1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Calif Form 540 Adjustments Issues California 540 Sch CA breaks Calif/Federal Income and Expenses into two columns which are supposed to be carried forward to Calif Form 540 Page 2 Lines 14 & 16. TurboTax combines the amounts and reports on either Line 14 or 16 depending on whether Sch CA amount is a positive or negative number. The Franchise Tax Board has sent notices with adjustments to the filed return, causing additional work to change the return to conform to their forms. My suggestion is to correct the carryforward from Sch CA to Form 540 Page 2 Lines 14 & 16 to exactly the number and sign (positive or negative). Current treatment requires me to white out the printed amounts on Form 540 Page 2 and manually change the amounts on Lines 14 & 16 to mirror the amounts on Sch CA
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from In past additions of TurboTax, prior-year information transferred over without a problem. I could never get 2016 transferred over to 2017. The Help section was not very helpful. I had to do it manually. I see this was a frequent complaint. I hope this gets resolved for next year. Otherwise I continue to enjoy using TurboTax
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Complete I've used accountants, big firms, and turbo tax now for several years and this is by far the easiest way to do taxes. I feel confident that I'm completing it correctly, get feedback and questions answered when I have them, and can do it on my own time outside of business hours.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still clunky but does the job Turbotax is a good program, and I have been using it for many years, to file personal taxes, business income and rental property income. It does the job, but it does it slowly and meticulously, with going back to certain topics a very slow process.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BIG PROBLEMS WITH RENTALS AND MORE QUESTIONS ABOUT PUTTING IN EXPENSES FOR MORTGAGE TOOK ME HOURS AND I HAVE USED TT FOR YEARS. I REALIZED THIS YEAR IT WAS MAKING A MISTAKE SO I TRIED PUTTING INFO IN BEFORE THE HOME AND AFTER THE HOME. IT TOOK ME HOURS TO FIGURE THIS OUT ON THE RENTAL -- HOURS : • I THINK I FIGURED IT OUT – ON THE GUIDED TOUR IT IS COUNTING DEPRECIATION TWICE!!! APPARENTLY IT IS NOT DOING THAT ON THE FORM ITSELF- I LOOKED. UNBELIEVABLE. I GUESS IT DID NOT DO THAT FOR 2016. UNBELIEVABLE. ALSO: 1099-R***MAJOR PROBLEM – THERE IS NO BETWEEN BOXES 7 AND 8 WHICH IS WHAT THE QUESTIONS SAYS. SEEMS SOMETHING IS WRONG….
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficult switching filing status This year we switched from filing married, but separately to married, jointly. TurboTax doesn't allow you to open more than one return at a time. I first completed a return from each of us. When I started to do the joint return, I had to close/open different returns constantly, and I worry that there's a greater chance of making an error. There should be some way to correct this program restriction.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awsesome tool I love using TurboTax. The simplicity of it for folks who aren't accountants makes it easier to understand and less nerve-wracking to use. We are, after all, responsible for our answers and inputs! Gotta understand what's going on and TurboTax makes that easy!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable & accurate but needs improvement Overall thorough and easy-to-use. Needs to provide better guidance for reporting clergy housing allowance and housing expenses. Needs to simplify data entry for charitable donations and provide option to alphabetize them.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Convoluted Seems like this one gets more convoluted every year and instructions less accessible. I have used this fir many years for myself and my friends and family. Will look elsewhere next year.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TT Home & Business 2017
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repeat user - for years!! I have been using TurboTax for more than 10 years now and it totally continues to work for me. It is a trustworthy, user-friendly product that just continues to improve, but stays enough the same to make it continue to be easy and familiar. It is good, fast and efficient. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from unfortunately a lot of improvement is still needed Unable to upload big files from brokers. A lot of columns on schedule B r missing like payment in lieu and return of dividend.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My state download kept failing Also, MSA. SA forms of medicare HSA plan was least trying to simplify.. I could not resolve the errorcheck it failed in this form at all. Bad rating as it failed to help in stressed tests and complex situation.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very thorough I like TurboTax. I've been using it for over 20 years. I am awed that it keeps up with the myriad of tax law changes. 2018 will be a real challenge. But going through TT to do my own taxes teaches me a lot about the tax laws that I wouldn't learn if I gave all my info to a CPA and then paid them $1,000. In some ways, the cost of doing taxes is another tax! and now we cannot deduct the costs of the software or a CPA's fees.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent and Efficient Process Good and easy to follow process. However: A better link between the "step by steps" process and the actual forms would be nice
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another successful filing! TurboTax is great for novice and experienced filers alike. I am able to do my return much more quickly than the way I used to, as a self-employed person, with paper forms. The home and business software changed everything and provided a much faster and more authoritative approach. The integration with It's Deductible online is also a great time saver. I put my deductions in the latter, which can be done at any time during the year, then upload into my return. It's a fantastic tool. I also like that when I have a technical question, I get a simple to understand explanation from Intuit (with pop-up menus or help screens) plus access to IRS forms and publications. The worksheets included with TurboTax are also very handy, if you want to keep details underpinning parts of your return. They are very fast and easy to use, and automatically attached to your records - brilliant!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help questions excellent program
