TurboTax is up-to-date for your 2017 taxes, start now!

Learn more about Tax Reform here tax reform information.

TurboTax Deluxe CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Deluxe tax software is the easy way to prepare your tax return and maximize tax deductions. File taxes online with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.4 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievably convenient The best of the Internet.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Taxes Tackled and Transmitted I have used TurboTax for many, many years. As an employee, it worked great! I recently became self-employed. The differences between taxation of income and deductions are enormous. I completed the tax forms and transmitted them. However, I am concerned that I had more deductions to take than I took. Professional experience would assist me in understanding shat additional deductions I could take.
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great EXPERIENCE! TURBOTAX is a wonderful product! I've used it for years and haven't had a bad experience, yet!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from worked well with only 1 issue I've been using TurboTax for quite a few years, so I'm familiar with the process. online help and instructions seem to be getting better. Hit a snag during the final review (couldn't get past a field that came up as estimated but was blank) got around it by going back through the interview process, but it was pretty annoying
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could not access my Ohio Return What happened to my great TurboTax! Always in the past I would complete the federal section and then I would be directed to the state return. This did not happen and when I went to search the issue thru your help I saw an article to use tool bar at top and download it. When I did I had to pay $48.59. I did this but I still did not ever get to do any edits to the 2016 Ohio state return.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very Frustrating Everything went well until I tired to file. It hung forever then told me I washout of memory-which I wasn't. Finally took it to my 2006 MacBook and installed software on it. The update worked fine on this one and I was finally able to rile my tax report. Hope they fix it with the 2017 version. If I have to spend 12 hours filing, I might as well print and mail.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tedious but straightforward. I've felt like some years explanatory Help has been more readily accessible. On the other hand, maybe it's there and I never got stuck enough to track it down.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What happened to the tax history report I've used TurboTax for more than a decade and always appreciated the comparisons offered by the tax history report. When the report appeared, but the prior years data did not appear, I was disappointed.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease in Filing Returns Overall, kudos to TurboTax for their consistent development of a great income tax product! Your product continues to be a credible and highly reliable tool. Please continue your excellent good work. Thank you.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good This is a very good program. It's mostly easy, but some forms and options can be confusing causing mu;title attempts before they seem right.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Getting a little easier Have been using Turbo tax foe a very long time. (20 plus years or mote) Gets easier to complete my taxes with a lot more accuracy. The e-file has been very convenient and helpful. Fabulous program & I will be using it up and until I die. Thanks for improving my life.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Got the job Done Had to cut down a tree and mail it in because of all the supporting paper documents that the state required. Turbo tax may not view this as their problem but here is the enlightenment ... maybe buying the state version is not worth it. (lots of k-1 pages many with one piece of data printed on it) Your family selections (below) need a selection for retired and maybe hints during use of turbo tax for how retirees can save $ in filing.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is the worst software I have ever used. For two years in a row, the software crashed as I was submitting my return. There were no fixes to resolve the issue. I reinstalled the software, tried loading it on a different computer, downloaded the online version, etc. I will **NEVER** use turbotax again and will file a complaint with the BBB.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Usually imports the entry totals from last year. It was VERY helpful, but you deleted that feature. Bad! The item valuation feature is poorly lacking in common items. The most time spent doing taxes is using it to try & find values. You really need to upgrade it! In that section should be a link "Did you donate a vehicle to charity?". I was totally without help & had to submit questions, as did many, many folks. It would have helped to have had a info alert about obamacare on first page, warning that may have to pay back subsidy. Dumping it as a surprise in medical really hit many folks hard. Look at all the ?'s submitted about it! 2016 was generally more difficult than earlier versions. It just was!
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best tax software have used TurboTax for many years, tried TaxCut and did not like it, not as user friendly at all.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Purchasing e-file Not sure why, but I was unable to read the instructions on-screen without extensive aid. I have a 4K screen and the resolution may have been adversely affected.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little too linear for me I like the hand-holding nature of the program, the ability to do parts of a return and come back to it. But sometimes I would like to be able to return to a SINGLE question (like when I found an additional $9.00 parking receipt I needed to add to the business expense section), and I haven't figured out how to make the program stop asking all of the questions in that particular topic. I love the check your return feature, but here I would like more details about what specific information (for example, Line 11 on Form XXX) is needed. Since I don't have the form to refer to (in fact, I didn't even know I filled out that form, since Turbo Tax did it for me based on the answers I provided).
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever For years always the best of its kind, and under new management that style is carried even further.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from make it easier to use the form method or else I will change software next year
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from too many times i have had to go back to find out where to enter SE health ins premiums and 401 contributions
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very easy Could not delete explanation statement very easily
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tax Return Essential Have used Turbo Tax for over 20 years, including self-employment and Trust returns. It has never failed me.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clear, easy, concise, helpful, accurate I've used TurboTax since it was first released. Since I've used Quicken since 1990, I knew Intuit made good products. I've never been disappointed. I have now adjusted my Quicken categories to make completing TurboTax a snap. I can do the entire return (and mine's a little complicated) in an hour.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Why no instructions on mailing federal forms? Generally an excellent product. It printed out an instruction sheet on how to file the state tax forms - but DID NOT print out a similar form regarding how to file/mail in the federal tax forms. This is inexplicable!
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from COMPREHENSIVE BUT ALERTNESS IS NEEDED A very comprehensive product and seems to cover every eventuality in filing needs but: a checklist would be useful to verify that all key forms have been completed, also some better ordering of the forms listed at the left of the screen, also less redundancy in reminders to print out forms for mailing or review. You have to be "on your toes" in understanding how to use the forms and what you're doing.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped Me Greatly I found Turbo Tax a very fine product. Went through the whole process very quickly and very completely. I only would like to have seen some coverage of the fact that I filed an extension to my taxes and Turbo helped with any penalties and fees I have to pay.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mike M's 2016 review thoughts The " guide me " option provides easy to follow instruction for inputting and instant feedback on Refund vs. Owe status. It would be productive to be able to copy / transfer current completed return into another file to then test alternative inputs and understand potential changes.....without effecting the original return for submission.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2016 Individual Returns Not enuf room to describe comments here. I wish it would ALPHABETIZE my numerous charitable organizations OR allow me to choose an ordering of lists WITHIN specific categories, banks, stocks, charities, etc. It is difficult to go back and access last year's DETAILS when I am trying to figure out how to deduct a certain thing in the current year. I have to stop, go back on my computer and open the complete prior year file in a separate tab - super annoying and time consuming. The cursor bops around during series' of questions - the "yes" "no" buttons need to be consistent on the page so I don't have to keep checking where my cursor is - time consuming and distracting. The "help" button gets me mired in IRS publications, and I can almost never get to the answer to the question I am looking for.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from missing *Asks for my PIN but does not print it on the return *Missing address info for mailing federal return
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of using accuracy as to details, easy to use, and helpful advice.
Date published: 2017-10-13
  • y_2018, m_1, d_19, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4879, tr_11313
  • loc_, sid_700_2016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 28ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 4/30/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed return by 4/17/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 7/15/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 4/30/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a payment plan.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice via phone is included with Premier and Home & Business; fees apply for Basic and Deluxe customers. State tax advice is free. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2012 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.