TurboTax Deluxe CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 312 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Deluxe tax software is the easy way to prepare your tax return and maximize tax deductions. File taxes online with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by This year's form seemed less user friendly. I have used this program for many years and I was not happy when the small business part was minimized. I know it will be better next year. I think you may want to add some type of explanation regarding when an individual can deduct "advisor fees". I was recently informed that if the advisor controls pre-tax money, that part of their fees are not deductible. I did not see anything about that in your explanation. I also did not like the way my return printed out. It seems different from previous years. Lots of empty space with numbers and no explanations. Again, it may be user error but I never had that problem before. March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast, accurate and easy to understand I have been using Turbo Tax for years now. It still remains the easy way to do my taxes. Walks me through the process or lets me jump to where I want to go. It is up to date with changes in tax laws. Catches me when I might be making a mistake. Helps me value donations of goods to charity. It does the calculations so I do not make any math errors. It files it for me and deposits my refund, hopefully, I get a refund. It remembers my info from the year before so I do not have to enter all of it over again. I'm happy with the results and cannot remember having problems. It also has escalating levels of help if you need it. February 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Another Long Process I have used Turbo-tax for the past 20 plus years, and find this will be the last one. I have lost faith in the product when I had to find all of the options in the deductions area as well as the credit area manually . Had I not gone through in detail myself I would have lost thousands in my return. This along with the legal problems they have had causes me to have concerns. I have also been a long time user of Quicken, and updated again this year to a problem of the system dropping a number of my records. Had I not done backups to thumb drives it would have cost me hours. Their support staff at Intuit was no help at all. February 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good program with step by step guidance I would highly recommend TurboTax to the layperson who wishes to do their taxes on their own. It easily pulls information from past returns, but allows you to make changes quickly and easily given recent life circumstances (i.e. moves, new employers, home purchase, etc.). This year was just as easy as ever until I got to the e-filing part where I encountered some issues with the browser. I usually use Google Chrome, but for some reason it didn't like it this year, so after a web search for advice and trial and error, I switched to using Internet Explorer and updated the security settings and everything went through fine. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's the best! I have used Turbo Tax for over 10 years! I really enjoy the freedom I get from knowing I have everything covered. The questions are easy, and yet this is a very thorough tax prep software. I have used every form but the EZ form, (which I imagine to be just as simple) and I am delighted with it every year. I just can't get over how well TT has covered the crazy health care section! We had a very convoluted scenario here, and TT made it work without me pulling out my hair. The price is right, the filing is easy and fast, there are several ways to use it. I think this is the best solution for tax prep for almost everyone. February 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost painless Our taxes are fairly straight forward, but TurboTax helps me collect all the necessary information that I might otherwise overlook. This is the first year we were able to write off medical expenses and TurboTax helped me immensely to figure that out. TurboTax also filed our state taxes differently from previous years (married filing jointly vs married filing separately on the same return) and it made a $500 difference. I doubt I would have figured that out on my own. The software allowed me to toggle back and forth between the options so I could understand where the differences were and feel comfortable with the choices. March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used it for years I've used Turbo Tax since 2009 for me and my hubby and its pretty easy to use and I used to file self employed but it made it easy and we own a house and it just walks you through everything. Last year I did my taxes with it but wasn't sure about them since we had some new stuff to file so before I filed I took all my stuff to a professional and found out that I did it all right with Turbo Tax and Turbo Tax did Just as Great a job as the accountant and cost me less then if I would have had to used the accountant. And the Accountant was impressed That I did such a great job :) but it really was that Turbo Tax made it so easy March 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easiest way to do it Used Turbo Tax for the past 3 years. Unfortunately once I pulled my tax file from last year, I realized there were some changes that had been made after before filing. Because of that the changes didn't show up and used incorrect numbers