparent and easy fashion as this state-of-the-art platform. You have not let us down yet. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great but not complete. I have income for the U.S. territory of Guam (I'm a CT resident). Therefore, I need to file IRS Form 5074 to allocate tax on that income back to Guam. Turbotax does not support Form 5074 and Turbotax help advised me to file my regular return without regard to Form 5074, then manually file an amended return to include Form 5074. Seems like this could be fixed easily. Otherwise, this is a great tool, if anything, the process is so easy that I sometimes need to step back to really understand the meaning of each transaction. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by We Always Pay but Turbo Tax makes it painless We used to pay someone else to do our taxes every year then we always had to Pay the IRS on top of it. So I finally had enough and bought Turbo Tax. Best decision I ever made. First year was a bit brutal, only because we had a very complex return with Roth IRA's, a Rental Property, and a business etc. This is our third year and it definitely gets easier. Besides, we all need to start using our own brains and understanding the law's and Turbo tax helps teach us a thing or two. Thanks T. T. ;-) Loyal User from here on out. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Finally finished I have used TurboTax for at least ten years. This was the most difficult version to use. Navigation between forms/tutorial and between forms required more work than in the past. I kept getting lost. I have used the Basic version for most of my returns. This year I tried Premier since Basic apparently didn't meet my needs per Turbo Tax. I ended up getting upgraded at least two levels during preparation of the return. I also missed the year to year comparisons. In my opinion, you need to provide a more simplistic approach. March 31, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by This is the first year of having a modest amount of royalty income so I was surprised that this forced me to upgrade to a small business package. Plus Turbo Tax informed me that this type of income is considered self-employed. I wish there was some kind of detailed explanation on why I would need to be considered self-employed. I have this uncomfortable feeling that I was hosed on taxes this year and do not feel confident that I needed to be subjected to this. Next tax year I will consider other options for doing taxes. February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by New Demands Absolutely unfair to have to upgrade "once", much less "twice", on one tax return when I have never had trouble wit h the Deluxe version! I am very disappointed and probably will quit using this software. Never had any trouble with the IRS by using the Deluxe either, but this new software has nearly made me lose my mind! Nothing has changed in my tax returns by using the Deluxe in past years so why do I have to upgrade to versions that I do not need other than the Deluxe that I was used to? This new version really STINKS! April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by filing made easy Downloading and importing outside vendor information was very easy. More organizations need to make this available. I am still a little confused with the HSA, HSP, and the other venues employers use to get around some of the required health law data. Not everyone seems to be talking the same language. Turbo Tax does a good job of asking the right questions but that doesn't mean I am sure of what they are asking because of the different terms used out there. I am satisfied with Turbo Tax and plan to use it again next year. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even Easier than Last Year! The experts at Turbo Tax confidently walk you through it all. Including the areas you're unsure of or want to learn more about and they make sure that all changes in tax laws are accounted for. There's no second-guessing or being left scratching your head. And, it's FAST. The peace of mind that Turbo Tax provides--along with a great education of the tax laws and what records I need to keep for the coming year, makes filing taxes a smooth and worry-free experience. And knowing it's done correctly each time = Peace of mind! February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Way-to-go! I have used this program for many years, first with help of a CPA friend but now able to "flying solo!" (pretty easy, even for someone with no fiscal background# The biggest disappointments 1) when my computer crashed and I no longer had prior 2013 year's data to easily transfer to start 2015 and 2) when I found out the Deluxe version I had always used no longer fit my needs because the company had deleted certain forms/features right after I entered half my info but was able to easily upgrade #but at an additional fee!# March 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review Turbo Tax 2014 This is the first year that I can remember having to work through bugs in Turbo Tax. Schedule l-1 problems: 1) Partner has a foreign address. It cannot be entered using step by step. 2) Box 16 G didn't like my numbers. I had to delete the worksheet and go through the step by step again. 