TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 2 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 675 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Turbo Charged After 15 years of using Turbo Tax I never thought I would be disappointed but I really am. The Basic program from last year and this year is far different and has changed so much that it is almost unbelievable. No forms view, no year to year preview and way too simplistic. I will probably be looking for alternatives next year. February 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shocked by cost I have used TurboTax Basic for many years. However, this year just because of a small amount of mutual fund sales I would have to buy the Premier version for $70. I did not do so and went out and bought Taxcut. I will not buy TurboTax unless this is changed. February 27, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Would like forms For someone who has experience preparing taxes like myself, I like to view the forms as input the data. I could only do this by going to the print menu. It was uncomfortable doing this. I know what I I should be seeing. I guess I would have to upgrade and for the price, it's not worth it. I've used Turbo Tax for years and just did not like the basic package. February 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy but Expensive A very quick and easy way to get taxes out of the way, but, in my opinion I am being taken advantage of price wise. $62.24 to get state and e-file will make me weigh my options next year!!!! February 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by WISH THEY WOULD STOP TRYING TO GET YOU TO PAY FOR SERVICES THAT SHOULD BE FREE. January 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by gettin pricey while it did work well its not the deal it used to be got friends that got taxes done at a c p a for about same money January 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mays Review Still confused on whether "Basic" had all the forms needed. Was updated a couple of times, but when I got to one section, it was stated I needed "Deluxe". However, when I continued, it allowed me to file the return. March 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Really Thank you for making sure I had to pay for every singe time TurboTax had to verify or accept a document that was crucial in completing my taxes. 39.99 plus tax to start my state tax, 19.99 to file my federal, plus whatever state charged to file my taxes. Not mentioning the fact I had to buy the program to use it. Three Times State charged me throughout the process of doing my state taxes. There is no need for that! No Need for it at all!! February 1, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Basic 2014 The 1040 Basic was all I needed since I did not have enough deductions to exceed the standard deductions. It was suggested I enter itemized deductions to check if I needed to use another product; decided that could not hurt. I entered deductions after working them up and sure enough I did not need any product except BASIC. However, when I got to the end of the return, it REQUIRED ME TO PURCHASE DELUXE in order to efile since I had entered the deductions to check. Sorry *SS commitment to get me to purchase DELUXE. Also, it required me to purchase GA STATE TAX product in order to efile and it made me purchase it TWICE!! If I required the DELUXE, 1 state should have been free. February 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT GOING TO USE TURBO TAX ANYMORE I PURCHASED A DOWNLOAD SO MY RETURN INFO WOULD STAY ONLY ON MY COMPUTER. I DON'T WANT TO BE CONNECTED TO THE INTERNET TO PRINT MY RETURN. February 15, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Way over priced, should not have gotten My mom get me this, I could have done all of this with the same features other places for just $10.00 instead of the $90.00 she spent. January 24, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mad for the first time unable to file my state taxes. NO MORE TURBO TAX!!!!! February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for beginners! I love TurboTax was very easy to use and it helped me understand what I was entering and why. Also, hope to use it next year and have much more savings! They also went over the health care stuff that I was not aware of!! Thanks TurboTax!! February 9, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Finally finished I think the e-file ha gone through, but the print was so small, it makes me question it. I'll have to double check. Please return to prior year screens and directions. Customer support was excellent. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy I was hoping this would be easy and boy was it. I'm so thankful that I found this software, it saved me a ton of time and the expense of having to pay someone to do it for me. Thanks for a great product. April 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Renaming the levels for the tax packages was very confusing. I purchased the wrong version but did not know it until I started working on the return. Had to purchase another more expensive version. Cost me double what I paid last year. I will probably switch to H&R Block for next year to get a better deal. February 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by gthru your charges upfront would be alot more honest in my opion. a simple tax return and so far we have spent $75 and could have spent more. not happy January 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboFast! Fast and easy. I highly recommend Turbotax for my friends and family. I have done Turbotax for the last two years and I don't plan to do my taxes any