TurboTax Deluxe CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Deluxe tax software is the easy way to prepare your tax return and maximize tax deductions. File taxes online with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OOPS! I have used Turbotax for 25 years and it is usually "rubber stamp" easy! This year I didn't hear back on my approval and tax payment and when I went to my return to check things it was GONE! The system wanted to start from scratch.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from headache Used turbo tax for several years. This year was a complete headache with healthcare section. Bug fix was delayed for 10 days and still didn't work. No customer service on weekends, when most of us need it most!
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Charge for direct deposit Be aware of changes!
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent overall, but during the final review it kept asking me to fill out a form about household employees even though I reported that I didn't have any. I also struggled a bit when I wanted to apply my California refund to my 2018 taxes. But I am very happy overall.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally finished
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Personal and Business TT Most in the business software I found when after reviewing the missing information was not clear as to how to correct calculation errors especially with Trial Balances. This really requires an accountant which defeats the cost of the program
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Caused late submission Reviewed my submission and looked good. When I went to submit, it would not accept it because it was missing a K-1 form. I had sold the stock 2 years ago and didn't own it anymore. I tried searching the help files and tried all of the suggestions, but could not delete the form. Finally, 2 days after the deadline, I entered sample data and it took. Paid for audit insurance just in case.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 26 years of misery, goodbye This will be the last year we will use TT. After all the phone time, and not knowing how much I paid for the download, with CA state e-filing charge, I calculate $105. for deluxe. After all I was put through, I received a ROBOCALL from a 206 area code saying that I claimed too much tax withheld, and TT has issued an arrest warrant! You've been HACKED.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Expensive Overall, a useful program. However, currently there are free ways to file on the web. This is too expensive, and the state e-filing costs extra. Will think twice next year on whether to continue to use turbotax or move to a free online service.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and accurate I have always used Turbotax and have always been satisfied with its performance.
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Transfer of last years data When I transferred last years return, it put in the 2016 property taxes in the wrong place. As a result. when I entered my 2017 property tax, turbo added both 2016 and 2017 tax. which was wrong. tried to use only help, useless. landed up going to the forms and manually removed the 2016 amounts which were definitely in the wrong place on the tax return. NOT VERY HAPPY, Many others had similar issues
Date published: 2018-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for the most part My 2017 return was rejected three times for allegedly entering the wrong AGI from 2016. I entered the right amount, which I got directly from my 2016 return. I am confused as to why it was rejected. Now I am having to mail in my return, late. I am not happy about that. Not sure if it is an issue with TurboTax or an issue with IRS e-filing. Either way it is inconvenient and reflects a late return on my part which was actually timely e-filed.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from didn't get it right I checked to pay my fed. taxes electronically and they didn't go, I didn't check and now I have a letter from the IRS that include penalty and interest. I also had trouble with my state. I entered something apparently 2X so the state sent me a letter. Luckily that was before the dead line, so no penalty.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Incomplete Illinois Tax Forms This year Illinois increased the income tax July 1st. If you made more income at the beginning of the year there is IL-1120 schedule SA to split your income between the fist half and the second to be taxed at the correct rate instead of using a blended rate. A lot of people get a bonus from the prior year at the beginning of the next year than should be taxed at the old rate. In my case if I filed my state tax through turbo tax i would have had to pay several hundred more.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Making a Painful day less painful Using for over a decade, will continue always.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from well it is easy as 123, the only problem i had was that i though my return have been filed, but to my surprise it was not. so it will be a good idea to send a reminder that return are not filed
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax to the rescue for years! I have used turbotax for over 20 years. I trust it completely. Just fill in the blanks and answer questions as you go and you're done in a flash (well, a few hours anyway). TurboTax makes sure you don't forget any income or deductions. I only paid someone to do my taxes once and felt that they were just using something similar to turbo tax and didn't really understand what they were doing. I didn't trust that tax return, but after 18 years, I guess I'm safe. I would never use any other product for my taxes.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best version yet! I was very nervous about completing this year's return because our family situation had changed drastically. Fortunately, after taking a deep breath, I was able to work through all the sections without a problem. I was clear what documentation I needed, and I was able to find it. No sweat!
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ching Ching!! I've been using Turbo Tax for over 20 years. It's easy and helps me find the best refund with just a few clicks. I file long form every year to enhance by well deserved tax breaks!!!
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always happy with TT Have used TT for years; So far have always been happy and assume I am getting the best and honest refund.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy... Great all around.......was nervous but the software walked me through it pretty well...
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from trouble loading the program i have used Turbo Tax for years bought my copy at Costco and when i got ready to load it into my computer, it wouldn't load. i have to hire my tech guy to figure out what was wrong and get it loaded. Cost $65. So, it cost my money and frustration. the program itself i am used to and it worked just fine once it was loaded.
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mostly Easy till the end I've been using Turbo Tax for over 8 years. It's easy to use. However, when e-filing, I am trapped to purchase the Audit Defense, which i purchased by phone and struggled to get around the offer on the screen. There is not a NO THANKS option. So I can pay again with my credit card or have it deducted from my refund. Either way, I'd be buying the same thing twice. Looked for help or an option out. Couldn't find one. So I am still trying to e-file my returns.
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Turbo Tax! Every year I use Turbo Tax. The program walks you through every topic/situation you might have. Taxes are so easy to do, I dont understand why everyone doesn't use this program. Its by far the best one on the market & gives you the ability to transfer info from year to year and or for other financial reasons like FASFA applications etc. Thanks so much Turbo Tax!
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Job-Easy-Safe-Accurate! Thought the software did a great job, professional, accurate and easy to use. Very intuitive interface, good concise and understandable questions to walk me through.
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, but room for improvement Been using this since 2004 and would never go back to manual. Much easier and less of a drudge doing taxes. Don't understand why every time I went back in to continue (except when checking filing status), it took me to the beginning even though all my changes were saved. It never lost anything, but had to manually find where I left off. Previous years it always remembered where I left off. Plus, it wanted my registration every time I launched it even though I did that the very first time. Otherwise, good experience as usual.
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Recent TurboTax releases have been poor I've been deeply disappointed in the (lack of) quality in TurboTax in the past few years. This year (2017 tax year) will likely be my last year using it - too expensive (for state eFile(s)), takes too long for the forms to update after IRS releases final forms, and the error check is poor.
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Files not sent after hitting submit key I didn't realize that my return was NOT filed after I went through all the steps and hit submit key because Turbo Tax needed to do an update! This notice should have been presented long before hitting the submit key or let me file without the update!!! I am a long time user and stunned by this sequence of events. I am furious!
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy File Very easy to follow. Any questions were answered with just one click. However, at times, there were too many questions asked. Also program takes a long time to load.
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 13 days and no confirmation! we filed 4/15/18 and have yet to receive a confirmation email from Turbo Tax that our tax return was filed with IRS; have not received anything from IRS stating our return was received. We want to know that they received it and when.
Date published: 2018-04-23
  • y_2018, m_8, d_14, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3356, tr_9018
  • loc_, sid_700_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 192ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.