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never fails
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax 2017 The thing that bothered me the most was that I had a rental property that I took out of service mid year to sell when my tenants left/ But it didb't sell in 2017 - it sold in 2018. It had NO option for what happened to that asset that had been previously depreciated other than a sale price. What if I had moved back in? Not an option. Let a family member move in? Not an option. Sat on the market? Not an option. It REALLY made it difficult. In addition it missed the fact that last year's K-1 was a final and insisted on putting it in both fed and state return. I know these aren't average situations, but that's why I use the Home and Business version. It should handle those situations better.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great software - easy to do Amazing software that makes a ridiculously complicated and convoluted form 1040 (and state) easy to do by most folks who are determined and want to save $$ by doing it themselves. Don't be intimated by the idea of what you're doing - just do it and follow the step by step instructions - or, if you already have knowledge of completing tax returns, ignore the step by step stuff (slow and boring) and go straight to the forms you want to use - the software will let you know if there's an additional form you need to fill out or some step you might have missed. You'll be so happy and proud of yourself when you do the last step - error check - and you get the message "no errors found". The biggest quirks are printing the forms you want (vs. all the worksheets TT prepares on your behalf) - just go to print and select "print active form". And maybe you'll even learn a few useful things you didn't already know. Good luck and go do it!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax Home & Business I love Turbo Tax. I have been using it for over 30 years. My wife is an independent contractor and the home and business version allows us to file all of our taxes at the same time. Very easy to use, I use the walk me through everything so I don't forget anything. It even recommends something if I missed it. It will also help with investments and stock transactions. Better, yet, it is deductible as an expense for software to file your taxes. I would recommend it to everyone, business owner or individual, there is a level of software for you. Unlike other software programs from the "big" firms, Turbo Tax has been doing this for years and is on top of any changes, both Federal and State. If my computer crashes, I can recover the software from the home site.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Straight forward and easy Year after year, I've done my taxes with TurboTax. Can't think of a better way to file.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too much crossover If a deduction/information was entered in personal or business the software should not allow the same entry in the other without clarification and verification from taxpayeer.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Time User Who'd Never Go Elsewhere I've been using TurboTax for the last 14 years. As my family and financial diversity has grown, TurboTax has stayed with me, handling all the convoluted tax situations that life and the government throw your way. Keep detailed records, keep receipts, keep credit card statements, and TurboTax will keep you in line.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quicker Than Ever I returned to Turbotax after using a tax accountant for 9 years and was really pleased with how swift the current online version is. The help section combining answers from TT, pros and users is a big improvement. A grand thanks (literally: he saved me $1k) to live expert Shawn, who helped me sort out where to enter multi state income taxes from a k-1.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from How to improve Ways to improve: 1. Have the ability to compare last year's entries to this year's to ensure nothing is forgotten - much like you do for Charitable deductions but also do for business deduction of every kind. 2. When I finished the return it the program said ~ "No tax owed and no refund, how unusual, we do not see this often." Well all I had done was apply my refund to the next year. The statement made me go back to look into forms and everything else I could do to ensure it was going to e-file correctly. It should show the refund with a different statement showing what is being done with it.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax is great I have been using TT almost since its inception. Sometimes after a reveiw, the previous answers are deleted. However, the final check appears to catch all. From year to year, the fluctations are large. It would be great if the product showed how the tax changes make a difference. Understably, the tax code changes too rapidly. Overall: EXCELLENT
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good with minor issues All went well except that the State ID number was required by the program and the number did not appeart anywhere on my W-2. The help was useful in that it gave alternate possible measures.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a complex return simple Our return is fairly complex for individuals, with several businesses, rental properties etc. Turbo Tax walks you through and compares to last year. Then seamless move to e-file, and voila, return is done.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome with One Exception.... When entering a K1 w/ entries in multiple boxes, Turbo Tax requires you to create multiple K1s for the same partnership. I am not sure why, but given this is the case, you need to provide more guidance on what is included on each. For instance, do you enter boxes 4-20 on only one of the K1s? How about the information contained in boxes A-M? Do you input that on each K1? I know several people that use TT and have the same questions and frustrations. Otherwise.......Just Awesome.
Date published: 2018-10-14
  • y_2018, m_11, d_16, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_98, tr_227
  • loc_, sid_900_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 243ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.