1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 257 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 13702 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Experience with Turbo Tax the past five years. My past five years experience with turbo Tax has gotten better over the past 5 years. Never any technical problems and customer support has always solved any account problems effectively to my advantage! ..Last year - 2013 - the Tax Advisor (CPA) from TN - was absolutely outstanding: experienced, professional and took ownership of my problem and gave me great advice which corrected a situation and saved me from a problem and saved me money! March 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as easy to use as in the past "Explain This" provides minimal information. I found myself having to browse the web to answer many of my questions. Examples: Spousal IRAs, passive versus general versus other types of income, confusion with some interview questions, e.g. Did you contribute to an IRA in 2014? vs Did you or do you plan to contribute to an IRA for 2014? The ease of use of the software relative to the increasing complexity of tax preparation is going downhill. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME!!!!!!! We've been using a CPA every year, and we decided to try our luck with TurboTax. I can't believe how easy it was to use and how incredible the explanations are in each category. And if I did have a question that wasn't fully explained, TurboTax has enough online support that I found my answers with no problem. I feel confident with what was filed and am thrilled to know how we will be filing our taxes each year going forward! SO wonderful!!! March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes Bad News Comfortable Even though I owed money this year, I was comfortable in knowing that TurboTax made every attempt to give me the best possible outcome. I got all the deductions I deserved. Carrying figures over from the previous year make so many topics easy and worry free. I've used TTax for as long as I can remember -- back in DOS Days! But, I don't feel that I'm adequately rewarded for my loyalty. A better discount program for frequent users would be nice. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was a great refund. This is an outstanding tax software, I went last month to a professional tax filing company because of some investments that we have and the company was going to charge us hundreds of dollars to do them. I went and got the Turbo Tax Business software and I follow each step that I was told and I got back the same amount that the other company told me that I was getting back. I invested wisely in Turbo Tax software and save hundreds of dollars. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Handles complicated returns pretty well Considering the scope of coverage, this software is pretty good. But, don't try this version unless you are not intimidated with further research. Some questions can be answered with what seems like a right answer, but get what you know is the wrong figure---causing you to redo sections several times until logic prevails. Don't depend on this (or any) software blindly---use it as a tool. It does cover a lot, and overall is pretty darned good. March 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ny now requires all returns to be efiled. NY says if you use tax prep software you must efile. I prep a number of family members who would paper file . now i am stuck unable to file their NY returns. I was unaware of this and would not have purchased turbo tax if i knew i would be unable to prepare all of my family's tax returns. also the fact that I had to purchase premier and ended aup spending $80 instead of $40 to prep these tax returns. February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long-time user I have used Turbo Tax for many years. 2 years ago I doubted my abilities and went to a professional. I still bought Turbo Tax and entered everything just to see how we compared. I caught her on some major omissions in my final. I think I would have seen it just by the experience I had by using Turbo Tax so long but having prepared my own tax for comparison made me run back to Turbo Tax the next year. I felt she should have paid me that year. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Useful Program I am very satisfied with the program itself, and have used it for over a decade. I resent the changes in the various levels of the program without warning; I unexpectedly had to upgrade to the next more costly upper level program to get the parts dealing with securities' transactions. I would have preferred an out and out transparent price rise announcement. Given these caveats, I recommend this to other persons in positions similar to mine. April 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Problematic This year I had problem after problem getting TurboTax to start up. Many times it would start then shut down. I ended up opening Windows Task Manager each time to watch what was happening. Updates were extremely slow and there was NO option to skip updates each time you started TurboTax. My comments refer to the Home & Business version on CD. For the record, I have used TurboTax every year since TY 1987, prior to Intuit buying out Chipsoft. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Rocks! Have been using TurboTax since it first came out more than 20 years ago - it is a great tool and helps me catch things I would not otherwise get. If you need help, turbo tax support is great (or just google your question). I do my taxes, my mom's and both my kids - it makes it as easy as it'll ever get. Even if you take your taxes to a professional, you have to give them all the same information, so why not save the money and do it yourself? April 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unfortunately disgruntled Overall I enjoy using TurboTax. I've been a long time user. I am, however, upset with the latest version. The is the second time TurboTax has forced me to upgrade to accomplish my tax preparation. The first time I was forced to move from Deluxe to Premier and now after several years of filling out simple farm schedule F's with Premier, I'm forced to move from Premiere to Home and Business. Argh! I will be considering other software next year. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy but got a little confusing Everything went well except that initially my self-employment taxes were much higher than I knew they should be. As a minister, it was a little confusing when I was asked to enter my housing allowance. This was the reason the amount was wrong. I had to go to the SE worksheet to figure it out. The way I thought I had to enter it had caused the software to enter it twice. Once I figured it out and found the source of the problem it worked fine. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm done! Simple as Always! I used the newly named Personal & Small Business. It was as straightforward as always. Walks you through each step or will let you jump where you need to go. Especially great with your business expenses asking you if you had this or that and explains what the different options are. Also really helpful to sort through the education credits as we have a daughter in college. Been using TurboTax for years and will continue too. Highly recommend! January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Helpful As always Turbotax made my modestly complicated tax return doable for a non tax professional, and saved me money. It is generally easy to navigate, allows me to skip around when I need to, and has tips to cover nearly every contingency. My only criticism continues to be that even screens that only require a simple Y/N answer or two, I have to scroll down to hit "continue". If that could be eliminated it would make my life infinitely easier. