1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 257 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by You gets a "B" The entry of ESPP share sales and other investment transactions is very good now; much improved over some previous years. However, guidance for recording contributions to Roth and Traditional IRAs still needs improvement: Employer-sponsored 401(k) info gets entered via W2 entry, but it's not clear whether those contributions count toward the maximum annual contributions. I had to refer to other documents to be (fairly# certain that my contributions to my employer's Roth 401#k) count towards my annual limit. April 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by First Time Disappointment in 6 years First time I ever had a problem with turbo tax. I couldn't clear the error. So I emailed my file to my sister and saved to another computer. Used her Turbo Tax to finish my filing for my return. But I also did my cousins return that I had to pay $10 for schedule C since she has here own business as a cosmetologist. I kept skipping the final review because it was stuck in a loop. Finally got to the end but still unsure if all items are in good state. I will be sending her filing through the mail. News at 11. March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Filing could have been better It would have been extremely helpful if TTax would provide me explanation/tips on how entering a number(positive or negative) in each line would affect my taxes. Also in same places TTax tells me to enter a zero or leave the item blank if the situation doesn't apply to me or I have zero amout. It should be consistent and tell me ahead of time what I should enter as per IRS requirement i.e enter my response as zero or it will automatically fill in a zero or not applicable or leave it blank as required by IRS. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by turbo tax limitations i had to learn from a third party that i could pay my taxes and efile at same time. i could have filed weeks earlier if u had only explained my choices. i did not want to tell the irs about quarterly estimated filing for 2015. My tax year 2014 was unusual and I do not have to file quarterly estmated taxes but your program would not let me do that. i am very disappointed and will probably get a call from the irs or at least additionl mailings. this coiuld easily been avoided if your program was more flexible. April 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Turbo Tax is a great way to file taxes. I love that it guides me through all of the areas of income and possible deductions. I filed my state taxes free through the state tax website as I didn't want to pay $50 extra to Turbo Tax ($25x2 because we file separately). I would like to be able to enter prior year city tax manually to help complete my current year, as we file that jointly and it doesn't correspond correctly through Turbo Tax since we file Fed and State separately. Otherwise, it's a great product. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doesn't Get Much Easier.... I've been using Turbo Tax for many years. Use to do them by hand. I run 3 small businesses plus my household. Turbo Tax has made my life much easier when it comes to Tax Time! They lead you by the hand ... couldn't be easier. And being able to upload our investment tax documents straight in to the program is a PLUS-PLUS!!! I would recommend this program to you ONLY IF you want to simply the overwhelming burden of filing your taxes! No need to pay a tax-preparer those high fees... you can do this! Just try!!! April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good tool but a little confusing at times The tool does cover all aspects of home and business tax filing and makes it easier that using straight forms. Sometimes the software requires that you follow a torturous path to get to the end result. And sometimes it oddly let's you skip an important step that fortunately I have been able to catch. Quite often I have to leave the easy steps and go into the forms to get clarity on the process the software wants me to complete. This is true for the Federal and NJ state returns. Not so much for the NY return. March 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simplifies and exceedingly complicated system We have what I consider a fairly complex tax return. After some 12 years of using the product, I know my way around pretty well. The software is very reliable, I have never spotted an error on my return due to Turbo Tax. I very much like the fact that the basic info carries over from year to year, especially any carryovers. I have never managed successfully to import from Quicken into Turbo tax but that is my own doing. I am happy using my own system to gather the data that needs to be entered in the program April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly Positive - A few Problems A special handling of a State Tax Subtraction (Deduction) for a college scholarship resulted in an unclear filing on both my Federal and State Tax Returns as well as my daughter's taxes.. This resulted in numerous hours of independent research and a work-around in order to file properly. Improper handling of this situation in Tax Year 2013 resulted in a rejected return. Although my product upgrade installation did not progress smoothly, the customer representative was very helpful and generous with a refund. April 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functional For the most part Turbo Tax is a good product. I have used it for years and always like reading into the "explain this" to learn different laws, etc. What I don't like is some of the repetitive questions. I go through my taxes several times making notes of things to make sure I don't forget anything but every time I do some questions I have already answered are blank and I have to answer them again. I don't mind seeing the questions again for review but would like the Turbo Tax program to remember my answers. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great until filing... I didn't file using Turbo Tax last year, but I have in past years. So I get all my information entered and I see my refunds, for Federal and State and I'm all set to e file...then, all these questions about my car and business, then about taxes withheld last year, etc. Basically I was fine with it until the end, then I entered in the numbers/amounts I thought was correct then the system wouldn't take them. If that information was SO important than it should have been entered long before I'm trying to efile!!! April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 was not their best year... I really appreciate TurboTax for helping wade through all the complicated forms, but this year for some reason I had more trouble with little glitches...data disappearing, reviews showing $0, then I go back through and they have a new total, and the worst....the return passed all the reviews only to be kicked out at the last second during transmission because TurboTax has forgotten to carry down one field. It's a complicated product, but we are paying a lot for them to make sure it's all filled out correctly. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by User Friendly As usual I have been using Turbo Tax for years and it has always been a user friendly software. The only problem and I didn't like this year was the fact that the Deluxe software changed and at the end of completing my returns I had to pay an additional $43.20 to complete my taxes. This was an inconvenience to me. The only good thing is that I will refunded $25 for the inconvenience . I'm sure I am not going to be the only one that will be unhappy about this I just didn't this was a great business move. Thanks February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our tax experience My wife is a tax attorney by background. We have used TurboTax in one form or another for many years. Initially, she said, "What do we need this for?" After doing our taxes that year, she said, "Why didn't we get this before?" I have found that the program is consistently effective in saving time, highlighting deductions we didn't consider, providing a sharp looking copy, and allowing flexibility in making changes without having to do pencil erasures by hand. Highly recommend for even the most simple tax payer April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No muss, no fuss Turbotax makes it easy to run "what ifs". For example, you can find out what effect, if any, claiming say 1000 business miles would have on your taxes. Or what if I claimed a home office? You may find that it isn't worth the effort and record keeping, Or maybe it is, so you go and find all those receipts you threw in a box. A few minutes of "what if..." can help you make sure you get every deduction. Remember, we are required to pay what we owe, but we are not required to pay one penny more than we legally owe! April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easiest Filing Experience Ever! Overall TurboTax improves year over year. I've used TTax since 2008, and considered going to H&R Block this year. After talking with the rep there, he actually recommended that I stay with using TTax since it was so easy to use. My only complaint with TTax is when saving work and coming back later. After closing and opening the program it doesn't bring you back exactly where you left off, especially if there has been a software update completed. Otherwise this was the smoothest/easiest filing I've done to date. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs some improvement I was surprised to find that the Schedule C preparation required an additional software download and fee (while small $10.68 kind of inconvenient and nickel and dime). The K-1 for limited partnership interest could use some work. I also found that the help buttons weren't all that much help. Prior year programs had a better feel. In using the program, I found that the step by step walk-through had to be buttressed by a review of the forms to get information in that was not asked for in the step-by-step process. March 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by review TT 2014 Why didn't you include the list that you have previously? that is: your 2014 income category and expenses and deductions vs. the national average. What is the difference between TT inner circle (which I had previously signed up for and had a LO and PW which didn't work for TTAdvantage.# and TTAdvange? I tried signing up for TTA but got discouraged and never did. Was afraid that it would mess up the filing process which was in progress #I am not sure if it got filed as the TTA plug appeared in the middle of it) April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by confused by change i have been using turbo tax for years. i used turbo tax deluxe but you changed it and i could not use it for my farm. i called and was updated to turbo tax premiere at no charge. thanks! i started doing my return and had to download business at no charge thanks ! in the future i think it would be a wise business practice to inform your loyal and new customers of the changes you make in the programs from year to year. and what program one needs for specific applications. the max of three choices. have a nice day! April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Need separate batch multiple state filing option Everything worked perfectly until time to file multiple state forms electronically. Once you have e-filed several states along with the Federal 1040 to the IRS, subsequent state filings CANNOT be done electronically. Turbotax blocks this by again requiring that the Federal forms be sent to IRS along with the new state filings. This double-Federal e-Filing is not permitted. The remaining states must be filed with printed paper forms by mail (this is more time consuming but cheaper, and less profitable to Intuit). April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much Easier Business Edition Overall I liked the business edition this year. It was easier to follow the deductions and how and