1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.6 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It helped a lot
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good software Good software for the current year but I have had trouble accessing my previous years returns once the newest year has been installed. Needed to check past entries but was not able to do so unless I saved a pdf version.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from TurboTax For straight forward activity, TurboTax is an excellent product. However, over the years, I've seen the cost go up without much improvement in the performance of the state software. It now costs $70 per state (download and filing) for a barely functioning product. As I have to file in multiple states, the free state doesn't help much to mitigate the cost of additional states. Their support line is weak. I needed help with my account, not with the software and was unable to obtain it. It wasn't the tech's fault, the information is not readily available! Also, my call dropped twice and I didn't receive a return call nor a follow up email.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Kinda sucked First freeze was at completion of Walk me through All Business section, hit continue button and locked up Windows 7, had to start all over again. That's when I remembered you have to save frequently. Then, everytime I chose Property Taxes, it crashed Turbotax. Then, it mysteriously entered K1s and had to delete those manually. Seriously considering a different product after 30 years of Turbotax.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from like it good program, saves a bit on tax prep fees, but if you have a complicated situation use a professional
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 1040/CA experience I've used TurboTax for years. It generally goes well, especially Federal. Some things in the K-1s I get from my accountant don't match up the entries in TurboTax (especially state sections) and then I don't know what to do.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo-Amazed!! I finally purchased TurboTax and yup, as the saying goes, "I'm so glad I did!!" It's like they were born knowing this stuff, stuff I did not! Use the Guide Me Through It! It's so easy, helpful, no-guesswork, and stress-free! Thanks, TurboTax!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tax prep software This software easily leads you through the tax filing process.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horrible Software I absolutely hate this software but started using it years ago because of lots of stock transactions that unfortunately they had issues with. I really need to change as it is expensive and hard to figure out where you are.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Form 1116 was very confusing and difficult to fill out. More help is needed there.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from kept me out of trouble! Doing your own tax return makes you realize, I can have a more organized QB accounting system.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Maybe missed some things but GREAT! Overall this was a solid product. Left with a bad, bad taste in my mouth for charging $25 for each state return (we have multiple). I won't be loyal to TT for that reason and I kinda badmouth them bc of it BUT overall it was a good product. I hope they keep improving it. It did a great job on even our complicated tax filing situation and made those things easy! I had to write explanations for 2 things, and it APPEARS the program didn't know it (even though the instructions clearly stated it when I read the forms). These were really unusual situations ALSO maybe the program WOULD Have caught it during the review? (I caught it on the form before the review) . I was accidentally transferred to a CPA even though I didn't pay for that service when I called for a tech. product and that guy gave me straight up WRONG advice, yikes, so I wouldn't pay for that "expert service" BUT, and this is invaluable, I posted my quest. to the community forum and between 2 people I got the right answer which was brilliantly cool!!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Crashed and Burned This is the second consecutive year that TurboTax crashed and I lost my work... hours and hours of work! It was supposed to save along the way, but it didn't. I was able to save a PDF of my tax return, but then I wasn't able to use the PDF to create a new tax return file in TurboTax like it was supposed to. I just got an obscure error message. There is no one you can turn to at TurboTax because they don't take calls or messages. So, basically, all my work was lost and I had to start completely over and make sure the file was saving correctly every 5 minutes. Along the way, I had tax questions like most people do and the information in the software isn't very helpful and the community board makes it more confusing.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It works, but always some frustrations and limitat I've used Turbo Tax more than 10 years of the last 20. It works (mostly), but I keep running into issues not handled well. For example, in trying to submit my taxes, Intuit would not accept payment and gave a 'we can't process your payment at this time' message that is useless for trying to figure out the problem. Also, Turbo Tax does not cover Forfeited Flex Spending correctly, resulting in serious problems submitting a return.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Customer Service I tried to efile and their system wouldn't let me submit my payment info and continue. I tried to call customer service and was stuck in automation H3ll for about 15 minutes. Then I was on hold for another 5 minutes before my call was disconnected.