TurboTax Deluxe CD/Download
Customer Ratings & Product Reviews

TurboTax Deluxe tax software is the easy way to prepare your tax return and maximize tax deductions. File taxes online with TurboTax. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.7 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disaster My electronic filing was rejected because I selected to pay on the day I electronically filed it. However, the message from Turbo tax said that I filed it a day earlier! Because the payment wasn't scheduled for the date of filing, it was rejected. The paper copy for filing did not include a mailing address. This is the worst filing experience I have ever had. What a crock.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Using for 20 years, worst so far! I've been using TurboTax for over 20 years now and the 2017 (2016 tax year) version is by far the worst yet. Past versions allowed adding "supporting details" on any question where a dollar amount was entered. This version does not have that option in so many of the most important places! This is a HUGE issue! Supporting details are a great reminder of exactly what the reported total consists of! The Medical expenses related itemized deduction questions were terrible! The second question is total for doctor bills. So you spend a few hours figuring this out (if you're lucky only a few hours) only to go to the next question and find it now wants separate amounts (subtotals) for stuff like x-rays, eye care, etc. Combine this with being unable to enter supporting details and it's a HUGE waste of time! This will likely be the last time I use TurboTax. What a joke.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax just works! Thanks for creating such a reliable service. We've using turbotax for years and we confidently use it year after year - and with life's changes - finances change too. Thank you!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from shady fees The software works and I like it. I wouldn't recommend the product if you have a easy to medium hard return because of the pricing structure. You think when you buy the one that includes state that included everything to get your taxes done. There is an additional $20-30 fee to file. The shady part is you don't find out about this until you are 20 clicks in.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tax Software Excellent tax software....I've been using it for decades. It helps to simplify an otherwise very complicated process of completing so many forms and calculations. Hats off to the team at Intuit TuboTax.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellence There for me every year. Thanks
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked like a charm, almost It is easy to load, follow the Turbo Tax guided version and you won't skip anything. Use the "I'll choose my own" when coming back to check or to make changes. The little glitch hits the retired or non-working folk. Income automatically starts with the W-2 form ALREADY CHECKED. Most of us don't get one of these and so just skip on down. But YOU'D BETTER UNCHECK IT before you do anything else. OTHERWISE it will come back later and gig you for not supplying W-2 information for the spouse if married even though you skipped on down and/or to the next. When you try to fix it for the spouse it wants to supply name, rank, and income. WORST OF ALL, dummies like me will try to enter the SSA-1099 stuff there. Luckily, I did a "PrintScreen" copy of one of the correction pages IF TURBO TAX WANT TO SEE IT. This glitch cost me about a half our trying to figure it out. The IRS Status Notifications sent by TurboTax are comforting also.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall Consistency & Reliability Two sections did not work properly when walking through the forms; nothing showed up...blank screen. I skipped those areas and, luckily, was able to fill in the info needed when the blank fields turned up as 'errors' during the final checks. When this happens, it isn't easy to get help. I would have needed phone help and it was hard to find number. Also, the online help may be closed when you need assistance. Otherwise, satisfied with Turbo Tax filing, as I have been for the past 13 years! :-)
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always reliable Been using TurboTax for 15 years. It always comes through for me.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Buggy I was not able to pay by credit card and was forced to have state filing deducted from my return and paying an additional $39.99 in addition to the $24.99 state filing fee. The screen never gave the option to charge my credit card despite countless attempts. The 1099-MISC section was always trying to force me to select either Schedule C or F when neither was applicable. These issues were unheard of in previous versions.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax Business and Deluxe After finishing TurboTax Business for my S-Corp I had turned my attention to our individual return. I could not find an option to transfer the Business information to the Individual return. I did see where you could import from other tax software but was surprised when I couldn't find an option to merge the two TurboTax programs.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Your system had a major calc bug in it I spent 4+ hours trying to resolve with TWO of your support contractors (who were terrific by the way). AND, I spent $100 and could not have had a more stressful and challenging tax season....and I work in the tax technology business so you understand my high level of disappointment in TTax
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Thinking to go back to paper returns I've used Turbo Tax for decades and have always felt confident and satisfied with it. My taxes must be more complicated than most because nearly every category where I need to enter data states that "these are not common". The last two years, I've noticed that when I review the forms, that the forms do not reflect what I thought I answered correctly in the step by step. When I review my answers, I often find that I still agree with them. Then I begin experimenting with the step by step until I get the right data on the form. So I'm constantly switching back and forth so that I'll catch any errors early on. I wish there was a way to change data on the forms instead of going back to the step by step. Turbo Tax could alert me if there was a problem with my update. That would be more helpful than going back and forth. Seriously thinking to go back to old fashioned paper worksheets so that I can see everything at a glance.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Continued Good Product This is the 15th year I have used Turbotax. Great product--easy to use, it is full of helpful information and has found deductions I would have never thought of. Thanks, Turbotax!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple Highly recommend.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Why pay someone to do this!
