TurboTax Basic CD/Download
Customer Ratings - Page 14 of Product Reviews

TurboTax Basic is tax software for simple tax returns. It is the easy way to prepare and file taxes online. efile taxes or print your IRS tax forms. Choose Easy.

Learn more

4.3 out of 5 average

Filter by product
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst time using turbo tax in 8 years I used Turbo Tax this year that I bought at Walmart. It was easy for the majority of the time, but there were several times when it would not clarify items, especially during the health insurance area, and many of the help buttons would not work so either they were dead links, or there was a glitch with my particular software. Also when I went to e-file it took me through the same page three times and made me redo the last part of the return each time. It was quite frustrating, and next year I will probably not use Turbo Tax because of these problems. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by H&R block almost tricked me! I was comparing features between H&R blocks self return software and Turbo tax. I was lured in by the additional %5 Target gift card I would receive, if i chose the H&R block over turbo tax and took the bait. After 20 minutes with the software I had had enough! It was no where near the simple process I had experienced years prior with turbo tax. I returned to the store I had just purchased it from and explained how confusing it was, and was given a turbo tax in exchange. I completed my return in about 30 minutes. I will never try another tax software. January 27, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hidden fees at every turn! I thought I would simplify this year by using Turbo Tax online. I paid to use their service, then paid to e-file. When I tried to file taxes for my kids, I was told I would have to buy a download of the software. They gave me a 50% discount on the Basic software. Nice, right? However, they didn't tell me that I would have to pay $40+ for the Utah State tax form and $25 to e-file my daughter's return. This will give her a $71 tax refund. The sad news is that I payed $75 for the right to use Turbo Tax to file her taxes. What a waste! I may not ever use this service again. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Again - Unreliable product After 10 yrs with TurboTax, I will not purchase it again. I paid $79 for the "Personal & Small Business" software which includes State return. However, the State Return would not load. Error message would be "Your State Software is up-to-date", but the State Return would not start. I then had to spend $39.99 additional on the download of MD State Returns to complete my tax return. After then paying $24.99 to E-file my State Return, Turbo Tax continued with error messages and would not file the return. I had to change to "mail return" option and print out my State Return. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Turbo Tax Makes Taxes Easy! Turbo tax the program is great and easy to use. It makes doing your taxes a complete breeze and that is why I use it. However, when you buy the program at the store, you pay lots of extra fees for the state then the filing fees so in the end it costs way more than you think it would. Wish there was some upfront way they would tell you these things before you purchase the product especially when they were giving the state away for free online but not to customers who were downloading it. :-(. Oh well. I still love the product. It is the best there is for doing your taxes making easy breezy. February 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by I have used Turbo Tax for probably 5 years or more. Each year you believe you are simplifying your questons but I find your instructions are not very easy to follow. Put my coursor on an item and nothing happens. Trying to file a return and I have spent time and energy trying to file and still have not been able to file electronicly. It appears you want a state form to be filed when there is no need for one to be filed. I used to be able to file my state return for free when i had a business, plus property. I have a very simple return and should have completed the return by hand and mailed it in. Which I shall do next year. April 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Easy To File My Taxes First, I really enjoyed not having to pay for my taxes, to be filed! Secondly, The process of breakdown of "how to file". The walk through of, how to file , and what to file first, from start to finish; made it so much easier, comfortable, and gave me a sense of confidence, in filing my income taxes! Finally, an overall feeling of satisfaction, and achievement of filing my income taxes, myself, is a great feeling of truly "being independent". To the Turbo Tax Team/Developers Staff etc. Excellent, Outstanding, and just Great job in providing a system, that even a simple guy like me can understand and follow! Thank you so much Turbo Tax! April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Edward P is the hero of the day Kudos to Edward P who went above and beyond to help me get my taxes filed. I was at wits end trying to get them filed but nothing worked. He walked me through as I limped along to follow his instructions. He was very patient working with me until a solution was found. I was sent a downloadable file which updated the information I already entered. It worked like a charm much to my relief. Please make sure his boss knows what a wonderful asset he