1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.1 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always Impressed - I am always impressed with the thoroughness and accuracy of TurboTax. It's consistently intuitive (no pun intended) and user friendly. It amazes me that it can handle the complexities of our gargantuan tax code! If you haven't tried it yet, do so. You won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from communication My return was rejected on April 14, I NEVER received an email with that information. I had submitted my email address when I signed up with turbo tax. Why was I not notified?? Terrible service. I checked my email every day, checked my junk email. NOTHING.
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Payment Delayed! I thought I had filed but since the check was not cleared, I found I had not. There should be a clear warning just prior to April 15 that filing was not completed. One other: Too much repetition of required entries when rechecking. And why not when editing go to last position?
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comprehensive yet simple to use. The program has a simple to use/understand interface. Yet, it is comprehensive with well-written help information. The structure is fluid in that one can easily skip to different sections both forward and backward. its a great system and highly recommended.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from State tax charged Purchased the TurboTax Home & Business - Charged me for the state return? This is always FREE when you purchase this version. Dont get it and dont like paying for the State filing!
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast & Furious I was really pleased with the tax program. It's so easy to use, I don't know why people go and pay lots of money for something they can do themselves.
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thorough but Easy!
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too expensive for easy returns I'm a college kid and my dad helped me do taxes ... first time ever from a summer job. Free federal filing is great ... there should be a free state filing option too when your income is really low. If Intuit wants repeat customers, they should consider not taking so big a fee for the simple tax scenarios.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful I love it. TurboTax makes doing taxes on your own easier. They give me the confidence that my taxes are done right.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax Evaluation The product is excellent. I have enjoyed using TurboTax for many years. Thank you.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wish your links worked when my computer downloads updates to turbo tax (forms, etc) it gives a link that is supposed to explain the changes that were made to the software. These never ever ever work. They always open a browser that wants me to log into intuit - i do and what happens next - NOTHING. It aggravates me to no end. How long has intuit been making turbo tax. Why can't you get this right?
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2019 Turbo Tax I have been using this software for more than 20 years and depend on it each year. I find it easy to use and provides accurate results. Only issue I find is that some errors lock you into a loop - it accepts your input but then flags as an error. This year an entry box on a 1099R was blank on the paper but turbotax entered a zero. I finally found a solution on-line that helped me, but the on-line help and chats did not provide the answer. It was a small issue.
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A horrible experience Unbeknownced to me e-filing did not complete and I am now two weeks late filing. Customer service on line does not recognize my account and therefore will not put me in touch with a human. It has been an awful experience
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Flunked E-Filing & Document Saves (1) OMG TTax bombed while doing my FED efile. I have no idea what the IRS received!!!!! And if they only received a partial then I'm just gonna go through long cycles of communications with them. REALLY TTAX? (2) File handling really bad this year. No "Save-As" option. THIS IS SO BASIC and it's missing. Everyone has iterations; but 2018 did NOT support this. Even the Rename option did NOT WORK. So often a back copy I wanted to keep got over-layed due to this. I had to manually copy a file and manually rename it.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's All In MY Power!!! I always have great luck using TurboTax every year!!! If I have questions, I can easily reach someone. I use the help buttons often, which gives clarification to the questions. It's easier for me to do my taxes than gathering my tax "stuff" and taking it to someone else, who'll just ask me a ton of questions and make me pay them. I enjoy doing my own taxes, I have a sense of relief when they are completed. Thank you TurboTax!!!
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relief Even with our ridiculous U.S. Federal tax code, Turbo Tax has helped me get through the unpleasant task each year for many, many years. Thanks so much for the assistance through the years!
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good I have used TurboTax for several years and like the carry forward functions which avoids a lot of extra typing. However, this year, i found myself finishing a category on a blank screen, and having to hunt for next steps. I also had several ghost forms filed that created issues in final completion audit because they lacked data, and lacked a way to quickly discover their existence and whereabouts. I will probably use it again, but with more of a grain of salt than previous years.
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax (not responding) I had significant issues with TurboTax Home and Business. I was not even able to get through the review of my tax return. The installed kept on hanging "not responding" then when i would try to review my file again it would hang "not responding". I have been using TurboTax since 2009 but i will switch next year.
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from eh design - remove some of the white space at the bottom so the bottom buttons are easy to select.
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-04-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointed I used 2017 turbo tax, not too scary 2018 is awful. very confusing, not enough layman explanations. I am thoroughly confused and bewildered. not feeling good about this.
Date published: 2019-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great system. I have been using Turbo tax for many years and will continue to use it and highly recommend it.
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little short I had to do in-depth research, off-line, to find out I could not take a simple deduction, on this year's State return, which I took on last year's return. At least one critical form, which would have shown the reason for the disallowed deduction, was not generated by the system, causing much backtracking (roughly two hours of wasted time).
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from taxes did not go through I have submitted my taxes 3 times. It still did not work.
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dissapointment Even though I have been on Turbo Tax subscription every year for decades no access I could find to talk to a support person to answer tax question. Some forms would not allow override nor did they link to the document TT wanted to provide the data into the box.
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Taxes Made Easy Turbo Tax advertised I could file with Ohio for free with their program. When I finished filing, I was charged for filing with my state. Which is it?
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from lots of room for improvement I. There was apparently an error in the program that required me to remove, by hand about 40 entries on a work sheet. This same error required me to correct it 3 times. This is ridiculous. 2. As far as I'm concerned, the state return was not programmed into the software. I had to enter many things by hand that I have never had to do before. 3. Impossible to reach anyone associated with TT.
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just Finished TurboTax Home & Business I've considered TurboTax to be 5 stars in previous years, but this year I felt that it was a bit rougher and had not been fully beta tested; there were broken links and unclear instructions.
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tax help! The only Tax program I come back and use year after year. Excellent software & Excellent customer service! One of the best!!!
Date published: 2019-04-21
  • y_2019, m_5, d_19, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_785, tr_2778
  • loc_, sid_900_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 162ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.