TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 2 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.2 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 677 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Suggested Enhancement With regards to the State tax portion of Turbo Tax, there needs to be an option for those of us who live in a state that does not have State Income Tax to select and skip all the other questions. January 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by TurboFast! Fast and easy. I highly recommend Turbotax for my friends and family. I have done Turbotax for the last two years and I don't plan to do my taxes any other way. The only downside is the price of the filings. March 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Never used anything else always right on! As "i stated before I've never used anything but Turbo Tax and I am always amazed at the ease that it does everything. you just input the data and right away you have completed your tax return. February 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review and Comment re State Filing I did not want to use/download the state filing program but somehow I downloaded it and now I'm charged for it. I chose to use a less expensive program. Unless I can get it refunded, I'm stuck with the charge. April 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy but Expensive A very quick and easy way to get taxes out of the way, but, in my opinion I am being taken advantage of price wise. $62.24 to get state and e-file will make me weigh my options next year!!!! February 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thank you! I have been using the TurboTax program for the last 20+ years. This program is and easy inexpensive tool to achieve completing your taxes vs. going to a tax service that overcharges to achieve the same results. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by As a 92 year old iMac user: A1 I'll use TTX next year--if our tax accountant wont throw souse and me out!! (Seeing TT pages in an accountants office must get " XX- beep-beep" words from ALL--less hours and $$ for them!!) April 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT, GREAT, GREAT PROGRAM I have used Turbo Tax for 20+ years and all the folks I work with have changed to it over the years. Never had a problem with program. It is concise and easy to understand. Makes April 15th a lot easier to take. April 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Basic Refund Complete Good product. I am relative easy, basic salary, taxes, kids, donations and retirement, so this is what I need. Another Con: Would not accept an oversea phone number, if filing from overseas. April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rolled in My Refund! This was the easiest most convenient way I have ever filed my taxes. It was right from home, not running home to get something I forgot. GREAT JOB! I will stick with Turbo Tax from now on. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helped me navigate my 1st refund filing experience This is the first time I've submitted my taxes by myself and it was made a whole lot easier by using Turbo Tax, as my dad attested to me when I asked him a couple questions/clarifications. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My refund I have been using H&R Block for years and the store I went to buy a copy, they were out so I bought a copy of Turbo Tax instead. Good choice for me. I will buy Turbo Tax again next year. February 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Difficult to do a 1040X I've used Turbotax for 20 years or more but never for a 1040X. It was difficult to get the new 1040 and the old 1040 to compare since the old one from a relative was not done on Turbotax. June 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by First time user it went very well This was my first time using a software tax form. Although having nothing to compare it with I thought it went very well and quit fast. I can't imagine another product being much better. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Refund! I have been using this Turbo tax for many years, starting when it was called intuit. Over the years I've found the program very accurate and covers all tax issues. It also seems to get more user friendly each year. January 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mays Review Still confused on whether "Basic" had all the forms needed. Was updated a couple of times, but when I got to one section, it was stated I needed "Deluxe". However, when I continued, it allowed me to file the return. March 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Turbotax first timer Very easy to use to file your taxes. I did struggle to find out how to use the applicatiion to file more than one return ( my two sons). If not for that issue, I would have given 5 stars. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy!!!! I am so relieved! TurboTax made filing my taxes simple and stress free! WAY cheaper than having them done for me, too! I waited until the last minute, so was worried about getting my taxes done, but now I can relax! April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax 2014 Simple step-by-step easy-to-follow worksheet instructions. It took less than an hour to install the software and enter the information to complete the return. I used a Mac; I'm sure the Windows version is identical. March 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was very frustrating at the end that you couldn't just file taxes without having to say no to so many upgrades/endorcements/advertising - trying to get me to buy additional things. April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product to use I like using Turbo Tax as it pulls in previous return information and new years information quickly. It walks thru everything and makes the return process quick and un-eventful. It will be utilized for years to come. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great tax software year after year. I've used this software for several years and is has worked perfectly for me. Have been retired for a few years and still use the basic version as a great way to document the tax year. January 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by No taxation without representation Please be more clear on what the a student who goes to college out of state should indicate for their state of residence. I had to go back and change it. The "explain this" link was not helpful in these regards at all. March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for me! One of the few benefits of growing old is the simplification of taxes in retirement. For those of us that just need 'down and dirty', uncomplicated tax filing, this works just fine. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and quick I've used another company's software and found it to be less user friendly last year so bought TurboTax last year and gave up on the other software. This year I saved myself money--just got TurboTax and it was a breeze. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy as pie It was easy for my first time, their was a few things that I didn't understand what to put in for the amount like box 10,but you fix it for me.Then their is the state tax Tenn. doesn't have one. Thank you for your help. February 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perhaps you can include other retirement pays and not only IRAs, 401Ks, Civil Service and Railroad retirements. Additional choices would be easier to follow for people like me, otherise you have an outstanding product.. March 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Painful Filling individual forms was most helpful. Step by step method was somewhat confusing because it always went back to the very beginning after each entry.Maryland, just outside of w. April 11, 2015
  • 2015-11-25 T07:35:03.976-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_677, tr_677
  • loc_en_US, sid_600_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>

Ready to try TurboTax?

Sign Up
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.