1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 257 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 13124 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wheres the turbo tax? Had to have a Cosco employee help me find the correct software package. Strange, since I've been buying turbo tax for years. I had trouble with the free upgrade to business. I only make a few hundred on the side. I had trouble with a free upgrade to premium or something. Neither worked because i needed access to my "account". Even though i typed in the correct password and question answer I was rejected. I gave up. Until today. then it seems to have corrected itself. Thank you. April 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Experience Initially disappointed that I had to upgrade to Home and Business after using the De Luxe version last year whilst in the middle of my return but the upgrade was so easy and transparent when done online at the time and overall it was a great experience. Also Turbo Tax say that they will refund $25 because of the upgrade requirement this year so any pain is taken out. I will recommend Turbo Tax to all my friends, family and business contacts for next year. A great product. Peter January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax Preparation and Regulations in Laymen's Terms TurboTax is better than an accountant, because an accountant can misread your figures or omit items that you gave them. This allows the taxpayer to input his own data and check the accuracy of the calculations. TurboTax is up to date on the tax code. Their is no way for you to know if your accountant is aware of all the changes. I enjoyed the format and look forward to filing my return for 2015. Turbo Tax has provided me with a system to use for my recordkeeping for next year. March 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by turbotax is bad I have used turbotax since 2007 with no problems until this year. It would not transfer my infro. I had to hand enter all my person infro. Also I could not find my state return on turbo as in the past. so I was forced to efile my state form. when I did I could not get into turbo with my password. for 2 hrs of trying. Turbo servers were messed I guess. Next when I tried to paid for the state form the turbo server took an other hour to get my card info accepted... BAD, BAD, BAD.. April 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amended 2013 Fed Return Tricky I used TurboTax Deluxe 2013 to prepare an amended return (Fed and Maryland). My original Fed return was adjusted by IRS (additional refund due to an error in total estimated tax payment on the original return). I had to manually make the entries for this adjustment directly in Form 1040X (forms mode). For 1040X TurboTax printed the entire modified 1040 return instead of just printing the schedules and forms that were changed. I manually removed the unnecessary forms/schedules. February 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Generally, I love TurboTax. This year I feel there was not enough help available and it would have been easy to skip sections. I'd rather it be up to me whether to skip ahead rather than make it up to me to be sure to answer all sections. Turbo Tax, ask me questions, don't assume I know what I'm doing (even though I do). Not as much confidence this year that it was done correctly. We have our own business plus an LLC and am not convinced things were as thorough as in years past. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Owner Occupied Rental Expense Calculation I own a duplex, rent one side and live in the other. I really like the function that turbo tax calculates my expense portion between my rental and my personal forms. However, I wish there was a way that if you had rental specific expense (painting at rental) you can enter that information without going back and manually calculating all expense portions between rental and personal. If there was an option for both manual and pre-calculated on the repairs tab that would be perfect. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Filing I sold a 2nd home that was used as a rental in past years but not in 2014. I took me three attempts before a found the correct interview to use. TT did finally get me to the right place and it may have been my misunderstanding of the situation and how to handle. The biggest problem was when I filed the Feds rejected my filing for wrong Fed Payer number I entered incorrectly. I entered it correctly in the State section but not in the Fed section. TT did not detect the error. Why? February 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by First time user of TurboTax Home and Busness I had to purchase the Home and Business this year because Schedule C was not included in the Deluxe version. My first time having self employment filing. Some of the worksheet questions were not very intuitive. May not be the fault of TurboTax just government forms in general. You just must trust TurboTax is doing it correctly until you can review documents before filing. I do think that this should include Free filing of State Tax for the price you have to pay for the software. April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long time user I have been using TurboTax from the days of MS DOS! I actually first transitioned to Windows so that I could continue using TurboTax to do my taxes. I have continued using it because the program is reliable and comprehensive. I use the "Walk Me Through" and have found more deductions and increased my refund. I can do my taxes myself and do them more quickly using TurboTax. I have even helped friends with their taxes, knowing that TurboTax will give an accurate return