for previous year state refund and state tax deductions. Had to start over without pulling the tax form from previous year. But aside from that little issue the rest of the tax preparing went by like a breeze. Best to have all the paperwork with you before starting. Filing was easy. Had a rejection of state tax but because of text alerts was able to come back right away and fix the errors. February 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A big help but one change took bloom off the rose TurboTax is a lifesaver for those with more than an EZ return. It even caught my return of overpaid 2013 Unemployment Insurance paid back in 2014. My only gripe this year was the change in It's Deductible. Previously one has been able to enter your own description and evaluation for an item not in their unimproved database within an existing donation. This year you had to enter a new donation for every item you assign a value resulting in a lot of tedious data entry that resulted in the expansion of my charitable donations forms to 22 pages! A horrible experience. Fixing that back to its 2013 and before approach would make me very happy. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stress Free Tax Preparation Using Turbo Tax helps us to get our taxes done in a timely fashion. We don't worry that we might have missed something. The questions and Learn More Dialog boxes assure that we are making sure we do not forget anything that would qualify for a deduction or credit. My wife has used Turbo tax since 1997. For her 2000 taxes she used a tax preparation service to have her taxes prepared and ended up owing taxes. She didn't think she owed any taxes from her rough calculation, but was not able to dissect the completed tax forms to find the inconsistency as to why she owed taxes. She went back to using Turbo Tax the very next year. February 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty good... but, I received a 1099R for a Disability Pension with the income classified under a workers compensation act. Of course, it wasn't just that simple in TurboTax. I went through several non-relevant questions, when a simple question asking if it was under a workers compensation act would have sufficed. Even after all the questions, TurboTax said the taxability was 0, yet didn't change the calculation on my tax forms; I had to go back and manually enter the 0. This was my first large complaint with TurboTax in years, but a pretty big one. If I hadn't done my research on the taxability of this issue I may have overpaid by thousands. February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mixed We found your product very helpful and we got through a somewhat complicated year - residence in two different states, going on Social Security, and withdrawing of some annuity funds. We hope the end result is correct. It would have been very difficult to do on our own. Surprises? On top of what we paid for Turbo Tax you charged 39.99 for the extra state (understandable, I guess), and 19.99 to e-file in each state (a surprise since I didn't remember any warning that a there would be a fee to do the states e-file.) We would have used your product anyway. I just don't like surprises. I would recommend this product to others. February 25, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by State return needs to be fixed I have used Turbo Tax for many years and will probably continue to do so. Only gave a 2 star because program needs to give more taxpayer help on determining pension plan types. For example is the plan Qualified or Non-qualified and is it Defined Benefits or Defined Contributions. The answers to these questions not being considered in my state returns has cost me $1000's in overpaid taxes over the last 13 years. I will attempt to amend as many as allowed. The tax expert I ended up talking to did good research while I waited on phone and ended up agreeing the AL program needs updating. Otherwise I am satisfied with the product. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hate Taxes, Love TurboTax Having used TurboTax for 8 tax years, I find it more seamless and easy to use than my life changes through this time. From buying and selling two homes, to becoming an independent contractor and my wife changing jobs four times during this period, everything worked well, even doing the partial year state tax forms when we moved out of and into three states. Even though I consider myself very honest when I fill out my taxes, there was always the thought that I did something wrong when I did the taxes myself. TurboTax is like having a buddy that used to work in the IRS and can tell you the simple way to get it all done quickly. February 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by JD 2015 The software was more difficult to use than last year. The 'Deluxe and Homeowners' copy does not generate the state return without an additional fee that must be paid over the internet. This fee is a surprise and it was higher than the purchase price of the 'Deluxe and Homeowners' software. .There is no advance warning on the package of this little 'surprise' until the state return is requested. This is a big deterioration from last year. The cost of the state software is larger than the cost of the 'Deluxe and Homeowners' software. In addition, regardless of security claims, I do not purchase over the internet. (security issues) March 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by How simple does it get! I have used TurboTax for over seven years! The