1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nickel and Dime for a subpar product I have three significant problems with Turbotax. 1) The cost structure is absurd. I don't understand what I am paying for. I paid to download the product. I had to pay for a second state. Then when I filed, I had to pay yet another fee. 2) The state guidance is horrible. I have to continually consult with the state instruction manual. I thought I was paying Turbotax for these fees to actually provide guidance in the software. 3) Turbotax didn't even allow me to e-file my NYS returns because it said my situation was too complicated for Turbotax to support e-filing. Too complex? That makes not sense.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It Took a While Once I got everything downloaded, completing and filing was a breeze. I got the federal form finished, but since I couldn't download the state form (tried half a dozen times and kept getting "fatal error" messages. Couldn't file the fed form solo because of required updates that also wouldn't download (more fatal errors). I finally rebooted and tried again, and after a really slow process, updates and state forms downloaded, and it was smooth sailing.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Highly recommend Good overall program. Mac version does NOT have an icon for the Menu. I was ready to efile my tax return but it kept giving me an error message to "update" my turbotax program by "using the menu button", but there was no such button on the screen. After much struggle, I accidentally learned that upon rebooting the computer and relaunching turbotax, it brought up a message on the main screen to update the program (but still without the "Menu" button ! Thankfully, the update worked and was able to efile.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly straight forward. As a small business, we felt that the CPA's in our area did not have time to give us helpful guidance on our taxes. By doing TurboTax, we were able to find the helpful suggestions we were looking for; this will help us in the future. We were able to get our taxes done in one day; we did not have to wait for the CPA to get it done (typically, 4 months).
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall, TTax leaves me with a secure feeling that everything is covered. The retrieval from previous year is a real plus. Somewhat put off by pricing; ended up spending a lot more than anticipated.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy peasy As usual, Turbo Tax does all the work. I've used it for years and love the way it walks me through income and deductions. E -Filing is a breeze.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is Simple and Great Have been using Turbo Tax for many years and it has served me well!
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2017 in the bag!
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No option to enter extension payment of tax Turbo Tax needs option for user to enter additional tax paid for extension in the guide. I had to open the form to do that. The request for extension and payment was done outside of turbo tax but turbo tax should take into account and ask for it to be entered in step-by-step guides.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Difficult to file State Taxes Program appears to deliberately obscure a guided path to print and mail your State return to induce you to pay the additional cost for state filing. Instead of leading your through the process logically, it require you to take additional steps. In followup reviews, it repeats this and makes it more difficult to access the completed returns.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2017 Tax Return If you are not completely familiar with the tax requirements and terms it was sometimes difficult to determine what to enter especially if it came to businesses.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Love TurboTax! I use it every year and will continue to do so. Thanks!
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very user friendly It was easy to download info from my Quick Books Pro Program. Easy to edit all categories. I have used Turbo Tax for many years and will continue to do so.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets all the details and keeps it simple.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very simple, well explained Very simple to use. Will take some time, but its taxes- it's supposed to take time!
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Most great but a couple glitches Processes my complicated stock broker records ++ Errors were generated from zeros inserted in half a dozen boxes. I think they were generated when I moved between worksheets and forms. Seemed an uneccesary programming error. The Support CPA helped find these.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. Been using since the 1980's I've been using Turbo Tax since it's inception. I've loved it and have never had a problem following its instructions. Very thorough program.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets It Done I have used TurboTax for years. It is an efficient and accurate way to do my taxes.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice way to file your Income Tax Returns I've used TurboTax for many years and don't know how I'll ever do without it. Thanks for a less-stressful way of doing my tax return. The fact you keep a history of the previous information from prior years is a God-send. I can't imagine trying to keep up with that data like you do.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible year with Turbotax I've used TurboTax for the last 15+ years and always felt confident in calculations and accuracy. This year seems like it has all gone to crap. I'm guessing development to overseas. Previous 179 vehicle deductions were missing, 6 different "tech support" contacts were unable to correct problem. 2 tech support individuals recommended solutions that would have resulted in serious tax implications to fix entry due to bug. Finally downloaded and converted to the desktop version from online, but when I downloaded and imported the file I started online, my amounts due decreased by 25%. TERRIBLY BUGGY SOFTWARE. All I can do is hope for the best. Will be my last year with Turbotax
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Expensive Too expensive, intuit only allows one use now.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always understandable and quick It seems that the user interface is improved a bit every year. Keep up the excellent effort to continue improvements.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from State return e-filing is buggy and required 2 hours of attempting to locate and fix errors that were not fully explained. Credit card charge went through first with no problem, but e-filing would not proceed.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from State Returns As a former professional tax preparer I wish TurboTax would show how information is presented on forms prior to getting to the very end of the return. I also have a HUGE issue with having to pay to e-file my state tax return with the price I pay for the Home and Business version of TurboTax.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2017 disaster in 2018 NO HELP WHEN I NEEDED IT. RECORDING SAID TO GO TO WEBSITE WHICH I HAD ALREADY DONE AND GAVE UP. FORTUNATELY, AFTER DOUBLE PAYING FOR 2017, MY RETURN WAS RELEASED FROM CAPTIVITY AND I WAS ABLE TO FILE.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eased my extended filing Overall a good experience and kept me on track with multiple entries.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it works get it use it love it boom
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from a bit vague At the end of the process the review process checks for errors. When you show me Ive made errors, you give a box they correlates to the line and number on a paper return from the irs. i.e. "line 16a and b need to equal same amount." Thats incredibly confusing when you haven't once referenced the IRS form or those numbers throughout the entire TurboTax step by step process. Nor do you even give a button option that takes you back to that section of the software walk through. Please address next yr. Thanks!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Downloads I have used Dashlane Password manager for years. The user ID I use, and the PW have unchanged -- When I try to login, Intuit doesn't recognize my PW. I changed it per the directions. Logged out, and then logged in to get the latest version of Turbotax -- Guess what - Intuit wanted me to create a new PW - That sucks!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My first time with a 982 form and switching from online to downloaded version cost me deductions.
Date published: 2018-10-11
  • y_2018, m_11, d_13, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_96, tr_226
  • loc_, sid_900_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 396ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.