what could be applied as a deduction. Getting around the software is easy and drop down windows allowed for easy access to questions I might have along with what deductions were allowed and how to apply them. Also good reference to IRS bulletins if needed. Took my taxes to H&R Block once and had them tell me how much I owed the IRS...have used TurboTax ever since and don't plan to go back. Thanks for empowering me! April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo tax gone wrong this year Also, it wasn't clear that there would be an additional charge for my state tax return until it had already been completed. I wasn't going to re-do the return on the Ohio website since I had already done it on your software, but it cost me $20. Very disappointing in the transparency of your product offerings this year, and I have been a loyal customer for a long time. I think you have a great product, but you guys could have done better with how you treated your customers. I trust you will get it fixed next year. February 9, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Updater buggy I've been using TT for many years. This is the first year I've had some trouble with it. I couldn't get the updater software to work properly, even after uninstalling and reinstalling TT twice. Finally discovered the manual update page on TT website, which lets you download the latest updates manually. Once I got the updates installed, I was able to complete my return. Finally, several times the software took me back over pages that I had already filled out. This is a drawback I've seen in previous's year's TT. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Deduction Finder I have using Turbo Tax Home and Business for the last 8 years. Being self-employed it is a great help in learning what the acceptable deductions and credits are. I like the interview step by step process presented and it offers the flexibility to go through all of the categories automatically or you can choose your own. When first learning to use the software, I chose the longer method but now I feel very confident so I choose what areas of deductions and credits apply to me. I recommend this product very highly. April 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stupid Program My spouse receives a 1099-misc for a RECOMMENDING dog vitamins to others, which she also uses. She sells NOTHING! This stupid program made me go through a complete business section vehicles, miles, inventory, employees. Then was lousy at prompting me to correct errors. 8 trips through the reviews and 3 trips through the you need to fix this before it can be filed (it insisted I put a mileage on no vehicle used, would not accept zero). H&R Block sounds better and better next year. 7 years in turbo tax is enough!!! April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Takes Me Through Everything This year's version was missing some of last year's features and therefore had to be updated. However one aspect is confusing. I had some first year, initial investment Tangible and Intangible Drilling expenses in a limited partnership that I was told by tax folks needed to be reported on Schedule C. By doing this I'm allowed to take the expenses as a complete "loss". TurboTax didn't let me do this and according to your Blog I had to report this on Schedule E, which didn't allow me to get full credit for my loss. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Improving I have used Turbo Tax for many years (at least 15) for our whole family, including my wife's small business and our rental property, and wouldn't consider using anything else, even though there are cheaper products out there. Turbo Tax transfers my carryover data, such as personal data, assets, and depreciation, gives me guidance without being preachy, and catches my mistakes. Simply put, it does what I need it to do, correctly and for a reasonable price. I don't know what I would do without it. Thanks, Turbo Tax! April 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for any age! As a 22 year old person, I dreaded taxes and didn't really trust the pop-up tax organizers in my area, considering I knew several people employed with them and they surely did not understand taxes anymore than myself. As a student, I knew I needed to get the most for my money and this program walked me through everything quickly and thoroughly. I feel confident knowing I got the most refund I qualified for, and also feel proud to be a 22 year old who can file her own taxes without having to pay someone! Cool Deal! January 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great program, but not perfect The program is easy to use, I have used TurboTax for many years, so I am experience in the procedures and what is being asked. I found a mistake in IRS Form 8880 (Credit for qualified retirement savings contributions). Line 1 if for IRA contributions, Line 2 is for elective deferrals from a employer plan (I am self employed). The program incorrectly inserted the $ amount from Line 1 onto line 2 and showed the source for that amount as coming from my spouse's W-2 form. I was able to fix this error before I e-filed. March 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Printing way too hard Turbo tax used to let you print directly from the printing center, now I am forced to save to a PDF file and it doesn't print correctly It is very frustrating to have to add this new step to the printing process. And, why does Trubo Tax charge 24.99 to efile to the State of California. I talked to the Franchise Board and they said I could efile on their website for free, but that means doing the return from scratch, which I tried, but way to labor intensive as my federal return I did on Turbo Tax doesn't transfer. April 6, 2015
  • 2015-07-30T12:48:24.233-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-257, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12837, tr_12837
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 255 256 257 258 259 ... 296 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.