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Making the Complex Simple I am an artist on the one hand. Artists are not known for being particularly organized. On the other hand I am also an engineer. OCD and engineers fit like a glove. I have used turbotax in all its various iterations for over 20 years. I have a fairly complex return. My art sales are handled thru an S corporation, which requires a different form of turbotax to complete than the version, which I am reviewing here. My wife is sole proprietor of a law practice which requires schedule C. TurboTax Home & Business to complete it correctly. If you have the records and can plug and chug the information into the right boxes it is a no brainer. It would have been helpful if prior to doing the review checks there was a way to input estimated taxes that have been prepaid. To do it I had to go into the forms and do an override. It worked out fine but I was never sure if it took until the end and I didn't want to screw up what had been done so far. I was also unsure about exactly how to get back into the review queue. It made for a marathon computer session but I completed the tax race in fine form and got everything submitted before the deadline.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Calif Form 540 Adjustments Issues California 540 Sch CA breaks Calif/Federal Income and Expenses into two columns which are supposed to be carried forward to Calif Form 540 Page 2 Lines 14 & 16. TurboTax combines the amounts and reports on either Line 14 or 16 depending on whether Sch CA amount is a positive or negative number. The Franchise Tax Board has sent notices with adjustments to the filed return, causing additional work to change the return to conform to their forms. My suggestion is to correct the carryforward from Sch CA to Form 540 Page 2 Lines 14 & 16 to exactly the number and sign (positive or negative). Current treatment requires me to white out the printed amounts on Form 540 Page 2 and manually change the amounts on Lines 14 & 16 to mirror the amounts on Sch CA
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from In past additions of TurboTax, prior-year information transferred over without a problem. I could never get 2016 transferred over to 2017. The Help section was not very helpful. I had to do it manually. I see this was a frequent complaint. I hope this gets resolved for next year. Otherwise I continue to enjoy using TurboTax
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Complete I've used accountants, big firms, and turbo tax now for several years and this is by far the easiest way to do taxes. I feel confident that I'm completing it correctly, get feedback and questions answered when I have them, and can do it on my own time outside of business hours.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still clunky but does the job Turbotax is a good program, and I have been using it for many years, to file personal taxes, business income and rental property income. It does the job, but it does it slowly and meticulously, with going back to certain topics a very slow process.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BIG PROBLEMS WITH RENTALS AND MORE QUESTIONS ABOUT PUTTING IN EXPENSES FOR MORTGAGE TOOK ME HOURS AND I HAVE USED TT FOR YEARS. I REALIZED THIS YEAR IT WAS MAKING A MISTAKE SO I TRIED PUTTING INFO IN BEFORE THE HOME AND AFTER THE HOME. IT TOOK ME HOURS TO FIGURE THIS OUT ON THE RENTAL -- HOURS : • I THINK I FIGURED IT OUT – ON THE GUIDED TOUR IT IS COUNTING DEPRECIATION TWICE!!! APPARENTLY IT IS NOT DOING THAT ON THE FORM ITSELF- I LOOKED. UNBELIEVABLE. I GUESS IT DID NOT DO THAT FOR 2016. UNBELIEVABLE. ALSO: 1099-R***MAJOR PROBLEM – THERE IS NO BETWEEN BOXES 7 AND 8 WHICH IS WHAT THE QUESTIONS SAYS. SEEMS SOMETHING IS WRONG….
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Difficult switching filing status This year we switched from filing married, but separately to married, jointly. TurboTax doesn't allow you to open more than one return at a time. I first completed a return from each of us. When I started to do the joint return, I had to close/open different returns constantly, and I worry that there's a greater chance of making an error. There should be some way to correct this program restriction.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awsesome tool I love using TurboTax. The simplicity of it for folks who aren't accountants makes it easier to understand and less nerve-wracking to use. We are, after all, responsible for our answers and inputs! Gotta understand what's going on and TurboTax makes that easy!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable & accurate but needs improvement Overall thorough and easy-to-use. Needs to provide better guidance for reporting clergy housing allowance and housing expenses. Needs to simplify data entry for charitable donations and provide option to alphabetize them.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Convoluted Seems like this one gets more convoluted every year and instructions less accessible. I have used this fir many years for myself and my friends and family. Will look elsewhere next year.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TT Home & Business 2017
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repeat user - for years!! I have been using TurboTax for more than 10 years now and it totally continues to work for me. It is a trustworthy, user-friendly product that just continues to improve, but stays enough the same to make it continue to be easy and familiar. It is good, fast and efficient. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from unfortunately a lot of improvement is still needed Unable to upload big files from brokers. A lot of columns on schedule B r missing like payment in lieu and return of dividend.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My state download kept failing Also, MSA. SA forms of medicare HSA plan was least trying to simplify.. I could not resolve the errorcheck it failed in this form at all. Bad rating as it failed to help in stressed tests and complex situation.
Date published: 2018-10-15
  • y_2018, m_10, d_20, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_88, tr_214
  • loc_, sid_900_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 29ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.