other way. The only downside is the price of the filings. March 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by many forgotten questions I paid you 39.99 to file my state after purchasing the software at a tax store. then was charged another 19.99 plus tax for efiling and as I made under the same filing amount that I made last year I was given 558 dollars for a state and fed refund when last year I had over 1339.00 I was not asked any of the questions about my firefighting volunteering or anything of that nature or half the questions for extra credits . I have ALWAYS USED Turbo Tax prior to this year. Next Year I will go to H and R Block for my tax preps it didnt even ask me one thing about a life chage such as a new job . January 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by You had a bad year It's clear from the horrendous publicity that Intuit's previously well-regarded niche is anything but. One hopes that Intuit will not only restore what it has taken away, but add more to its basic program, cut its standard price and find better ways to entice renewals and newcomers. At stake is a generation of potential users. February 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Surprises in store I have used TurboTax every year since the 1990's. I like how handy it is to import my information from previous tax years so I am not having to re-enter the same thing year after year. So to my surprise this year, as I am trying to enter schedules. it pops up and gives me ONLY the option to not take a valuable deduction or pay for one of the various upgrades. So TurboTax is not interested in getting consumers the deductions they deserve, they are only interested in making consumers pay for upgrades they never needed until this year. Congratulations TurboTax, this is my last year using you. I don't like the surprise of being forced to pay big upgrade fees when 95% of my return is complete. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by DoTaxesAlone My past tax preparer let his office people do the return and made many mistakes. I don't think I'll make any more than his people did. January 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I encountered all of the same frustrations with Basic Turbo Tax as others. Not as user friendly as all of the other years that I have used Basic. I am a CPA and have prepared taxes for years. I don't need Deluxe or Premium versions to prepare a return. I just need to be able to access forms and input data as easily as possible. Please revert back to the old versions of Basic. Thanks February 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Enough with the charges After several years of using TurboTax Deluxe, I switched back this year to TurboTax Basic, thinking it would be cheaper. After all, I don't have a complicated tax situation right now. I just need to file a 1040A. It was cheaper at first, but then I had to spend $40 to buy my state and $20 to file my state. I end up spending $75 in all for a couple of really basic tax returns. I've been using this software since it was MacInTax. Come on, Intuit. I like TurboTax, but nickel and dime a longtime customer like that, and this longtime customer will be switching to H&R Block next year. February 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed I used H&R Block in previous years and found it much easier. First Turbo Tax was unable to import my H&R Block information so I needed to manually input all information. Second Turbo Tax would not allow me to input my alimony information. Third I want to file by mail and Turbo Tax did not print out any information as to where I mail my tax return. Very disappointed with this tax software. February 17, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointed I have been using TurboTax for years, this is the first year that I had reason to be disappointed. -Menu choices were not as detailed as in the past. I could not drill down to specific pages that I needed to work on or review. Having to hit the back button 10 times is a very poor option compared to detailed menu choices! -The software (Turbotax Basic 2014) would not let me print my completed return forms no matter what I did. Nor would it let me convert them to a PDF so I could print from that. I constantly got a "Retrieving Forms" screen that would lock up. January 22, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Will not be receiving a 1095a. For a partial family coverage I have an ECN number. Turbotax does not have an area to enter I will not be receiving a 1095a. IRS will hold a partial of my refund until they can get more information on why i did not submit the 1095a. February 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by gordon return 2015 I like Turbo Tax but still prefer H & R Block. I can get through their session much easier. February 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not too pleased this year I felt like this year there were hidden fees and last year, I more less paid a flat rate. Of course, there is a fee for State, but I remember it being around $10. I do not remember paying for a processing fee or e-file fee. I choose to do my own taxes because it cost effective and very easy, but finding out that I would be responsible to pay $60 extra after buying the software seems overpriced. Next time, I will consider other software preparers. February 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tax refund Didn't like being told had to upgrade in the middle of entering my tax returns. February 5, 2015
  • 2015-09-02T11:16:01.862-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_675, tr_675
  • loc_en_US, sid_600_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.