is to your company. Thank you again. In this day and age this kind of customer service is rare which makes it even more appreciated. Just goes to show that human contact makes all the difference. April 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fastest refund All and all is a good piece of software. Would recommend to anyone who has never done there own return before. Although it costs money if you want to complete your state return and e-file it as well. But the but the total of $54.93 which covers the cost of the software + the state e-file and free federal e-file. Its still cheaper than the $80 or more that you would pay to have a professional do it for you. Although I have done my returns by hand in the past and sent them through the US postal service. The results are the same. Still get the same refund. Doing with Turbo tax I get my refund 2 to 3 months sooner than sending it through the US Postal Service. January 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Difficult this year to understand where the State Form are. All the other years the State forms where included in the CD that held the Federal Forms. There was, also included one St Filing, this year I had to find the forms and buy them. The cost for buying forms, filing, etc cost me quite a bit more. I am concerned about the increased cost - will have to really think about using Turbo next year! If I have to pay this much maybe it is just as good to go directly to a person preparing taxes and they electronically file free. The cost for use of Turbo has gone up to much - really, why do you separate the forms and then charge me more for each use - and I am not even doing the long forms!!! March 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by AWFUL! Have used Turbo Tax for may years and always had no problems with it. This year, it was nothing short of awful. I t seemed to ask me all sort of questions, that I could see no reason for asking! The printouts after I finished were very poor. After, I went through all of the steps to e-file and everything seemed to be OK, I got info that it had not been filed. So, I went back and filed again!!! I got charged for filing 2 State returns. I had "filed" 3 returns (MD, ID, NY). I had lived for part of the year in each of these states. I believe the amount charged was 29.95 each. Earlier when I first signed onto Turbo Tax, it had charged me $127.57. ?????? I am not tax dumb! I retired from the IRS! And, I managed a Jackson Hewitt office for 3 years. April 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 30 Years of TurboTax I have been using TurboTax (and MacIntax) for 30 years. At least I think that is the number. I started the first year MacIntax came out. I was a sales rep for Apple. MacIntax provided me with several copies to distribute to other key sales reps in the region. I believe that those reps drove huge sales for the program. And, if I am the example, hundreds of people are still using TurboTax as a result. I have lived in four states over this period of time, owned and sold five homes and on income property. I have worked for five corporations and formed two companies. I am now retired and have to deal with SSA and the Health Insurance Marketplace. TurboTax saw me thru all of these life changes and continues to match my every need. I'm back to 1040EZ these days, but Intuit was there for every need of complicated returns. Thank you! April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple Tax Preparation My experience with TurboTax goes back a few years but will not be typical for many users. The reason is that I am now retired and only get finances from a Pension and SS. I do not own a home and do not have any significant money, meaning more than a @1000 in a savings account. So for me I only need to use the 1040EZ forms for my state and federal returns. It would have been quicker if the program had been able to access the 2013 return but I had to enter the information myself even though basically not much had changed. I would recommend this program to anyone who has very little deductions that are not complicated. The price is somewhat deceiving as you get the Federal relatively cheap but the State program costs about three times as much. Then you have to pay another fee to Efile the State Tax forms. However, all said and done it is still a bit cheaper than going to Joe Cheap and have him do your simple taxes for $99 and leave his office feeling a little uneasy as to his credentials which are basically he is a MacDonalds server during the day... Ha ha ha. No offense to MacDonalds servers intended. March 25, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hidden Fee First of all, I love the product been using for two years now and had minimal problems. Very easy question setups and even easier information input methods. However, this year I have rated the program with only 2 stars because of a hidden fee. I have paid 14.95 for the basic version of the program given that I am only 21 with relatively uncomplex tax information. Federal info was added and filed without any hassle. State info was another story, to finish my state taxes I have paid an additional 64.98 (39.99 for T.T. state info set up, which was basically a copy and paste of federal info into state forms, and 24.99 for state info filing), to bring the final total of a complete tax submission to 79.93 not including tax. I remember the state info filing fee of 24.99 from the previous year, but the state info set up fee of 39.99 is