difference in my time vs. what TurboTax cost does not even compare. It use to take me weeks to accumulate all the information and a long weekend to enter data into the forms, calculate, recheck my calculations, then mail off my tax paperwork, etc.... Now, I enter the data and the calculations are done automatically. The Help section comes in handy when I have a questions regarding where an income should be entered or a deduction applied. The electronic filing is a breeze and my money arrives very quickly. I would not go back to the old way of doing things for all the tea in China! February 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good all-around An additional thing I didn't like is when I tried to enter our newborn as a potential dependent in one of the steps, it didn't recognize that she was born in the filing year (2015), even though I had to enter the birthdate. It should have recognized this, told me that I couldn't enter her, and deleted the dependent worksheet. When I got to the end, it was flagging this problem, but again it didn't taken any action other than continually saying something like 'birthdate can't be later than last year'. It was like it was stuck in a loop and couldn't take the action it should have to delete the dependent worksheet and move me past this point. March 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Painless Easy to install and easy to use. The instructions are unambiguous and easy to understand. The TurboTax guarantees and optional audit protection provide and extra measure of Peace of Mind. The only hiccup I experienced was when I attempted to update TurboTax on the initial install. The window indicated the updates would take only two minutes, but when I clicked update nothing happened for about 15 minutes at which time I opted to cancel, but nothing happened when I tried to cancel, so I restarted my laptop and quit for the day. There were no problems the following day. maybe because I installed TurboTax before doing any updates. March 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Consistent I have used Intuit TurboTax since I began using a computer to do my taxes many years ago. As my needs changed, I have been able to find the product that fit my needs. In these later years I have gone back to the Deluxe version as I no longer have a home based business. I like the fact that I can import my information from my Quicken program and previous years' taxes which saves time. I would however like to see the part of the program that fixes errors to be tweaked as the program required me to make several attempts to enter the information. Although that part was a hassle, once everything was done the rest was a breeze as usual. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy enough even for first time user I've been using Turbo Tax for three years. I do the tax for my whole family, my husband and I and my four grown kids. Turbo tax has been a life saver and excellent help. It take me through step by step no matter what problem I come up with. Every new year I learned something thing new with Turbo Tax and Turbo Tax gives us our maximum refund. I enjoyed working with Turbo Tax, I do not have a lot of stress. I am always able to solve my tax problem with turbo tax. Turbo Tax has a wonderful detail section to explain if I did not understand something. I love Turbo Tax and will continue to use it for as long as I am still filing my tax. February 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great product with a slower start (as of late) I use TurboTax since the early nineties and never looked back. I like it. However, the 2014 version came out with one or two particularly awkward pop-up boxes that could be easily dropped without hurting the product's overall great quality. Furthermore, the information currently being provided about the update files (be it related to the return forms or the TT program itself) does not add anything much useful to the user. Arguably, this is not something the user really needs to know in detail, so why bother at all with the little bits and pieces now being provided? Just my two cents for the betterment of an already great product... March 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filling out Wages I made the mistake of copying and printing from an electronic PDF of my W-2. One problem with doing this is that you have to be extra careful in how you highlight to ensure you get the amount only vs. amount and text. Well I missed the first number on my taxes, thus reducing my taxes 10,000 dollars, which resulted in me owing over 9,000 to the Fed. I think it would be useful for Turbo Tax to compare last years refund to the current refund and ask, or at least point out, questions when the difference in refund from one year to the next is grossly out-of-line. Of course, I did finally catch the mistake, but it could have been costly. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy! I have never done my own returns, never. When my tax preparer retired last year, my hubby and I were absolutely terrified about getting our taxes done by anyone else. He suggested TurboTax software so we purchased it and tried it out. I was amazed at how it walked me through everything so completely and had explanations of anything I didn't understand. The whole process was simple. This year, we did it again and I was pleasantly surprised that all of our information imported from the prior return so that I did less typing. We had more charitable deductions and it walked me though all of that as well. We are done with this year's filing and I am a happy girl. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TT lacks savvy - caused me to have to paper file Had to mail my 2014 return because TT lacks the savvy of other tax filing software like TaxACT. I received a Foreign pension income that was fully taxable by IRS so it could have been placed directly into Form 1040 line 16b (where IRS wants it placed - and the way TaxACT does it without completing form 1099-R or form 4852 because there is no Payer's ID number for foreign payers#, however TT makes you complete form 1099-R which cannot be e-filed without a Payer's ID number #which is not available for foreign payers, and Form 4852) which the IRS does not allow to be e-filed). If you override the 1040 form line 16b to enter the pension income and delete forms 1099-R and 4852 then TurboTax will not allow e-filing because of the override! March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Any 1 can do it. We have used Turbo Tax for years now. I hate numbers and detest tax time. I used to wade through the forms & struggle to complete everything with confidence. As taxes became more complicated we tried this & will not go back. Turbo Tax does the boring mundane stuff for us. I have friends who have similar taxes who take them to paid tax pros who triple the charge of Turbo Tax. Then they have to spend an evening with them to get it done. I just sit in my PJs eating cherios in my chair. Everything done at my leisure. Interruptions are allowed,and if one hates taxes as I do encouraged. I recommend this product to friends every tax season. March 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed What goes if you want to do a schedule C you have to pay $42 dollars but wait we will refund you (since turbo tax(TT) totally goofed up) $25, by my calculations that still cost me $17. So I said no way and continued. Time to check for errors and of course since no schedule C there were problems. When fixing the problems TT took me to form schedule C, hey that was cool. So I filled out the schedule C manually and the errors disappeared. I call a friend who told me if have a schedule C you can't e-file because TT won't let you until you upgrade. TT you definitely got to get you act together or next year I'm using different software. February 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by fixed what wasnt broken When I used the "back" key and went forward again, it took me to screens and questions I didn't get the first time. The whole thing was less clear than in years past. The layout was more cumbersome. Also seems in years past each step of the way had these happy dude icon characters that gave you happy and encouraging words and made it very personable with shaded raised bubble keys to click on and cool graphics. Now it only gives you a more mechanical update and layout of what's going on. Just like any successful product, they have to keep trying to fix what wasn't broken. go back to what it was in years past and you will get a 5 star. February 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid as ever I always like the ease of transferring previous year tax information to help guide me through the data entering. My child started her first year of college and I was unsure how to report the 2014 1098-T for a scholarship paid in 2015. After poking around in the forms view, I was able to find the Reconciliation of charges paid in the Tuition Statement. I'm sure the IRS publications would have confusingly got me there, but I was surprised Turbo Tax didn't quite cover it as I input the 1098-T. Otherwise a great product as usual and I don't have to worry about setting an appointment nor carrying a file of statements to a tax professional. March 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Still don't get it Some taxpayers, folks or workers, have UNKNOWN typed in box 2a of our 1099. I don't know about all instances but in my case that is because a calculation under "the simplified method" needs to occur to arrive at the value needed for block 2a. I just insert the value in block 1 into block 2a because I don't want to underpay my taxes (like what occurred for tax year 2009 and listed my disability retirement monies as untaxable and when the IRS discovered the error 2 years later I had accrued considerable interest and penalties). Seems that this ought to be a relatively quick item to address and it would save some hair on my balding head! March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Year I have been a Turbo Tax user for over ten years and have always been satisfied. I was not affected by the changes to Deluxe this year, but it seems like they were pretty quick to admit their mistake and offer compensation to those that were. I just wish I had caught the $15 coupon at (I think) Best Buy, but I got $10 off at Sam's, so still a decent deal, especially since I do my son's and sister-in-law's return on one disk. Using It's Deductible on-line throughout the year split the hardest job (itemizing donations) into lots of bite-size tasks. It's February 4 and I have already filed - always glad to get this painful task done early. February 4, 2015
  • 2015-03-30T12:39:13.323-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-312, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_16521, tr_16521
  • loc_en_US, sid_700_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 310 311 312 313 314 ... 322 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.