TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 5 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.5 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 201 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo 15 Fast. Easy. Covers eveything I needed. January 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy again this year I enjoy using Turbo Tax every year February 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Taxes are Simple with TurboTax Making taxes as simple as possible to do January 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast, easy to follow I have used this program for years. January 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A little ;lengthy this time I would use it over and over January 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Software I have been using it for years January 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Have been using for many years January 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fair Taxes Due February 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Guided This process is quick and easy. You can get done in about 2-3 hours even if you itemize your deductions... The worst part is gathering all needed information prior to sitting down to get it done. Turbo Tax talks you through the process and you're able to identify errors when they occur. Make sure to have all the papers you need with you so that the process can run smoothly. The negative for me is that you must pay for your state's efiling. Honestly that shouldn't be the case since you pay for the programs already. Just like the federal, you should be able to efile for free. February 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Status quo excellent results as expected annually February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy as can be January 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bada Bing, Bada Boom February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Made everything sooo simple. January 27, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could be easier January 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great job year after year! January 27, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stressed Out Every time Turbotax had a pop-up and asked me to access my "keyChain" and I declined, all I would get is the"pinwheel" on my iMac. There wasn't any close button on the pop-up. I had to force a power off numerous times to close down my computer and start TurboTax again. This happened at least 6 times. Very stressful. I've used TurboTax for the last 12 years and I'm thinking I may try something else next year. January 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used for years! I have used Turbo Tax to file our return for years, never had an audit or even less money back. Over about 18 years I got back more money than I was expecting once, due to an overlooked item on my part. With each year bring more new taxes and "special situations" I always dread trying to find out where to enter the new information, but using the step by step format in Turbo Tax I always come through unscathed and it turns out to be a lot easier than I thought! I would def. recommend their product to everyone, and I have. February 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you so much First of all, I got a way bigger refund than expected. Second, it was so easy I only had to ask my mom a few questions. The best part was, I was told more than one time, I mean MANY times that I filled out the information correctly. The cool thing was, I wasn't even the one who filled it out. It was actually my awesome work who filled out the information. But thank you for making me feel that I can do at least something right. Regards, Bruce February 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy to understand :) We have used Turbo Tax for 6 yrs. I am so Thankful for this program. It is very stressful and nerve racking when doing taxes. I liked being able to flag a page when I needed to stop and return later. You Guys make it so much better. Knowing you will let us know if error is made , makes us feel more secure that we can fix it and do it right. Thank You so much. We will continue to use Turbo Tax and continue to spread the good word. God Bless! The Penn Family January 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Its Easy I have used Turbo Tax since 2003 for my small business. Really helped me file my taxes each year and would bring in the information from the past year for me. This year I got the Basic Turbo Tax since we sold our business I didn't think I needed the Business Turbo Tax. However, we had one problem with depreciation figures that the Basic Turbo Tax didn't pull and help. So I found out I should have again purchased the Small Business Turbo Tax to file my taxes. January 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wouldn't use anything else Filing my taxes couldn't be easier. It pulls my W-2 and mutual fund information in from the source, and makes it easy to enter charitable contributions. Gives me the option of going through every possible line item for income and deductions so I don't miss anything, or lets me choose to review the options myself which really speeds up the process when I know exactly what needs to be entered. I like the opportunity to compare this year's figures with last year's, helps avoid mistakes. I don't have need for heavy duty tax help, no self-employment or complicated stock transactions, but I have in the past and TurboTax always came through then, too. January 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Documents completed Having used turbo for the past 10 years, I have become very accustomed to its format. Easy to follow with few opportunities to make errors, a choice to follow its line of questioning or selecting the areas that you wish to work on. The printouts are easy to obtain. My only problem with TurboTax is with its software updates, it installed the same update 3 times before it took effect, very unusual. Each time I started the software, it would repeat the same update. Overall, its your best option for filing taxes. I wish it was cheaper since all I need is a Basic version. I've never had to contact customer service, that's a plus for me, other than that, it could be 5 stars January 25, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good with some annoying parts I have used TurboTax for many years. It works fine for me (I have a pretty simple tax situation). Two things about this software continue to annoy me. First, I use very complex strong passwords on my online accounts and while TurboTax allows me to paste my account names, it does not allow me to paste my passwords. This is VERY annoying and there is no good reason for it. Second (and I have complained about this forever), I live in Florida and there is no state income tax, yet TurboTax asks multiple times if I want to spend $40 on their state tax program. This year it even started by saying I most likely didn't need to file state taxes, yet asked me at least three times if I wanted to buy their software that would be a complete waste of money for me. These two problems with the software really need to be fixed! January 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time User I am a first time user. Usually I spend hundred's of dollars every year to file with a tax preparer and this year I said what the heck let me try turbo tax. So I would love to say when filing I didn't have really no issues besides there was a few things that took me a little longer because I have to get the health insurance form and then I had to figure out some security questions for the IRS but other than that very easy to navigate and very informative and I loved it. I would recommend this turbo tax to all my friends and family. It saves you money and not only that saves you time from having to have someone else do it and know everything about you. For my first time using this it did take me a little time on doing it, and I was super scared I would mess it up that's why I never wanted to do my own taxes I was afraid I would mess it all up. When I tried it I was wowed and very impressed on how easy it was. Thank you Turbo Tax this is the best! January 30, 2016
  • 2016-02-11 T06:41:10.364-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_201, tr_201
  • loc_en_US, sid_600_2015, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free

Security is built into everything we do
Here's how
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Free 1040EZ/A + Free State offer only available with TurboTax Federal Free Edition; Offer may change or end at any time without notice. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Savings and price comparisons based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Savings and price comparison based on anticipated price increase expected 3/18/16. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $X.XX Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support vary by time of year.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available via phone for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2014 TurboTax products.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Benefit Assist users who received one or more federal or state benefits received on average $576 (based on survey March-June 2015). Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.