TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 7 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 677 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 Simple 1040EZ/A My main income is from annuities. How the distribution (payment to me) is to be reported was rather confusing; i.e., lump sum, required withdrawals, periodic payments, etc. It was not clear how my civil service annuity, for which required withdrawals do not apply, should be entered in the forms. February 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easyand Quick I needed to get my taxes done but the last time I went to a professional tax preparer (no names OK), it cost me over $300 and I still had to pay more in taxes. The tax preparer said they charge based on the amount of money you make. Wish I had known that before hand. Thank goodness, TurboTax does not. March 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by read before buying I don't like the way turbo tax forced consumers to upgrade to their more expensive program. The basic edition this year was basically for people that don't itemize. I buy the program at Walmart and then had to upgrade at home anyway. If the program is the same next year I will go with someone else. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by After a slow start getting loaded, TurboTax provided a stress-free first-time computer experience. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast, easy and cheap. Fast and simple way to file return. Corrects errors or alerts to possible errors. Can't go wrong. January 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and easy I have used Turbotax for years and its accurate and make life easy for filing your income taxes. February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feeling Better I will continue to use Turbo Tax. I have and will continue to recommend Turbo Tax to my friends. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A couple of screens suggest the return will not be accurate if you do not upgrade. THIS IS BALONEY!!!!! The calculations are still done correctly behind the scene. Also...please show me in detail how the tax is calculated, ie how much at regular rate, how much (Cap gain for instance) at reduced rate. June 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good It help me a lot to understand how to do my taxes and I didn't have to pay anyone to do it for me. March 18, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expensive! I feel that the original cost of the program is too high. I expected to pay extra to file state taxes but 39.99 for the form PLUS 19.99 to e-file?? At the very least, you should give a simple warning ON THE FRONT of the software package that it is going to cost a total of $80 to file your taxes this way. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quicker this year Explain this blocks that popup worked for me. Good explanations of what will happen next year. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by another year for cb used turbotax for many years now, don't know what I would do otherwise. has yet to let me down February 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Tax Preparer. Found it easy. Turbo tax was a little more expensive than I though it was going to be but it was really easy. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great software Have used Turbo-Tax for 10 years and will continue as long as they continue the fine service! February 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy Filing The software made it real easy to file the return. I especially liked the guided instructions. February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy If quick and easy is the way you like to prepare your taxes then this is the product for you! February 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Slick no problems loading last years data then adding this years numbers & filing went smoothly! January 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2010 Turbo Tax Review Probably as good as it gets for a layman's interpretation of our incredibly complex tax code. January 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by As always a quick and easy way to do my taxes. I have used Turbo tax for at least 10+ years. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax! I have used Turbo Tax for the past 8 years and I love it! It is so easy to use and has helped me to get the most back on my return. I will continue to use Turbo Tax in the future. I have recommended it to many friends and family members. Thank you Turbo Tax for helping me with my taxes for the past 8 years! February 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accurate and dependable I've been using Turbo Tax for many years as I find it easy to use, accurate and dependable. February 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Renaming the levels for the tax packages was very confusing. I purchased the wrong version but did not know it until I started working on the return. Had to purchase another more expensive version. Cost me double what I paid last year. I will probably switch to H&R Block for next year to get a better deal. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved It and Did It Fast Loved the experience and I couldnt have asked for a better or faster way to file my taxes February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Filing Easy to follow guidelines, fast filing. Will use Turbo Tax again to file federal tax return. April 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by After purchasing the 2013 version to do taxes for that year I was disappointed to find out that I could not use the efile because air message says deadline to use efile is oct 2014. no where on the box does it indicate this. Why sell this product if you cant use the efile which is why I originally purchased it. October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made life very easy this made it very easy for us to walk through doing our taxes ourselves for the first time. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by gordon return 2015 I like Turbo Tax but still prefer H & R Block. I can get through their session much easier. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by overall i really liked it it was easy too so therfore i may just use it next year as well March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like it. I like the easy, intuitive format. It takes the anxiety and hassle out of filing taxes. February 23, 2015
  • 2015-11-27 T11:39:13.556-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_677, tr_677
  • loc_en_US, sid_600_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.