TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 3 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worthless I've always used 'Basic.' Had good luck with it Had a hard time finding it this year. Found out why... I thought I had found it and bought it, but it wasn't 'basic,' it was EZ. Anyway, that's going to be my last Turbo Tax purchase. Too bad March 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by return have use turbotax for years and this is the first year that I have to spend another $39.99 for state taxes they have always been included before this is wrong February 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Basic rating I was a professional tax preparer until my health demanded that I close my business. I had heard good things about Turbo Tax but I will NOT use it next year. It's tendency to write over information from a previous return is frustrating. When you ask for a NEW return that is what you should get, not the software thinking you want to continue with the last one you worked on. I have a large family and still do about 12 returns so this kind of nonsense is unacceptable. I don't have time to reenter a family's information several times. February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped me navigate my 1st refund filing experience This is the first time I've submitted my taxes by myself and it was made a whole lot easier by using Turbo Tax, as my dad attested to me when I asked him a couple questions/clarifications. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy step-by-step process I felt so comfortable and peaceful using my TurboTax to file my tax return. This program leaves no stone unturned and e-filing is easy with TurboTax. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product, but........ I've been using the Basic Turbo Tax program since 2004 and was very disappointed that this year, the Basic program was NOT available online. That meant I had to start all over and did not have my past years history continue. I have a very basic return and it is unfair for me to be penalized for not using the deluxe version. Not fair to long term customers. February 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by "Free" Filing for $60 I knew I would have to pay to file for State, but the price wasn't advertised anywhere. It cost $40 to download the State tax forms, and then another $20 to actually file the "free filing" for State taxes. Using the free H&R block federal return with an extra $10 to purchase the state return would have been much more cost effective, but it was too late at that point. February 25, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by junk used for years with no problems. have 2 programs and both are horible. charged me online for turbo tax after I already bought it at walmart. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by All in all a good product,especially after you use it once and realize if you make a mistake it is easy to correct and not lose your data. April 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nickeled and Dimed Bought basic product, needing nothing else for Federal. Was surprised -unpleasantly- to find that the State is now >$40 and then another $20 to file the bloody thing. Really? $60 more for State filing and software?! Would you have charged this much if I'd bought Deluxe? January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and fast I've used Turbotax for years and love it but this year it wouldn't let me enter my wife's 1099R so I had to enter it under mine. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use! This is my first time using TurboTax, but I will definitely continue to use it! It isn't complicated at all and it constantly offers you help if you don't understand something. I highly recommend it! March 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Since I don't have a complicated filing. it is nice to have a source to use and do it without going to another person. I did wait until late due to getting all those sorry emails early on you sent out. April 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hidden fees! While trying to do my taxes, NO WHERE on the box does it say you have to pay to send state taxes separately from federal. That is ridiculous and it's very upsetting. I will NEVER use TurboTax again. April 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Changes to Turbo tax This 2014 product was very restricted on what forms the various products were allowed to work with. Last year's product included all the forms required to properly file your taxes. This is the product I know and hope Intuit will make sure that it is there for next year. I heard the company promised to clean things up and make sure that customers will have the product they are used to and that brought them to Turbo Tax in the first place. February 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Down load failed System returned an unexpected runtime error, for every attempt, The downloaded fix did not fix my program. Had to find and download manually. It leaves me wondering if I filled the updated return. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Close to Perfect I use TurboTax every year, and never had a problem until this time. The disc tried to download necessary updates but failed a couple times. Next morning it worked fine. Maybe it was the TurboTax website that was having trouble? Don't know, but its still the best tax preparation option by far. When I called on the phone for help, the lady who answered was absolutely amazing and stayed with me every step of the way. I highly recommend this product. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very satisfied I found this very easy to follow. Everything was explained as I went along. I have used TurboTax the last 9 years and I will continue to use it as long as I have to file. February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Suggested Enhancement With regards to the State tax portion of Turbo Tax, there needs to be an option for those of us who live in a state that does not have State Income Tax to select and skip all the other questions. January 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Takes the pain out of doing taxes! I use to dread tax season. I had to make an appointment with our tax man, take time out of my day to go to the appointment, and then pay the tax man to do our taxes. Now it is quick, easy, and inexpensive! February 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always simple and to the point. I like being able to hit 'info' or 'learn more' to find what a particular field means. Makes doing my taxes easy. February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and Easy! Thank you for the easy to use software for completing my return. I love how I can get the Simple version for $10 at my place of employment, than another $1 off with my employee discount. Thanks! February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Never used anything else always right on! As "i stated before I've never used anything but Turbo Tax and I am always amazed at the ease that it does everything. you just input the data and right away you have completed your tax return. February 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but... Great overall but I miss the Forms link. Not quite as user friendly as previous versions. Keep it simple. February 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review and Comment re State Filing I did not want to use/download the state filing program but somehow I downloaded it and now I'm charged for it. I chose to use a less expensive program. Unless I can get it refunded, I'm stuck with the charge. April 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thank you! I have been using the TurboTax program for the last 20+ years. This program is and easy inexpensive tool to achieve completing your taxes vs. going to a tax service that overcharges to achieve the same results. February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Basic Refund Complete Good product. I am relative easy, basic salary, taxes, kids, donations and retirement, so this is what I need. Another Con: Would not accept an oversea phone number, if filing from overseas. April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by FILE EASY TAXES I HAD A FEW QUESTIONS ABOUT SOME AREAS THAT I WAS UNSURE OF. I CALLED AND TURBO TAX REPRESENTATIVES ARE ALWAYS PATIENT ON THE PHONE. THEY ARE WELL TRAINED. THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE ASSISTANCE. ANOTHER GREAT YEAR! April 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by had some trouble I could not get my state tax forms to print out without the Do Not File wording all over the pages; I efiled the Federal with no trouble but thought since I only got $80 back on State I would save the $19.99 filing fee by mailing it in. But It would not print the final copy no matter how many times I went in to complete the state and select File by Mail and Print. So Frustrated, especially since Now you are offering FREE efile of State taxes. Very upset about this. I've always used Turbo tax but this year I didn't appreciate this difficulty. January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by As a 92 year old iMac user: A1 I'll use TTX next year--if our tax accountant wont throw souse and me out!! (Seeing TT pages in an accountants office must get " XX- beep-beep" words from ALL--less hours and $$ for them!!) April 9, 2015
  • 2015-07-04T11:14:56.999-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_673, tr_673
  • loc_en_US, sid_600_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.