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible Experience I love using turbo tax and have for the past 4 years. This year however, I decided to upgrade to Turbo Tax Deluxe so I could help my family members file. It was a huge mistake. TT Deluxe download was more expensive, less helpful, more frustrating, and still had hidden fees. To make it worse I tried calling for help but they make it so difficult to talk to a real person that ends up being unable to really help you. Therefor I was stuck with an overpriced and soon to be outdated tax software that ended up costing me far more time and money than it was worth. But I love Turbotax and that's what makes this so much worse.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well, it worked... This was my first time with TurboTax. I'm appreciative that it got me through the process. But, it seems that the only easy way through is to not try to understand what is going on...some understanding comes as you progress but going back to double-check just complicated things. AND, I had to reset by password multiple times. The only time the reset is now accepted is for payment (not e.g. Help features.) I really missed not being able to call a live person. Pages of previous "half answers" that happen to contain one of my search words really isn't helpful.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made a complex return easy! I have income from salary, rental property, investments, interest and shares of a trust distribution. Turbotax handles them all, and makes tax preparation easy. I like the way I can work for a while, exit, then later pick up exactly where I left off.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Takes pain out of filing Covers all possible scenarios. Give you options for stepping through all possibilities or selecting only those items you need.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from still waiting i am 78 years old and as my eyesight gets worse the mac versions of the turbotax software get harder and harder to navigate or to see in terms of print size. i have tried other products, but find it more usable than the others, but still wish more friendly ways to use the process were factored in by the folks who program turbotax. i just finished a hellish late filing and wish i could afford a tax lawyer, because my eyes feel like they are drooling down my cheeks from strain and other body parts are also stressed because i have to sit right up on the monitor to see. please fix this real soon...thanks
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Takes a bit of effort to get to specific areas to work on, without going through all of the EZ-step preliminaries first. I needed to work on Schedule C details, but couldn't find a quick way to get there. I tried the forms option, but I couldn't actually edit anything from there. (I though that was possible in previous versions. I just changed my rating based on what a pain it is to get my nickname accepted.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2017 Federal Income Tax I have used TurboTax for a number of years. It is easy to navigate and input information or have downloaded. I like the explanations and ability to speak or text support. I will continue to use the product for many years.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fix the recurrent problems and efficiency issues I'm a user for the past 28 yrs. Over the past several years AZ State portion has a recurrent problem that always sets me back. It doesn't transfer the details on non-municipal interest from the Federal tax section. No excuse for making this so difficult. Also having to go into the Intuit acct to purchase Audit Defense and then again to pay for transmitting the efile to the state is a big waste of my time. If a user jumps around from one section to another, the back key should go back to the same spot on the previous page instead of the top of that page - forcing one to scroll down. Once I enter the US govt obligations amount/percentage of a dividend or the state share of municipal interest it should stick so if I re-edit the that info I don't need to look up the percentage again ps you got one less star just because you prevented me from sending this email because my nickname was too short - give me a break!!!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turbotax Was Superb Everything worked out fabulously in the filing of a complex return for 2017. I was a temporary contractor for 5 months out of the year, and it helped me maximize my deductions. Great for every level of user... as a CPA and attorney, I highly recommend TURBOTAX.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from E-File Rejection and not resolved Very easy to use. Very clear and covered every area that I needed. I like the guaranteed maximum refund. I was extremely disappointed that I was not allowed to efile my taxes. I followed all the prompts and triple checked accuracy. I contacted several people at Turbo Tax and after a long time of troubleshooting was told just to mail in my return. Mailing in so many pages is not cheap and will take a lot longer. Really disappointed.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does well, sometimes quirky but all good! This is a nice tool. I have used for a number of years and works well for me. It can be a bit quirky but for a tool like this it works great across the board. Streamlines the process and uses old tax data to fill in new forms.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from File Extension Conflict Please use different file extensions for TurboTax Deluxe files vs. TurboTax for Corporations files.
Date published: 2018-10-15
  • y_2018, m_10, d_21, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3403, tr_9161
  • loc_, sid_700_2017, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_turbotax11
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • TURBOTAX ONLINE/MOBILE

  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Absolute Zero $0 federal (forms 1040EZ/1040A) + $0 state limited time offer only available with TurboTax Free Edition; offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or e-file and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • QuickBooks Self-Employed Offer with TurboTax Self-Employed and TurboTax Live for Extension Filers: To receive your complimentary subscription to QuickBooks Self-Employed through 10/31/19, you must pay for your 2017 TurboTax Self-Employed or TurboTax Live return between 4/18/18 and 10/15/18 and sign-in and access your QuickBooks Self-Employed account via mobile app or at https://selfemployed.intuit.com/turbotax at least twice by 12/31/18. You will have the option of renewing your QuickBooks Self-Employed subscription by 10/31/19 for another year at the then-current subscription rate. You may cancel your subscription at any time from within the QuickBooks Self-Employed billing section. See QuickBooks.com for price comparison. Offer not valid for existing QuickBooks Self-Employed subscribers already on a paid subscription.
