TurboTax is up-to-date for your 2017 taxes, start now!

Learn more about Tax Reform here tax reform information.

  1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has Never Failed Me I have been using Turbotax for over ten years for personal and family member taxes. Works like a charm. Never had a problem with the IRS.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rocked My Refund I really like that all you have to do is input your W-2 from last year and the system does the rest especially if you have used it from year to year.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Job! Better than last year, keep up the good work!
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied Great product.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from On my own time I've been using TurboTax since it first came out. It has helped me report taxes through some fairly complicated life events.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm a big fan I like having the know how at my fingertips to do my own taxes. I've been using Turbotax for many years. First problem last year was difference in my return and IRS result - ended up paying when I thought I was getting a refund. No fun, that. Anyway here I go again and this time having trouble efiling state return. Hopefully that will be resolved soon. Mostly thank you, Turbo Tax
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phew! easy, to use love that it covered all areas in a format I could access. Bummer it charges to efile with the State even if I had no tax or refund due.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Continued TurboTax Customer Overall I love Turbo Tax and have used in for over 10 years; however, the more difficult my taxes become the less I like having to go through the questions over and over when I come back to my taxes. I know I can use the worksheets, but then I am afraid I will miss something. This year I entered data early on to file an extension, then when I went back in I had to go back through some of the same questions over again and some of the data I know that I entered and saved was not there, so it was a bit annoying. But, it beats paying an accountant to do my taxes. Also, when you use a vehicle for your business, it seems like Turbo Tax would automatically pre-fill the mileage from the previous year, which it doesn't. Might want to add that to the program.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value! I have used TurboTax since 2006. I am greatly pleased by the ease of use with guidance. I have found deductions I had for years that I did not know were deductions! Now that I am a business owner I am grateful for the continuity between Quickbooks Self-Employed and It's Deductible. Makes things a lot easier being able to import information you keep track of all year. I buy the CD and updates are easy as well. Great job! Thanks TurboTax for making tax time less of a headache!
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interface lacked for 2016 Seemed like the interface designers were lazy this year (2016 product). For example, double-clicks of certain boxes used to take you to a supporting worksheet, but this year many did not, even though there was a supporting worksheet. Also, fly-outs or pop-ups -- like the Schedule C auto expense -- did not close when you left it, and the fields that appeared in its place were blank.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from (almost) perfect Did everything really really well but misses one item: it only handles a single North Dakota K-1. I had to merge my pair of K-1 to create a mythical merged K-1 so Turbo Tax could calculate correctly.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Going Back to make a change can be challenging. I have been using TTax for well over 10 years so obviously I'm happy with the result. My pet peeve is that when I have to go back to change something, which has occurred every year, It often takes hours ow wading through support screens until I finally find a way to get to what I'm looking for. This is especially trus when dealing with depreation of business properties like computers, care,or things like mileage calculations. There needs to be a better way to index these things so the average guy can go back w/o a problem.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Outright money grab I have to file in two states because I live in CT and work in NY. Turbotax charges me $45 for a second state, and then charges me again $25 just to file the second state. That is $70 just because my job is a handful of miles across a state border. The state level guidance is very poor. There is too much manual work. This may push me to use a full tax professional in the future if I"m already out several hundred dollars just to do a filing.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well for our two small businesses
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I freaked out after working on my taxes which include a three unit, contracting business and real estate business when I realized that I'd screwed up the percentages on the three unit and it would take all day to correct these problems.....Not so, it took about 15 minutes flat to edit these changes. Couldn't believe I wasn't a slave to my PC all day for the mistake.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2016 TurboTax Home & Bus: A technical nightmare Because TurboTax 2016 Home and Business wouldn't install Microsoft .NET Framework 4.5.2 correctly, I spent countless hours trying to resolve the issue. Wasted hours waiting for customer service on hold. Then, they didn't have a clue when I finally talked to a live person. I had to buy a new computer and was delayed in filing taxes. This was a NIGHTMARE. What should have been a very dependable reliable program was not when I needed it most. Looking for alternatives.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ehh...not great, but not bad... Entering employee stock option transactions is about the least efficient process ever. Makes renewing a driver's license looks like a streamlined effort. And, for God's sake, it is three days before the 2016 extended filing deadline and TurboTax 2016 for Mac cannot file a return with the latest MacOS. Error has been acknowledged by TurboTax for 4 days. No solution available. Terrible. F. Unfortunately, there isn't a readily available solution that's any better. But boy, TurboTax leaves a lot to be desired.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An education The amount of money refunds you can get by doing taxes with Turbo makes the long, step by step process almost fun. I have used TurboTax for more than 10 years and have had no problems with IRS or state taxes. It's the best.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Would not print out state return Cost me 24.99 to efile state for a $38 refund????
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Somewhat clunky You need more steps like "uncommon deductions" and fewer like the punctilious charitable deductions things.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2016 Business Turbo Tax As long as you just answer the question there should be no reason you cannot prepare an accurate return.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from biz and hm still the best program ever
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from KISS - The perfect Simple Return Love the fact that this year it was much easier than last - seems last year it didn't allow for uploading previous year information - so was not easy to check back between returns! LOVE the ease when we are able to look back and compare.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Standard I've been using Turbo Tax for over 20 years. It's the Standard!
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mac version keeps locking up on close Generally worked well as expected. I THOUGHT the efile for state was included, but it now is not I guess. EVERY TIME I CLOSED THE PROGRAM it would lock up. Fortunately, I saved each time prior to closing. Once it didn't load the data file and I panicked - I was able to do it manually. Not cool for the software to lock up.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much improved, handles complexity well handling 1099-int, div vastly improved. now did 'everything' for me with LLCs, K-1s, investment income, and child credits, etc. only particular issues were with Form 8615 worksheets: 1/ worksheet for 8615 had issue with loss carryover from parents. annoying but was immaterial to final forms. 2/ language describing where to find info on various lines in 8615 worksheet could be improved. 3/ circular process between parents and children's returns... but got there in the end, with fair confidence it is all correct.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than A Hired Gun When I started my business I hired an accountant to do my taxes. I caught several of his errors, fortunately before the IRS did! Since I switched to TurboTax the only complaint from the IRS turned out to be THEIR mistake--in my favor--which I pointed out. Several months later, they admitted their error and asked politely for their money back.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been using for years! Great software! Will use again next year. What better endorsement is there really? Happy with the product and the process of filing my taxes, which included US federal and three states. Thank you!
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trouble with Pin Number (AGI) I used my AGI as my Pin Number, but it was rejected by the IRS several times. I then wanted to use last year's Pin Number but was unable to find it. TurboTax does not keep previous Pin Numbers, a practice I do not agree with.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost perfect worth $$
Date published: 2017-10-14
  • y_2018, m_1, d_19, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1542, tr_4141
  • loc_, sid_900_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 85ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed return by 4/17/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.