TurboTax Deluxe CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Deluxe tax software is the easy way to prepare your tax return and maximize tax deductions. File taxes online with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Password reset and VRU Why are users forced to deal with automated VRU. Your VRU response system is crap. Your password reset system for Apple PC's is crap and will not accept auto generaTED Passwords from a Mac
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and convenient This was very fast, sometimes easy and best of all, I didn't have to pay someone else hundreds of dollars for something so easy.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TurboTax History I started using TurboTax in 1998 when I became a independent CSE Consultant for Chemical & Refining. I have been very please with it every since.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Considered Thoughts I've used Turbotax for more than 20 years, and I appreciate the continuous improvement of the package. I haven't appreciated the relentless attempts to extract increasing amounts of revenue from its customers, especially for its state tax return module and state E-File fees. The gross margin on E-File fees must be enormous.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Help could be better I will use Turbo Tax again next year as long as the price doesn't go up.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Trouble in and out, good in between TT is great most of the way. Only data problem: a superfluous K-1 form that, once mistakenly entered, was hard to eliminate. But it required phone help to buy it (!), using the Fidelity discount--steered right to online. Phone help was very good, but it was tricky to get to download. Later, when filing state, TT hung up and didn't send me to the pay site to pay for state e-file. Had to ctrl-alt-del my way out. Worked on second try, but after paying, the program sent me to the pay site again. Site "knew" I had already paid, and it all worked on 3rd try, but that was all a little anxiety-provoking.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Diminished quality Lots of glitches, which customer support valiantly tried to fix. However, the problems were in software, especially account sign-in. We spent hours finding work arounds. Too bad using Turbo tax previously was stress free, which helped taxpayers do a more than annoying task.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Product kept crashing Using Win 7. Needed to use "forms" mode to complete return, otherwise it would crash. Additional charges for State E-File, and the charge for deducting the charges from the refund - are pretty much a non-disclosure surprise. Due to this I do not expect to use TurboTax in the future.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Biggest Refund I've Ever Gotten!! I've been using TurboTax for at least 20+ years and have always gotten a great refund. TurboTax gives me the confidence that I have entered all the needed data (and done it correctly) and then it double checks everything again for me. This year, TurboTax suggested I file as Head of Household since I have a disabled adult child living with me. TurboTax walked me through the whole process and my refund this year is amazing!
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Program I am confident that when I use TurboTax, my Returns will be accurate and I enjoy the Audit Risk gauge at the end of the process. I highly recommend using this Income Tax Program.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent as always AGAIN! It's hard to come up with new things to say as the Turbo Tax experience never changes. It is ALWAYS easy, quick, and leaves me believing my taxes are correct. One less thing to worry about. Thank you Turbo Tax. I am a lifetime user - I promise.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever Tax Program! I've used TurboTax for 3 continuous years now and wouldn't use anything else! Simple to use, walks you through everything and gives you peace of mind that everything is checked and rechecked. I've also used several forms of QuickBooks for over 20 years, both in business and personally. Great products! Thanks, Intuit!
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK for federal, state is ponderous Completing the Federal section seems to work ok - although it did seem to get confused in the High Deductible Health plan. However, that state side of things is not very well done. There is no global view of the state sections. If you want to make any change, or review any information, you have to go through the entire return, from start to finish. That's quite inexplicable in the year 2018.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 50/50 Overall good experience, but the occasional glitch is so hard to work around. Specifically for 2017, the CA 540 "excess SDI" error.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2017 Taxes I'd spend $45 for State and State e-file. Otherwise I'll do it by hand. You offer a excellent product! Thanks. Paul
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from refund A very good program.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from User unfriendly Been using since 2012. Gets more user unfriendly each year. This year cannot find my 2016 or earlier finding.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked slick I have been using TurboTax since it was first made available. Keeps getting better and better.
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best One Yet I've been using this product ever since the first Mac-in-Tax in 1984. This is the best one yet.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Software so easy to use and I could never get through my taxes without it!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from old turbotax lover I still can't seem to get the return printed the way I want
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Bad Experience I filed my federal return through TurboTax's E-File. Everything was easy and I signed and transmitted everything as told. I waited a week and no email telling me the IRS had received anything. TurboTax told me I had not filed a return. I called TurboTax and was told it was still in process and I should call back. Deadline looms. Can't reach human being through TurboTax phone number. IRS only wants to track my refund. I didn't have a refund because I applied it to my estimated taxes. Don't know if return is in process or if it never went through. Can't reach anyone on phone, at TurboTax or IRS. What happens if I mail in a duplicate return. Exasperated! One star only because there was no option for "0".
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbo Tax Ease of use I have used Turbo Tax for many years and have always been pleased how thorough it is, what a good value it is and how reliable it is. Thank you.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trouble with paying for filling I could not use my credit card to pay for State filing. There was some issue with resetting my password. Had to call and have them reset password. Otherwise, I have been using Turbo Tax for years...excellent product.
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unsolvable program error When reviewing got an error mesage. Couldn't find error. One hour on phone with TurboTax & they couldn't solve it. A programming bug. Had to "work around" manually.
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tax Software Period! Been using this software for several years. Reliable, easy to use, and accurate. Doesn't get any better than that.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amend state return After filing my state return and having it accepted, I realized I forgot to enter the payment I made when I filed my state application for extension to file. Turbo Tax instructed that that information had to be entered on my federal return on Turbo Tax. Going to that entry, and after following complex and almost not understandable instructions, I discovered there was no way to enter that info on my federal return. Unlike on the federal return, I could only enter quarterly state payments but not the payment I made with my state application for extension to file.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product It's as easy as can be. Each time I thought I might not know the answer and clicked continue it brought me to the correct screen to update.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another banner year!
Date published: 2018-10-08
  • y_2018, m_11, d_13, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3409, tr_9173
  • loc_, sid_700_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 186ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • TurboTax Live Reviews: Displayed reviews are for the TurboTax Live standalone service from Tax Year 2017 and not for the new Turbo Tax product / TurboTax Live bundle available for Tax Year 2018.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.