  • Pays for itself (TurboTax Self-Employed): Estimates based on deductible business expenses calculated at the self-employment tax income rate (15.3%) for tax year 2017. Actual results will vary based on your tax situation.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Help and Support: Access to a TurboTax specialist is included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed and TurboTax Live; not included with Free Edition (but is available as an upgrade). TurboTax specialists are available to provide general customer help and support using the TurboTax product. SmartLook on-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Advice, Expert Review and TurboTax Live: Access to tax advice and Expert Review (the ability to have a Tax Expert review and/or sign your tax return) is included with TurboTax Live or as an upgrade from another version, and available through October 15, 2018. These services are provided only by credentialed CPAs, EAs or tax attorneys. State tax advice is free. Some tax topics or situations may not be included as part of this service, which shall be determined in the tax expert’s sole discretion. In the event your return is reviewed by a tax expert and requires a significant level of tax advice or actual preparation, the tax expert may be required to sign your return as the preparer at which point they will assume primary responsibility for the preparation of your return. Expert Review [and TurboTax Live] not available on the TurboTax mobile app or when using a web browser on your mobile phone. On-screen help is available on a PC, laptop or the TurboTax mobile app. Service, area of expertise, experience levels, wait times, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice.
  • Tax Return Access and My Docs features: Included with TurboTax Deluxe, Premier, Self-Employed, TurboTax Live or with PLUS benefits. Access to all tax-related documents we have on file for you is available through 10/31/2019. Terms and conditions may vary and are subject to change without notice.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2016 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • CompleteCheck: Covered under the TurboTax accurate calculations and maximum refund guarantees.
  • #1 rated online tax prep provider: Based on independent comparison of the best online tax software by TopTenReviews.com March 13, 2017.
  • Get tips based on your tax and credit data to help get you to where you want to be: Tax and credit data accessed upon your consent.
  • The tax reform consulting promotion is a free offer subject to cancellation at any time without notice. The promotion is limited to one 15min consultation per person with a tax expert. The consult will be solely for the purpose of explaining the impacts of tax reform, the tax expert will not give advice or tax prep guidance on prior year taxes.
  • TURBOTAX GUARANTEES

  • 100% Accurate Calculations Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty or interest because of a TurboTax calculation error, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest.
  • Maximum Refund Guarantee - or Your Money Back: If you get a larger refund or smaller tax due from another tax preparation method, we'll refund the applicable TurboTax federal and/or state purchase price paid. TurboTax Online Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid.
  • 100% Accurate, Expert Approved Guarantee: If you pay an IRS or state penalty (or interest) because of an error that a TurboTax CPA or EA made while signing your return, we’ll pay you the penalty and interest. We’ll also amend your return at no additional cost.
  • Audit Support Guarantee: If you received an audit letter based on your 2017 TurboTax return and are not satisfied with how we responded to your inquiry, we’ll refund the applicable TurboTax federal 1040 and/or state purchase price you paid. TurboTax Free Edition customers are entitled to payment of $14.99 and a refund of your state purchase price paid. We will not represent you or provide legal advice. Excludes TurboTax Business.
  • Satisfaction Guaranteed:
    • If you use TurboTax Online or Mobile: Satisfaction Guaranteed — or you don't pay. You may use TurboTax Online without charge up to the point you decide to print or electronically file your tax return. Printing or electronically filing your return reflects your satisfaction with TurboTax Online, at which time you will be required to pay or register for the product.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax from a retailer: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it to Intuit within 60 days of purchase with your dated receipt for a full refund.
    • If you bought or downloaded TurboTax directly from us: Try TurboTax software. If you're not satisfied, return it within 60 days of shipment with your dated receipt for a full refund (excluding shipping & handling).
  • TURBOTAX CD/DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE

  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal e-file of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for e-filing state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with e-file and direct deposit; tax refund time frames will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice. This benefit is available with TurboTax Federal products except TurboTax Business.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2017 TurboTax products.
  • Data Import: Imports financial data from participating companies; may require a free Intuit online account. Quicken and QuickBooks import not available with TurboTax installed on a Mac. Imports from Quicken (2016 and higher) and QuickBooks Desktop (2014 and higher); both Windows only. Quicken import not available for TurboTax Business. Quicken products provided by Quicken Inc., Quicken import subject to change.