TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 5 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 676 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have used Turbo Tax for many years, never any complaints. Just wondering why the tax software is cheaper in the store than being a TurboTax customer and receiving my copy automatically? slightly more expensive (No biggy) February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My experience Been using for a very long time. Had to buy a new Mac finally because this version required an OS my old Mac did not support. I'm back after a year away and very happy to return. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by /first time user I have never done my taxes before but decided to try this year because they are fairly simple. I am glad I chose Turbo as it was easy to follow and I will use it again next year. March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by smooth and thorough Started using Turbo Tax many years ago when my return was complex. Now it is simpler but I am hooked on the thoroughness of the program. The explanations are easy to understand. March 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes taxes so simple! I've been using Turbo Tax for years and plan to in the future as well. It's simple to use, accurate, and they help me find ways to increase my refund. With the free electronic filing, my refund gets back to me very quickly. January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by so easy Totally easy to use, love that my info is stored January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax - love it We have used Turbo Tax for years - no complaints January 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy To Use!! Turbo Tax really made filing taxes this year soo easy and inexpensive. My first year filing as a student> I was woorried about complicated forms. Turbo Tax was soo Easy t Use!! February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by perhaps an explanation of changes that would affect previous year to current year. When a large variance exists but no significant changes had occurred, why the large variance? February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Clear Much easier than what other people told me. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by first time user of turbo tax and it was simple. it was truly easy. i didn't have a lot of deductions so my refund was quick. there seemed to be help windows for each step. i'm glad that i finally decided to do my own taxes. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easier Than Ever Ive been using Turbo Tax for years and this year found it more simple than ever for some reason. I also liked how you made it personal and specific to my information, not wasting time reviewing things that didn't apply to me. February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! A Real Blessing! I have been using Turbo Tax for a few years now. I feel confident that I have been able to file my own taxes and save money on preparation costs. I highly recommend Turbo Tax! January 31, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Worst! Turbo Tax software doesn't automatically update. My information was lost when i tried updating, luckily it was saved on my computer. This happened last year as well, and makes the already stressful process even more irritating. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely DISSATISFIED I paid for the program . Then I was charged $42 just to be able to see my state taxes and then you wanted to charge me again to file. I have used Turbo tax numerous times and I will never use it again. I am beyond disappointed. April 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Fast I would recommend this to everyone that is just filing an EZ return. No need to pay the HR Block and others as this is much cheaper and lets you understand what is going on. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by UNBLOCKED TRIED THE REST TURBO'S THE BEST! February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by needed help...got excellent help frm HEATHERDETAIL MADE LIFE EASIER WITH THE MESS March 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by TurboTax Basic if you need to look over your deductions save yourself time and purchase the Deluxe version. Basic gets it done but leaves you questioning if your inputted your Health Savings Accounts information correctly. I had to go through the forms to figure out how they work in the Basic version. TurboTax needs a upgrade option for customers that should have bought deluxe instead of basic. February 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by dissapointed!! I was very upset at the way the Basic package was prepared. Will probably not purchase Turbo tax next year. I will use one of the free services or a competitor product. February 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by fast and easy and good customer service this was my second year using turbo tax. i encountered a small problem and fortunately when i called the customer service they were able to expeditiously resolve it. February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not bad for $10 Good product for filing $10 EZ return- done in 20 mins. Saves me a few hours of going over tax instructions. Did a good job getting covering all the student credits. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy Turbo Tax is a great way to file your own taxes without spending a large amount of money. It is quick and easy to use with step by step instructions that help through the entire process. I will definitely use Turbo Tax again next year. February 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by what happened? We filed our taxes a week ago. Everything looked fine. Tenth year we've used Turbo Tax. Today we went in to check our return status only to find Turbo Tax had not filed our taxes. We had to go through the last few steps again. Not happy. February 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unable to print return - error message stating that Turbo Tax is already installed and need to remove it. Unable to view or print returns. Six hours of installing and uninstalling.....just to obtain a print copy....what a waste of time. April 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy day!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I've never filed my taxes by myself, I've always went to Jackson Hewitt because I didn't know it could have been this simple. Using Turbo Tax was quick and easy! January 27, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Alternative Min Tax Check Removed I've been using Turbo Tax basic almost since it was released. This year, I could not check alternative minimum taxes without upgrading to the Deluxe version. I don't think so. I will be looking for a new tax preparation company next year. March 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to prervious editions In 2012, 2013 you had a great program. It fell apart this year. The 2014 tax year version did not include forms for "Coverdell" accounts. Even though I got a nice letter from the Turbo-Tax when I tried to get the forms it led me in circles. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got it done in one night Not a first time filer, but first time on my own in a new state, so my needs were very basic and didn't need anything more than the basic package. The program is easy to use and I got my taxes done in one night when I didn't intend to start. January 31, 2015
  • 2015-10-06T11:24:10.876-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_676, tr_676
  • loc_en_US, sid_600_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.