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The state review should always be stepped through, I feel. Due to the quick option of relying on the statement that my State Return was complete, I missed the fact that a portion of my refund was designated for application to my estimated tax for 2015, which I didn't want to do, but I didn't discover it until I had printed all of my tax forms. It's a done deal, not a huge thing and certainly not worth reprinting to change, but it was annoying. October 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to Use! I keep using Turbo tax because it is very user friendly, updates are easy to install and the program is overall very nice to use. I think it is obnoxious that it isn't stated until the end about all the extra charges for things. Turbo tax should have notified me at the beginning that there was an additional fee of over $30 to file this year! That is a new one because I have been using Turbo Tax for about six years! Pretty disappointed in that! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still rocks after 30 years This is my 30th tax return in TurboTax. Shouldn't need to say much more than that. If your return is easy, you don't need to pay for software. If your return is complicated, you can pay an accountant/tax preparer or you can pay TurboTax. The tax preparer will just walk you through the same interview, or ask you for forms that are just as complicated. This year: employment in two states, main residence rented out. Lots of unusual complications. October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good, almost great I contributed 4K to HSA, employer 1K. W2 box 12 code W was 5K, labeled as employer contributions. In fact is was sum of both me and employer. I did not declare HAS so tax was computed on 5K. At review time TT did not notice that I had HSA contributions but not HSA declared.It should have generated a warning that I had illogical entries. I had to look on other (non TT) forums to find the cause of the problem. Hint to TT, fix this for next year. July 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product Product probably handles 99-100% of tax situations for the majority of tax payers. I don't like that when I want to revise information regarding business income or expenses, I can't go directly to the item I want to modify -- I have to get through all the questions I've answered previously. I also have to report nominee income from investments. Turbo Tax can handle nominee interest and dividends, but doesn't have a nominee option for 1099-B's. October 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good software If I give the score for the whole data entering experience 1 worse and 10 best, I would give it 8. I still had to check from item to item or section to section to make sure I did not miss some data. When I select not to file the state electronically, the software should have a function to continue to pop up asking if people want to print out the state file for the paper file. But I need to figure out where should I to pull it out for the print, April 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Each year gets worse It used to be that the source of figures were clearly accessible and defined. This year, it was about as convoluted as I've ever seen it. Perhaps because our tax laws are insanely complicated. With the limited deductions, AMT, and a W2 employee it's hardly worth the effort. State transfers are buggy -- you get nothing for free- it's paid for in frustration. I think I would have spent half the time if I just did the state the old fashioned way. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Customer For 10+ Years Even though I almost jumped ship this year and purchased a competitors product, I'm glad I did not. Many reviews I read before purchasing were highly critical of the common schedules that were left out of certain versions this year. I chose to purchase because Intuit offered a free upgrade to rectify the issue. That was good enough for me. Be careful of such major changes in the future. You have a great product. Keep up the good work. Cheers! June 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible this year! I have used TT for as many years as it's been around and have never considered any other options...until now. This year I have made numerous calls to TT for support in purchasing state modules, trying to e-file state returns, and getting a different version of TT because of the debacle of changes TT made without warning and without having the software properly vetted. This year's tax filing process has been a much worse experience as a result. March 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Form Frustration The program created a situation that caused confusion and major time lost. I used the Business version first to determine input to my personal return (a Partnership Business). TurboTax (TT) obviously did not properly use the data from the Business file and started me down the path of upgrading to "Home and Business" and then starting the business return all over again. It took several different tricks to wriggle out of the time-consuming mess. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbotax, On the Money This is not my 1st time using Turbo Tax but it still amazes me how much detail is covered by this software. Seemingly every possibility is covered here. it can at times seem somewhat overwhelming but the outcome is rewarding in that I feel comfortable. I feel that no stone has been left unturned in the search for every possible legal deduction. Even though I didn't have a refund this year I feel confident that all the bases have been covered. February 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Federal great; state not so much I love TurboTax. It makes filing my taxes really easy. In the past, both the state and federal have worked well. However, for the state (Montana) this year, after I entered itemized deductions, the software changed its recommendation of whether I should separately allocate itemized expenses between my husband and me. The numbers became all convoluted, and I couldn't go in and manually change anything, so ended up doing my state taxes by hand. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by frustration plus Frustrating experience this year since I was about halfway through the program and I realized that I couldn't use the deluxe edition for my small (tiny) business. I had to trade the disc for an upgrade and more expensive edition, for the first time in using TurboTax. This was more expensive and very time consuming. Also I now had to restart my computer to start the state edition which I have not done before. It took a long while to realize this. March 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as last year. Still a vast improvement over doing everything by hand. User friendly. Has good feel. It took me ten or twelve tries to get e-file to work. This is the SSL bug. The $40 price for business software, the $40 for an extra state, and the $25 for e-filing state pushes the cost to where hiring an accountant becomes a reasonable alternative. The review fails to specify what the corrections are for. It is opaque, frustrating, and only marginally useful. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's ok, but you have double check things I have used Turbo Tax for years, but you do have to double check things, as it does make errors. This year, it recorded my refund from last year as if I applied it to this year's tax payments, which I didn't. If I trusted the software and didn't correct it's errors, I would probably have to pay a hefty penalty later. It also keeps recalculating the SEP contribution but doesn't update everywhere and it doesn't flag as an error for Federal review. April 15, 2015
  • 2015-11-25 T07:38:46.985-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-257, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13702, tr_13702
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 255 256 257 258 259 ... 316 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.