3) Box 11 A didn't remove the number in line 1 and last line when I unclicked the boxes. As I cycled back through Schedule k-1, these boxes were checked after I removed them in the previous cycle. I had to use forms to remove the numbers. April 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by not as good as past years programs had problems filing for extension , couldn't e-file it and wouldn't print out mailing instructions to extend (didn't have that problem last year! wasted a lot of time trying to do it and then seen where a lot of users were having the same problems no responses on how to fix it, ended up mailing it after researching were to send it! had to buy a more expensive program than last year, not as user friendly as past programs. hate to switch as i have used turbo tax for many years but.... hopefully they will address these issues April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review of 2014 Tax return I have used Turbo Tax Software for the past 5 years and have always found it to be easy to use, very detailed, had all the pertinent forms and questions to ask to get the most of the refunds, while still meeting the Internal Revenue rules and regulations. The Personal and small business program was exactly what you need if you have a small business. Try Turbo Tax the next time you file your taxes, you will find the program is as advertised and very easy to use. Just follow the questions and it will be accurate and correct. February 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Refund I alway's use Turbo Tax and have for years.I had a very hard time with the printing. Going through Adobie made it hard and after working with it I may try a different tax program. Using turbo tax really makes it easy and e-filing ws great. You don't have any forms to mail and you have it on the computer when you need it.The state was a little harder for me to delete forms that I didn't need this year but got through it.With this said I have had great success using Turbo Tax and I hope the program is fixed before next year. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used from day 1 TurboTax continues to improve every year. We've been using it since it was Macintax! Thanks for upgrading Deluxe to its traditional features. I especially like how the software now tells you it is updated at the very beginning and does not update when unnecessary. The company does not fill your e-mail inbox with unnecessary junk. Thanks! (to the TruboTax folks, there needs to be a bookmark box so if you want to review something (brain fade) you can jump back to where you left off without having to step through each item) February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Overall, Turbo Tax is a wonderful application! My dislike for the application comes from the additional fees that are charged for using a credit card to pay your taxes or other fees and the fee charged to file state returns. Twenty dollars to file state returns is ridiculous and a 2.49% fee to use a credit card to pay your taxes, etc., is crazy! I understand the cost of doing business, but I think there has to be a better way to perform these very beneficial functions without the additional fees to the consumer. Thank you. February 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some not good "improvements" It is good software for getting return completed, but for some reason there were many instances where I was not certain it transferred data from my 2013 return. This made it confusing at times. Then the whole debacle of moving simple Schedule C activity to another higher priced software was annoying, as is the high cost of additional state software ($49.99 same as basic Deluxe package with 1 state, and the high price for filing state returns ($24.99 ea). Might as well hire someone to do it all for me. May not use in future. April 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Day Early After 5 years of TurboTax, I feel the presentation has improved and the wording chosen is clearer and more conversational in tone. Some more dialog on difficult topics such as farming, energy savings, earned income credit and alternate minimum tax would be helpful. Generally, I found the "help' screens to be below par, as they were either vague or off the point which interrupted the computational progress. Would it be too difficult to hot link to paragraphs in he 1040 instructions that apply to a given section of TurboTax?. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Have been using TT Deluxe for more than 10 years, This year suddenly noticed I cannot do my usual filing unless I upgrade to Home and Business. Glad the CEO finally backtrack and allowed for free upgarde to the higher version. It's still a big hassle to try to upgrade to Premiere and finally to the Home and business version since the automatic in program upgrade did not work on my computer. Don't know if next year I have to buy a higher version or not but thinking seriously to switch to another program if that is the case. April 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not very intuitive or transparent It's not very clear how the calculations are done until after you've completed entering your information and save a copy of the return and the corresponding worksheets, which I don't like. This is especially true in calculating your tax expense. Also, once you enter your information, it's not easy to find where you need to go for an update. For example, if you filled out information for a 1098-T but want to edit, going to the tuition and education section and clicking update won't get you immediately to the screen you need. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Refund Im a tax practitioner and have bveen for the last 33 yrs. and I've used Pro Series and so getting used to a new system as Turbo is a real shocker for me, but am seriously thinking of switching to Turbo Tax either next year or the next, if I can get used to your slower way of imputing data. Other than the slowness of your system, I like it okay. Got the same results with my ProSeries and Turbo. I would also like to see a Print Option so that I can choose which forms NOT to print for all returns; saves a lot on paper and time. February 3, 2015
  • 2015-07-30T12:48:25.166-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-259, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12837, tr_12837
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 257 258 259 260 261 ... 296 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.