TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 6 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 676 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Year after year filing was simple, and fast again. Although it was a little frustrating entering a small amount of lottery winnings.. TrboTx kept wanting me to get a $40. upgrade that I did not need. Of course I'll be back nxt yr. Thanks, BJr February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Turbo Tax Before I retired I did the taxes for an insurance company and the program they bought was H & R Block. I found it very hard to use and much prefer Turbo Tax. January 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Had to work harder than in past. There are way too many other tax software companies to use. I have used "Basic" for more years than I can remember at the cost of approximately $20. You should be giving me a discount for staying with you instead of jacking your price by $30+. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick & easy return Finished return in short period of time, as I have for the past several years. Never a problem and will continue to use Turbo Tax for the foreseeable future January 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weird charges I got 3 charges 19.99, 34.99, 39.99. It didn't explain and was very vague on what the charges are for. I still will take my taxes in and get a second look. March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TurboTax Is a Life Saver! With my mother and brother dying last year, I was not looking forward to filing income tax. TurboTax and all their support staff helped me get through it. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by still the best tax software I have been a self preparer for 20+ years and Turbo Tax has been with me all the way, excellent package and easy to use and understand, better every year. April 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Frustrating I will do it on paper before I will use turbo tax again. It has been several years since i used turbo tax. In that time period it has evolved to trust us, rather than being a tool for me to understand the impact of changes and to verify the data. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Filing made easy Filing my taxes were fast and easy. TurboTax figured everything checked and doubled checked all entries. Makes me feel secure that everything is correct. January 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Received Refund I like how it walks you thru all the steps and makes sure you are getting all the money you possible can. If you are not sure about something, you can click next to the question and it will explain it to you in simple terms. This was the third time I used Turbo Tax and the first time I seen charges when I was ready to file them. That was a disappointment. The charges for e-file and State filling should be told up front. They had only one of these charges on the back of the cd cover. February 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by State Tax I live in Florida so I don't need to file a state tax return. When Turbo Tax if I'd like to continue/purchase the state option, it would be nice if there was an option to choose whether I need it or not then continue the federal return from that point. ie: "Would you like to file a state return? Please choose a state: Florida. Thank you, you don't need to file a state return. Press continue to finish with your federal return." Still a good thing for me as I do my own tax preparation. January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by basic turbo tax i liked it alot. wasnt sure i wanted to do my own taxes this year but i did. I usually go to h/r block or jackson hewitt. this was easier and cheaper. February 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and Easy Have used TurboTax for years and always find it a great product to use. It removes the hassle of massive paperwork and assures me an accurate filing. February 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2014 taxes I like the fact that it walks you through everything step to step and if you made any mistakes it lets you know and you can go back and correct them January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1099-DIV You should say "Do you have interest and/or dividends" instead of just "Do you have interest" only. It changes the answer to the question sometimes. February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Survey it,s fast and puts everything in its place, all you have to do is enter the information, I could see a 10 year old doing taxes for his/her parents! February 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by After purchasing the 2013 version to do taxes for that year I was disappointed to find out that I could not use the efile because air message says deadline to use efile is oct 2014. no where on the box does it indicate this. Why sell this product if you cant use the efile which is why I originally purchased it. October 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have used Turbo Tax for many years and it has proven to be a welcome edition to my computer. Keep up the good work and we'll see you next year. April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was Freakin' Easy! I actually enjoyed the last 2 hours; and I've been putting this off since early January (today is 4/04/2015)!! Ok....I am getting $941.00 back. April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't be better We're in our 5th year with Turbo Tax and both feel that it is one of the best bargains around. Turbo Tax takes the angst out of tax season. March 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by car tax deduction missing I thought the taxes on a large ticket item (automobile) would have a tax advantage. Should also show total fees and price options up front. March 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax was easy and fast and helped to understand filing taxed. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Painless as it can be... Very easy to use, inexpensive to buy and well worth an hour. I'll keep better records to make use of the software and get better returns. April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Quick!! Customer service was wonderful over the phone. She helped me the best way she could. I will be able to do this for sure year after year! January 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad Basic version I didn't like the idea of advertisements saying i needed to upgrade from basic to Premier when I had a certain level of capital gains. i looked at the the actual forms and found Schedule D (in TurboTax Basic) was being filled in as I intended. I also received an advertisement for TurboTax deluxe when I wanted to use itemized deductions versus the standard deduction. Again TurboTax Basic was correctly filled out with my itemized deductions. When I filed my tax return, I verified that these schedules were also included. I have used TurboTax Basic for many years and never had to upgrade for the schedules. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kool Really enjoyed doing my taxes for the first time in my life. January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great Turbo Tax is so easy to use. Makes doing our taxes a breeze. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used Turbo Tax for years...Love it!!! I love Turbo Tax! I'm 71 and believe me it is easy to use. Tried another program ONCE. Never again. Turbo Tax is the best for Seniors. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superbed Job I have been using Turbo Tax for the last 15+ years. Never had any problems and have had great success with Turbo Tax. Keep it coming. February 15, 2015
  • 2015-10-08T12:53:04.053-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_676, tr_676
  • loc_en_US, sid_600_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.