new to me. T.T. does give you the option to not purchase the state info setup but does not allow for manual inputting of state info. This may be due to filing limitations of CA, but it would seem to me that there should be the option to input state info just like you do federal free of charge. April 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unhappy This is my 3rd year using Turbo Tax, and definitely my worst experience. I had bought the software at Best Buy for simple 1040EZ/A a downgrade from last year because I became a full-time student who doesn't work, has no kids and doesn't own any property. I knew I would get little to no money back, but for sake of filling I just wanted to get it out of the way. My first complaint was the program trying to get me to upgrade to Deluxe, which I didn't need, because I didn't have any itemized deductions. My second and third complaint had to deal with state filing. The hiccup on the program wouldn't let me pay the fee to start the state product. After I called to get a state product confirmation, I quickly finished up the state and had another box asking for the state e-filling confirmation number. On two separate occasions I needed to call to get the product key to finish my state taxes. The only upside of this whole issue is the employees at Turbo Tax giving me the product confirmation number over the phone were very nice, and quick. If I needed to wait any longer than 5 minutes, I would have given up and took my taxes elsewhere. Next year I will be on the fence if I decide to stay with Turbo Tax, and if I do I will not buy the program's CD rather I will download it from the website. April 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nickle and Dime I really like using turbo tax software. It is simple to use and quick. The biggest complaint is that they draw you in with a low price off the shelf and then hit you with a lot of not so small fees to file a return and get you a refund, especially for state returns. After they charge you a premium for the software, 21/2 times the original software price, to fill in the info that you have already given them. The thing that hurts is that after paying the fees I found that the software without, all of the help is available on the state DOR web site for free. There is than also a fee to transmit the file electronically, which is almost as much as the software. Then to top it all off, there is an additional fee to have them deduct there fees from you refund that is as much as the software. I am ok with a company making a profit on there products. I think that there should be some upfront info on the packaging that your total investment after you buy all of the other necessary software to file you taxes will be the same as if you want to see someone in person. This was a leaning experience for me. the reason I do my taxes my self is to save money. I could have gone to one of the big tax services for less money than I paid this year and would have had them stand behind me, in the event of an audit, without the 40 dollar additional fee April 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Improvements! I had always done my own taxes the long way with pencil and scratch pad at my side until about 15 to 20 years ago when I finally decided to take a chance and try using one of the electronic tax preparation systems. As I recall, I decided to try two programs and if I liked one over the other I would use that program. I don't remember having electronic filing available back then and I don't remember having any reviews available to help me in picking which program to use. I think Turbo Tax had the prettiest packaging so I when with that one as my top pick. I don't remember the other two or three programs that were available then. Before then and since about 1971, I had been doing taxes for me, my family, and friends by hand and couldn't see why anyone would want to pay someone to do their taxes when it was so easy just to do it yourself. The year doing taxes finally because a little complicated was the year I stopped being a regular stock trader and started being a do-it-yourself stock day trader. It had become difficult enough when I became a home owner with stock trades to keep track of. But things went crazy when I started day trading. Thanks to Turbo Tax, doing my taxes was as easy as "First In, First Out" accounting. I still do taxes for my family and friends, I just ask them to call me after they get a chance to buy their own copy of Turbo Tax. Thanks Turbo Tax -- For years on end I would have rated Turbo Tax as a Five Star program. But for about a year it seemed that the program writers wrote the program interface as if they were writing to experienced tax preparers. I know what I'm doing so I just continued on. The following two years the writers seems to be talking down to us. That I did not like, but I still needed a good tax program to do my taxes with and I had no time to try other tax programs. I'm glad I held on and continued using Turbo Tax. This year I have not found a thing I do not like about the program so I'm giving it Four Stars. And next year I'm sure I will feel better about once again rating Turbo Tax a Five Star program. Thanks for the good job. February 23, 2015
  • 2015-07-31T11:15:49.806-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-14, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_675, tr_675
  • loc_en_US, sid_600_2014, prod, sort_default
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14

