TurboTax Business CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 5 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Business is business tax software that makes preparing business taxes easy. It guides you through business tax preparation and ensures your tax return is completed accurately. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 239 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by No State eFile doesn't work with quickbooks online I will not be returning to this product in the future. It constantly bugs users about 'upsale' opportunities and doesn't even integrate with Intuit's own QuickBooks online. The best part: If you are a business owner and pay the extra $50 for the 'State' package you have to print out your return and mail it in. They don't even warn you in advance that you can't eFile this. January 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by w-2's almost perfect Our Company street address including suite number is 32 charactors long after abbreviating as much as I can. I am unable to add a seperate line for our suite number. So half of our suite number was cut off on the W-3 form & W-2 Copy A. Had to hand write the additional suite numbers on the forms before mailing. However, the full address did print on the employee's W-2's. January 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Partnership - Different distributions vs ownership This software was exceptional to follow. We are a partnership with differing payment % than ownership. It was able to handle without any issue. Unfortunately, it does not sync with sister product Quickbooks online. It requires an offline license for this. Not bad, just needed to know this ahead of time. Easy form generation and filing. NICELY DONE and highly recommended. January 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by very easy to prepare my S corporation return I just filed my 1120S form with the federal government using TurboTax. The software was easy to use and provided clean categories for keeping track of all categories of income and deduction. It walked me through step by step everything that was required and made e-filing very easy. Only difficulty is that the New York state S corp forms are not ready yet and I will need to come back later to do that. February 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax makes my small business taxes a lot easie Everything went smoothly except import from quickbooks popped up a screen for help and support that had to be closed before continuing. Really not that big of a deal. Much more accurate than lousy HR Block software. Intuit needs to make the software recognize states that don;t require state returns such as NH. The repeated prompts are a bit annoying but again not that big of a deal. January 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy February 1, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 Business Still cant file NY State S-Corp tax. Now State is sending me Estimated tax and penalties. There is no reason the software should be looking for the >net validation tool and if it can find it it stops working. It should either install it or search the system for it. I payed a lot of money for the BIZ version and the S-Corp now I will be paying penalties for the software not working properly. January 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by My taxes January 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Simple I run a basic franchise and my expenses and revenue categories are the same every year - and I'm all set-up in Quickbooks. So why pay someone $600+/year to do basic filing? I just don't know why people pay to file taxes. If you want to pay an accountant to review your books and look for things you're missing that is one thing, but why pay his staff to actually file? Anyway, TT is super easy. January 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Views January 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by functionality January 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed this year. The program was sluggish and took considerably more time to switch between step by step & forms and do other tasks than in past years. I have commented for several years now that rounding causes trouble and there is no legitimate reason that a computer program can't work with the real values. When I did my taxes by hand I always used real values. I might just not use the program next year if it still does rounding. January 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1st time user. So relieved it worked. Turbo Tax's Jeanne Dolan saved me with her diligent tech support. TT wouldn't accept my partnership % & data entries Several hours were spent to correct these issues. Then, when finished with clean reviews, TT sent error messages when I tried to e-file the returns. With Jeanne's help we got through this issue too and my returns were finally e-filed successfully. Yeah! Hoping next year will be much easier because of the file transfer feature. February 1, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Filing options aren't clear So this was horribly inefficient - I went through the whole process of completing the company's 1099s in TurboTax Business 2015, and only at the end (on the tab labelled "Print and File" did I discover that efile was not an option. And while you could print and then mail the forms, it is nowhere stated in the instructions that the 1096 and Copy As must be printed on the IRS's forms (the red ones). I wonder how many people will unknowingly file copies straight from their printers that the IRS won't accept? For the record, you can buy or pick up the