1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 257 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by Long Time User - Same problems Persist for Years I continue to have problems with 1099-MISC for oil and gas working interest and royalties. I enter all the data for all 1099-MISC only to learn later that Working Interest for a Business should be entered different than royalties. Turbo Tax does not collect the data then place it correctly in the return for for these two types of 1099-MISC. It changed this year from previous years but is still cumbersome and difficult to use. Also the 1099-MISC data does not carry forward to a state return and must be entered again. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keeps getting better I have been a TurboTax user for over 20 years and I am so very pleased at how they continued to improve this product to meet the technology and tax form changes over time. A software program that is very intuitive and detailed that allows the user to flow through the return process start to finish. This year is no exception. Congress keeps making the tax codes more difficult and TurboTax keeps finding ways to make it more understandable for veterans and novices alike. The bang for the buck is huge. Thank you Intuit! April 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Implications I've filed my joint tax returns for the last ten years and found that in general the TurboTax experiences have been very positive and helpful. And I do notice changes and improvements on the software side; on the tax filing side, maybe, just maybe, more adviceables are needed, e.g. in the Home&Business suite, some adviceable implications: if this, the result can be this, etc. I do appreciate the convenience of the software in the comfort of home. Thanks a bunch to all those who work hard for this wonderful product. April 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Had to buy TurboTax twice this year Had to buy Turbo Tax twice this year. I bought the basic via my subscription and again (the Home and Business) at full price. Had to have the Home & Business this year to file Schedule C. Have always been able to file Sch. C with basic Turbo Tax in past years. I didn't find any place through my account sign in to obtain the reduced price for Home & Office that was advertised for Basic users that had to upgrade this year. I've always liked Turbo Tax, but when I had to buy two versions for the same tax year, not happy. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was asked to send copies of 1099-R with my state return, but there was no sheet printed with an X before each l099-R listed. Ypu have a great product!! But was simply blown away not to find the Schedule C with the Deluxe Turbo-Tax. However, I am sending a request for the $25. refund on the Personal & Small Business that I had to buy at a much higher rate. I have been using Turbo-Tax for many years with good results. I really like the program. Please include the Schedule C with the Deluxe for future years. thank you March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Home Business I have used Turbo Tax for about 3 or 4 years now. I used to do my own taxes back in the pre-Internet days and this is a definite improvement. There was also a time when I hired a tax accountant. TT & the accountant pretty much cost the same amount,but I like the exercise of doing it myself and reviewing my annual expenditures and income. It helps me keep track of my money and investments and think about where it all goes. Plus you really feel like you’ve accomplished something when you get it done. Thanks, Turbo Tax. March 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2014 Not as goos as before I've used Turbo Tax for years. I would say 2014 has the most amount of change and not necessarily for the better. It is still less expensive than a professional by far, but it is far more confusing than past years. Some of it may be because they forced me to buy a different version for my home business than I have had to in the past. One example is that you used to choose at the end if you want a refund or apply to next year...now you do it elsewhere. I also didn't find the screens as helpful as in past years either. March 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by REVERSE the changes!! They changed the formats and we had to buy a MORE expensive program all because I sell Avon and needed Schedule C!! The worse part is I LOST money this year with my business due to my health so it really hurt my pocket. I will NOT use Turbo Tax anymore if they don't change it back and I've been with them for over 10 years!! Why change when nothing was broke..........to make MORE money for YOU?? It sure didn't help your customers and the upgrade program had questions I did NOT need so it was more confusing this year!! April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad its finished I'm always close to the last minute doing this. I always find that Turbo Tax is the easiest way to complete this task. I don't start any earlier but I still get it complete before the deadline. Toughest part is gathering my tax information which has nothing to do with the software. I find it more convenient to just key the info in myself than paying someone else a lot more to type the tax info in their software. I've been using TurboTax for years. Intuit seems to always add improvement to each year's release. Thanks! April 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Want Forms Back in Deluxe Worked as usual, hopefully without any issues. I'm still upset over the hassle of having bought Deluxe, only to find out that the forms that I'd used for a part-time business were no longer included in that version. So I had to return Deluxe, get Home&Business, go through hassle of requesting a $25 rebate from Intuit. I've been using TurboTax (and previously MacInTax) and it's always gotten the job done. But they need to look out for their customers' needs better. H&R Block is looking a lot better for my 2015 return. