1. TurboTax /
  2. TurboTax Software Ratings & Reviews /
  3. Home & Business CD/Download

TurboTax Home & Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Home & Business is tax preparation software that handles self-employment taxes and personal income taxes in one product. Maximize your tax deductions with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.1 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Death and Turbo Tax Convergence What has happened to my old pal Turbotax? I have been filing for years, over 20, but recently the product seems to have been abandoned. I am left struggling with referrals to a clouds of unknown authors of suggestions that only occasionally fit my circumstance. E-fiing includes a last minute gotcha of an additional charge for state e-filing . I am disappointed this year.
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great even after the deadline I have been using TT for a few years now, and while this is the first time that I will not get a refund, knowing that every section is explored and explained is of great comfort. Thank you Turbotax
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thorough Software and User Friendly
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Where Have You Been All My Life I just filed my 53rd Tax Return. I wish I had TTax back in my day! I used to do my own taxes with pencil and paper. Then. after using an accountant for 30 years, I retired and my tax return became pretty mundane: Same kind of entries, just different numbers. So in 2013 I used TTax to check my accountant. Got another $120 refund: ok, pays for the CD, but the main thing is I was comfortable knowing everything going to IRS looked good, and I had all my questions answered and I received the biggest refund possible. I soon learned that TTax can handle more complicated situations. It's great to work on taxes, then do something else, then come back later and continue where I left off. One area for improvement is noted: When I ask for "more info" say about medical equipment, I'm sent to the Q&A "blog" but not to a specific related topic. What I get is everything there is to know about medical deductions but not specifically medical equipment. I find paging thru dozens of questions tedious. However, I use the Q&A search function and that reduces the amount of "wading" for info. Again, needs a direct link from the "more info" subject at hand to the specific answers. Keep up the good work, and a BIG Thank You!
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from improved my refund Need to allow duplicate nicknames Dissapointed that QBI cannot be filed electronically and that K1 income in box 1 , 2, 3 must be treated as separate K-1s please fix to allow entry of all data on 1 K-1 and allow QBI to be filed electronically
Date published: 2019-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Problems Took a lunch break and after returning to work on Turbotax it didn't go back to were I left off. Brought me back to personal info. Home office info did not carry over from last years return, had to reenter all the information again. And it did not ask me for information (such as Barter account expenses, supplies, web etc). I wasted hours trying to find and enter information. I've used Turbotax for years. This was one of the worst glitches I've had. Not sure that I'll use TT again next year.
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Filing Pros!! I really like TurboTax. I have used it for years and will continue. Brings in last years forms and allows easy update. I had an issue this year with my K-1's and their Team fixed the problem and made it easy to file. I will definitely use them next year !!
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from State E-file didn't work State E-file took my money but wouldn't e-file. The help line would not unlock and insisted on access to my computer. Need to contest the credit card charge.
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from harder than necessary I had finished everything and was exploring if i needed to file the foreign earned income exemption. As it turned out I didn't, but had already experimented with filling it out to see if the app would correctly handle the info, which it did not/i input it unnecessarily ...any way, deleting the form/removing the inputed info was very problematic. it took over an hour before the app would erase the document. the propmts from the app didn't work at all even after repeated attempts to do as prompted. It was really frustrating. In the end I succeeded, I hope. Really could have used better programing around this issue....
Date published: 2019-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes Filing Easier overall a good app for filing your taxes
Date published: 2019-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best way to do your taxes I've been using TurboTax since 1998. It seems to get better every year. I don't need a CPA.
Date published: 2019-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still very good, but .... One possible problem I could not solve. I received a one month salary in January from my previous employer for consulting in 2017. The remainder of working income, nearly 20 times more money, was from 1099-MISC. My SEP contributions were deemed "excess contributions" even though they were far below the maximum allowed. Otherwise very satisfied.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from State tax charged spend over a hundred every year and you charged me for filing my State tax. Ridiculous!
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like my own accountant! The software looked for ways to save me money, and it did! It examined all possible credits as well as deductions and compared itemizing or taking the standard deduction. It then made a suggestion to use the method that saved me the most money. The ability to review the return as many times as I want is a fabulous feature!