every time. April 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 taxes for a US citizen living abroad - Could not update the amounts for 1099-INT and 1009-DIV for existing accounts that I had imported in 2013. Would have been nice for this to be done automatically. - Could not find Capital One 360 bank in the search list - Could not import tax documents from Morgan Stanley StockConnect (Intuit ESPP!) - Importing 1099-DIV from E*Trade brokerage account did not import my investment income automatically. - Help link for the required forms to be printed (after e-filing) did not work May 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy as usual I think we bought a version we didn't need, because we weren't able to get the forms for investment from the basic version. However we had purchased the software before going on vacation out of the country, and received emails that weren't read until we got back. I don't have the receipt, so I just used the version we got. You should make a version for retired folks, on Social Security, with pensions and IRAs and other investment income. We don't need the home business version. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product I have been using TT for years and it has always served me well. There has never been a question of accuracy, I believe it it the gold standard in tax programs. For those of us who have fairly complex returns I think it would be nice to have a third method setting, between step by step and forms. I would like to be able to enter the data I know how to handle on forms and then get an abbreviated step routine that would check not just accuracy but for things I might have omitted. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Uncorrectable Program error NY Form IT-225 is required to be attached to my return for e-filing in NY. The program prepares the worksheet, but won't accept the command to attach the form to the underlying return, IT-203, even usng the Override function. I was required to find the form on the State website, print it, complete it manually, print the rest of the return for mailing, prepare a written explanation for NY, mail the return and experience unneeded aggravation due to the uncorrectable program error. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredibly detailed; better than any tax advisor I've been doing my own taxes since 1972 and Turbo tax since 1995. This program has come a long way to excel at ease of use, yet detailed to the point where it catches things I missed. Downloading from financial institutions is a snap, saving a lot of effort. I do an estimate in the fall to see if I need to do anything to influence my deductions in December like charitable donations, then fill in the changes in February. Done. I will never use any other tax program than Turbo Tax. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Is Peace of Mind The IRS Code is so complicated I don't think I could ever complete my tax returns without Turbo Tax. It is easy to use. It performs its own updates. It prompts me and asks questions when necessary. It reviews my tax returns and tells me if I have errors to fix. It lets me flag the forms I am unsure of and come back to them later. It covers all the deductions I would never have come up with on my own. Thank you for an excellent product. I have no negative comments about Turbo Tax. April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful completing a pretty complicated return Have been using TurboTax and MacinTax before it for 20 years. Great to be able to import previous year's info and data. There are still some quirks to figure out, but it is getting more user friendly. Liked the way I could go to "Forms" to see any errors and then correct them. Some of the instructions could be clearer on how to address certain subjects. I did find the "Help" very useful on IRA and Roth IRA rules. Downloading investment data on capital gains was a big time saver. April 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Taxes 2014 Biggest problem this year was that after a whole day of entering my taxes into TurboTax, I left the final filing for the next day. TurboTax does NOT auto-save your tax return. Turns out Adobe Flash Player will reset your machine, while doing updates! I lost my entire day's work. One suggestion for Intuit would be to add this auto-save feature. In the meantime, each time an update (for any software) is installed, find out where you can change its settings to "ask before updating". April 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A sanity saver I have used TurboTax for the last 10 years. I have been very happy with its format and ease of use. At times some conflicting information pups up. This year when you are asked for the pin to sign the returns, it seemed that you could use last year pin. But that is not correct; you have to obtain a new pin from the IRS. TurboTax addresses this requirement later. At one time, you could use the same pin every year. I would recommend streamlining the language and format in this area. March 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Working with Mac version. While doing e-file and AFTER paying the Fed tax by credit card and AFTER seeing messages that everything had been checked, right before transmitting, a message came up that a few more questions needed to be answered. There was some Form that needed an answer and when putting in an answer the Fed and State taxes re-calculated and changed by about $50 on Fed and about $35 on State (CA). This should have been caught BEFORE I paid the Fed tax by credit card. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Educational This was really easy to use to file both fed and state taxes. First time using it, and found it to be super educational in that we usually just drop our "stuff" off with "a guy" and they kinda sort it out and do our taxes based off of that. Here they get into the nitty gritty of all the things you can enter, and had me searching for things I didn't even know I could include, and was definitely writing stuff down that I should be keeping track of for next year. Also, it was easy. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The refund processing fee was very misleading. It wasn't until I had already filed my return that I understood how to avoid this charge. I think it should be clearly stated in the process that selecting the option to take the audit defense charge out of your refund will result in a refund processing fee and the intermediary bank step. I new this process didn't seem right, but I couldn't find an explanation until I reviewed the save file at the end after the return had been filed. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great way to learn You take responsibility for learning about the tax structure with the support of tax professionals. For years , I used a CPA, and after I did all the work, he would just imput it into the computer. Well, after watching him do it year after year,r I took the time and did it myself. I learn more each year, and anytime I have a question, or I'm unsure of something, a turbo tax professional is always available. I also use audit support, so Turbo Tax will act on my behalf if necessary. April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by hiccups I had incorrect credit carryovers from adoption credit on 2013 forms creating issues on 2014 return. I had to have these corrected otherwise my return would have been quite a bit more than it was supposed to be. The online version would not let me manually correct so called for advice. The time it took on hold listening to music, multiple times to get to a cpa was terrible (almost 2 hrs total). However, once figured out everything was as easy as usual. i will definitely use again. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and covers many areas not expected I have a fairly complicated tax situation. I have investment income, multiple partnership K-1s, self employment income and W-2 income on deferred compensation. I have used Turbo Tax for years and find it very easy to use. It covers all my tax situations and it is quick. In the past it has also covered stock option transactions. I recommend Turbo Tax to anyone who has used a tax service in the past for their complicated return but has a computer and a basic knowledge of income tax. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost Perfect Although this year's guide only asked for "various" for charity item donation dates when there were multiple donation dates, the built -in review flagged "various" as an invalid entry, so you still have to enter individual dates. Also, the program makes it difficult to pick up accurate acquisition costs for restricted stock / unit awards that are usually included in W-2's, especially when you import from the financial institution / third-party administrator. Otherwise, easy to use. February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loyal Customer Since 1992 I've been preparing and filing my own income tax forms since 1970. I started computerized preparation in 1992 with MacInTax and later its successor TurboTax. The tax software greatly simplifies tax preparation and I should know since I am self-employed and have capital investments. I love the straight-forward interview process. It is so much easier than working through complex IRS forms. The whole process is much faster. The calculations are much more accurate. Good work, TurboTax! March 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Federal. State is average at best. Good overall Federal Return experience. The State of Ohio return was not at all good, with no support for necessary business forms in the Ohio return, such as IT-SBD. I had to go find the help and information I needed elsewhere, fill out the form on paper manually, and then key in all pertinent details in TurboTax. This is the second year for the same issues. I'm thinking of trying an alternative product next year. Additionally, the 1098-T Federal Tuition details are quite minimal. February 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great program I was quite unhappy to find that I had to upgrade the original software to the home & business because of one form. As a member of an LLC, I must report every year the K-1 I receive though I do not actively participate. I will now pay more for a program that I only add four numerical entries to and which changes nothing on my final tax forms. I hope that in the future that major changes that happen will be clearly advertised so that I as a consumer can purchase the correct program. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRS IP Pin Had to repeatedly enter both IRS Pin & IRS IP PIN for wife before they were saved in 1040. 1st filed 1040 was rejected because IRS IP Pin was blank. Had to enter PINs 3 different times before they were retained in the 1040. Also various changes were not retained in the form, i.e. my review showed 11 problems. I fixed them & they still needed fixing on the next review. Also the "walk me thru everything" in this years 1040 left a lot of stuff out., which I had to go back thru & add. March 24, 2015
  • 2015-10-07T11:05:26.761-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-257, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13124, tr_13124
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 255 256 257 258 259 ... 303 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.