Ready to try TurboTax?

Start for Free
* Important Offer Details and Disclosures
  • Try for Free/Pay When You File: TurboTax online and mobile pricing is based on your tax situation and varies by product. Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Special discount offers may not be valid for mobile in-app purchases.
  • TurboTax CD/Download products: Price includes tax preparation and printing of federal tax returns and free federal efile of up to 5 federal tax returns. Additional fees apply for efiling state returns. E-file fees do not apply to New York state returns. Prices subject to change without notice.
  • TurboTax Mobile: Actual prices are determined at the time of print or efile and are subject to change without notice. Come back here before you file to confirm that the price has not changed, especially if it's been a while since you downloaded this app.
  • Anytime, anywhere: Internet access required; standard message and data rates apply to download and use mobile app features and content. TurboTax mobile app devices supported include Android 4.1 and above, iOS 8 on iPhone 4s and above, and iPad 2.
  • Fastest refund possible: Fastest tax refund with efile and direct deposit; tax refund timeframes will vary.
  • Pay for TurboTax out of your federal refund: A $34.99 Refund Processing Service fee applies to this payment method. Prices are subject to change without notice.
  • About our TurboTax Product Experts: Customer service and product support (phone or chat) vary by time of year. Phone support not included with Free Edition.
  • About our credentialed tax experts: Live tax advice service is available for your toughest tax questions; fees may apply. Service, experience levels, hours of operation and availability vary, and are subject to restriction and change without notice. Click here for full terms and conditions. Not available for TurboTax Business customers.
  • Get up to 10% on top of your federal refund: Amazon.com Gift Card offer is for federal refunds only. Limits apply ($2000 per e-card, maximum $10,000 per customer). Offer available only for TurboTax Online (except Federal Free Edition) or CD/download versions sold and shipped, or downloaded directly from Intuit or Amazon. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards cannot be canceled, transferred for value or redeemed for cash.

    Amazon.com is not a sponsor of this promotion. Except as required by law, Amazon.com Gift Cards ('GCs') cannot be transferred for value or redeemed for cash. GCs may be used only for purchases of eligible goods at Amazon.com or certain of its affiliated websites. For complete terms and conditions, see www.amazon.com/gc-legal. GCs are issued by ACI Gift Cards, Inc., a Washington corporation. All Amazon ®, ™ & © are IP of Amazon.com or its affiliates. No expiration date or service fees.
  • #1 best-selling tax software: Based on aggregated sales data for all tax year 2013 TurboTax products.
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars: Average based on customer ratings on TurboTax.com for TurboTax Online and CD/download products tax year 2014, as of January 2015.
  • Most Popular: TurboTax Deluxe is our most popular product among TurboTax Online users with more complex tax situations.
  • TurboTax CD/Download priority phone support: Priority phone support for TurboTax CD/Download Premier and Home & Business is accessible exclusively via the TurboTax.com Help Center.
  • Benefit Assist: After you file, TurboTax automatically shows you a full list of government benefits you may qualify for, like Food Stamps or reduced phone & utilities. Plus, we help you apply, saving you time and making it easier than ever to get more money! Estimate based on calculation of Benefit Assist users from tax year 2013 and published reports of average benefit and savings amounts from federal and state programs. Actual amounts and qualifications based on your individual situation; some individuals will not qualify. Feature may not be available for all customers.
  • Simplified State Experience: New, simplified state tax preparation available for most filers.
  • Eligibility for $25 cash back for returning Deluxe customers: Customers who have completed their 2013 taxes in TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), and have completed their 2014 taxes in either TurboTax Premier or TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download), and apply here before 11:59PM PDT April 20, 2015, are eligible for $25 back. 2014 TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.
  • $0 Upgrade Offer: Valid for customers who filed their 2013 taxes with TurboTax Deluxe (CD or download), completed prior year data transfer this year, and encounter an upgrade to either 2014 TurboTax Premier or 2014 TurboTax Home & Business (CD or download). Valid February 6, 2015 through April 20, 2015. TurboTax Advantage users are ineligible for this offer. This offer may not be combined with our $25 cash back offer. Terms and conditions are subject to change without notice.