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to Use! This software is very easy to use -- that should not however convince everyone to purchase the software and do their own taxes .... do you do your own plumbing? electrical? The one complaint I have is that you are not permitted to have more than one software type on your computer. My kids and I use two different software's but I have to delete the Deluxe to put the Premium on the machine. Overall - excellent if you know what you are doing. If your return is the slightest bit complex - you should hire a professional. February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fast and straightforward Overall my experience was nearly flawless, with some small nits: The 529 Plan Carryover really should be plucked from the previous year's TurboTax. Instead, I have to refer back to my tax notes from the previous year. Towards the end of my State return (Oregon), I received some JavaScript error popups with the typical human unreadable and highly technical error codes. Thankfully, I knew enough to press the Okay button to simply continue onward. A close paper inspection of my State return indicated everything was good. March 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by GOOD FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY, year after year. If you have some knowledge of tax preparation, you will love Turbo Tax. It is better yet in later years because it has your tax information from the previous year or years. No need to enter social security numbers and dates of birth for kids etc. each year. The bulk of errors are computation errors and if you get the right numbers into Turbo Tax the computations are right. I had a couple complex questions on some returns and between their question answers on line to their phone support, both of which I used this year April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good PRogram Over all I like this program very much. I did not like the implication that this program will no longer do my taxes because I get $79 in royalties from a book. If I use TurboTax next year the upgrade will cost more than the taxes on the Royalties. There is no table to look up the Business Code. I had to flounder around on line to find it. I e-file my federal tax and mail my CT state tax. This required starting the printing process over a few times. Also, there was no "Print my final return" only a "Print preview copy" April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Have used it forever; generally smooth interface; great advantage is to save things year to year which don't change much. SUGGESTION: would be great to have a utility INCLUDED (don't want to use quicken) to just keep track of things for the next year taxes -- e.g., consulting income and expenses as they come; charitable deductions, etc. It would be great if the utility could then import last year's tax return, and ask you about incorporating things from the 'utility' that includes the things from the current tax year April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by What were you thinking? The best attribute of the TurboTax product is consistency from year to year. Changes requiring a huge learning curve have been kept to a minimum. That fact alone is very important to individuals and preparers. The sweeping changes to the packages for 2014 returns were unprecedented - the credibility that TurboTax had earned through many years was suddenly in serious jeopardy. In the same context, the prompt response by TurboTax in correcting the problem was equal to the task. TurboTax is still the best in the industry. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Okay I needed schedule D and C, which would have been TWO upgrades under TurboTax's original pricing policy. I'd have gone somewhere else. TurboTax decided I had a K-1 and couldn't pass the review because the title was blank. No form to delete... until someone on the web suggested filing out the K-1 with bogus stuff until I got to the EIN, then filling in all 9's, then there actually was a schedule that I could delete. Worked. Otherwise, pretty good stuff, will use again next year IFF they have a reasonable pricing policy March 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Bad! At one point I needed to search for a specific tax deduction and used the "Find" box. I made the needed adjustment but then could not navigate back to another area. The "Find" box was restricting my navigation. I finally realized (after 10-15 min) that I need to clear the "Find" box in order to continue on. You folks finally got the NJ medical deduction aligned with the fact that some medical expenses are paid with federal pre-tax money, but not state. So the federal medical expense can be very different than NJ state. March 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy as always, frustrating upgrade for business I've done my personal and hobby/small business taxes with turbo tax for a number of years and I've always felt confident and happy with the results. I feel my returns are accurate and well done. This year (2014 taxes) is no exception - however, the crazy upgrade at the last minute when I'm entering the two, small business expenses that I had this year required a $40 program upgrade? Thats a little silly. However, I'm still hoping to get $25 back on the upgrade (just filed, will request the $25) as TurboTax has offered. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love that Refund! As always, I find Turbotax to be a great tool when filing my taxes. I did however, find it more difficult to utilize the Utah State preparation when I decided not to filie electronically and wished to print them off and mail in. It's not worth paying the nearly $20 for filing fees when you're getting a very small return. In prior years, it was quite simple. This year, it took longer to find a way to get it printed in order to do a mailing. Hey, maybe I'm not the smartest cookie, but haven't had such issues in the past. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comprehensive program I fully believe taxes should not be so complicated that we have to hire someone to file on our behalf. We do have a less than straight forward tax situation, and I feel TT presents all the necessary options enabling one to self-file. I do wish there were an ability to add a note of explanation, for example, I have an investment fund I still hold in conjunction with ex-spouse--I would like to notate that he is required to claim half of the dividends/gains on his return. This used to be possible, but this year it isn't. March 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 tax What I would really like would be a scenario section wherein one could input various potential tax situations (amounts of various items like more or less dividends, medical expenses having or not having a health saving account and various levels of funding, donating variable amounts to charity, selling stock or not selling it. I would like to during the year test my tax situation with such a turbotax option to see whether to my advantage to extract money from IRAs or sell stock or put more into health accounts or not. March 26, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Silly Changes to what was a good program I read all the reviews about needing to do the upgrade from Deluxe to Premium to get some of the forms that used to be built in. Unfortunately, the upgrade to Premium was not enough, I had to go to Home and Business. From a business standpoint I can see why companies might want to differentiate between the types of returns that they was to sell, but pulling the forms was a low blow. I hope TurboTax figures out how to manage their business next year so I do not have to buy the upgrades that I will only use the forms on. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good program I like to file my returns a little at a time - concurrent with the receipt of necessary forms from the various providers (1099-DIV, 1099-R, etc.). Using the VIEW FORMS method allows me to do that. After that, I use the STEP BY STEP method to be sure I didn't miss anything. Being able to download directly from my brokers, and other financial institutions also is a big help and time saver. Overall, I rate this program very favorably. I have been using this program for many years; each time it gets a little easier to use. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy I have been using Turbo Tax for over 10 years. It helps to reduce the stress to prepare my tax return each year. It is particularly useful to handle tax returns on my business, investments, rentals and the premium tax credits of the new Affordable Care Act. One particular feature that I like is the flexibility to review the tax forms and worksheets while preparing the tax return, and the ability to make amendments directly in the worksheets instead of going through the Step-by-Step process. I highly recommend TurboTax. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost Painless My second year using the "Business" Edition. They will call it something else in a year or so... My ex uses HR Block's package and I decided that this one is better. I like the interview format and the ability to jump around once I get more info on expenses from the previous year. I file Fed for free and mail the CA forms. I don't like how hard it is to go and isolate the "print version of the form" to accomplish this. It out to be "Efile Now, Print Now, Do something later" for each agency submission. Maybe next year. April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Getting better. TurboTax is great at making a tough chore easy. It asks you questions and helps you fill out answers. It imports data from Quicken, although you can generally only get info for Schedule C and Schedule E. It also allows you to download info from banking web sites, but once again, you can generally only get info from specific Investment web sites which is good for your 1099 and Schedule D. The rest you enter manually. Wish it could handle scanned documents, even if it can only attach them and save them with your return. February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My return is done I am most concerned that next year your program will require me to upgrade my software to mountain lion. I have an older computer and can not upgrade beyond lion. If the tax program requires me to use mountain lion or higher, I will be unable to use the Turbo Tax software that I have used since 2004 unless I purchase a new computer. Is there a way to stop the needed upgrades because I am not sure I can afford to buy a new computer next year and would love to continue to use a program I have grown to understand and like. March 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by "Peace" of Mind and Model Service My debt to society is yet again completed without an upset stomach and with plenty of good news from TurboTax. I got a refund after inputting rather complex information, which would have been a nightmare had I been running solo. Thanks for taking the scare and the sting out of taxes. In my government office, we look to TurboTax as an example of the ideal electronic service - we aspire to the regulation of stakeholders in an as transparent and easy fashion as this state-of-the-art platform. You have not let us down yet. March 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TurboTax14 I have used the Turbo Tax program for decades. This year is the worst they have come out with,as I was forced to go with the business package instead of the deluxe that I have used for years. The packaging made it more difficult in the stores to tell which was which. The Deluxe that I am used to did not have the forms I needed so I had to pay double. If they keep this up, it'll be cheaper to go to an accountant,even though I understand much of the tax code. Many questions not answered as in the past. Very disappointing. April 3, 2015
  • 2015-07-01T11:04:52.633-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-257, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12760, tr_12760
  • loc_en_US, sid_900_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 255 256 257 258 259 ... 295 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.