1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than A Hired Gun When I started my business I hired an accountant to do my taxes. I caught several of his errors, fortunately before the IRS did! Since I switched to TurboTax the only complaint from the IRS turned out to be THEIR mistake--in my favor--which I pointed out. Several months later, they admitted their error and asked politely for their money back.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been using for years! Great software! Will use again next year. What better endorsement is there really? Happy with the product and the process of filing my taxes, which included US federal and three states. Thank you!
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trouble with Pin Number (AGI) I used my AGI as my Pin Number, but it was rejected by the IRS several times. I then wanted to use last year's Pin Number but was unable to find it. TurboTax does not keep previous Pin Numbers, a practice I do not agree with.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost perfect worth $$
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2016 T/T Home and Business Basically TT is a money saver since accountants/lawyers don't come cheap. It would be very useful if there was a section of TT tailored specifically to American citizens living as retirees in foreign countries who have or want to have a small business.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product - Year after Year Used Turbo Tax for over 20 years. Easy to use, and it gets it done for me year after year.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from state flowthrough withholding doesn't port to Fed spent a lot of time trying to get Michigan business followthrough withholding on MI Sched W to port to the federal return.... IT DOESN'T DO THAT, so there is no way to get deduction for state tax estimates from that. Using the "other withholding" on the Tax Payment worksheet forces that entry to the "1099 Withholding" section on the Michigan Sched W.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally done. It's Deductible didn't work so good. Would not enter values in the form.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Confusion after filing extension. Not happy with this program this year. Nothing has changed as to my equipment but Turbo Tax couldn't "find" my "saved" 2016 return, completed in time to file an extension by 4-16-17. I had to totally re-enter everything and create another file. When it printed my state return, it did not pick up the federal form 4868, which must be filed along with my state return. Have never had problems like this before with TT and surely hope they get back to GOOD quality control in the future, else I will be shopping for new tax software.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps me organized Turbo tax is amazing thorough and user friendly
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use & Excellent Support It was very easy to use. Wherever I needed support, I got the answers to my satisfaction. Highly recommend turbo tax to any friend. Was not very happy with the contact up option, where I have to schedule a call and wait for 4 hours. One of the support agents helped me with other option where I just want for 2 to 5 mins to talk to support agent. I like this option but I am not sure how many know about this.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the devil's in the details I have two issues with TurboTax Home & Business 2014, 2015 and 2016. Maybe these will be addressed in TurboTax 2017, which I hope is not just a recompilation of existing code, warts and all. 1) In Business Income and Expenses/Gross Profit: I keep meticulous business records in Excel and SQL. But the Cost of Goods Sold and Gross Profit calculated by TurboTax do not agree with my records, and there is no explanation or obvious way to arrive at the same numbers calculated by TurboTax. 2) Everywhere is TurboTax: Double-clicking on the "Amount" to the right of any "Description" in drop-down menus brings up a list of supporting details. This list is just plain Mickey Mouse. The font size is variable (depending on how many characters), advanced editing such as drag 'n drop for lines isn't possible, and it's not possible to populate by importing another list.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relieved Great program, I've been using it for years. Can you work on the double filing scenario whereas, I'm a resident of VA my wife is military and her home of record is WVA. I was advised to file a ghost return (married filing separate to capture my state return (she's exempt being military and from WVA), then come back and file a joint return to capture our federal return. Please advise on a one shot, one kill method. Thanks
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible It is impossible to get to a live person. The return keeps getting rejected after paying for it to be efiled. I cant get a person to fix the problem or get a refund of the money i paid.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Software is OK Paid apprx. $100 for the program Filed my return and my son's return along with state. Cost an additional $112
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waterfront Man Knowing that you are working with this program and it is easy to follow and complete your returns.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from State (Illinois) step-by-step does not have easy Q and A means to apply all or part of the State refund to next year's estimated tax. The Federal step-by-step does this well. Why can't you do the same for the State return?
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to follow with guided help all the way. The process is easy and just be patient. Make sure that all your documents are ready.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fees Charged As it says above. I paid for the free Fed and One Free State program. Downloaded it. Filed. Program charged me State fees and processing fees. Please refund my fees
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from All good until time to submit! TurboTax Home and Business 2016 stopped responding. Thank goodness I was able to finish my taxes, but I had to print them and send them rather than efiling. Very odd.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Need to work on the CD Version I have used the CD version for years. It used to be very helpful. Now it seems the attention has shifted to the online version. Even the online version is difficult to follow. I prefer straight-forward instructions that walk you through the process in a systematic way. The 2016 version was not very user friendly.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Overall good experience with TT
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1st Time filing Joint Turbo Tax and Quicken made it super easy to file taxes. Definitely using Turbo Tax and Quicken again!
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Get the desktop version Just had to get the desktop version to replace the online version I purchased previously. Online version is not easy to work especially if you need to visit a specific item or go back to change something. Desktop version allowed me to make changes that online did not - online has a glitch
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from lots of holes in questions Best thing is automatic download of brokerage 1099-B forms! Worst thing is support for rental and single proprietor / freelancer expenses. Many questions asking for info with assumption you know what they are talking about. Online help forum is so congested as to be useless...you will be lucky to search and find the help you need.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Done I've been using TurboTax since it's inception - wouldn't change for anything
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thanks
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could not e-file because certain corrections were not made. Request full refund of the all e-file fees paid, as I have had to file by mail. The program kept showing a K-1 on a rental residence, it insisted I enter tax numbers on my Hawaii return for all my non-Hawaii properties, and while I had no income it requested a Hawaii tax account number. Also where K-1s included multiple income on line 1 it requested multiple K-1s, putting me to the task of dividing all entries, to include taxes prepaid. This TurboTax workaround is evidentially new - get rid of it my account says.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lot of work, but good Have to spend time determining that some entries are not applicable, but that is mostly a function of our complex tax code. I did have to delete and re-enter some 1099's to get assigned to the right business. I found it difficult to ensure that all 1099's were entered correctly and since I had to re-enter some, ensuring I did not wind up with a duplicate.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been using Turbotax for over 20 years. My tax return has gotten more complicated over time with K-1s, Schedule Cs, 1099s, etc. Tax form preparation and filing is never fun but Turbotax has made the process much simpler for me. I can file my Federal and State returns with a high degree of confidence using Turbotax Home & Business
Date published: 2017-10-11
  • y_2017, m_11, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1534, tr_4115
  • loc_, sid_900_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 68ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign In

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: File your 2016 TurboTax Self-Employed return between 4/19/17 and 10/16/17 to receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed until 10/31/18. Activation by 12/31/17 required. Sign in to QuickBooks Self-Employed via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax; e-mail address used for activation and sign-in. Offer valid only for new QuickBooks Self-Employed customers. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison.
    • When you use TurboTax Self-Employed to file your 2017 taxes, you will have the option to renew your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription. If you do not purchase TurboTax Self-Employed by 10/15/18, you will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/18 for another year at the then-current annual subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2016. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Expert Help, Tax Advice and SmartLook: Included with Deluxe, Premier and Self-Employed (via phone or on-screen); not included with Federal Free Edition (but available for purchase with the Plus bundle). SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. TurboTax experts provide general advice, customer service and product help; tax advice provided only by credentialed CPAs, enrolled agents and tax attorneys. Feature availability varies by device. State tax advice is free. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, My Docs and My Analysis & Advice features: Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available until you file your 2017 tax return or through 10/31/2018, whichever comes first. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2015 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected in March. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.