official forms - but if you have an injet printer you'll have to separate them and either run the "carbon copy" pages through individually, or just use the red ones, throw the rest away and print the recipient copies from the pdf. February 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbotax Business is a great program Since Turbotax for business imports from my QuickBooks files, doing the 1120s was relatively quick. I've been using the program for 5 years so last year's information pulled over into this return, allowing for easy tie-in of the data that carries forward. Even though I use QuickBooks payroll, for some reason, it always imports the entire amount paid, including taxes, as salary and always has to be divided manually. Not sure why, but it happens every year.... January 21, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Why spend the money? Beginning for tax year 2014 the Tennessee Dept. Of Revenue began requiring all F & E forms to be e-filed. TurboTax software however is not an approved software. I made the mistake of purchasing the TN State program along with the Federal 1120 Corp. tax software, but was unable to e-file the State F & E forms. I thought TurboTax would correct the problem and become acceptable to TN this year but I contacted them and they advised me TurboTax is still not approved. January 29, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for the Novice Where Turbo-Tax for personal use is very good at not requiring you to know anything about accounting or tax law, Turbo-Tax for business expects that you know quite a lot about accounting. I've had to resort to Accounting for Dummies books, and hours of googling to figure out why something didn't come out right, and even then it still didn't quite work 100% so I was stuck fidling with things until Turbo-Tax liked it. And I had virtually no transactions in the past year. January 26, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by very frustrating We have a small company with no employees. It is an LLC partnership and we could not figure out whether we were a c corp or an s corp. None of the resources available helped us figure this out. The learn more button is helpful, but it is still tax jargon that is very difficult to understand. I don't think I will use turbo tax next year. CPAs are expensive, but peace of mind is valuable. I have no confidence that my return was filed properly. But I don't really care. I hate doing taxes. January 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Year Done I have used Turbo Tax for years since I have found it to be the most intuitive in understanding the actual information the IRS needs. In the Business application I feel confident that I have correctly provided all the necessary information in the right places because of all the TT checks. When I did forms manually, I was much more likely to make a mistake without realizing that I did not understand what was requested. Turbo Tax gives me the confidence that the forms have done correctly. January 21, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Form Filler, but not much more If what you need to do is fill out a 1041 for a trust, this will give you the forms and will enter the information. It will print the Schedule Ks and let you electronically file. So, what are the strengths? That's about it. The help files are basically directions to the IRS form and booklets. So I would not say that there was any value added help materials. Frankly, if all it is doing is a 1041 for a family trust, then the product should be a part of the regular TurboTax product (like Deluxe or Home & Office#, but as it is, one needs to buy a separate program for a pretty straight forward set of forms with minimal #and no value added) help. February 4, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by amended return--easy and free but US mail needed After e-filing my 1120S and having it accepted by the IRS, I noticed a small error that needed to be corrected. So I came back to TurboTax to see if I could amend my return. The good news is that it was easy to do, and TurboTax walked me through the steps needed to amend. As my changes were simple, TurboTax made it simple for me to amend. Also there was no additional charge for amending which was quite welcome. The only drawback was that the amended return couldn't be e-filed even though I believe the IRS does allow e-filing of amended 1120S forms with some tax providers. Having to physically mail the amended form was a bit inconvenient. February 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, Partnership Return still needs serious work For initial partnership filers, beware. If you have capital contributions of depreciated assets, you need to fake out the computer with dates to allow the proper entry. TT doesn't make it easy. Search the help site and find the postings I made on how to do it (search "capital contribution of accumulated depreciation entry"# and it should be somewhere there. Also, be very careful when you add in partners. If you look at the forms and look at the partner info, it may generate a blank K-1 in the State return. You have to delete the entire State return and start over to delete it. Finally, if you will be answering Schedule B question 3 #b) as "yes", it WILL NOT transfer correctly to your return, even when you check it just before emailing. If the IRS questions me on it, I am just going to refer them to Turbo Tax to deal with it. I entered the data 5 or 6 times and it kept being deleted. February 3, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's still good, but watch out with corrections I have been using TurboTax for personal filings