TurboTax Deluxe CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Deluxe tax software is the easy way to prepare your tax return and maximize tax deductions. File taxes online with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another banner year!
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Deluxe does not include State e-file The packaging is misleading. Downloaded program allows you to fill out tax returns for Federal and one State; however, it only includes Federal e-file. There is an additional fee for the State e-file. Not so cool.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Taxes
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Foreign Tax Credit - A Problem When going through the guided steps, some internal software glitch occurs when dealing with forms 1116 and 2555. Form 1116, line 1 a ADDs the gross income and the adjusted income after determining the tax credit. Line 1a reports a gross income some 50% HIGHER than actual. Form 1116 line 3d has a figure of 200% more income. Help from Intuit via phone was worthless. I was told several times I needed a tax consultant when actually I needed a software engineer. I started the return "fresh", filling in all the forms I could manually, then finished the other entries by answering questions that Turbo Tax asked -- finally success. This whole process took only ~ 15 hours on a simple return (because my son lives in London and has need of the foreign tax credit....)
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from TurboTax again made the process easy Overall, the product continues to be a very good tool, bringing key info forward from prior years' tax return data and teeing up questions for current year filing. I have now used for approaching 20 years (!), and am a definite advocate for this program. The ability to re-install downloads from website was key this year, as my computer was knocked out after the earlier install, so had to start from scratch, but at least the access to the program was facilitated.
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome program. I love that it uploads from the previous year and has current and previous year comparisons.
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect? - Not Yet There needs to be improvement in the navigation. Every time I go to another screen, the place to answer, changes. This is not what I like. Also, when working on a category, say, wages & income under Federal Taxes, after I finish a section, and click next, it puts me way up at the beginning, instead of where the next section starts. All of these should be aligned to make it easy to navigate, and make it enjoyable, instead of a chore. Otherwise it would have been excellent.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost there Many times TurboTax does not carry forward entered information or complete entries that were already entered in the TurboTax entry process. Why is information from prior tax year that TurboTax has, not auto filled during 2017 data entry process. It is even shown on comparitive data. Never showed how the tax was computed.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from attempted to doublecharge, again! This is the second year Ive had turbotax error out on filing the return then insist on more money before completing the process. After hours of laboriously working through the return I paid it rather than print and mail, but I will steam about it for days.
Date published: 2018-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was really impressed by the support provided.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Example: Rocked My Refund! why cant they just let you enter the k1 info as it is on my k1 and then let the program sort it out then make me enter it 3 seperate times!
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Irritating I really like the actual walk through for each section Turbo tax gives. It's extremely helpful. I've been filing with TT for about 10-12 years now. However, the filing process is absurd and cumbersome. I had to enter the same information over and over to pay for the audit and to pay for the state return (this is an easy fix; just pull the information from the Federal payment info into the state return payment information). But, worst of all, when TurboTax started asking for payment details for the audit security and for the state e-file payment, the form that it pulled down went off the bottom of my screen on my Mac. This is a significant problem that needs to be fixed. It's an absurd bug that has never happened before in TurboTax. And when I tried to stop and get out I could not because the "close" button was at the very bottom. I was simply stuck there for ever. A further issue is that when I pull up my old, past year forms that I've saved on my computer, so many of them contain no information. Not sure what the problem is here, but it should be really easy to save this without having to print the material - using up a ton of pages and about $1000 of ink! This is a real irritant. TurboTax is a really nice set up as far as working through taxes. But, whoever the programmer is for them needs to make the final processes far less clunky and they need to change the page set ups for finalizing and material needs to be easily saved. Due to the page issues and other clunkiness I finally finished filing about an hour and a half after I was basically finished with the Fed and State returns. That's absurd. I'll be looking for better software next year, for sure.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Refunds For the second year in a row, TurboTax makes it very difficult to apply part of the refund to next year's (2018) NY State taxes. The Federal Refund is easy, but TurboTax makes it very difficult to apply refund in NY State Tax Return. Why? I overrode in the form, and I was not able to efile! I finally did so, but I might have inadvertently signed up for estimated tax payments! I had to figure out to do it, based on what I remembered a TurboTax Phone Contact told me last year!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hats off to TurboTaz and Intuit! When April 10th came around, I knew I'd be unable to finish my Return and file it on time. Too much work piling up in my Private Investigation business. So I filed for an extension, which was easy to do, and I was grateful for that, being under extreme pressure by then. Finally, I was able to finish the Return and e-file it, within the deadline of the Extension. Imagine hw pleased I was that the IRS accepted the Return within only a few hours. Now I'm waiting for them to complete their review and let me know that I'm at last finished with taxes for this year.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even a 2yr. old can do it! I have used this product for many years and have never been disappointed. The interview process and import of data from previous years are great. I have a fairly simple return and this year between the federal and state returns the full printed copy was 133 pages. I can't imagine doing this by hand and I'm not going to spend $750 for someone else to do it. Keep up the great work!
