TurboTax is up-to-date for your 2017 taxes, start now!

Learn more about Tax Reform here tax reform information.

  1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Always Reliable I have tried other software but always come back to TurboTax. Easy to use, no software problems, and I like being able to switch back and forth between forms and step-by-step depending on how much help I need.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tax Assistant TT saves me alot of time and easy to use and make adjustments if needed.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from why and what do i do with 8453 I have no idea why form 8453 was generated (indicating that Form 8949 should be mailed) nor do I have any idea what to do with it. It appears that my e-filed return includes all sales/dispositions of capital assets that I entered. Form 8949 is listed in the completed forms with data entered - I presume that it was included in the e-filed returns.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Windows XP not supported / Mac Version is Beta You charge more for Mac than Windows, but Mac does less, and less well. >Try to drill down. Doesn't >Try to select form field: Very difficult, if possible at all. >Try to change form field: Good luck. >No sync between form & easystep >You do not show forms for error correction (no context). >No import of business data >No import of previous Windows Turbotax tax returns.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love TurboTax! I have used TurboTax for years and absolutely love it and trust it. I love how it double and triple checks to make sure you have all the deductions you're allowed to take and that it even gives you the level of risk for an audit. And then if you're at a higher risk that you can purchase the Audit Defense if you'd like to be represented in case of an audit. Wonderful program!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Joyless Though it is appreciated there are information and explanation links a transition between forms that does not require multiple steps would be most helpful... Active form links within section steps that "toggle" back and forth would be nice.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Program Great program. Ease of use is all there. Don't have problem with program operation. Would like to see a search capability for tax areas. An example "finding input for auto mileage". Other than that "ALL GOOD"
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Performer! I've used TurboTax for many years. It keeps getting better and better while trying to keep up with our every changing and very complicated tax laws. Always a great feeling to get down to submission time and know that all basis have been covered and no errors exist.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Brokerage input boxes too small Turbo tax home & business got better up to about 2010-11 Then it became more cumbersome, more restricted and limited.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a RELIEF!! Love it overall as Ive used it for years. My only problem is procrastinating to collect the info needed to enter in the blanks. I had a problem with losing everything as I must have forgotten to push SAVE ! The names of the years confuse me too! Otherwise it is a true GEM!!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2016 As a TuboTax subscriber for many years, each year the process becomes less burdensome, with help at hand every step of the way.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did well Overall quite good.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whew! Finally Finished Turbo Tax is the only software I've used for 11 years. I've found it to be accurate (be honest) and easy to work with. When everything works together (downloads from bank statements and received into Quicken) it makes the task a hundred times easier.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disc not Online I started out using the online version of TT but, after much, much trial and tribulation and entering mucho data, discovered that one of the forms I was required to file was not available in the online version???? What? So switched to the disc version, had to reenter all my data and from then on, everything went smoothly.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid and Super We were able to run through the maze almost effortlessly. Questions were detailed, well thought out, and very helpful. The style was friendly and assisted in reducing the stress of the complicated filing.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from review Turbo Tax 2017 Good product. I couldn't do my taxes without TurboTax
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used TurboTax every year since 1985. Have been using your product since 1985. First Macintax, then TurboTax. I have always prepared my own taxes with your help. I have had rental properties, ran small businesses, sold property and had investments. I have used Schedules A,B,C,D,E, Depreciation, and some obscure forms along the way. TurboTax made everything easy and I learned a lot about taxes.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rock solid system I've used Turbo Tax for years. I'm not willing to try a different path as this one works very well. I wish it was less expensive but good things are seldom free,
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great if you have a simple return TurboTax is a great product for a simple return. While it points you to additional forms if your return is more complicated, it really doesn't walk you through where to find what information on which form, nor does it tell you on which section of your prior year's return to find the answer. This is frustrating – and becomes time-consuming. It would be great if instructions were something like "add Line XX from Schedule YY from your 20XX return." Also, improving the explanations by not using the word that needs to be defined would be a termendous help! As would examples in the explanations. Examples help provide context and would help users "back into" answering the question more confidently, which would save a lot of research time! However, overall, it's a great product, and I recommend the Audit Defense at the time of filing – well worth its small investment!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reviewing TurboTax 2016 - Home & Business such as when can I maximize KEOGH with a 401(K) option vs Traditional 401 (K)? How is KEOGH with a 401(K) option different from Traditional 401 (K)? No help at all on Form 2210. In general does not help do a complex 1040. If I use a Tax Advisor he does not use TurboTax at all - why do tax advisors shun TurboTax - there must be a reason Intuit does not cater to this class of persons. Pl explain why.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Easy!! The tech on the phone was very helpful and friendly. It only took me about 2.5 hours to complete my return.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth Sailing Turbo Tax has been so helpful. I particularly like to be able to go through and quickly get an estimate of where I stand, fill in the specific details later. I have used it for years.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Flexibility I appreciate the ability to quickly move from the step by step walkthrough of all the questions to the actual Tax Forms and back to watch the blanks get populated as you go. I also like how the software "held my place" in the many weeks gap between starting and completing the process of entering the required information. The help section is excellent as are the explanations of the various forms and how they relate (or not) to my particular situation.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy and great outstanding program. have been using it for years.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2014 Income Tax Program TurboTax takes all the guess work out of filling out the forms for business and deductions. Instead of reading every item on the form and then trying to figure out how to answer, TuboTax simplified it by asking easy to answer questions and providing understandable explanation. A very painless way to file out tax forms.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tool Excellent tool. Have used for several years.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BS platform my review is that TT does not have a professional team to build a solid, glitch free platform. Nothing works correctly. Every year I have to call in to get support because the transmit function is not working or...
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Product Makes doing taxes easier and less painful.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2017-10-15
  • y_2018, m_1, d_20, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1542, tr_4141
  • loc_, sid_900_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 388ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed return by 4/17/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.