1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.1 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent TT gets the easy stuff right; but when the tax law gets complicated, it is sometimes hard to follow. An example of a forward reference and less than perfectly clear explanation: during Self-Employed Income and Expenses > Home Office Expenses, TT asked about real estate taxes and "excess" real estate taxes. I didn't know what "excess" meant; it means that part of the tax that is not deductible from personal income. But I wouldn't know how much until later, in the Personal part. I guessed & entered my full amount (let's call it $10,000) in both fields (guessing that our NY State income tax would be above the new limit on deductions for state & local taxes, which turned out to be correct). When I got to Personal > Deductions, TT said I had previously reported double that or $20,000 in real estate taxes. Navigation: In several sections where you are a few levels "deep" into a section (I believe Self-Employed > Expenses > Home Office is one example), when you save, quit, restart, and select "pick up where I left off", TT doesn't return you to the exact page where you were. In one case I had to make ~5-6 clicks to get back to the same spot. In the New York State portion of the program, I had navigation issues similar to the above; plus I didn't see an "top-level" menu screen you could step back to in order to step through selected parts of the Step By Step. I believe just before e-Filing, I wanted to go Back to earlier sections of the NY State return. As I recall, clicking Back took me all the way back to the page saying "Let's start on your State return"; but when I clicked the NY return, it took me back to where I left off. I didn't see how to start the State Step-By-Step over. Fortunately, I found in the menus a Tax Topics menu, which gave me much finer control over where to jump to.
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from State income tax forms easy
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from User of Turbotax & it predecessors 30+ Years The Advantage Plan with phone support for tax software issues & tax understanding is excellent, & I highly recommend it. TurboTax takes a daunting problem and solves it quite quite well. Would do taxes without TurboTax
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent
Date published: 2019-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty easy to use, fast, safe.
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Confident I can count on this program every year!
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to use
Date published: 2019-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Figured it out myself For qualified 2018 gains reinvested in a QO fund (new tax law), it took many calls to Turbo Tax specialists to find that the 2018 Home & Biz version doesn't support the IRS instructions for this case. Had to do a lot of experimenting to finally get TurboTax to calculate the state & IRS refunds I expected. Hope Intuit smooths that path for 2019 and beyond.
Date published: 2019-08-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't combine not able to combine w/online account disappointed!
Date published: 2019-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Compatibility with Windows I have used Turbo Tax for well over ten years and now it looks like I have to upgrade to Windows 10 software if I want to continue. Very unfortunate.
Date published: 2019-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always helpful Have been using TurboTax for years. It is my go to and never disappoints
Date published: 2019-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from like TurboTax I buy the disc for TurboTax then I can remove the program from my computer each year and reload if needed. I save my files to my own drives, I don't trust my personal info in the cloud. Have no reason not to trust Intuit and TurboTax, it's just preference.
Date published: 2019-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from K-1 Partnerships I entered information from my K-1, Part III, line 16, Code I, which is foreign interest expense that is allocated to the partner. Turbo Tax kept saying I had an error because I did not have any income allocated to the partner. I entered what was on my K-1; there was nothing else to enter. Bottom line, I'm selling my partnerships, because they are too difficult to report on my tax return.
Date published: 2019-08-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax frustrations |"Help" information is out of date, based on conversation with an enrolled agent working for Turbo Tax. Paying for electronic submission of state return was very difficult. Tried to do it through my Intuit account, but password was not recognized. Two attempts to change my password did not work. Wanted to go back and purchase as a "Guest" but there was no way to go back. Had to force quit the program and then re-open it. Then had to repeat several steps to get back to purchase. Turbo Tax is harder to use than it should be. After all these years, the program should work much more smoothly. Definitely no post tax filing smile.
Date published: 2019-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seem to be errors in TurboTax I found the following potential errors in TurboTax 2018: 1) MA payment with extension entered in step-by-step was omitted from return. (It seemed to be linked to extension actually filed through TurboTax, whereas most people file MA extension payment online) 2) On Sched D tax worksheet, your calculations from line 19 onward has differences from the IRS worksheet; resulting in incorrect tax on unrecaptured SEC 1250 gain. 3) TurboTax ignores the new Interest Expense Limitation (Form 8990), which was passed to me on a K-1 this year. 4) Handling tax exempt IRA distrib at state level requires awkward workaround.
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Missed Opportunities I use it because I'm used to the way TTAX works. It's far behind what it could be, it's missing the odd form here and there, does not link all the forms together, forcing me to manually enter things. And then, this year, not calculating the penalty, leaving me to try it myself (and likely fail). Generating all the forms as PDF for easy archiving is good, but having to download paper forms from IRS is bad, especially in the week before Apr 15th. TTAX user since inception.
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver Love the turbotax. I never thought I was capable of doing my own taxes. This is good. Now I am more aware of the whole picture for the fact I am self employed and I can keep better track of the more important things and not save stuff I don't need. Anywho, I feel smarter today. hehe
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2018 review Love ability to import my data directly from brokers and other sources - that's a great time saver. But the Foreign tax credit calculations are still very confusing and I find the guidance poor. All sorts of crazy elections that are not explained in the interview (i.e. did I make this election in 2017? I can't remember but TT should know because I used it last year!)
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy professional service! for 99.99999 of people, easier and cheaper than an accountant service!