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent help for my errors After hours of getting the same circular error messages at the very end of my return, I called TurboTax and spoke with a real pro. Over an hour we worked through the section 179 errors I kept getting. His patience was wonderful. Eventually, he discovered that I had entered my carryover depreciation in two places. His name is Gus and he really helped me avoid pulling my hair out.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Basic but not totally explanatory Turbo Tax is practical but at time get a little confused over how calculations actually get organized as data is inputted. Does give much leeway toward configurations and how it applies to tax law.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use the Help the help and directions are awesome. you have to be willing to click and read and ya...sometimes hunt and re-read. but the program is dedicated to my success. It is a Serious Valuable Tool!
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thought I had already filed Thought the 2018 taxes had been e-filed early April. Son found payment owed hadn't been taken out of his account. Went on line and it said they hadn't. Not very pleased. Now I get charged $24.99 for e-filing state taxes. Wasn't charged earlier.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Macintosh Issues
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from less painful than expected Turbotax Home and Office made my tax filing experience less painful than expected. the instructions were clear. i have used the same software for several years and was hesitant to switch. but, I am glad I did.
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but different benefits for online version TurboTax is a good product overall. Easy to use and I can finish my taxes in a fraction of the time if I did it manually. I always buy the CD version. Mainly because I also do my son's taxes and my friends taxes. With the CD version you can submit up to 5 tax returns. I really would like to be able to have my return reviewed by a CPA/EPA but that's only available for the online version. I would pay extra for this option.
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from download freezes I think turbo tax should pay penalty for missing deadline.
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ADDRESS HAVE WRITTEN TO YOU SEVERAL TIMES ABOUT THE PROGRAM NOT PICKING UP THE COUNTRY AND ZIP CODE WHEN PUT IN THE PLACES YOU INDICATE. YOU HAVE TO PUT EVERYTHING ON THE CITY LINE TO GET IT TO PRINT ON THE 1040 FORM.
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very helpful Tax Preparation for Refund! I listed the general downsides in the Cons section, but I somehow feel confident that my Returns will be processed accurately. I would however recommend that the starting page list the available (e.g., YourFile02.tax2018) using the FULL FileName; as it is now I can only see a very short portion of the filenames and I take frequent snapshot saves that I would like to see LISTED in Full so that I might select the correct file to continue processing.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've used Turbo Tax, predominantly Home & Business, consistently for years - probably the last 15-20 years. I love it!! I tried another program one year and said never again. I'm happy with Turbo Tax and won't use anything else. Keep up the good work!!!
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Download version 2017 worked great, glad I used it. only complaint is the high price $119
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from MBJ Experience I have used Home and Business for many years. I had so many difficulties, I may not use it again. I believe they had not worked out all the kinks before releasing this newest version. I have the latest version of my iMac 10.14 .4. Turbo Tax is supposed to make your job easier, not harder.
Date published: 2019-05-15
  • y_2019, m_7, d_17, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_792, tr_2813
  • loc_, sid_900_2018, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 124ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File:TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. $0 federal (for simple tax returns) + $0 state + $0 to file offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live Self-Employed for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/20, you must pay for your 2018 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live Self-Employed return between 4/16/19 and 10/15/19 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/19. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/20 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See https://quickbooks.intuit.com/self-employed for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2018. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through December 31, 2019. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return (payment by the federal refund not available when tax expert signs your return). On-screen help is available on a desktop, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Unlimited access to TurboTax Live CPAs and EAs refers to an unlimited quantity of contacts available to each customer, but does not refer to hours of operation or service coverage. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access, Smart Insights and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to the prior seven years of tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2020. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • Easy Online Amend: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Make changes to your 2018 tax return online for up to 3 years after it has been filed and accepted by the IRS through 10/31/2021. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com January 29, 2018.
  • Get tips from Turbo based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA, EA, or Tax Attorney made while providing topic-specific tax advice, a section review, or acting as a signed preparer for your return, we'll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2018 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • TurboTax Free Guarantee: $0 Federal + $0 State + $0 To File offer is available for simple tax returns with TurboTax Free Edition. A simple tax return is Form 1040 only, with no attached schedules.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile:
      Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us:
      Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary. The IRS issues more than 9 out of 10 refunds in less than 21 days.
  • Pay for additional TurboTax services out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.