since they started. For the last 6 years I have used the business edition as well. I have noticed over the years that although the interface seems a little more clean and elegant every year, it has become harder and harder to navigate when a correction is made. The program will ask a question and once you give the answer, something gets stored that tells it what your answer was, and even if you come back to change it, that information stays stored and it is hard to figure out how to come back to clear it. I have gotten better at it, now that I know what to look for, but beware, unless you get the right answers on your first shot, you will have to come back and scrutinize your forms carefully to make sure they are not including a partial error from an original answer. Some of this may be avoided if I could just do an import from QuickBooks online, but despite being from the same company, I just do not believe the feature is available. February 1, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Messes things up every time Importing from Quickbooks, which is 90% of the reason to use Turbotax, messes things up every time. Turbotax's abilities to make corrections are extremely limited. Because it's set up like a step-by-step guide, you can't jump around and fix / compare things in multiple locations at once. For instance: it'll tell you there's an error on a line in the return. That error is dependent on a number from another location, but you can't go to that other place and correct both numbers at once. So you end up fixing something, which creates another error, which you have to hunt down and fix. The final 30 minutes is spent on a bevy of manual overrides which I can only imagine are messing things up - all because the data wasn't imported correctly in the first place (which I can verify by looking at the numbers in the Quickbooks file). Considering Intuit makes both TurboTax and Quickbooks, this is a ridiculous situation. December 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2015 TurboTax Business - Eh it's ok As Intuit tries to make things easier, it makes them harder. This years TurboTax business with California state took longer than any year before, and we have very simple books. Our business is significantly leaner than last year, we moved all operations to one state, we are only a service company, we don't sell any products. The California forms got all wrapped up in product sales questions. Notes - No easy way to take an item off of the asset list, like a computer that died before fully depreciated. QuickBooks balanced out just fine, and yet the numbers imported to strange locations, and TurboTax didn't balance. Yes we do a balance sheet even though it isn't required, so I can see how much of my money is in the business. We don't own any real estate in the business and never have, we record rent in quickbooks as an expense on the tax line "Rent". This triggered the forms for rental property, and I had to manually override this in the forms. It still sent the blank forms for real estate to the IRS and state of CA. If you use a PMB, the federal form has no entry for "STE" or "PMB", and California requires it. How hard can it be to add those fields and just space delimit them for the federal forms? The only solution appears to be 1. finish and file federal returns 2. edit address in federal return 3. finish and file state returns. Really? Have Fun January 24, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed opinion on support for executors As an executor for my mother's estate, I was hoping that TurboTax Business was going to ease the pain in filing an estate income tax, but I probably spent as much time figuring out how to get around app issues as working on the return itself. First issue was it wanted to use a short year instead of a fiscal year for filing. This appears to be due to choosing both first and last filing during the interview with an ending month of Sep. The only workaround I could find was to treat it as a first filing only for a fiscal year, then go directly to forms later and check last filing. Second issue was recording the sale of my mothers house. With a fiscal year of Oct-Sep, I expected to record the sale in August '15, but the program would only accept sales in 2014. The workaround was to create the sale in Dec '14 and go direct to the forms later and adjust the sale date. Distribution of income to beneficiaries is non-obvious and confusing (e.g. percentages vs. actual amounts, total vs. individual). I finally figured out a way by making one pass through then looking at the worksheets and reworking the K-1 forms. The interview process probably needs a lot more work here in distinguishing distributed funds from distributed income, adjusted distributable income, and distribution by percentage vs. actual amounts. Electronic filing was a mess. After error check passing, I tried to e-file. However, the app had created a form with all zero amounts and the e-file check didn't like it (even though error check passed). I finally had to delete the form to allow e-file to continue. After e-file, I got a rejection notice due to IRS and the app not agreeing on internal filing versions. This shouldn't happen for a tax year starting in 4Q since the tax software has been out for a long time (updates were current). I gave up on e-file and printed the forms to file by mail. Did the app help me with filing the estate income tax? Yes. Was it worth the effort? Maybe. January 14, 2016
  • 2016-02-09 T07:49:31.327-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_239, tr_239
  • loc_en_US, sid_950_2015, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.