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needed the assistance of a very helpful lady from Mississippi. The pgm help screen could not give me what I needed.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Windows 7 Compatibility Noticed that T-Tax will not support Windows 7 next year, because of Microsoft's actions. Many of us have computers that work very well running on Windows 7 and are nowhere near end-of-life. T-tax needs to reconsider this action else I find other tax software.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better with Federal than State I am self employed and live in a state with state and local income tax and local business taxes also. Turbo tax worked more smoothly for me on the federal return; its one consistently annoying feature is reviewing or changing previous entries--often one must start a category all over to change one number. The flag and forms options help somewhat with that. The program instructed me to deduct medicare premiums as a business expense, which I did, but much later asked me to enter the information on the SSA 1099--I assumed, wrongly, that the program would know not to double count. On State/Local, the program offered no option to refund or apply the MCTMT overpayment, also balked at printing a UBT form that cannot be filed electronically.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Turbotax expensive I expect I will search for lower-cost method for filing taxes. TurboTax is expensive and expects user to pony up fee for all kinds of things.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NJ tax return erreneous entries YOUR Software duplicated my business income entry and would not allow me to correct. It transmitted wrong return. before I was allowed to correct. cost me $12000 extra tax that I have to do a manual amended return. I have used Turbo tax for the past 10 years.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Critique This year the Q&A was confusing because of the Form 2106 not applicable. Yet, the Q&A asks these questions regarding Business Expenses only to discover at the end, none of the expenses are deductible. 1. I believe your Q&A should have notified you that Unreimbursed Employee Business Expenses are no longer deductible unless you meet one of the three requirements that classify you as a “Statutory Employee”, then list those. 2. Your live agents should be better equipped with the changes to provide an educated answer when asked this question- Can a person who receive a W2 form from an Employer where Federal Income and Social Security Taxes are withheld file Schedule C? I was told by several of your agents and question sent in, that I could not and referred me to several IRS Publications that did not quite provide a definitive answer. Further researched on my own provided the answer- “Statutory Employee” receiving a W2 can claim business expenses on Schedule C although bob 13 is not check. 3. TT should have provided this option if box 13 on the W2 is not check with the Declaration Form one needs to fill out to avoid any penalty should one get audit down the line. My situation might have been unique, but I noticed doing a google search, that it was not but everyone was getting the same answer. I work from home full-time as a contractor through a Contracting Agency (Company A) but by service is dedicated to one Company (Company B) who provided me with a Laptop and supplies that must be returned to Company B once my assignment is over. I earned 100% of my income working from my Office at Home and incurred the following unreimbursed expenses in 2018 that were reported on Form 2016 in 2017. Use of personal car to go to various locations to perform certain tasks for Company B Travel out of area for Company B assignments Must provide my own Cell Phone, Internet Access at home, separate phone line, etc., etc. Company A provided a W2 Form with box 13 uncheck although I fall under the Statutory Employee where IRS agree and so is a Tax Attorney I contacted. I believe TT should have provided that option to file Schedule C with the declaration form.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy for the most part easy, but if stopped somewhere it was very difficult to get back where you left off. Started over twice!
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2016 Dealing with tons of medical issues. specialist miga and John were very helpful getting me back on track.
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Complicated to maneuver I felt instructions were not clear and I made many mistakes as a result. I literally "started" completely over 5 times because I could not figure out how to correct the errors!
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got It Done!!! It took a while but the forms were very detailed and I ham glad for that since I had no knowledge of how to do a return. I will use Turbo Tax for here on out.
Date published: 2019-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall very good,I am not a tax preparer , it did simplify lots of information tha i may have missed.
Date published: 2019-07-24
  • y_2019, m_9, d_15, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_811, tr_2858
  • loc_, sid_900_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 194ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

* Important Offer Details and Disclosures

TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.

  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed/ for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.

  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.

  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.

  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.

  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $39.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.

  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.

  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. For the Assist & Review product, if your return requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. For the Full Service product, the tax expert will sign your return as preparer. Payment by federal refund is not available when a tax expert signs your return. On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.

  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.

  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.

  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.

  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.

  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.

  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.

  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.

TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.

  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99.

  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.

  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.

  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.

  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.

    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.

    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.

  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.

  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $39.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.

  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.

  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.

  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.