1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 259 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 13702 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by wish there was a better tax prep choice out there Lets do last first for the final straw--$19.99 + tax it said to file state, then 2 screens over to the final pay: $24.99 + tax. An apt conclusion to a frustrating Turbo experience! Skip this & try one of the other tax preps!! It skipped screens all the way thru, & never did cover some of the business deductions (like % of utilities for home office) that were on years past. I was so glad to get finished I left a bunch of deductions "on the table". April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax! I have used TT every year for the last 9 years. My tax situation changed dramatically this year because of investments and a new LLC. But I was able to do a little research and find the right version of TT for me. Actually, I didn't choose the correct version , but I was quickly able to upgrade within the program, as I was doing my taxes and get the forms that I needed; quickly. Thanks Turbo Tax for taking the guess work out of our complex system! March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Our returns are monsters: regular income, the wife's business, retirement income, interest, dividends, rental properties, hobby income, capital gains and losses, yet TurboTax handles it all. Good summaries of the law and IRS rules. I have read parts of the tax code, the IRS instructions and TurboTax help on occasions to get a better understanding of deductions or loopholes, TurboTax seems to always interpret the law as I would. Worth every penny.. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by tax 2014 This year's taxes were more complex due to inherited IRAs, annuities, stocks, etc. The program walked me right through recording the data appropriately. I've been using TurboTax since 1997 and have yet had a problem with any return, I have also been doing my Mom's taxes since my Dad passed away in 2002. My mom passed away in 2014 and I had to do her taxes and the estate tax return, no problems and what a lot of hoops to navigate.Thank you TurboTax March 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Whoa! Lots of changes this year.... Retired with income from wages, stocks and retirement accounts - love the interview and loading of forms from brokerages. Tax piece was as easy as I've come to expect from TTax. This year the process for planning estimate payment for this year felt different and frankly, poor. I could go into specifics and change it to get it right, but got done without an interview process on what's going to be different next year. Big space for improvement.... April 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Forced an upgrade After starting with my side business information, Turbo Tax concluded that I needed to upgrade from the Premier package to the Home and Business package. While it was taken care of without charge (this year...), you can already see that it will cost extra next year. For several years, I had been using the Deluxe package without trouble, but now Intuit wants to break up the software into more bundles, and of course, charge more! Very disappointing... April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good...with minor bug Good overall again this year. One thing - depreciation information from the Federal return did not all transfer through to the NY State return form IT-398. I WAS able to add/edit the information using the "go to forms" function of the software (good TurboTax online help resource walked me through that), but having to do the manual edits makes me feel a little weird about how all the depreciation info may be correctly dealt with in future tax years. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Change is not always good Was not happy to learn that Turbo Tax eliminated "business" from the Delux version forcing everyone to use the "business version" which is way more expensive..Will check out competitors next year even though I have used Turbo tax for 9 years. and was given a full refund for having to upgrade to the "Business version". Also had trouble printing my return. Can't pick a nickname without it being used by sombody I'm up to 15 trys so far. What a joke January 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pain at times trying to unload incorrect information even to the extent I do my taxes all over again from scratch. I dont have farm income yet it keeps on asking me the dumb question about how much I made. Also its a pain when dealing with how many days my rental was rented and how many personal days. I put down the days rented and 0 days personal use yet it keeps telling me I have errors and I need to fix them in relation to this. It's a pain!!!! March 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slipping a bit The new requirement for buying the Business edition is a great annoyance as I have been using TTax for twenty years or more and never had to buy an upgrade to file a Schedule C. I have less than two hundred dollars in Sch C income, and yet will have to pay for the Home and Business edition to record that minor income. Same for Sch D. A single stock trade requires buying the Premiere Edition. I think I can handle it without TurboTax's help in 2015. July 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Returning after 14 years I was very happy with this product. There are two items that could be improved. 1> I thought I was done and my taxes were submitted on April 14. However, when I noticed that my credit card statement did not show the credit that I used to pay the taxes, I came back to Turbo Tax to check the status, and found out that it did not go through. 2> All possible deductions for rental. I don't remember if Turbo Tax ask me if I could depreciate my rental. April 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboTax is excellent overall. There are a few frustrating things still in the software, such as having to correct the same errors four or five times before the program accepts the corrections. Also, I put in a SEP IRA investment experimentally to see its impact on my tax liability and it was difficult to remove it when I decided not to do a SEP IRA (I had to go on line and get a solution, which was going to the form and removing the entry there.). March 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This years Turbo Tax left a lot to be desired. Purchased TT on CD and it wouldn't load to the computer. Support fixed this problem. Next, income sources had not changed from 2013 and prior years, used TT Premier as before. Howev er, got to a point in reporting income and was informed I would have to purchase additional TT for $10.00. Did so, however, now the comparision sheets do not include all the income and expenses from 2013. Too many changes. April 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good product but could be better At the end of the program it reviews the return and finds fixes that need to be done. The instructions on how to do the fixes are minimal, and refer to a HELP button that does not exist on the screen, and involve calculations on other pages of the return that cannot be accessed. These problems should be identified up front and dealt with as soon as they appear in the process of making the return. Still, this is probably the best product out there. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Helpful Tax Guidance I have used TurboTax for years and have always found it to be an excellent product; very helpful for people with somewhat complicated taxed, who are not tax experts. I only wish the "Step by Step" method would indicate what form and line the information you are entering pertains. This would be helpful for gathering and categorizing receipts and records, understanding the tax forms, reviewing the final return, and for planning for future tax returns. April 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by State Turbo Tax instructions at times vague I found that completing the state tax return a "breeze ", except when it came to filing the K-schedule. It mentioned something about typing in positive or negative "adjustments" to state income. What does that really mean, and are you supposed to combine all the adjustments into the box, whether positive or negative ? I assume one was to total all the adjustments from various K-1 schedules from various partnerships. but it was not quite clear to me. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tax part works fine - knock off service hard sell Step by step walk-through works well though when you come back to a section, it starts again from the beginning. Forms icon in upper left corner is washed out and not easy to spot unless you are looking carefully. Error check caught several mistakes, really appreciate this function. I could do without multiple and annoying audit protection and Amazon sales pitches. Even during this review writing they are pitching yet another service - Grammarly! March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saving time and money! I have been using TurboTax for close to 10 years now. I have to say that TurboTax never failed to get the help that I need in a flash. It's so quick and easy that anybody can do it. It is user friendly. Downloading is quick and fast too. I highly recommend TurboTax to anyone. I have been using "Personal & Small Business" for long time and with little changes every year, I was able to quickly do my taxes done in one hour or less. Thank you TurboTax! February 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Why does it keep asking about farm income? The prompts are misleading. For example IRA contributions: ( this is from memory) If you made a contribution between Jan 1 2015 and April 15 2015 you need to declare this What it seems to be missing is that any contributions made in 2014 should also be declared. I am not sure whether my 1099R which I rolled over year is handled correctly. Is this considered as a regular IRA contribution. Very confusing. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slipping this year ... This experienced user could never get the "review" and error check to work as it has in past years. It kept kicking me to some healthcare related page – that section was completely completed and there were no missing numbers or errors reported – just kept kicking me back there. Terrible. Fix this. Also, the college income/expenses section was very, very weak. I had to search for the very basic of basic forms. They should be at top level. Fix this. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does plain vanilla return very well Many people have problems with TT and maybe there are complicated returns that it flubs. But for my simple business return works well and beats paying $600 to an accountant that provides much less help than TT. Over past couple of years since I started using TT I have better understanding of tax filing. Unless you communicate a lot and in detail with your accountant (and paying plenty for it probably) you will learn more using TT. Keep it up Intuit. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax Review Turbo Tax is a good product, but the last two years the State of CO has had to Amend or Correct in a negative direction the 1099G piece. It put it as a TAX PAID and it's a prior years state return or income..... so it has caused us stress and delay getting our State refund processed. This year I really watched how Turbo Tax completed the State form.....It got it right this year. Other then that I've completed my taxes using Turbo Tax for 10 years. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business tax return - new software this year At first I was upset, like a lot of others, that the Deluxe version I'd purchased didn't do the job for my 2 Schedule Cs. When I did upgrade to Business, I found that information was collected in a different order from what I'd been used to for years. BUT - all those annoyances aside, Turbo Tax came through again for me with a solid experience doing my taxes. I have confidence in Turbo Tax's results and wouldn't use any other tax software - period. March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This is turning into a racket I had to upgrade to be able to enter my wife's Schedule C information that worked quite well in the Deluxe version before. Now I'm going to have to pay more going forward. At the end of my last return I get the notice that I'll have to pay still more if I electronically file more than five returns. $200 EACH! I file for myself and my kids. I'm not getting rich off this. I'm going to have to find a different product if this nonsense isn't rectified. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good tool for doing your personal return. It took me a long time to figure this out. The instruction given do not match exactly with the section titles as you follow them so it was difficult to figure out how to remove a liquidated business. Inventory liquidation vague. Need more help to follow in this area. It was clearer once forms where printed for the return. It would be nice to be able to print the information provided under the risk assessment to ensure all recommendations are followed. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 15th year using Turbo Tax I've been using Turbo Tax for 15 years now and never had any issues. My father usually pays around $750 dollars for his CPA to file for him but I convinced him to let me do it for free. Not only was my return comparable to that of the CPA's (last year form) return but I increased his refund by an additional $500. My dad even treats me better now lol. Anyways Turbo Tax is getting better and stronger every year. So simple to use and filing is a breeze. April 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Garbage!!!! I've been doing my own taxes for years and I do a pretty good job of it. I've been using TurboTax almost the whole time. This year there were so many changes I still don't know what to do or how to use it. I can't make it file my taxes. Congratulations. TurboTax has succeeded in making what was once only a painful process now is completely tortuous. I'm still not sure what to do. And just so you know, I'm a fairly intelligent person with two degrees. April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Review Very good tax software. Easy to use. Options for selecting a step-by-step questionnaire to walk you through all aspects of filing your return or you can select a specific form and input yourself. Great features of downloading your brokerage statements and the information is filled in automatically. Well worth the cost....I do not see how anyone could complete their 1040 return and know / understand all the tax laws, credits, and calculations, etc. March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Foreign Tax Credit Barriers To take the foreign tax credit option, you must enter the countries from which the income was derived. Most mutual funds will have numerous countries sourcing income making it impractical to enter the data as Turbotax requires in order to take the credit, which is more valuable than as an itemized deduction. In the past, an entry of "various" would suffice when the amounts are comparatively small (eg hundreds of dollars credit for the 35/39% bracket. October 15, 2015
  • 2015-11-25 T07:38:47.130-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-259, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13702, tr_13702
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 257 258 259 260 261 ... 316 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.