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One Small Suggestion As TT walks me through the many categories of Income and Deductions, each time I click "CONTINUE" for the next category, I have to scroll down through the whole list of categories that I've already completed. The longer the list, the more annoying the exercise becomes. How about just sending me automatically to the next category at the bottom of the list -- or better -- just have the next category (noted as X of Y) appear at the top of the list (i.e., in "reverse" list order)?
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Updates This was my first bad experience with Turbo Tax Deluxe. Update would not download correctly. If I use Turbo Tax again, I will not purchase it from Office Depot. I think I was sold an old or damaged disk.
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but had some technical issues I have used Turbo Tax for YEARS. This was the first year I almost said forget it and took my taxes to a CPA. As a more than 2% shareholder, the SE health insurance deduciton was very difficult to get to to drop down to the 1040. I finally just overrode line 29 directly on the 1040 form, after double checking several times to make sure it had not been accounted for any where else. However, I then could not file electronically!! It took a lot of searching to find where to finally enter the details of the SE health deduction on the K1 worksheet to get it to drop down to line 29. I was finally able, but it took several tries, and a lot of trial and error.
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from terrific software I have used TurboTax for over a decade. It is my automatic choice. I appreciate the import feature from previous years (saves much re-entry). The 'Step-by-step' process takes you through each area (and has the options for all the unusual circumstances, if you need them).
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly Happy I used Turbo Tax every year and it gets better every year. My only major issue this year was the Dividend Worksheet. It had too many characters for the name of one of my sources, although I entered that source exactly as shown on the 1099-DIV form. Kept failing the Turbo Tax review so I could not electronically file. This was for the Iowa State return only, not a problem on the federal. I tried deleting the worksheet - its just a worksheet not an official form - no luck. No way to directly edit the form. Finally I figured I had to go way back to the beginning and shorten the name of the financial firm, but that means it is different than the official name of the firm. No big deal, but took me 30 minutes of trial and error to figure it all out.
Date published: 2018-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great resource after years of using intuit pro I retired from doing returns. bought this product to do my own. Just as good and easier to understand as the pro version
Date published: 2018-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used for many years! I've used Turbo Tax for many years and love it! I'm able to prepare my taxes without the aid of a CPA - to which I truly love...
Date published: 2018-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Program Great program for the money.
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No E-File The program insisted I install an update but got errors on it. I tried several different fixes but none worked. It was Net Framework problem. I don't have time to get more help...so I will have to mail it in.
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not user friendly software; when software states there is an error or lack of information, it is difficult to find where to input to correct the information. Turbotax should have a section click icon that transfers the preparer directly to the input scheme area field.
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Program love the program love the help along the way easy to efile have been using turbo tax for the last 10 years and will continue . customer service number 1
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from keep this software coming I purchase 2 discs every year and should have had 10 e-files and I only had 5 between the 2 discs. I was not happy.
Date published: 2018-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and easy I have been using Turbo Tax for the last few years. I like that it will get me the max refund.
Date published: 2018-09-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Getting worse Disappointed in a program that has been getting worse each year. Program would not update and would not download the state return. I was finally able to download another copy - but with errors - surprised it actually worked.
Date published: 2018-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Year of the eMBA tax refund I have been using TurboTax for years, it makes reporting easier.
Date published: 2018-09-23
  • y_2018, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3410, tr_9174
  • loc_, sid_700_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 373ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.